Decisions

The Information Commissioner publishes the final reports on her investigations on this website when she deems them to be of value in providing guidance to both institutions and complainants.

The Office of the Information Commissioner has established the Decisions Database to enable users to search final reports and other decisions, which outline the reasons and principles behind the Commissioner’s decisions and filter them using a number of criteria.

This database is updated regularly and continues to grow as more final reports, decisions and orders are added. The dates indicated refer to the date on which the decision was rendered.

Institutions are legally obliged to abide by an order from the Commissioner unless they apply to the Federal Court for a review of the matter that is the subject of the order. The Access to Information Act does not provide any other alternative to complying with the order. 

To learn more about the Information Commissioner’s orders, please visit our Frequently asked questions.

Other Corporate publications are available on the website.

Filters
Decision Type

599 decisions found

Apr 16
2024

National Defence (Re), 2024 OIC 13

Institution
National Defence
Section of the Act
30(1)(a)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that National Defence (DND) did not respond to an access request submitted under the Access to Information Act within the 30-day period, as required by section 7. The request was for correspondence related to the hiring process by Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC) Corporate Services at Canadian Forces Base Suffield for the position of General Safety Officer. The allegation falls under paragraph 30(1)(a) of the Act.

The investigation determined DND did not respond by the required date and is deemed to have refused access to the requested records under subsection 10(3). The delay was caused by a lack of responsiveness from one office of primary interest.

The Information Commissioner ordered DND to provide a response to the access request no later than the 36th business day following the date of the final report.

DND gave notice to the Commissioner that it would be implementing the order.

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Apr 1
2024

Library and Archives Canada (Re), 2024 OIC 12

Institution
Library and Archives Canada
Section of the Act
9(1)
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that the length of the extension of time Library and Archives Canada (LAC) took under subsection 9(1) of the Access to Information Act to respond to an access request was unreasonable. The request was for all Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) records relating to project Anecdote. The complaint falls under paragraph 30(1)(c) of the Act.

LAC extended the time period by 23,725 days under paragraphs 9(1)(a) and (b).

LAC identified 780,000 pages of paper and microfilm records responsive to this request, that will have to be converted into an electronic format.

LAC did not demonstrate why the request would be processed by a single employee, nor why the tasks were calculated consecutively rather than concurrently.

Furthermore, not all of the records have been retrieved and analyzed yet, so LAC was not in a position to specify the exact number of records that would have to be sent for consultation.

LAC did not show that the extension of time is for a reasonable period, having regard to the circumstances. Therefore, the extension of time is invalid and LAC is deemed to have refused to give access to the requested records pursuant to subsection 10(3).

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Mar 29
2024

Privy Council Office, 5822-01691

Institution
Privy Council Office
Section of the Act
7
Decision Type
Delay in responding to a request
Order
Institution file #
A-2020-00583
Did the institution give notice it would implement the order?
Yes
Summary
Order: provide a complete response to the access request on or before July 5, 2024.
Read more
Mar 28
2024

Ingenium – Canada’s Museums of Science (Re), 2024 OIC 11

Institution
Ingenium – Canada’s Museums of Science
Section of the Act
14
16(1)(c)
18
68
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that Ingenium – Canada’s Museums of Science and Innovation (Ingenium) improperly withheld information under section 14 (federal-provincial affairs), paragraphs 16(1)(c) (conduct of investigations), 18(b) (competitive position of government institutions or negotiations by government institutions), 18(d) (government financial interests) and subsection 19(1) (personal information) of the Access to Information Act. This was in response to an access request for records related to the loan of objects for the exhibit "Autopsy of a Murder." The allegation falls under paragraph 30(1)(a) of the Act.

The application of subsection 19(1) to withhold signatures was removed from the scope of the complaint.

During the investigation, Ingenium decided to no longer rely on paragraph 16(1)(c) to withhold information. Ingenium also decided to disclose information that it had withheld under paragraphs 18(b) and 18(d), and provided additional information to assist the complainant in interpreting the records received. Given these efforts, paragraphs 18(b) and 18(d) and subsection 19(1) were no longer at issue.

During the investigation, Ingenium invoked paragraph 68(c) (material placed by others in certain institutions). This exclusion was applied concurrently with section 14 to withhold photographs.

Ingenium did not show that the information met the requirements of paragraph 68(c). In addition, Ingenium did not show that the information met all the requirements of section 14, in particular Ingenium did not show that, if disclosed, the information could reasonably be expected to harm the conduct of federal-provincial affairs.

The Information Commissioner ordered that Ingenium disclose the records. Ingenium gave notice that it would implement the order.

The complaint is well founded.

Read more
Mar 26
2024

Health Canada (Re), 2024 OIC 10

Institution
Health Canada
Section of the Act
14
16(1)(c)
18
68
Decision Type
Order
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleged that the length of the extension of time Health Canada took under subsection 9(1) of the Access to Information Act to respond to an access request was unreasonable. The request was for information concerning an application for religious exemption to serve ayahuasca under the provisions of section 56 of the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act. The complaint falls within paragraph 30(1)(c) of the Act.

Health Canada claimed a 1,000-day extension of time under paragraphs 9(1)(a) and 9(1)(b) to complete the processing of the request. If the extension were valid, the time limit for the response would be December 19, 2025.

During the investigation, Health Canada showed that it met all the requirements of paragraphs 9(1)(a) and (b), in particular that the calculation of the time extension was sufficiently logical and supportable, that providing access to the records within any materially lesser period of time than the one asserted would unreasonably interfere with its operations, and that the consultations could not reasonably be completed within 30 days.

Health Canada demonstrated that the extension was reasonable and the due date to respond to the access request remains December 19, 2025. The Information Commissioner invited the complainant and Health Canada to collaborate to reduce the scope of the request so that fewer records will need to be processed and a response to the request could be released sooner.

The complaint is not well founded.

Read more
Mar 25
2024

Canada Border Services Agency (Re), 2024 OIC 09

Institution
Canada Border Services Agency
Section of the Act
30(1)(a)
Decision Type
Final report
Summary

The complainant alleges that the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) did not conduct a reasonable search in response to an access request under the Access to Information Act. This was in response to a request for any assessments of cybersecurity and data breach risks associated with the ArriveCan application.

The complainant questioned the fact that they have received no information regarding specific named companies and/or expenses which they felt should have been found in the documents received, given the subject of their access request.

The OIC sought information from CBSA related to the program areas tasked to search for records and the parameters of the search. The OPI most likely to have records relevant to the access request under their control, searched for records in the appropriate repositories and provided these records to the Access to Information and Privacy unit for processing. As a result, the Information Commissioner concluded that CBSA conducted a reasonable search for records.

The complaint is not well founded.

Read more
Mar 21
2024

Health Canada, 5823-00984

Institution
Health Canada
Section of the Act
7
Decision Type
Delay in responding to a request
Order
Institution file #
A-2022-001663
Did the institution give notice it would implement the order?
Yes
Summary
Order: provide a complete response to the access request no later than the 36th business day after receipt of the final report.
Read more
Mar 21
2024

Health Canada, 5822-04100

Institution
Health Canada
Section of the Act
7
Decision Type
Delay in responding to a request
Order
Institution file #
A-2022-000485 / MK
Did the institution give notice it would implement the order?
No response
Summary
Order: provide a complete response to the access request no later than the 60th business day after receipt of the final report.
Read more
Mar 20
2024

Health Canada, 5823-00565

Institution
Health Canada
Section of the Act
7
Decision Type
Delay in responding to a request
Order
Institution file #
A-2022-001572
Did the institution give notice it would implement the order?
Yes
Summary
Order: provide a complete response to the access request no later than the 60th business day following receipt of the final report.
Read more
Mar 20
2024

Privy Council Office, 5822-05404

Institution
Privy Council Office
Section of the Act
7
Decision Type
Delay in responding to a request
Order
Institution file #
A-2021-00207
Did the institution give notice it would implement the order?
Yes
Summary
Order: provide a complete response to the access request by June 11, 2024.
Read more
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Décisions

La Commissaire à l’information publie sur ce site Web les comptes rendus de ses enquêtes qui, selon elle, peuvent servir à orienter les institutions et les parties plaignantes.

Le Commissariat à l’information a créé une base de données des décisions pour permettre aux utilisateurs de trouver ces comptes rendus ainsi que d’autres décisions exposant les motifs et principes qui sous-tendent les décisions de la Commissaire. Son contenu peut être filtré en fonction d’un certain nombre de critères.

Mise à jour régulièrement, cette base de données s’accroît au fur et à mesure que d’autres comptes rendus, décisions et ordonnances y sont versés. Les dates indiquées font référence à la date à laquelle la décision a été rendue.

Les institutions sont légalement tenues de se conformer à une ordonnance de la Commissaire, à moins d’exercer devant la Cour fédérale un recours en révision de toute question dont traite l’ordonnance. La Loi sur l’accès à l’information ne prévoit pas d’autre mécanisme.

Pour en savoir plus sur les ordonnances de la Commissaire, veuillez consulter notre Foire aux questions.

D’autres publications du Commissariat sont accessibles sur le site Web.

Filtres
Type de décision

600 décisions trouvées

16 avr
2024

Défense nationale (Re), 2024 CI 13

Institution
Défense nationale
Article de la Loi
30(1)a)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que la Défense nationale n’a pas répondu à une demande d’accès présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information dans le délai de 30 jours, comme l’exige l’article 7. Cette demande vise à obtenir des copies de toute correspondance relative au processus d’embauche, mené par les Services généraux de Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada, concernant le poste d’officier de la sécurité générale à la Base des Forces canadiennes Suffield. L’allégation s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1)a) de la Loi.

L’enquête a permis de conclure que la Défense nationale n’a pas répondu à la demande d’accès avant la date prescrite, elle est réputée avoir refusé de communiquer les documents demandés en vertu du paragraphe 10(3). Le retard est attribuable à l’absence de réponse de la part d’un bureau de première responsabilité.

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à la Défense nationale de fournir une réponse à la demande d’accès au plus tard le 36e jour ouvrable suivant la date du compte rendu.

La Défense nationale a avisé la Commissaire qu’elle donnerait suite à l’ordonnance.

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
1 avr
2024

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (Re), 2024 CI 12

Institution
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Article de la Loi
9(1)
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que la prorogation de délai que Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) a prise en vertu du paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour répondre à sa demande d’accès était déraisonnable. La demande d’accès visait tout document de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) lié au projet Anecdote. La plainte s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1)c) de la Loi.

BAC a pris une prorogation de 23 725 jours en vertu des alinéas 9(1)a) et b).

Selon BAC, 780 000 pages de documents sur papier et microfilm correspondaient à la demande et devront être converties en format électronique.

BAC n'a pas démontré pourquoi un seul employé traiterait la demande ni pourquoi les tâches ont été calculées consécutivement et non concurremment.

En outre, les documents n’ont pas encore tous été récupérés et analysés, donc BAC n’était pas en mesure de préciser le nombre exact de documents qui devront être envoyés en consultations.

BAC n’a pas démontré que la période de la prorogation est justifiée compte tenu des circonstances. Par conséquent, la prorogation de délai est invalide et BAC est donc réputé avoir refusé de communiquer les documents demandés en vertu du paragraphe 10(3).

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
29 Mar
2024

Bureau du Conseil privé, 5822-01691

Institution
Bureau du Conseil privé
Article de la Loi
7
Type de décision
Retard à répondre à une demande
Ordonnance
Numéro de dossier de l’institution
A-2020-00583
Est-ce que l'institution a indiqué qu'elle donnerait suite à l'ordonnance?
Oui
Résumé
Ordonnance : fournir une réponse complète à la demande d’accès le 5 juillet 2024 ou avant cette date.
En savoir plus
28 Mar
2024

Ingenium – Musées des sciences et de l’innovation du Canada (Re), 2024 CI 11

Institution
Ingenium – Musées des sciences et de l’innovation du Canada
Article de la Loi
14
16(1)c)
18
68
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue qu’Ingenium – Musées des sciences et de l’innovation du Canada (Ingenium) a erronément refusé de communiquer des renseignements en vertu de l’article 14 (affaires fédérales-provinciales), de l’alinéa 16(1)c) (déroulement d’enquêtes), de l’alinéa 18b) (compétitivité des institutions fédérales ou négociations des institutions fédérales), de l’alinéa 18d) (intérêts financiers du gouvernement) et du paragraphe 19(1) (renseignements personnels) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La demande d’accès visait des documents relatifs au prêt d’objets pour l’exposition « Autopsie d’un meurtre ». L’allégation s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1)a) de la Loi.

L’application du paragraphe 19(1) pour refuser de communiquer les signatures n’est plus visée par la plainte.

Au cours de l’enquête, Ingenium a décidé de ne plus invoquer l’alinéa 16(1)c) pour refuser de communiquer des renseignements. Ingenium a également décidé de communiquer des renseignements qu’il avait refusé de communiquer en vertu des alinéas 18b) et18d), et a fourni des renseignements supplémentaires pour aider la partie plaignante à interpréter les documents reçus. À la suite de ces démarches, les alinéas 18b) et 18d) et le paragraphe 19(1) n’étaient plus en cause.

Au cours de l’enquête, Ingenium a invoqué l’alinéa 68c) (documents déposés par d’autres personnes ou organisations externes dans certaines institutions). Cette exclusion a été appliquée en parallèle à l’article 14 pour refuser de communiquer des photographies.

Ingenium n’a pas démontré que l’information satisfaisait à tous les critères de l’alinéa 68c). En outre, Ingenium n’a pas démontré que les renseignements satisfaisaient à tous les critères de l’article 14, notamment que la communication des renseignements pourrait vraisemblablement nuire à la conduite des affaires fédérales-provinciales.

La Commissaire à l’information a ordonné à Ingenium de communiquer les documents. Ingenium a avisé la Commissaire qu’il donnerait suite à l’ordonnance.

La plainte est fondée.

En savoir plus
26 Mar
2024

Santé Canada (Re), 2024 CI 10

Institution
Santé Canada
Article de la Loi
14
16(1)c)
18
68
Type de décision
Ordonnance
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que la prorogation de délai que Santé Canada a prise en vertu du paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour répondre à une demande d’accès est déraisonnable. Cette dernière vise à obtenir des renseignements concernant une demande d’exemption pour servir de l’ayahuasca dans un cadre religieux, suivant l’article 56 de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances. La plainte s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’alinéa 30(1)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Santé Canada a pris une prorogation de 1 000 jours en vertu des alinéas 9(1)a) et 9(1)b) pour finir de traiter la demande. Si cette prorogation était valide, l’échéance du délai de réponse serait le 19 décembre 2025.

Au cours de l’enquête, Santé Canada a démontré qu’il satisfaisait à tous les critères des alinéas 9(1)a) et 9(1)b), particulièrement que le calcul de la prorogation de délai était suffisamment logique ou soutenable, que la communication des documents dans un délai sensiblement plus court que celui proposé entraverait de façon sérieuse son fonctionnement et que les consultations rendraient pratiquement impossible l’observation du délai de 30 jours.

Santé Canada a démontré que la prorogation est valide, et la date d’échéance du délai de réponse demeure le 19 décembre 2025. La Commissaire à l’information invite la partie plaignante et Santé Canada à travailler ensemble afin de réduire la portée de la demande d’accès pour que le nombre de documents à traiter soit moins important et qu’une réponse puisse être communiquée plus rapidement.

La plainte est non fondée.

En savoir plus
25 Mar
2024

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (Re), 2024 CI 09

Institution
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Article de la Loi
30(1)a)
Type de décision
Compte rendu
Résumé

La partie plaignante allègue que l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) n’a pas effectué une recherche raisonnable de documents en réponse à une demande d’accès en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La demande vise à obtenir toutes les évaluations de risques en matière de cybersécurité et de violation des données en lien avec l’application ArriveCan.

La partie plaignante conteste le fait qu’elle n’a reçu aucun renseignement concernant des entreprises nommément désignées et/ou des dépenses qui, selon elle, auraient dû se trouver sur les documents reçus, compte tenu de l’objet de sa demande d’accès.

Le Commissariat à l’information a demandé à l’ASFC des renseignements concernant les secteurs de programmes chargés de chercher les documents et les paramètres de la recherche. Le Bureau de première responsabilité (BPR) le plus susceptible d’avoir les documents visés par la demande d’accès a cherché ceux-ci dans les dépôts appropriés. Il a ensuite fourni les documents à l’Unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels afin qu’elle les traite. De ce fait, la Commissaire à l’information conclut que l’ASFC a effectué une recherche raisonnable de documents.

La plainte est non fondée.

En savoir plus
21 Mar
2024

Santé Canada, 5823-00984

Institution
Santé Canada
Article de la Loi
7
Type de décision
Retard à répondre à une demande
Ordonnance
Numéro de dossier de l’institution
A-2022-001663
Est-ce que l'institution a indiqué qu'elle donnerait suite à l'ordonnance?
Oui
Résumé
Ordonnance : fournir une réponse complète à la demande d’accès au plus tard le 36e jour ouvrable suivant la réception du compte rendu.
En savoir plus
21 Mar
2024

Santé Canada, 5822-04100

Institution
Santé Canada
Article de la Loi
7
Type de décision
Retard à répondre à une demande
Ordonnance
Numéro de dossier de l’institution
A-2022-000485 / MK
Est-ce que l'institution a indiqué qu'elle donnerait suite à l'ordonnance?
Aucune réponse
Résumé
Ordonnance : fournir une réponse complète à la demande d’accès au plus tard le 60e jour ouvrable après la réception du compte rendu.
En savoir plus
20 Mar
2024

Santé Canada, 5823-00565

Institution
Santé Canada
Article de la Loi
7
Type de décision
Retard à répondre à une demande
Ordonnance
Numéro de dossier de l’institution
A-2022-001572
Est-ce que l'institution a indiqué qu'elle donnerait suite à l'ordonnance?
Oui
Résumé
Ordonnance : fournir une réponse complète à la demande d’accès au plus tard le 60e jour ouvrable après la réception du compte rendu.
En savoir plus
20 Mar
2024

Bureau du Conseil privé, 5822-05404

Institution
Bureau du Conseil privé
Article de la Loi
7
Type de décision
Retard à répondre à une demande
Ordonnance
Numéro de dossier de l’institution
A-2021-00207
Est-ce que l'institution a indiqué qu'elle donnerait suite à l'ordonnance?
Oui
Résumé
Ordonnance : fournir une réponse complète à la demande d’accès au plus tard le 11 juin 2024.
En savoir plus
Date de modification :
Déposer une plainte