Decisions

The Information Commissioner publishes the final reports on her investigations on this Web site when she deems them to be of value in providing guidance to both institutions and complainants.

The Office of the Information Commissioner has established the Decisions Database to enable users to search final reports and other decisions, which outline the reasons and principles behind the Commissioner’s decisions and filter them using a number of criteria.

This database is updated regularly and will continue to grow as more final reports and decisions are added.

Other Corporate publications are available on the website.

Filters
Decision Type

104 decisions found

Aug 1
2022

Decision pursuant to 6.1, 2022 OIC 38

Institution
-
Section of the Act
6.1
Decision Type
6.1 decision
Summary

An institution submitted an application to the Information Commissioner, under subsection 6.1(1) of the Access to Information Act, for approval to decline to act on an access to information request. The institution submitted that the request is vexatious, made in bad faith, or constitutes an abuse of the right of access. The institution further submitted that it had met its duty to assist the requester in connection with the request.

The Information Commissioner found that the application was premature, as the institution did not establish that it fulfilled its duty to assist obligations under subsection 4(2.1) of the Act.

The Commissioner denied the application.

Read more
Jul 28
2022

Canadian Security Intelligence Service (Re), 2022 OIC 37

Institution
Canadian Security Intelligence Service
Section of the Act
30(1)(a)
Decision Type
Recommendation
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) did not conduct a reasonable search under the Access to Information Act when responding to an access request seeking records related to pay equity for unionized CSIS employees. The complaint falls within paragraph 30(1)(a) of the Act.

Despite the involvement of its Departmental Legal Services Unit (DLSU) in the pay equity issue, CSIS refused to task this area, stating that DLSU records form part of the Department of Justice’s information holdings and are therefore not under CSIS’ control.

The Office of the Information Commissioner found that records responsive to the request might be under the control of CSIS and/or both CSIS and Justice. CSIS, in refusing to task, retrieve and review requested records from its DLSU to determine the issue of control, failed to conduct a reasonable search.

The Information Commissioner recommended that CSIS retrieve and review responsive records from its DLSU, and issue a new response.

CSIS gave notice to the Commissioner it would not implement the recommendations.

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Jul 22
2022

Export Development Canada (Re), 2022 OIC 41

Institution
Export Development Canada
Section of the Act
18
24(1)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that Export Development Canada (EDC) had improperly withheld information under subsections 18.1(1) (confidential financial, commercial, scientific or technical information of EDC) and 24(1) (disclosure restricted by another law) of the Access to Information Act in response to an access request for a summary of all financial assistance provided by EDC to Canadian companies in Honduras over $50,000, from 2009 to 2019.

EDC could not show that it met all the requirements for these exemptions. In particular, EDC did not demonstrate how the information at issue, which is shared with and retained by EDC’s customers, belonged to EDC as required in subsection 18.1.. As for subsection 24(1) of the Act, EDC invoked section 24.3 (Privileged Information) of the Export Development Act but failed to demonstrate how the information was “obtained” by, rather than “created” by EDC.

The Information Commissioner ordered that EDC disclose the policy types (acronyms), policy numbers, and maximum liability amounts that had been withheld under paragraph 18.1(1) and subsection 24(1).

EDC gave notice that it would partially implement the order, disclosing the policy types (acronyms) but not the policy numbers and maximum liability amounts. To this effect, EDC indicated that it did not agree with the Information Commissioner of Canada’s interpretation of section 24.3 of the Export Development Act and indicated that it would be seeking a review by the Federal Court.

The complaint is well founded.

Related litigation proceeding before the Federal Court: Export Development Canada v. The Information Commissioner of Canada, T-1793-22. The steps taken in this proceeding are available using the following link: Federal Court - Court Files (fct-cf.gc.ca)

Read more
Jul 13
2022

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Re), 2022 OIC 34

Institution
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Section of the Act
18
19(1)
Decision Type
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) had improperly withheld information under paragraph 18(b) (competitive position or negotiations by government institutions) and subsection 19(1) (personal information) of the Access to Information Act (the Act), in response to an access request for documents about the total remuneration of the 250 highest paid unionized employees of the CBC’s French services for two fiscal years.

The CBC relied on paragraph 18(b) to withhold about 25 of the top 250 exact individual salaries requested, for each fiscal year.

The investigation revealed that there is a reasonable expectation that disclosing the information withheld under paragraph 18(b) could injure the CBC’s competitive position. In addition, the Information Commissioner is unable to conclude that the CBC did not consider all the relevant factors to withhold the information. Consequently, the exercise of discretion by the CBC was reasonable.

The complaint is not well founded.

Read more
Jul 11
2022

Employment and Social Development Canada (Re), 2022 OIC 33

Institution
Employment and Social Development Canada
Section of the Act
19(1)
20(1)(c)
21
23
24(1)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) had improperly withheld information in response to an access request for information related to contract 100004587 for a bilingual Advanced Access to Information and Privacy consultant. ESDC refused to disclose portions of the requested records based on subsection 19(1) (personal information), paragraph 20(1)(c) (financial impact on a third party), paragraph 21(1)(b) (accounts of consultations or deliberations), section 23 (solicitor-client and litigation privilege), and subsection 24(1) (disclosure restricted by another law) of the Access to Information Act.

ESDC was unable to demonstrate that information in a CV, related to the position, function and responsibilities of a government employee/contractor, was properly exempt under subsection 19(1), that ESDC made reasonable efforts to seek consent to release personal information, that certain third-party information met the requirements of paragraph 20(1)(c) and that some information met the requirements of paragraph 21(1)(b).

The Information Commissioner ordered ESDC to disclose the information that she found did not meet the requirements of the exemptions and to determine whether the circumstance described in paragraph 19(2)(a) exists.

ESDC gave notice that it would implement the order.

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Jul 4
2022

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (Re), 2022 OIC 32

Institution
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Section of the Act
20(1)(c)
20(1)(d)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) had improperly withheld information under paragraph 20(1)(c) (financial impact on a third party) of the Access to Information Act in response to an access request related to all investments and transfer payments approved under the Program for Strategic Industrial Projects, Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative, and Strategic Innovation Fund, including the Repayments to Date figures.

The scope of the complaint was narrowed to information related to twelve (12) third parties.

Several third parties and ISED provided representations in support of the exemption. However, neither the third parties nor ISED demonstrated that the information at issue met all of the requirements of the exemption.

The Information Commissioner ordered ISED to disclose all information at issue.

ISED gave notice that it would implement the order.

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Jul 1
2022

Decision pursuant to 6.1, 2022 OIC 35

Institution
-
Section of the Act
6.1
Decision Type
6.1 decision
Summary

An institution submitted an application to the Information Commissioner, under subsection 6.1(1) of the Access to Information Act, for approval to decline to act on an access to information request. The institution submitted that the request is vexatious and constitutes an abuse of the right of access. The institution further submitted that it had met its duty to assist the requester in connection with the request.

The Information Commissioner found that the institution met its burden of establishing that the access request is an abuse of the right of access.  In particular, the Commissioner found that the request is part of a pattern of behaviour involving the requester’s repeated requests for substantively the same information. The Commissioner also noted that most of the information being sought has either been provided by the requester to the institution, or has already been provided to the requester by the institution. The Commissioner also found that the institution met its duty to assist obligations under subsection 4(2.1) prior to seeking approval to decline to act. Given the Commissioner’s conclusion, it was not necessary to further consider whether the request was also vexatious.

The application is granted.

Read more
Jun 22
2022

Notice: ceasing to investigate a complaint under subsection 30(5), 2022 OIC 27

Institution
-
Section of the Act
30
Decision Type
Notices under subsection 30(5)
Final report
Summary

The Information Commissioner of Canada gives notice under subsection 30(5) of the Access to Information Act that she has ceased to investigate complaint 5819-02602, pursuant to paragraph 30(4)(a). This paragraph allows the Commissioner to cease to investigate a complaint when, in her opinion, a complaint is trivial, frivolous or vexatious, or is made in bad faith.

The complainant indicated that they wanted to pursue the matter as a point of principle although the matter for which the information was sought has already been settled. The complainant’s seeming lack of interest in obtaining access to the records and their request to continue to investigate, solely on a matter of principle, makes the complaint trivial.

Read more
Jun 20
2022

Canada Revenue Agency (Re), 2022 OIC 30

Institution
Canada Revenue Agency
Section of the Act
16(1)(c)
19(1)
24(1)
Decision Type
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) had improperly withheld information under subsection 24(1) (disclosure restricted by another law), paragraph 16(1)(c) (conduct of investigations) and subsection 19(1) (personal information) of the Access to Information Act in response to an access request for the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) database for all recipient corporations.

In the present instance, the schedule II provision claimed by CRA is section 241 of the Income Tax Act. Section 241 contains a general prohibition of the disclosure of taxpayer information, subject to certain limited exceptions.

The Office of the Information Commissioner is satisfied that the information at issue is about identifiable taxpayers that was prepared from information obtained by CRA for the purposes of administering the Income Tax Act, and the Commissioner concluded that the information was properly withheld pursuant to subsection 24(1).

Since paragraph 16(1)(c) and subsection 19(1) of the Act were applied concurrently to the same information that was exempted pursuant to subsection 24(1), it was not necessary to determine whether refusal to disclose the same information could also be justified under paragraph 16(1)(c) and subsection 19(1).

The complaint is not well founded.

Read more
Jun 14
2022

Public Services and Procurement Canada (Re), 2022 OIC 29

Institution
Public Services and Procurement Canada
Section of the Act
9(1)
10(3)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) did not respond to an access request by the extended due date under subsection 9(1) of the Access to Information Act. The request was for all documents regarding the Copyright Media Clearance Program for the period January 1, 2018 to June 12, 2019. The complaint falls within paragraph 30(1)(c) of the Act. PSPC had not responded to the access request when the extension of time expired on September 4, 2020. The issue of whether the extension of time was reasonable is moot.

The complaint is well founded.

The Information Commissioner ordered the Minister of Public Works and Government Services to provide a final response to the access request within 10 days after the day on which the order takes effect under paragraph 36.1(4)

PSPC gave notice that it would not be fully implementing the order.

Related litigation proceeding before the Federal Court: The Attorney General of Canada v. The Information Commissioner of Canada, T-1623-22. The steps taken in this proceeding are available using the following link: Federal Court - Court Files (fct-cf.gc.ca)

Read more
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Décisions

La Commissaire à l’information publie certains comptes rendus de ses enquêtes sur le présent site Web lorsqu’elle estime qu’ils peuvent servir à orienter les institutions et les parties plaignantes.

Le Commissariat à l’information a créé une base de données des décisions pour permettre aux utilisateurs de trouver des comptes rendus et d’autres décisions exposant les motifs et principes qui sous-tendent les décisions de la Commissaire, ainsi que de les filtrer en fonction d’un certain nombre de critères.

Cette base de données est mise à jour régulièrement, et son contenu continuera de croître en volume au fur et à mesure que d’autres comptes rendus et décisions y seront versés.

D’autres publications du Commissariat sont accessibles sur le site Web.

Filtres
Type de décision

104 décisions trouvées

1 aoû
2022

Décision en vertu de l’article 6.1, 2022 CI 38

Institution
-
Article de la Loi
6.1
Type de décision
Décision 6.1
Résumé

Une institution a demandé à la Commissaire à l’information l’autorisation de refuser de donner suite à une demande d’accès à l’information en vertu du paragraphe 6.1(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’institution a affirmé que la demande d’accès est vexatoire, entachée de mauvaise foi et constitue un abus du droit de faire une demande de communication. L’institution a également affirmé qu’elle s’était acquittée de son obligation de prêter assistance à la personne qui avait fait la demande d’accès.

La Commissaire a conclu que la demande d’autorisation est prématurée, étant donné que l’institution n’a pas démontré qu’elle s’est acquittée de son obligation de prêter assistance en vertu du paragraphe 4(2.1) de la Loi.

La Commissaire a rejeté la demande d’autorisation.

En savoir plus
28 juil
2022

Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (Re), 2022 CI 37

Institution
Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
Article de la Loi
30(1)a)
Type de décision
Recommandation
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) n’a pas effectué une recherche raisonnable, en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, lorsqu’il a répondu à une demande d’accès visant des documents concernant l’équité salariale des employés syndiqués du SCRS. La plainte s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1) a) de la Loi.

Même si son unité des services juridiques ministériels (USJM) a participé au dossier de l’équité salariale, le SCRS a refusé de charger ce secteur de faire une recherche, affirmant que les documents de l’USJM font partie des fonds de renseignements du ministère de la Justice et qu’ils ne relèvent donc pas du SCRS.

Le Commissariat à l’information a conclu que les documents répondant à la demande pourraient relever du SCRS seul ou du SCRS et de Justice. Le SCRS, en refusant de chercher et de récupérer les documents demandés auprès de son USJM et de charger celui-ci de faire une recherche en vue de les examiner pour établir de qui ils relèvent, n’a pas effectué une recherche raisonnable de documents.

La Commissaire à l’information a recommandé que le SCRS récupère les documents pertinents auprès de l’USJM et qu’elle les examine, puis fournisse une nouvelle réponse.

Le SCRS a avisé la Commissaire qu’il ne donnerait pas suite aux recommandations.

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
22 juil
2022

Exportation et développement Canada (Re), 2022 CI 41

Institution
Exportation et développement Canada
Article de la Loi
18
24(1)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue qu’Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) a erronément refusé de communiquer des renseignements, en vertu des paragraphes 18.1(1) (renseignements financiers, commerciaux, scientifiques ou techniques confidentiels d’Exportation et Développement Canada) et 24(1) (communication restreinte par une autre loi) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en réponse à une demande d’accès visant un sommaire de toute l’aide financière de plus de 50 000 $ accordée par EDC à des entreprises canadiennes au Honduras de 2009 à 2019.

EDC n’a pas démontré que les renseignements satisfont à tous les critères des exceptions. Plus particulièrement, EDC n’a pas démontré en quoi les renseignements en cause, qui sont transmis aux clients d’EDC et conservés par ceux-ci, appartiennent à EDC comme l’exige l’article 18.1. Pour ce qui est du paragraphe 24(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, EDC a invoqué l’article 24.3 (renseignements protégés) de la Loi sur le développement des exportations, mais n’a pas démontré comment les renseignements ont été « recueillis », plutôt que « créés », par EDC.

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à EDC de divulguer les types de police (par acronymes), les numéros de police et les montants maximums prévus pour la responsabilité dont la communication a été refusée en vertu des paragraphes 18.1(1) et 24(1).

EDC a avisé la Commissaire qu’elle donnerait partiellement suite à l’ordonnance, à savoir qu’elle divulguerait les types de police (par acronymes), mais qu’elle ne divulguerait pas les numéros de police et les montants maximums prévus pour la responsabilité. EDC a indiqué qu’elle n’était pas d’accord avec l’interprétation que fait la Commissaire à l’information de l’article 24.3 de la Loi sur le développement des exportations et qu’elle exercerait un recours en révision devant la Cour fédérale.

La plainte est fondée.

Litige connexe devant la Cour fédérale: Exportation et Développement Canada c. Commissariat à l'information du Canada, T-1793-22.  Les étapes suivies dans ce litige peuvent être consultées en utilisant le lien suivant: Cour fédérale - Dossiers de la Cour (fct-cf.gc.ca)

En savoir plus
13 juil
2022

Société Radio-Canada (Re), 2022 CI 34

Institution
Société Radio-Canada
Article de la Loi
18
19(1)
Type de décision
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que la Société Radio-Canada (SRC) a erronément refusé de communiquer de l’information en vertu de l’alinéa 18 b) (compétitivité ou négociations des institutions fédérales) et du paragraphe 19(1) (renseignements personnels) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en réponse à une demande d’accès aux documents portant sur la rémunération totale des 250 employés syndiqués les mieux rémunérés des Services français de la SRC pour deux années financières.

La SRC a invoqué l’alinéa 18b) pour refuser de communiquer, pour chaque année financière, environ 25 salaires les plus élevés parmi les 250 salaires individuels exacts demandés.

L’enquête a révélé qu’il y a une attente raisonnable que la divulgation des renseignements non communiqués en vertu de l’alinéa 18b) nuise à la compétitivité de la SRC. De plus, la Commissaire à l’information est incapable de conclure que la SRC n’a pas pris en considération tous les facteurs pertinents de ne pas communiquer les renseignements. Par conséquent, le pouvoir discrétionnaire exercé par la SRC était raisonnable.

La plainte est non fondée.

En savoir plus
11 juil
2022

Emploi et Développement social Canada (Re), 2022 CI 33

Institution
Emploi et Développement social Canada
Article de la Loi
19(1)
20(1)c)
21
23
24(1)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue qu’Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) a erronément refusé de communiquer des renseignements en réponse à une demande d’accès visant des renseignements relatifs au contrat 100004587 pour les services d’un consultant bilingue en accès à l’information et en protection des renseignements personnels de niveau supérieur. EDSC a refusé de divulguer des parties des documents demandés en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) (renseignements personnels), de l’alinéa 20(1)c) (pertes ou profits financiers d’un tiers), de l’alinéa 21(1)b) (comptes rendus de consultations ou de délibérations), de l’article 23 (secret professionnel de l’avocat et privilège relatif à un litige) et du paragraphe 24(1) (communication restreinte par une autre loi) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

EDSC n’a pas été en mesure de démontrer que le refus de communiquer les renseignements dans un CV qui se rapportaient au poste, aux fonctions et aux responsabilités d’une contractuelle/employée du gouvernement en vertu de l’exception prévue au paragraphe19(1) était justifié. EDSC n’a pas démontré non plus qu’il avait fait des efforts raisonnables pour obtenir le consentement de communiquer des renseignements personnels, que certains renseignements de tiers satisfaisaient aux critères de l’alinéa 20(1)c) et que certains renseignements satisfaisaient aux critères de l’alinéa 21(1)b).

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à EDSC de communiquer les renseignements qui, selon ses conclusions, ne satisfaisaient pas aux critères des exceptions et d’établir si la circonstance décrite à l’alinéa 19(2)a) existe.

EDSC a avisé la Commissaire qu’il donnerait suite à l’ordonnance.

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
4 juil
2022

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (Re), 2022 CI 32

Institution
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Article de la Loi
20(1)c)
20(1)d)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue qu’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a erronément refusé de communiquer des renseignements, en vertu de l’alinéa 20(1)c) (pertes ou profits financiers d’un tiers) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en réponse à une demande d’accès. Cette demande vise tous les investissements et paiements de transfert approuvés, y compris les montants de remboursements à ce jour, dans le cadre du Programme de projets stratégiques industriels, de l’Initiative stratégique pour l’aérospatiale et la défense ainsi que du Fonds stratégique pour l’innovation.

La portée de la plainte a été réduite. Elle ne vise que des renseignements concernant 12 tiers.

ISDE ainsi que plusieurs tiers ont présenté des observations à l’appui de l’exception invoquée. Toutefois, ni les tiers ni ISDE n’a démontré que les renseignements en cause satisfaisaient à l’ensemble des critères de l’exception.

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à ISDE de communiquer tous les renseignements en cause.

ISDE a avisé la Commissaire qu’il donnerait suite à l’ordonnance.

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
1 juil
2022

Décision en vertu de l’article 6.1, 2022 CI 35

Institution
-
Article de la Loi
6.1
Type de décision
Décision 6.1
Résumé

Une institution a demandé à la Commissaire à l’information l’autorisation de refuser de donner suite à une demande d’accès à l’information en vertu du paragraphe 6.1(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’institution a affirmé que la demande d’accès est vexatoire et qu’elle constitue un abus du droit de faire une demande de communication. L’institution a également affirmé qu’elle s’était acquittée de son obligation de prêter assistance à la personne qui avait fait la demande d’accès.

La Commissaire a conclu que l’institution s’était acquittée du fardeau qui lui incombait d’établir que la demande d’accès constitue un abus du droit d’accès. Plus particulièrement, la Commissaire a conclu qu’en soumettant la demande d’accès, le demandeur répète un comportement habituel qui consiste à faire des demandes en vue d’obtenir essentiellement la même information. La Commissaire a également noté que la plupart des renseignements demandés avaient été soit fournis par le demandeur à l’institution, soit déjà fournis au demandeur par l’institution. Elle a également conclu que l’institution s’est acquittée de son obligation de prêter assistance en vertu du paragraphe 4(2.1) avant de demander l’autorisation de ne pas donner suite à la demande. Compte tenu de la conclusion de la Commissaire, il n’est pas nécessaire de déterminer si la demande d’accès était également vexatoire.

La demande d’autorisation est acceptée.

En savoir plus
22 juin
2022

Avis : cessation de faire enquête sur une plainte en vertu du paragraphe 30(5), 2022 CI 27

Institution
-
Article de la Loi
30
Type de décision
Avis en vertu du paragraphe 30(5)
Compte rendu
Résumé

La Commissaire à l’information du Canada avise les parties, en vertu du paragraphe 30(5) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qu’elle a cessé de faire enquête sur la plainte numéro 5819-02602, conformément à l’alinéa 30(4)a). Cet alinéa donne à la Commissaire le pouvoir discrétionnaire de refuser ou de cesser de faire enquête sur une plainte si, à son avis, celle-ci est futile, vexatoire ou entachée de mauvaise foi.

La partie plaignante a indiqué qu’elle voulait poursuivre la plainte par principe, même si la question sur laquelle elle cherchait de l’information a été réglée. Comme la partie plaignante ne semble pas souhaiter obtenir les documents et demande de poursuivre l’enquête, strictement par principe, la plainte est futile.

En savoir plus
20 juin
2022

Agence du revenu du Canada (Re), 2022 CI 30

Institution
Agence du revenu du Canada
Article de la Loi
16(1)c)
19(1)
24(1)
Type de décision
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) a erronément refusé de communiquer des renseignements en vertu du paragraphe 24(1) (communication restreinte par une autre loi), de l’alinéa 16(1)c) (déroulement d’enquêtes) et du paragraphe 19(1) (renseignements personnels) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en réponse à une demande d’accès visant la base de données de la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC) pour toutes les sociétés bénéficiaires.

La disposition de l’annexe II invoquée en l’espèce par l’ARC est l’article 241 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Cet article prévoit une interdiction générale de communiquer des renseignements confidentiels, sous réserve de certaines exceptions limitées.

Le Commissariat à l’information est d’avis que les renseignements en cause concernent des contribuables identifiables et qu’ils ont été préparés par l’ARC pour l’application de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, et la Commissaire a conclu que l’ARC a correctement refusé de communiquer les renseignements en vertu du paragraphe 24(1).

Puisque l’alinéa 16(1)c) et le paragraphe 19(1) ont également été appliqués aux renseignements qui étaient visés par l’exception prévue au paragraphe 24(1), il n’était pas nécessaire d’établir si le refus de les communiquer en vertu de l’alinéa 16(1)c) et du paragraphe 19(1) était justifié.

La plainte est non fondée.

En savoir plus
14 juin
2022

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (Re), 2022 CI 29

Institution
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Article de la Loi
9(1)
10(3)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) n’a pas répondu à une demande d’accès dans le délai prorogé en vertu du paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La demande visait tous les documents concernant le Programme d’autorisation pour les médias protégés par les droits d’auteur pour la période du 1er janvier 2018 au 12 juin 2019. La plainte s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1)c) de la Loi. SPAC n’avait pas répondu à la demande d’accès à l’échéance du délai prorogé, le 4 septembre 2020. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’établir si la prorogation de délai était raisonnable.

La plainte est fondée.

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à la ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux de fournir une réponse finale à la demande d’accès dans un délai de 10 jours à partir de la date de prise d’effet de l’ordonnance en vertu du paragraphe 36.1(4).

SPAC a avisé la Commissaire qu’il ne donnerait pas entièrement suite à l’ordonnance.

Litige connexe devant la Cour fédérale: Procureur Général du Canada c. Commissariat à l'information du Canada, T-1623-22.  Les étapes suivies dans ce litige peuvent être consultées en utilisant le lien suivant: Cour fédérale - Dossiers de la Cour (fct-cf.gc.ca)

En savoir plus
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte