About us

The Office of the Information Commissioner was established in 1983 under the Access to Information Act to support the work of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

Our staff carry out confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access requests, giving both complainants and institutions the opportunity to present their positions.

We strive to maximize compliance with the Act, using the full range of tools, activities and powers at the Commissioner’s disposal. These include negotiating with complainants and institutions without the need for formal investigations, and making formal recommendations and/or issuing order to resolve matters at the conclusion of investigations.

We support the Information Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all matters pertaining to access to information. We also actively make the case for greater freedom of information in Canada through targeted initiatives such as Right to Know Week and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and federal institutions.

The Commissioner is supported by three deputy commissioners and a staff of approximately 90 employees.

the information commissioner of canada's organisational chart

Text version

The information Commissioner of Canada is supported by three deputy commissioners:

  • Deputy Commissioner, Investigations
  • Deputy Commissioner, Legal Services and Public Affairs
  • Deputy Commissioner, Corporate Services, Strategic Planning and Transformation Services
 
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

À propos du Commissariat

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a été fondé en 1983 aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, pour appuyer le commissaire à l’information du Canada dans ses fonctions.

Le personnel du Commissariat à l’information du Canada mène des enquêtes confidentielles sur les plaintes concernant le traitement des demandes d’'accès à l’'information par les institutions fédérales, et donne l’occasion aux plaignants et aux institutions de faire valoir leur point de vue.

Le Commissariat s’efforce de maximiser la conformité à la Loi. Pour ce faire, la commissaire dispose d’un vaste éventail d’outils, d’activités et de pouvoirs, notamment la négociation avec les plaignants et les institutions sans qu’une enquête officielle ne soit nécessaire, la formulation de recommandations pour résoudre les affaires à l’issue des enquêtes et le renvoi de dossiers devant la Cour fédérale afin de garantir que la Loi soit bien appliquée et interprétée.

Le Commissariat appuie la commissaire à l’information dans son rôle de conseillère du Parlement et des comités parlementaires sur toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. De plus, le Commissariat plaide continuellement en faveur d’un accès accru à l’information au Canada, par des initiatives ciblées comme la Semaine du droit à l’information, et par un dialogue constant avec les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales et provinciales.

La commissaire est secondée par trois sous-commissaires et une équipe d’environ 90 employés.

l'organigramme du commissaire à l'information du canada
Version texte

La commissaire est secondée par trois sous-commissaires:

  • Sous-commissaire, Enquêtes
  • Sous-commissaire, Services juridiques et Affaires publiques
  • Sous-commissaire, Services corporatifs, Planification stratégique et Transformation des services
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte