Highlights

The year 2011–2012 was one of transition for the Office of the Information Commissioner in many ways. We made a conscious decision to tackle some of our most complex files. We also entered 2011–2012 with our inventory composed largely of refusal files (those about information being exempted or excluded, no records or no response). Over the year, we also received fewer administrative complaints than we had in the previous two reporting periods.

Our evolving caseload challenged us to find new and more efficient ways of investigating the more complex refusal complaints (Chapter 1). The net result was that for the third year in a row we were able to close more files than we received. In total, we closed 1,496 files, which allowed us to make a further, albeit small, dent in our inventory.

Summary of caseload, 2009–2010 to 2011–2012
Complaints received Commissioner-initiated complaints Total
2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012 2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012 2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012
Complaints carried over from the previous year 2,513 2,083 1,833 1 3 20 2,514 2,086 1,853
New complaints 1,653 1,810 1,460 36 18 5 1,689 1,828 1,465
Complaints discontinued during the year* 575 692 642 0 0 0 575 692 642
Complaints settled during the year n/a 18 34 n/a 0 0 n/a 18 34
Complaints completed during the year with findings 1,508 1,350 819 34 1 1 1,542 1,351 820
Total complaints closed during the year 2,083 2,060 1,495 34 1 1 xxxxx 2,061 1,496
Total inventory at year-end 2,083** 1,833+ 1,798 3 20 24 2,086 1,853 1,822

*We discontinue complaints at the request of complainants, often after a substantial amount of investigative work has been put into the file.

**Includes 127 complaints on hold pending ongoing litigation. +Includes 190 complaints on hold pending ongoing litigation.

Text version of this graphic

These are three pie charts that show the results of our investigations for three categories of complaint.

The chart on the top left sets out the outcomes for 606 administrative complaints. Clockwise from the top right, the first section shows the 55 percent of complaints (334) that were well founded, resolved without recommendations. The second section shows 17 percent (100 complaints) that were not well founded. This is followed by four sections, as follows: 2 percent (13 complaints) settled; 24 percent (145 complaints) discontinued; 2 percent (11 complaints) well founded with recommendations—resolved; and 0 percent (3 complaints) well founded with recommendations—not resolved. The percentages in this graph are rounded to the nearest whole number.

The chart on the top right sets out the outcomes for 874 refusal complaints. Clockwise from the top right, the first section shows the 21 percent of complaints (180) that were not well founded. The second section shows 21 percent (180 complaints) that were well founded, resolved without recommendations. This is followed by three sections, as follows: 2 percent (21 complaints) settled; 56 percent (490 complaints) discontinued; and 0 percent (3 complaints) well founded with recommendations—resolved. The percentages in this graph are rounded to the nearest whole number.

The chart on the bottom left sets out the outcomes for 16 Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints. Clockwise from the top right, the first section shows the 43 percent of complaints (7) that were discontinued. The second section shows 19 percent (3 complaints) that were well founded, resolved without recommendations. The third section shows 38 percent (6 complaints) that were not well founded. The percentages in this graph are rounded to the nearest whole number.

Ensuring compliance with the Act

Our core business is investigating complaints. Among the cases we completed this year (Chapter 2) are those that illustrate important principles in the Access to Information Act that institutions must respect when processing requests, such as the duty to assist and the proper application of exemptions, as well as procedural issues, such as the requirement to retrieve and review all responsive records, regardless of whether any of them will actually be released. We also prepared our third major report on institutions timelines' in responding to access to information requests. This report found signs of improvement among 18 institutions that we re-assessed after their performing at the average level or worse in 2008–2009.

Pursuing important principles of law

Important decisions on the issue of access to information were rendered in 2011–2012 (Chapter 3). One from the Supreme Court of Canada concerned the status of ministerial offices, while a second reviewed the obligation to notify third parties about the application of the exemption limiting the disclosure of information provided by them. Two cases provided guidance on the exercise of discretion under the international affairs and defence exemption found in section 15 of the Act. In another case, the Federal Court of Appeal confirmed the Commissioner’s authority to compel the production of documents that were subject to the exclusion found in section 68.1.

Engaging with stakeholders

The Commissioner uses a variety of venues to work with partners and interested parties to bolster the case for access to government information—both in Canada and abroad (Chapter 4). Of note in 2011–2012 was the 7th International Conference of Information Commissioners, which we co-hosted in October 2011. Among the fruits of the Commissioner’s engagement efforts are that she can offer to Parliamentarians, upon request, her perspective on national and international developments in the world of access to information, with the goal of contributing to the development of a leading access regime in Canada. The Commissioner appeared before parliamentary committees five times in 2011–2012.

Ensuring operational integrity and corporate support to investigations

We continued to practice sound governance and stewardship of our limited resources (Chapter 5). Our work in these areas has provided a solid foundation for our core business—investigations—and will help us ensure ongoing operational integrity. In 2011–2012, for example, an internal audit of our investigative function proved crucial to our ongoing efforts to improve our performance.

Table of Contents

Faits saillants

L’exercice 2011-2012 a été une période de transition de plusieurs façons pour le Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Nous avons pris la décision consciente de nous attaquer à nos dossiers les plus complexes. Nous avons également commencé l’exercice 2011-2012 avec un inventaire composé en grande partie de plaintes dues à un refus d’accès (celles concernant des renseignements faisant l’objet d’une exception ou d’une exclusion, les cas où aucun document n’est trouvé et les cas où aucune réponse n’est fournie). Pendant cette période, nous avons aussi reçu moins de plaintes administratives qu’au cours des deux dernières périodes de référence.

Notre charge de travail changeante nous a obligés à trouver des manières nouvelles et plus efficaces d’enquêter sur les plaintes de refus plus complexes (chapitre 1). Le résultat net, c’est que pour le troisième exercice consécutif, nous avons été en mesure de fermer un plus grand nombre de dossiers que le nombre de dossiers reçus. Au total, nous avons fermé 1 496 dossiers, ce qui nous a permis de diminuer un peu le nombre de plaintes accumulées dans notre inventaire.

Sommaire de la charge de travail, de 2009-2010 à 2011-2012

Plaintes reçues Plaintes déposées par la commissaire Total
2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012 2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012 2009–2010 2010–2011 2011–2012
Plaintes reportées de l’exercice précédent 2 513 2 083 1 833 1 3 20 2 514 2 086 1 853
Nouvelles plaintes 1 653 1 810 1 460 36 18 5 1 689 1 828 1 465
Plaintes abandonnées pendant l’exercice* 575 692 642 0 0 0 575 692 642
Plaintes réglées sans conclusion pendant l’exercice s.o. 18 34 s.o. 0 0 s.o. 18 34
Plaintes réglées pendant l’exercice, avec conclusions 1 508 1 350 819 34 1 1 1 542 1 351 820
Total des dossiers fermés pendant l’exercice 2 083 2 060 1 495 34 1 1 2 117 2 061 1 496
Total des plaintes en suspens à la fin de l’exercice 2 083** 1 833+ 1 798 3 20 24 2 086 1 853 1 822

*Nous annulons les plaintes à la demande des plaignants, souvent après qu’un important travail d’enquête ait été effectué sur le dossier.
**Comprend 127 plaintes en suspens pendant le litige.
+Comprend 190 plaintes en suspens pendant le litige.

Version texte

Résultat par type de plaintes, dans le cas des dossiers fermés entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mars 2012

Ces trois diagrammes à secteurs montrent les résultats de nos enquêtes pour trois catégories de plaintes.

Le diagramme supérieur de gauche montre les résultats de 606 plaintes administratives. À partir du haut à droite, si on se déplace dans le sens horaire, le premier secteur montre que 55 % des plaintes (334) étaient fondées et qu’elles ont été réglées sans recommandation. Le deuxième secteur montre que 17 % des plaintes (100) n’étaient pas fondées. Les 4 secteurs suivants montrent ces résultats : 2 % des plaintes (13) ont été réglées; 24 % des plaintes (145) ont été abandonnées; 2 % des plaintes (11) étaient fondées et accompagnées de recommandations – réglées; et 0 % des plaintes (3) étaient fondées et accompagnées de recommandations – non réglées. Les pourcentages figurant dans le présent diagramme sont arrondis au nombre entier le plus près.

Le diagramme supérieur de droite montre les résultats de 874 plaintes de refus. À partir du haut à droite, si on se déplace dans le sens horaire, le premier secteur montre que 21 % des plaintes (180) n’étaient pas fondées. Le deuxième secteur montre que 21 % des plaintes (180) étaient fondées et qu’elles ont été réglées sans recommandation. Les 3 secteurs suivants montrent ces résultats : 2 % des plaintes (21) ont été réglées; 56 % des plaintes (490) ont été abandonnées; et 0 % des plaintes (3) étaient fondées et accompagnées de recommandations – réglées. Les pourcentages figurant dans le présent diagramme sont arrondis au nombre entier le plus près.

Le diagramme inférieur de gauche montre les résultats de 16 plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet. À partir du haut à droite, si on se déplace dans le sens horaire, le premier secteur montre que 43 % des plaintes (7) ont été abandonnées. Le deuxième secteur montre que 19 % des plaintes (3) étaient fondées et qu’elles ont été réglées sans recommandation. Le troisième secteur montre que 38 % des plaintes (6) n’étaient pas fondées. Les pourcentages figurant dans le présent diagramme sont arrondis au nombre entier le plus près.

*Les pourcentages sont arrondis au chiffre entier le plus près.

Assurer la conformité à la Loi

Notre activité principale consiste à enquêter sur les plaintes. Parmi les dossiers que nous avons réglés durant cet exercice (chapitre 2), il y a ceux qui illustrent les principes importants énoncés dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information que doivent respecter les institutions dans le traitement des demandes, notamment l’obligation de prêter assistance et l’application justifiée des exceptions, ainsi que les questions de procédures telles que l’exigence de récupérer et d’examiner tous les dossiers pertinents, que ceux-ci soient réellement divulgués ou non. Nous avons également préparé notre troisième rapport important sur la rapidité des institutions à répondre aux demandes d’accès à l’information. Ce rapport propose des signes d’amélioration dans les 18 institutions que nous avons réévaluées à la suite de leur rendement moyen ou inférieur à la norme en 2008-2009.

Appliquer d’importants principes de droit

Des décisions importantes ont été rendues en matière d’accès à l’information en 2011-2012 (chapitre 3). Une décision rendue par la Cour suprême du Canada concernait le statut des cabinets des ministres, tandis qu’une autre visait l’obligation d’informer les tiers de l’application d’une exception restreignant la communication des renseignements qu’ils ont fournis. Deux instances ont présenté des directives sur le pouvoir discrétionnaire en vertu de l’exception relative aux affaires internationales et à la défense prévue à l’article 15 de la Loi. Dans une autre instance, la Cour d’appel fédérale a confirmé les pouvoirs de la commissaire d’émettre des ordonnances de production de documents qui étaient assujettis à l’exclusion énoncée à l’article 68.1.

Obtenir la participation des intervenants

La commissaire utilise toute une série d’endroits ou d’événements pour collaborer avec des partenaires et des parties intéressées aux fins de soutien du cas pour l’accès à l’information gouvernementale – à la fois au Canada et à l’étranger (chapitre 4). Parmi les événements à noter en 2011-2012, mentionnons la 7e Conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information, que nous avons organisée conjointement en octobre 2011.Parmi les fruits de ses efforts, la commissaire peut offrir aux membres du Parlement, sur demande, sa perspective en matière de développements nationaux et internationaux dans le monde de l’accès à l’information, dans le but de contribuer à l’élaboration d’un régime principal d’accès à l’information au Canada. La commissaire a comparu cinq fois devant les commissions parlementaires en 2011-2012.

Assurer l’intégrité opérationnelle et fournir un soutien opérationnel aux enquêtes

Nous avons continué à mettre en pratique une gouvernance et une intendance avisées de nos ressources limitées (chapitre 5). Notre travail dans ces domaines a fourni une base solide à nos affaires – enquêtes – fondamentales et il nous permettra d’assurer une intégrité opérationnelle permanente. En 2011-2012, par exemple, une vérification interne de notre fonction d’enquête s’est révélée cruciale pour nos efforts continus en vue d’améliorer notre rendement.