Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous Table of contents Next

Highlights

I. Improving service delivery

Achieving efficiencies for faster and greater disclosure

In 2010–2011, we intensified our quest to reduce the inventory of complaints and maximize disclosure for the benefit of access requesters (see Chapter 1). We closed more than 2,000 cases for the second consecutive year. We improved the turnaround times, notably by completing more cases in fewer than nine months. This success results from the streamlining of our intake and early resolution processes over the last two years as well as from the implementation of clear procedures for triaging complaints and obtaining records from institutions.

Summary of caseloa d, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

[D]

Outcomes by type of complaint
Outcome of Cabinet confidence exclusion complaints (49)

[D]

Noteworthy investigations

Efforts to analyze our caseload and identify the most efficient case management strategies yielded good results again this year. We made full use of all the tools and powers at our disposal, including the conduct of formal inquiries and reports to heads of institutions with formal recommendations. Successful strategies included a portfolio approach through which we focused on specific institutions, and grouped complaints by source, topic or type of complaint. In most cases in which the complaint was well founded, we were able to negotiate a resolution, with requesters gaining access to additional or more complete information. Chapter 2 contains examples of cases that showcase the full range of these approaches.

Maximizing compliance

In 2010–2011, we implemented Year 2 of our Three-Year Plan for report cards and systemic investigations. Our performance assessments highlighted outstanding results as well as concerns and challenges at institutions that had only recently come under the Act (see Chapter 3). We also followed up on the progress achieved by central agencies and individual institutions in implementing previous recommendations to address delay-related issues. The House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics called our report cards “an essential tool which allows parliamentarians to hold the government accountable”.1

Working towards clear jurisprudence in favour of disclosure

An important role of the Information Commissioner is to bring forward and intervene in court cases to defend or clarify principles that underlie the fundamental right of access to government information, while contributing to the development of jurisprudence that favours disclosure. Of note in 2010–2010 was a case involving the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Information Commissioner. In it, the Federal Court confirmed the Commissioner’s authority to compel the production of documents. Another matter, between the Commissioner and the Canada Post Corporation, is currently before the Federal Court. The Court will be required to rule for the first time on the interpretation of the section 18.1 exemption, which protects the economic interests of certain Crown corporations. Chapter 4 contains brief summaries of these and other cases.

II. Catalyzing synergies for a leading access regime

Given increasing public expectations for transparency and openness, 2010–2011 presented the Information Commissioner with various opportunities to provide her views on the need and means to modernize the access regime. We assisted the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in efforts to bring various initiatives together in an open government strategy and improved access regime. We collaborated with a wide range of partners and stakeholders to cultivate and share knowledge on challenges and best practices.

III. Exercising responsible and effective governance

We solidified our governance this year through talent management and employee engagement initiatives, and by providing an enabling and secure infrastructure, and obtaining feedback on business risks, processes and controls, while ensuring public accountability through clear and meaningful reporting. We also pursued strategic planning to ensure we had a guiding vision of what we need to achieve, with what resources and how to maximize their use. The development of a strategic plan as well as our success in maximizing the use and output of our limited resources under fiscal restraint represent our greatest governance achievements for 2010–2011.


Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Faits saillants

I. Amélioration dans la prestation de service

Plus d'efficacité pour accélérer et faciliter la divulgation

En 2010–2011, nous avons redoublé d'effort pour réduire l'inventaire de plaintes et maximiser la divulgation au profit des demandeurs d'accès à l'information (voir le Chapitre 1). Nous avons fermé plus de 2 000 dossiers de plainte pour une deuxième année consécutive. Nous avons diminué les temps de traitement, notamment en réglant un plus grand nombre de cas en moins de neuf mois. Nous devons cette réussite à la rationalisation de nos processus de réception et de règlement rapide au cours des deux dernières années, ainsi qu'à la mise en œuvre de procédures claires pour le tri des plaintes et l'obtention de documents des institutions.

Sommaire de la charge de travail, de 2008–2009 à 2010–2011

[D]

Résultat des dossiers

Résultat des plaintes de refus (1 015 plaintes)

Résultat des plaintes relatives aux exclusions applicables aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet (49 plaintes)

[D]

Enquêtes dignes de mention

Cette année encore, l'analyse de notre inventaire des plaintes et les efforts déployés pour trouver les meilleures stratégies de gestion des dossiers ont donné de bons résultats. Nous avons utilisé tous les outils et pouvoirs à notre disposition, y compris la tenue d'audiences sous serment et la présentation de rapports avec recommandations officielles à l'intention de certains dirigeants d'institutions. Parmi les stratégies les plus fructueuses, mentionnons l'approche de portefeuille qui nous a permis de concentrer nos efforts sur certaines institutions particulières et de regrouper des plaintes selon leur source, leur sujet ou leur type. Dans la plupart des cas où la plainte était fondée, nous avons réussi à négocier un règlement permettant aux demandeurs d'obtenir des renseignements complémentaires ou une information plus ample. Le Chapitre 2 renferme des exemples de cas qui illustrent l'ensemble de ces approches.

Maximisation de la conformité

En 2010–2011, nous avons mis en œuvre le deuxième volet de notre plan triennal pour les fiches de rendement et les enquêtes systémiques. Nos évaluations du rendement de certaines institutions assujetties à la Loi depuis peu ont mis en lumière d'excellents résultats tout comme diverses difficultés et préoccupations (voir le Chapitre 3). Nous avons également suivi les progrès réalisés par les agences centrales et les institutions dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations précédentes visant à régler les problèmes liés aux délais. Le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes a qualifié nos fiches de rendement comme « un outil essentiel qui permet aux parlementaires de tenir le gouvernement responsable ».

Pour une jurisprudence claire et favorable à la divulgation

Un des rôles importants de la commissaire à l'information est d'intenter ou d'intervenir dans des actions en justice pour défendre ou clarifier les principes inhérents au droit fondamental d'accès à l'information gouvernementale, tout en contribuant au développement d'une jurisprudence qui favorise la divulgation. Parmi les instances notoires en 2010–2011, mentionnons le litige opposant la Société Radio-Canada et la commissaire à l'information, au terme duquel la Cour fédérale a confirmé le pouvoir de la commissaire d'ordonner la production de documents. La Cour fédérale examine actuellement un autre litige opposant la commissaire et la Société canadienne des postes. Pour la première fois, la Cour devra statuer sur l'interprétation de l'exception prévue à l'article 18.1, qui protège les intérêts financiers de certaines sociétés d'État. Le Chapitre 4 renferme un résumé de ces affaires et d'autres cas.

II. Catalyser les synergies pour un régime d'accès de premier plan

Vu les attentes croissantes du public en matière de transparence et d'ouverture, l'année 2010–2011 a offert diverses occasions à la commissaire à l'information de présenter son point de vue sur la nécessité et les moyens de moderniser le régime d'accès à l'information. Nous avons assisté le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes dans ses efforts visant à arrimer différentes initiatives en vue d'élaborer une stratégie de transparence gouvernementale et d'améliorer le régime d'accès à l'information. Nous avons collaboré avec de nombreux partenaires et intervenants afin d'approfondir et de partager les connaissances sur le plan des défis et des pratiques exemplaires.

III. Exercer une gouvernance responsable et efficace

Nous avons renforcé notre gouvernance cette année par des initiatives visant la gestion du talent et l'engagement des employés, par une infrastructure habilitante et sécuritaire et par une rétroaction sur nos risques, processus et contrôles, tout en rendant compte de nos activités au moyen de rapports clairs et substantiels. Nous avons également mené un exercice de planification stratégique pour nous guider vers les objectifs à atteindre et dans la façon de maximiser nos ressources pour y parvenir. L'élaboration d'un plan stratégique et l'optimisation de nos ressources limitées compte tenu des contraintes budgétaires représentent nos plus grandes réussites en matière de gouvernance en 2010–2011.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant