Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous Table of contents Next

3. Maximizing compliance

In 2010-2011, we implemented Year 2 of our Three-Year Plan for report cards and systemic investigations. Our performance assessments highlighted outstanding results as well as concerns and challenges at institutions that had only recently come under the Act. We also followed up on the progress achieved by central agencies and individual institutions in implementing previous recommendations to address delay-related issues. We are honoured by the fact that the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics called our report cards "an essential tool which allows parliamentarians to hold the government accountable."


"AN ESSENTIAL TOOL TO HOLD THE GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABLE"

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics followed up on our 2008–2009 Special Report by inviting two underperforming institutions—Environment Canada and Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada—to provide evidence on their efforts to improve.

The Committee, in turn, issued its own recommendations within its report, such as asking Environment Canada to report back to the Committee on internal performance statistics in three-month increments for the next fiscal year. More generally, it recommended "That the Government of Canada give priority to the access to information file and demonstrate the necessary leadership to fix the systemic problems identified by the Information Commissioner in her report on the report cards so that a greater number of federal institutions comply with the Act's requirements."


A three-year plan to maximize compliance

Responding to access requests in a timely fashion is one of the cornerstones of the Access to Information Act. Over the years, this principle has been increasingly ignored. The prevalence of delays led to the introduction of report cards in 1999. Two years ago, we took a strategic approach to assessing institutional compliance to get to the root causes of the problem, while encouraging institutions to more readily comply with their statutory requirements. The approach was formalized in July 2009 with the launch of our Three-Year Plan for report cards and systemic investigations.

This integrated approach guides us in gathering reliable and sufficient data to accurately assess institutions' compliance and develop specific recommendations. Our methodology combines findings from investigations of complaints, performance assessments of select groups of institutions as well as in-depth analysis of systemic or recurrent issues. It includes follow-ups with institutions to evaluate their progress in implementing our recommendations. It has the advantage of limiting duplication of effort and reducing the reporting burden on institutions.

By sharing our three-year plan with institutions and widely publicizing performance results and recommendations, we encourage proactive compliance, while helping institutions deal with specific challenges that inhibit performance. As an example, the Department of Finance Canada uses our report card questionnaire to self-evaluate its performance each year. An increasing number of institutions have started reporting their achievements in their Annual Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act, using our report cards and recommendations as a benchmark.

Over the last two years, we have assessed 32 institutions. These accounted for nearly
91 percent of all access requests the federal public service received in 2008–2009. Fifteen of those institutions were found to perform below average, among them the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and Canada Post Corporation, which joined the 13 underperformers listed in Table 3. As documented in our special reports to Parliament, the performance of these institutions has been affected by a range of issues, including inadequate delegation orders, lack of leadership, inappropriate use of time extensions, pervasive and protracted consultations, insufficient resources and training, and poor records management. The information gathered through the report card process has allowed us to develop recommendations to effectively address those issues.

In 2011–2012, we will complete the implementation of our first three-year plan. Our goal is to provide the government with a thorough, fact-based diagnostic of delay-related issues to guide efforts for improving the administration of the Act.

Recommendations to Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

We have addressed a number of recommendations on systemic issues to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) as the designated administrator of the Act. These recommendations pertain to delegation orders, leadership, extensions, consultations and resources.

We followed up with TBS on its progress implementing these recommendations. Of particular note are the initiatives that will be launched in 2011–2012 to collect and publish more statistical information about workload, time extensions and consultations, which should help strengthen accountability.

We had also recommended that TBS develop and implement an integrated human resources action plan to address the government-wide shortage of access to information personnel. In the spring 2010, TBS undertook to develop work descriptions and competencies to standardize work processes and it plans to launch a collective staffing process.

Our commitments to improving the system

In our special reports to Parliament on performance assessments, we make specific commitments to support the access to information system. Our previous report cards clearly identified the inappropriate use of time extensions as a leading cause of delays in responding to access to information requests. Consequently, in 2010-2011, we published advisory notices on time extensions and notification of extensions.

The advisory notice on time extensions sets out the factors that we generally take into account during an investigation when interpreting paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act. This provision permits institutions to extend the time limits for responding to requests for a reasonable period of time when they involve a search for or through a large number of records that would unreasonably interfere with operations. The notice clarifies our views of what could constitute a large number of records as well as a search through a large number of records. It also provides the factors we may consider when determining whether meeting the 30-day timeline would unreasonably interfere with operations of the institution. This guidance will assist institutions and us, respectively, in preparing and reviewing rationales and documentation for extensions. This will ultimately accelerate investigations regarding complaints about the use of time extensions.

According to paragraph 9(2) of the Act, institutions must notify the Information Commissioner of all time extensions taken for more than 30 days. When properly filed, extension notices constitute a useful tool to monitor and report on the use of extensions, which in turn fosters institutions' self-discipline in providing timely service to requesters. To facilitate and improve the reporting of time extensions, we developed an electronic template for the notification of time extensions, which is available on our website.

The Commissioner has also assigned an official to review extension notices and compile quarterly and annual statistics regarding system-wide and institutional compliance with notification requirements. Starting in 2010-2011, data per institution and at the aggregate level are available online, in a reusable format, as illustrated in Table 1.

Table 1. Extension notice report, all institutions, 2010–2011

[D]

Performance of new institutions under the Act

Our latest performance assessments focused on institutions that came under the Access to Information Act as a result of the Federal Accountability Act. The cohort included five Crown corporations and three Agents of Parliament. As part of the review, our own performance at processing access requests was assessed by the ad hoc Commissioner.

The review enabled us to examine whether institutions were responding to access requests in a timely fashion. We collected information about key factors such as the application of exemptions and exclusions, and the challenges faced by institutions in terms of resources and internal support.

As Table 2 indicates, six of the eight institutions demonstrated excellent results. They all achieved strong compliance rates with their legal obligations. What we observed first and foremost is that these institutions had the right attitude and approach towards transparency. Their leaders had made the necessary efforts to establish the right tools, allocate sufficient resources and implement sound approaches to fulfilling their obligations. Our own achievements reflect our efforts to lead by example.

On the other hand, we observed in two of the institutions some of the worst results in the 12 years that we have been doing report cards. We issued a red alert to the Canada Post Corporation, whose performance was so far off the chart that we were unable to ascribe a rating. We observed an astonishing 190-day average completion time for the 84 requests the institution completed in 2009-2010. Three out of four requests were delayed far beyond their deadlines. The new President of Canada Post has made a personal commitment to improve performance.

Table 2. Rat ing for institution assessed, 2009–2010.jpg

[D]

We also issued a failing grade to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), which took 158 days on average to complete requests. The CBC continued to struggle from the effects of an initial flood of 547 requests received in 2007-2008, within seven months (including 335 in the first month alone) of becoming subject to the Act. Promising signs of improvement in terms of timeliness were noticeable at the CBC towards the end of the 2009-2010 reporting year.

As part of our process, we issued recommendations to help the institutions improve their performance. We also invited the best performers to extend their leadership role by sharing their best practices with the access to information community.

Our findings also confirmed that the legislative scheme put in place under the Federal Accountability Act is a double-edged sword. While increasing the number of institutions covered by the Access to Information Act, this scheme introduced new institution-specific exemptions and exclusions. Contrary to the stated purpose of the access legislation, this piecemeal approach prevents the Act from being generally applied to all the records the institution holds. Therefore, the gains for transparency have been limited.

Progress on systemic issues

We followed up with the 13 institutions that obtained the worst results in the 2008–2009 report cards for a progress report on the work carried out in response to our recommendations. The majority of institutions reported progress in improving performance in various areas, as indicated in Table 3. In 2011–2012, we will reassess the progress achieved by those 13 institutions using both qualitative and quantitative data, as well as five other institutions from that cohort that were considered at risk (Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, Public Safety Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police).

Table 3. Progress implementing recommendat ions in the 2008–2009 report cards

[D]

Other sources of progress reports

We are also learning much from institutions through their reporting to Parliament. Annual Reports on the Administration of the Access to Information Act provide valuable insight into how individual institutions achieve compliance, on common approaches and good practices, as well as innovations that could benefit a large number of institutions.

We monitor these sources of information, since some institutions have started using them to report their progress in implementing our recommendations for improved performance. We believe that more institutions should be encouraged to do so to supplement Parliament's oversight mandate for government compliance with access legislation.

Investigating the sources of delay

As announced in our Three-Year Plan following the 2008–2009 report cards, we initiated a systemic investigation into the causes and sources of delay in the processing of access to information requests. In this investigation, we are examining delays resulting from mandatory consultations and matters of interference with the access to information process.

The investigation focuses on eight common recipients of mandatory consultations under the Act: Canada Border Services Agency, Canadian Security Intelligence Service, Correctional Service of Canada, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, the Department of Justice Canada, National Defence, the Privy Council Office's Cabinet Confidences Counsel, Public Safety Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

A second group of eight institutions are being investigated on matters of interference. They are Canada Revenue Agency, Canadian International Development Agency, Health Canada, Heritage Canada, National Defence, Natural Resources Canada, the Privy Council Office and Public Safety Canada. The investigation is scheduled to be completed in 2011.

Resolving CAIRS

The Coordination of Access to Information Requests System (CAIRS) was created in 1989 to facilitate the identification and coordination of access requests involving several institutions or raising significant legal or policy issues. CAIRS was a central registry containing the texts of access requests received by institutions covered by the Act. While information entered in CAIRS was not publicly available, users started making access requests for the list of all requests it contained.

In April 2008, TBS decided to discontinue the requirement to update CAIRS, which effectively rendered the system obsolete. We received two complaints against TBS regarding this decision. At the time the investigation was initiated, TBS had not proposed an alternative to CAIRS.

During the course of the investigation, we consulted with a number of stakeholders and obtained representations from the parties. Stakeholders demonstrated strong interest for the information contained in CAIRS. The lack of a centralized source of information made the search process for the same information time consuming, inefficient and costly. In its representations, TBS highlighted various factors that were considered prior to the decision to terminate CAIRS. Key considerations included the fact that the system was of limited value to institutions and that the information was still available directly from institutions.

Abolishing the requirement to update CAIRS effectively eliminated a centralized source of information on access requests. However, because records are still available from institutions, we were unable to conclude that the policy change constituted a denial of access under the Act.

To assist in resolving the matter and to facilitate the dissemination of government information, our recommendations were that TBS develop and implement a practice directing institutions to post on their websites the lists of access requests they receive. We also recommended that TBS enable a central search tool to allow users to search these lists.

After the conclusion of our investigation, the President of the Treasury Board announced on March 18, 2011, a commitment to expand open government through initiatives to promote open information, including requiring federal institutions to proactively release information on an ongoing basis. More specifically, all institutions subject to the Act will be expected to publish summaries of completed access requests in both official languages on their websites. TBS will examine ways to make the entire release package available online as well. We will continue to monitor progress on these positive developments.

Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant

3. Maximisation de la conformité

En 2010–2011, nous avons mis en œuvre la seconde année de notre plan triennal pour les fiches de rendement et les enquêtes systémiques. Nos évaluations du rendement ont mis en évidence des résultats exceptionnels ainsi que des préoccupations et des défis chez les institutions qui ne sont visées par la Loi que depuis peu. Nous avons également suivi de près les progrès réalisés par les organismes centraux et les institutions dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations antérieures visant la résolution des problèmes relatifs aux retards. Nous sommes honorés par le fait que le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes a qualifié nos fiches de rendement
d'« outil essentiel qui permet aux parlementaires de tenir le gouvernement
responsable
».


« UN OUTIL ESSENTIEL POUR TENIR LE GOUVERNEMENT RESPONSABLE »

Le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes a réagi à notre rapport spécial de 2008–2009 en invitant deux institutions dont le rendement était faible, Environnement Canada et Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, à prouver qu'elles font des efforts pour s'améliorer.

À son tour, le Comité a fait ses propres recommandations dans son rapport, notamment en demandant à Environnement Canada de lui faire rapport au sujet des statistiques de rendement internes à tous les trois mois au cours de la prochaine année financière. De façon plus générale, il est recommandé ce qui suit : « Que le gouvernement du Canada accorde priorité au dossier de l'accès à l'information et qu'il fasse preuve du leadership nécessaire pour régler les problèmes systémiques soulevés par la Commissaire à l'information dans son rapport sur les fiches de rendement de sorte qu'un plus grand nombre d'institutions fédérales se conforment aux les exigences de la Loi. »



Un plan triennal pour maximiser la conformité

La réponse rapide aux demandes d'accès constitue l'une des pierres angulaires de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Au fil des ans, ce principe a été de plus en plus ignoré. En réponse à l'ampleur des retards, le processus des fiches de rendement a été mis en place en 1999. Il y a deux ans, nous avons adopté une approche stratégique pour évaluer la conformité des institutions afin de nous attaquer aux causes profondes du problème tout en encourageant ces dernières à se conformer plus facilement à leurs obligations législatives. Cette approche a été officialisée en juillet 2009 par le lancement de notre Plan triennal relatif aux fiches de rendement et aux enquêtes systémiques.

Cette approche intégrée nous guide dans la collecte de données fiables et suffisantes pour évaluer avec exactitude la conformité des institutions et élaborer des recommandations précises. Notre méthodologie combine les résultats des enquêtes sur les plaintes, les évaluations du rendement de certains groupes d'institutions ainsi que les analyses approfondies de problèmes systémiques ou récurrents. Elle comprend des suivis auprès des institutions visant à évaluer leurs progrès dans la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations. Elle a l'avantage de limiter le chevauchement des efforts et de réduire le fardeau administratif imposé aux institutions.

En communiquant notre plan triennal aux institutions et en diffusant les résultats en matière de conformité et nos recommandations à grande échelle, nous encourageons la conformité proactive tout en aidant les institutions à s'attaquer à des problèmes précis qui font obstacle au rendement. À titre d'exemple, le ministère des Finances utilise annuellement notre questionnaire relatif aux fiches de rendement pour évaluer son propre rendement. Un nombre de plus en plus grand d'institutions ont commencé à faire état de leurs accomplissements dans leur rapport annuel concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en utilisant nos fiches de rendement et nos recommandations comme points de référence.

Au cours des deux dernières années, nous avons évalué 32 institutions représentant près de 91 % de l'ensemble des demandes d'accès à l'information reçues par la fonction publique fédérale en 2008–2009. Le rendement de 15 de ces institutions a été jugé sous la moyenne. Cette année, Radio-Canada et Postes Canada se sont ajoutées aux 13 institutions à faible rendement énumérées au Tableau 3. Tel qu'il est indiqué dans nos rapports spéciaux au Parlement, le rendement de ces institutions a subi les effets de divers problèmes : ordonnances de délégation inadéquates, manque de leadership, usage non approprié des prorogations de délai, consultations longues et systématiques, manque de ressources et de formation et piètre gestion des dossiers. L'information recueillie grâce au processus des fiches de rendement nous a permis d'élaborer des recommandations pour régler efficacement ces problèmes.

En 2011–2012, nous terminerons la mise en œuvre de notre premier plan triennal. Notre but est de fournir au gouvernement un diagnostic approfondi et basé sur les faits à l'égard des problèmes de retard afin de guider les efforts visant l'amélioration de l'administration de la Loi.

Recommandations au Conseil du Trésor

Nous avons adressé un certain nombre de recommandations à l'égard des problèmes systémiques au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) en tant qu'administrateur désigné de la Loi. Ces recommandations portaient sur les ordonnances de délégation, le leadership, les prorogations de délai, les consultations et les ressources.

Nous avons suivi de près les efforts déployés par le SCT dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations. Il convient de noter particulièrement les initiatives qui seront lancées en 2011–2012 pour recueillir et publier davantage de données statistiques sur la charge de travail, les prorogations de délai et les consultations, ce qui devrait contribuer à renforcer la responsabilité.

Nous avions également recommandé que le SCT élabore et mette en œuvre un plan d'action intégré en matière de ressources humaines pour résorber la pénurie de personnel chargé de l'accès à l'information dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. Au printemps 2010, le SCT a entrepris d'élaborer des descriptions de travail et de compétences afin de normaliser les processus de travail, et il prévoit mettre en marche un processus de dotation collective.

Nos engagements à l'égard de l'amélioration du système

Dans nos rapports spéciaux au Parlement sur les évaluations du rendement, nous avons pris des engagements précis en matière de soutien au système d'accès à l'information. Nos fiches de rendement antérieures ont clairement démontré que l'usage non approprié des prorogations de délai constituait une cause importante de retards dans la réponse aux demandes d'accès à l'information. Nous avons conséquemment publié, en 2010–2011, des notes d'information sur les prorogations de délai et avis de prorogation de délai.

La note d'information sur les prorogations de délai expose les paramètres dont nous tenons généralement compte dans une enquête lorsqu'il s'agit d'interpréter l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi. Cette disposition permet aux institutions de proroger le délai de réponse à une demande d'accès pendant une période raisonnable dans les cas où l'observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution en raison soit du grand nombre de documents demandés, soit de l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer. Cette note clarifie ce qui, pour le Commissariat, constituerait un grand nombre de documents ou une recherche dans un grand nombre de documents. Elle expose en outre les paramètres que nous pouvons prendre en compte pour déterminer si le fait de respecter le délai de 30 jours entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution. Ces indications aideront les institutions et le Commissariat, respectivement, à préparer et à examiner les justifications et la documentation à l'appui des prorogations de délai, ce qui se traduira au bout du compte par une accélération des enquêtes sur l'utilisation des prorogations de délai.

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi, les institutions doivent aviser la commissaire à l'information de toute prorogation de délai dépassant 30 jours. Lorsque correctement déposés, les avis de prorogation constituent un outil utile pour contrôler et signaler l'utilisation de prorogations de délai, ayant pour effet d'inciter les institutions à s'autodiscipliner de façon à répondre en temps opportun aux demandeurs. Pour faciliter et améliorer le signalement des prorogations de délai, nous avons élaboré un modèle électronique d'avis de prorogation de délai, lequel est disponible sur le site Web du Commissariat.

La commissaire a également désigné un membre du personnel du Commissariat pour examiner les avis de prorogation de délai et compiler des statistiques trimestrielles et annuelles sur la conformité du système et des institutions aux exigences relatives à ces avis. Depuis 2010–2011, les données globales et par institution sont disponibles en ligne, sous une forme réutilisable, comme l'indique le Tableau 1.

Tableau 1. Rapport sur les prorogations de délai, toutes les institutions, exercice financier 2010−2011.jpg

Tableau 1. Rapport sur les prorogations de délai, toutes les institutions, exercice financier 2010−20115

[D]

Rendement des institutions nouvellement visées par la Loi

Nos plus récentes évaluations du rendement ont ciblé les institutions qui sont à présent visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information en raison de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Il s'agit de cinq sociétés d'État et de trois agents du Parlement. Dans le cadre de cet examen, notre propre rendement en matière de traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information a été évalué par le commissaire ad hoc.

L'examen nous a permis de vérifier si les institutions répondaient aux demandes d'accès à l'information en temps opportun. Nous avons recueilli de l'information concernant des facteurs clés dont l'application des exceptions et des exclusions et les défis auxquels les institutions font face sur le plan des ressources et du soutien interne.

Comme l'indique le Tableau 2, six des huit institutions ont affiché d'excellents résultats. Elles ont toutes obtenu des taux élevés de respect de leurs obligations légales. Nous avons avant tout constaté que ces institutions avaient la bonne attitude et la bonne approche à l'égard de la transparence. Leurs dirigeants avaient déployé les efforts nécessaires pour mettre en place les outils appropriés, allouer les ressources suffisantes et mettre en œuvre des approches efficaces leur permettant de s'acquitter de leurs obligations. Nos propres résultats reflètent nos efforts pour montrer l'exemple.

Tableau 2. Notes décernées aux institutions évaluées pour 2009−2010

[D]

En revanche, nous avons observé certains des pires résultats jamais constatés lors des
12 années au cours desquelles nous avons établi des fiches de rendement. Nous avons émis une alerte rouge pour la Société canadienne des postes, dont le rendement était à ce point hors norme que nous n'avons pas été en mesure de lui décerner une note. En effet, les
84 demandes qui lui ont été adressées en 2009–2010 ont été traitées dans un délai moyen de 190 jours, un chiffre étonnant, et trois demandes sur quatre ont été traitées dans des délais bien supérieurs aux échéances prévues. Le nouveau président de Postes Canada s'est engagé personnellement à améliorer le rendement.

Nous avons également décerné la note F à Radio-Canada, qui a pris en moyenne 158 jours pour répondre aux demandes. Radio-Canada a continué de ressentir les effets de la première vague de 547 demandes reçues dans les sept mois qui ont suivi l'entrée en vigueur de son assujettissement à la Loi en 2007–2008 (dont 335 au cours du premier mois seulement). Des signes prometteurs d'amélioration des délais étaient observables vers la fin de l'année 2009–2010.

Dans le cadre de notre processus habituel, nous avons fait des recommandations pour aider les institutions à améliorer leur rendement. Nous avons également invité les institutions ayant affiché les meilleurs résultats à élargir leur rôle de leadership en faisant connaître leurs pratiques exemplaires auprès de la communauté de l'accès à l'information.

Nos constatations ont également confirmé l'effet de lame à deux tranchants qu'a eu le régime législatif institué par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (LFR). Bien qu'il ait accru le nombre d'institutions visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, ce régime a institué de nouvelles exceptions et exclusions propres aux institutions. Contraire au but énoncé par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, cette approche fragmentée empêche l'application générale de cette loi à tous les documents détenus par l'institution. Les gains en matière de transparence ont par conséquent été limités.

Progrès concernant les problèmes systémiques

Nous avons assuré un suivi auprès des 13 institutions qui ont obtenu les pires résultats dans les fiches de rendement pour 2008–2009 sous la forme d'un rapport de progrès sur les efforts déployés en réponse à nos recommandations. La majorité des institutions ont fait état de progrès dans l'amélioration du rendement sous divers aspects, comme l'indique le Tableau 3. En 2011–2012, nous réévaluerons les progrès accomplis par ces 13 institutions au moyen de données à la fois qualitatives et quantitatives ainsi que par 5 autres institutions faisant partie de ce groupe considéré comme étant à risque, soit Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, Pêches et Océans Canada, Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, Sécurité publique Canada et Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Tableau 3. Progrès relatifs à la mise en oeuvre des recommandations formUlées dansles fiches de rendement de 2008–2009*

[D]

Autres sources de rapports sur les progrès

Nous en apprenons en outre beaucoup des institutions au moyen de leurs instruments de rapport au Parlement. Les rapports annuels concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information fournissent de l'information précieuse sur la façon dont les institutions se conforment à cette loi, sur les approches communes ainsi que sur les bonnes pratiques et les innovations qui pourraient profiter à un grand nombre d'institutions.

Nous surveillons ces sources d'information car certaines institutions ont commencé à utiliser celles-ci pour faire état de leurs progrès dans la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations visant l'amélioration du rendement. Nous croyons que davantage d'institutions devraient être encouragées à faire de même pour compléter le mandat de surveillance qu'a le Parlement à l'égard de la conformité du gouvernement à la législation sur l'accès à l'information.

Enquête sur les sources de retards

Tel qu'il a été annoncé dans le Plan triennal faisant suite aux fiches de rendement de 2008–2009, nous avons entrepris une enquête systémique sur les causes et les sources de retards dans le traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information. Dans le cadre de cette enquête, nous examinons les retards résultant de consultations obligatoires et d'ingérences dans le processus d'accès à l'information.

L'enquête a ciblé huit organismes couramment consultés en vertu de la Loi : Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, Service correctionnel du Canada, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, ministère de la Justice, Défense nationale, Renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet/conseillers juridiques du Bureau du Conseil privé, Sécurité publique Canada et Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Un second groupe de huit institutions font l'objet d'une enquête concernant l'ingérence : Agence du revenu du Canada, Agence canadienne de développement international, Santé Canada, Patrimoine canadien, Défense nationale, Ressources naturelles Canada, Bureau du Conseil privé et Sécurité publique Canada. L'enquête devrait être terminée en 2011.

Règlement du dossier SCDAI

Le Système de coordination des demandes d'accès à l'information (SCDAI) a été mis sur pied en 1989 pour faciliter l'identification et la coordination des demandes d'accès à l'information sollicitant plusieurs institutions ou soulevant des questions d'importance sur le plan juridique ou politique. Le SCDAI était un registre central contenant les textes des demandes d'accès à l'information reçues par les institutions assujetties à la Loi. Même si l'information entrée dans le SCDAI n'était pas accessible au public, les utilisateurs se sont mis à présenter des demandes d'accès à l'information portant sur la liste complète des demandes qu'il contenait.

En avril 2008, le SCT a décidé de mettre fin à l'exigence de mettre à jour le SCDAI, ce qui a eu pour effet de rendre le système obsolète. Nous avons reçu deux plaintes contre le SCT au sujet de cette décision. Au moment de procéder à l'enquête, le SCT n'avait proposé aucune solution de rechange au SCDAI.

Au cours de l'enquête, le Commissariat a consulté un certain nombre d'intervenants et a obtenu les observations des parties. Les intervenants ont montré un vif intérêt à l'égard de l'information contenue dans le SCDAI. L'absence d'une source d'information centralisée rendait le processus à suivre pour obtenir de l'information similaire fastidieux, inefficace et coûteux. Les observations du SCT ont mis en évidence plusieurs facteurs qui ont été considérés avant de prendre la décision d'éliminer le SCDAI. Au cœur des considérations se trouvait le fait que le système avait une valeur limitée pour les institutions et que l'information demeurait disponible directement de ces dernières.

L'élimination de l'exigence de mettre à jour le SCDAI a eu pour effet pratique d'éliminer une source centrale d'information sur les demandes d'accès. Cependant, comme cette information reste toujours disponible auprès des institutions, nous n'avons pu conclure que le changement de politique constituait un refus d'accès aux termes de la Loi.

Afin de régler la question et de faciliter la diffusion de l'information gouvernementale, nous avons recommandé au SCT d'élaborer et de mettre en place une pratique visant à exiger des institutions qu'elles affichent sur leur site Web une liste des demandes d'accès reçues. Nous avons également recommandé au SCT de mettre au point une fonction de recherche centrale pour permettre au public d'interroger ces listes.

Depuis la fin de notre enquête, le président du Conseil du Trésor a annoncé, le 18 mars 2011, un engagement à étendre la transparence du gouvernement au moyen d'une composante d'information accessible, laquelle obligera les institutions fédérales à divulguer l'information de manière proactive sur une base continue. Plus précisément, toutes les institutions assujetties à la Loi devront publier sur leur site Web, dans les deux langues officielles, des résumés des demandes d'accès à l'information complétées. Le SCT examinera des façons de rendre également disponibles en ligne l'ensemble des documents communiqués. Nous continuerons de suivre de près ces développements positifs.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant