Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

Report Cards

Three-Year Plan Report Cards from 2008-2009 to 2010-2011

(Updated in June 2010 and May 2011)

Note: The Three-Year plan was first published in July 2009 to specify the scope of a systemic investigation and report cards to assess the federal government's compliance with the Access to Information Act over three successive years. The plan has been updated to reflect the milestones achieved in both Year One and Year Two to include adjustments which are detailed at the end of each section.

Responding to requests in a timely fashion is one of the cornerstones of the Access to Information Act (Act). This principle was reaffirmed a few years ago with the passage of the Federal Accountability Act and the introduction of a positive duty on federal institutions to assist requesters and respond without delay. The adage "access delayed is access denied" clearly articulates the importance of timely service delivery.

Over the years, this principle has been increasingly ignored. The magnitude of delays triggered the creation of the report cards in the 1990s. Throughout our report cards process, we observed that timeliness was no longer the norm. Of even greater concern was that it seemed it was no longer an ideal by which federal institutions are operating.

Through its three-year plan, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) will look at the root causes of this problem. Many compliance issues cannot be solved adequately when treated in isolation. This is why the plan elaborates an integrated approach for the next three years that includes institutional performance reviews as well as our planned systemic investigation. Another benefit of this approach is to limit duplication of efforts and reduce the reporting burden on institutions.

The plan supports our goal to be as open and transparent as possible and to encourage federal institutions to operate in compliance with the law. It is important to stress that the plan will continue to evolve. It will be adjusted annually to incorporate emerging issues, take into account problems identified through the complaint process and reflect consultations with stakeholders.

Year One

In year one, we will follow-up on our Special Report entitled Report Cards 2007-2008 and Systemic Issues Affecting Access to Information in Canada . This includes reporting on the implementation of the action plans of the ten institutions we surveyed last year, on the recommendations made to the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Canada School of Public Service, as well as on our own commitments. A list of these institutions is attached as Appendix A.

As part of the report card exercise, we will survey all institutions for which we have received at least five delay related complaints in 2008-2009. A list of these institutions is attached as Appendix B. The information we will be seeking relates to various indicators of timeliness, notably deemed refusal information, average life-span of requests and delays in responding beyond statutory timelines. Institutions will also have the opportunity to provide contextual information to explain the underlying reasons for their performance results. Selected institutions will receive the questionnaire before the end of July 2009.

Consistent with last year's process, we have allowed time for collaboration with institutions and for institutions to comment on a preliminary version of our report. We will publish action plans and responses from the institutions and include our findings in a special report to Parliament to be tabled in the last quarter of this fiscal year.

As part of the plan, we will initiate a systemic investigation, pursuant to subsection 30(3) of the Act, into the use and duration of time extensions. The investigation will address key concerns such as multiple requests that impact operations and the volume of consultations, particularly mandatory consultations. A first phase of the investigation will be based on information in our possession, including that which is contained in extension notices forwarded by heads of institutions under subsection 9(2) and analyses of currently available data.

We will also look into a practice that affects timeliness and relates to the time it takes institutions to produce documents to the OIC.

Update - June 2010

The Special Report "Out of Time": 2008-2009 Report Cards and Systemic Issues Affecting Access to Information in Canada was tabled in Parliament on April 13, 2010. This report chronicled the responses to the OIC recommendations to the ten institutions from the 2007-2008 report cards (Appendix A). Twenty-four institutions (Appendix B) were also studied based upon the criteria of having received five or more delay related complaints in 2008-2009. Combined, this cohort represents 88% of all the access to information requests received by the federal government, providing a solid base of evidence on the state of the federal access to information program in Canada.

The systemic investigation planned to be initiated in Year One has been delayed to Year Two. Based on the evidence gathered from the institutions surveyed in the report card process, the scope of the systemic investigation has been further defined to include delays resulting from mandatory consultations and matters of interference with the access to information process. You will find in Appendix D the list of institutions that will be included in the systemic investigation.

The OIC also issued a practice direction entitled "Requesting records from institutions" which clarifies that copies of records be provided by institutions within 10 working days. Any failure to provide the records within the required timeline will be considered as a "refusal to provide records" and will lead to escalation procedures.

Year Two

In year two, we will follow-up on our 2008-2009 Special Report. We will also review the three-year plan to determine whether it requires adjustments in the context of emerging trends and compliance issues.

We will survey selected institutions that became subject to the Access to Information Act as a result of the Federal Accountability Act. In addition to reviewing whether requests are responded to in a timely fashion, the review will collect information regarding key factors including the application of exemptions and exclusions and the challenges encountered by new institutions in terms of resources, internal support and foundational work. Institutions will be selected on the basis of complaints received since becoming subject to the Access to Information Act (5 or more complaints). A list of institutions is attached as Appendix C. The Office of the Information Commissioner will be reviewed as part of this exercise for which a special arm's length process will be developed and communicated.

Update - June 2010

The follow-up on the recommendations made to institutions surveyed in the 2008-2009 Special Report is scheduled to take place in Year Three (instead of Year Two) to allow sufficient time for the institutions to implement corrective measures. However, to ensure that meaningful remedial efforts are advancing, the OIC will canvass the 13 institutions that performed below average for an interim progress report that will be included in next year's special report.

Year Three

In year three, we will follow-up on the 24 institutions that were studied in the 2008-2009 Special Report. We will also release the findings of our systemic investigation. We will review the data collected as a result of the Treasury Board Secretariat's implementation of an enhanced statistical reporting system. The system will generate data related to time extensions and other critical elements of compliance. We will use this data to assess whether it points to issues or concerns.

In addition to persisting timeliness issues, the focus of that third year will be defined in year two by a review of the trends emerging in our complaints inventory and by our interactions with our stakeholders.

Update - May 2011

The investigative function of Officers of Parliament constitutes an instrument of an effective and rigorous democracy. In March 2011, the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics published its 12th report on the OIC's 2008-2009 report cards, indicating that the Commissioner's special report "is an essential tool which allows parliamentarians to hold the government accountable." Also in March 2011, the Prime Minister's Advisory Committee on the Public Service published its fifth report, A Public Service for Challenging Times, encouraging the Government and Parliament to examine the current oversight regime and look for ways to reduce multiple reporting requirements without sacrificing accountability. There are opportunities for the OIC to streamline its report card process while continuing to ensure that its methodology is consistent, comprehensive and cogent.

In order to focus attention and resources where they are urgently required, the OIC is honing in on the 13 underperforming institutions as well as those five at risk from the 2008-2009 cohort (see Appendix E for the list). This reassessment will include a review of both qualitative and quantitative data integrated with a comparative analysis of OIC complaint statistics and an analysis of the responses to the OIC recommendations.

The OIC will follow-up via a progress report in May 2012 on the implementation of its recommendations to CBC and Canada Post from the 2009-2010 special report.

Finally, given that Treasury Board only started to gather additional statistics commencing in the 2011-2012 reporting period, they will not be available for analysis in this reporting period. The OIC will look into this issue in subsequent reporting periods.

Appendix A: Institutions surveyed in the 2007-2008 Special Report to Parliament

  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Department of Justice Canada
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Library and Archives Canada
  • National Defence
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
 

Appendix B: Institutions surveyed in the 2008-2009 Special Report to Parliament

  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Canadian Food Inspection Agency
  • Canadian Heritage
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Canadian Security Intelligence Service
  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada
  • Correctional Service Canada
  • Department of Justice Canada
  • Environment Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
  • Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Industry Canada
  • National Defence
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Telefilm Canada
  • Transport Canada
 

Appendix C: Institutions to be surveyed in the 2009-2010 Special Report to Parliament

  • Atomic Energy of Canada Limited
  • Canada Post Corporation
  • Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
  • National Arts Centre
  • Office of the Auditor General of Canada
  • Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
  • Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
  • VIA Rail Canada Inc.
 

Appendix D: Institutions included in the systemic investigation

Mandatory consultations

  • Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
  • Privy Council Office (CCC)
  • National Defence
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Department of Justice
  • Correctional Service of Canada
  • Canadian Security Intelligence Service
 

Interference with the ATI process

  • National Defence
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Privy Council Office-ATIP
  • Health Canada
  • Heritage Canada
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Canada Revenue Agency
 

Appendix E: Institutions from the 2008-2009 Special Report to be reassessed in the 2010-2011 Special Report

  • Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
  • Canada Revenue Agency
  • Canadian Food Inspection Agency
  • Canadian Heritage
  • Canadian International Development Agency
  • Canadian Security Intelligence Service
  • Correctional Service of Canada
  • Environment Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Human Resources and Skills Development Canada
  • National Defence
  • Natural Resources Canada
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Safety Canada
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police
  • Transport Canada

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiches de rendement

Plan triennal

Fiches de rendement de 2008‑2009 à 2010‑2011

(Mise à jour en juin 2010 et mai 2011)

Nota : Le plan triennal a été publié pour la première fois en juillet 2009 pour préciser la portée de l'enquête systémique et des fiches de rendement servant à évaluer la conformité du gouvernement fédéral avec la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pendant trois années successives. Le plan a été mis à jour pour tenir compte des étapes franchies pendant la première année et deuxième année et inclure les modifications qui sont indiquées à la fin de chaque section.

Répondre aux demandes en temps opportun est une des pierres angulaires de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (la Loi). Ce principe a été réaffirmé il y a quelques années avec l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité et l'établissement du devoir positif qu'on les institutions fédérales de prêter assistance aux demandeurs et de leur répondre sans délai. L'adage selon lequel tout retard équivaut à un refus d'accès exprime clairement l'importance de répondre rapidement aux demandes.

Toutefois, au fil des ans, ce principe a été de plus en plus ignoré. En réponse à l'ampleur des retards, le processus des fiches de rendement a été mis en place dans les années 1990. L'année dernière, ce processus nous a permis de constater que le respect des échéances n'était plus la norme. Il était encore plus préoccupant de constater qu'il ne s'agissait plus du but auquel tendaient les institutions fédérales.

Le Commissariat à l'information (Commissariat) examinera les causes fondamentales de ce problème au moyen de son plan triennal. De nombreux problèmes de conformité ne peuvent être résolus adéquatement lorsqu'ils sont traités de façon isolée. Voilà pourquoi le plan prévoit une approche intégrée pour les trois prochaines années, comprenant à la fois l'examen du rendement des institutions fédérales et l'enquête systémique planifiée. Un autre avantage lié à cette approche est de limiter le chevauchement des tâches et d'alléger le fardeau administratif imposé aux institutions.

Le plan appuie notre d'ouverture et de transparence et incite les institutions fédérales d'exercer leurs activités conformément à la Loi. Il importe de souligner que le plan continuera d'évoluer. Il sera modifié chaque année de façon à tenir compte des nouvelles tendances, des problèmes décelés par l'entremise des plaintes ainsi que des consultations menées auprès des intervenants.

Première année

La première année, nous ferons le point sur le rapport spécial intitulé Fiches de rendement 2007-2008 et problèmes systémiques influant sur l'accès à l'information au Canada , ce qui comprend la production de rapports sur la mise en œuvre des plans d'action des dix institutions que nous avons évaluées l'année dernière, sur les recommandations faites au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et à l'École de la fonction publique du Canada, de même que sur les engagements que nous avons pris. L'appendice A contient la liste de ces institutions.

Pour l'élaboration des fiches de rendement, nous recueillerons des données auprès de toutes les institutions pour lesquelles nous avons reçu au moins cinq plaintes reliées au retard en 2008‑2009. L'appendice B contient la liste de ces institutions. Les renseignements que nous demanderons sont liés à divers indicateurs de rapidité de réponse, notamment la présomption de refus, la durée de vie moyenne des demandes et les réponses données au‑delà des échéanciers prescrits par la Loi. Les institutions auront également l'occasion de fournir des renseignements contextuels expliquant leur rendement. Celles qui seront choisies recevront le questionnaire d'ici la fin de juillet 2009.

À l'instar de l'année dernière, nous avons prévu du temps pour collaborer avec les institutions et permettre à celles‑ci de commenter sur une version préliminaire de notre rapport. Nous publierons les plans d'action et les réponses des institutions et inscrirons nos constatations dans un rapport spécial au Parlement qui sera présenté au dernier trimestre du présent exercice financier.

Parallèlement, nous entreprendrons une enquête systémique de notre propre initiative, conformément au paragraphe 30(3) de la Loi, concernant l'utilisation et la durée des prorogations de délai. L'enquête abordera des préoccupations importantes telles que les cas de multiples demandes qui influent sur les activités des institutions et sur le volume des consultations, surtout les consultations obligatoires. La première partie de l'enquête sera fondée sur les renseignements dont nous disposons, y compris les avis de prorogation transmis par les responsables d'institutions en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) et les analyses de données actuellement accessibles.

Nous examinerons également une pratique qui retarde le processus d'enquête notamment les délais associés à la production de documents au Commissariat.

Mise à jour - juin 2010

Le rapport spécial intitulé Hors délais - Fiches de rendement 2008‑2009 - Problèmes systémiques influant sur l'accès à l'information au Canada a été déposé au Parlement le 13 avril 2010. Ce rapport rend compte des suites données aux recommandations du Commissariat par les 10 institutions qui avaient fait l'objet d'une fiche de rendement en 2007‑2008 (Annexe A). Vingt‑quatre institutions (Annexe B) ont également été examinées. Elles ont été choisies parce qu'au moins cinq plaintes liées au retard avaient été déposées contre elles en 2008‑2009. Ensemble, ces 24 institutions représentent 88 % de toutes les demandes d'accès à l'information reçues par le gouvernement fédéral. Cet échantillon fournit des preuves solides concernant l'état du programme d'accès à l'information au Canada.

L'enquête systémique qui devait être entreprise pendant la première année a été reportée à l'année suivante. Compte tenu des informations recueillies auprès des institutions examinées dans le cadre du processus des fiches de rendement, l'objet de l'enquête systémique a été précisé pour inclure les retards résultant de consultations obligatoires et d'ingérences dans le processus d'accès à l'information. Vous trouverez à l'Annexe D la liste des institutions qui seront soumises à l'enquête systémique.

Le Commissariat a également diffusé une directive sur les pratiques intitulée Demande de documents auprès des institutions, qui indique que des copies des documents doivent être fournies dans un délai de 10 jours ouvrables. Toute omission de fournir les documents dans le délai requis sera jugée comme un « refus de fournir les documents » et entraînera des procédures relatives aux mesures subséquentes.

Deuxième année

La deuxième année, nous ferons le point sur notre rapport spécial de 2008‑2009. Nous réexaminerons également le plan triennal afin de déterminer s'il est nécessaire de l'adapter aux nouvelles tendances et aux nouveaux problèmes de conformité.

Nous recueillerons des données auprès de certaines institutions qui sont devenues assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information à la suite de l'adoption de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. L'examen permettra de vérifier si les demandes sont traitées en temps opportun et de recueillir des renseignements concernant des facteurs clés, dont l'application des exceptions et des exclusions et les défis auxquels les nouvelles institutions font face sur le plan des ressources, du soutien interne et du travail de base. Les institutions seront choisies en fonction du nombre de plaintes reçues depuis qu'elles sont assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (cinq plaintes ou plus). La liste des institutions figure à l'Annexe C. Nous prévoyons que le Commissariat à l'information fera l'objet d'un examen dans le cadre de cet exercice. Un processus indépendant spécial sera élaboré et divulgué à cette fin.

Mise à jour - juin 2010

Le suivi des recommandations adressées aux institutions soumises à un examen dans le cadre du Rapport spécial 2008‑2009 devrait se faire pendant la troisième année. Les institutions auront ainsi le temps de planifier et de mettre en œuvre les recommandations, de faire un suivi et d'en rendre compte. Cependant, pour s'assurer que des mesures correctives notables sont mises en place, le Commissariat examinera les 13 institutions dont le rendement était inférieur à la moyenne et rédigera un rapport d'étape qui sera inclus dans le rapport spécial de l'an prochain.

Troisième année

La troisième année, nous ferons le point sur les 24 institutions qui ont été évaluées dans le cadre du Rapport spécial 2008‑2009. Nous publierons également les résultats de notre enquête systémique. Nous examinerons également les données recueillies au moyen de l'instauration par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor d'un système d'information statistique amélioré, qui produira des données sur les prorogations et sur d'autres éléments essentiels en matière de conformité. Nous utiliserons ces données pour déceler d'éventuelles questions préoccupantes.

En plus d'examiner les questions relatives à la rapidité de réponse, le Commissariat mettra l'accent, au cours de la troisième année, sur les tendances observées au cours de la deuxième année lors de l'examen des plaintes et des interactions avec nos intervenants.

Mise à jour - mai 2011

La fonction d'enquête des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement constitue un instrument d'une démocratie efficace et vigoureuse. En mars 2011, le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique publiait son douzième rapport sur les fiches de rendement 2008‑2009 du Commissariat, dans lequel il indiquait que le rapport spécial de la commissaire « est un outil essentiel qui permet aux parlementaires de tenir le gouvernement responsable ». Également en mars 2011, le Comité consultatif sur la fonction publique nommé par le Premier ministre publiait son cinquième rapport, Une fonction publique à la hauteur des défis, dans lequel il recommandait au gouvernement et au Parlement d'examiner le régime de surveillance actuel et de chercher des moyens de réduire les obligations multiples de rendre compte sans sacrifier la responsabilisation. Le Commissariat a la possibilité de simplifier son processus de la fiche de rendement tout en continuant à veiller à ce que sa méthodologie soit cohérente, complète et convaincante.

Dans le but de concentrer son attention et ses ressources là où elles sont les plus nécessaires, le Commissariat se pencera sur les 13 institutions à faible rendement ainsi qu'aux cinq institutions à risque de la cohorte de 2008-2009 (voir la liste à l'appendice E). Cette nouvelle évaluation inclura un examen des données qualitatives et quantitatives, une analyse comparative des statistiques de plaintes du Commissariat et une analyse des réponses aux recommandations du Commissariat.

Dans un rapport d'étape qu'il publiera en mai 2012, le Commissariat fera un suivi de la mise en œuvre de ses recommandations à Radio-Canada et Postes Canada formulées dans le Rapport spécial 2009-2010.

Finalement, compte tenu du fait que le Conseil du Trésor n'a commencé à recueillir des statistiques supplémentaires qu'à compter de la période de référence 2011-2012, celles‑ci ne seront pas disponibles pour analyse durant l'actuelle période de référence. Le Commissariat se penchera sur cette question dans les périodes de référence subséquentes.

Appendice A

Institutions qui ont été évaluées dans le cadre du Rapport spécial au Parlement 2007‑2008

  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
  • Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé
  • Défense nationale
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada
  • Ministère de la Justice Canada
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Santé Canada
  • Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Appendice B

Institutions qui ont été évaluées dans le cadre du Rapport spécial au Parlement 2008‑2009

  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
  • Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
  • Agence canadienne de développement international
  • Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments
  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
  • Agence du revenu du Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé
  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada
  • Défense nationale
  • Environnement Canada
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada
  • Industrie Canada
  • Ministère de la Justice Canada
  • Patrimoine canadien
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Santé Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada
  • Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
  • Service correctionnel du Canada
  • Téléfilm Canada
  • Transports Canada
  • Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada

Appendice C

Institutions qui seront évaluées dans le cadre du Rapport spécial au Parlement 2009‑2010

  • Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada
  • Centre national des arts
  • Commissariat à l'information du Canada
  • Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée
  • Énergie atomique du Canada limitée
  • Société canadienne des postes
  • Société Radio-Canada
  • VIA Rail Canada Inc.

Appendice D

Institutions inclus dans l'enquête systémique

Consultations obligatoires

  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
  • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé (CJRCC)
  • Défense nationale
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada
  • Ministère de la Justice Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada
  • Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
  • Service correctionnel du Canada

Obstruction du processus de la Loi

  • Agence canadienne de développement international
  • Agence du revenu du Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé (AIPRP)
  • Défense nationale
  • Patrimoine canadien
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada
  • Santé Canada

Appendice E

Institutions du Rapport spécial 2008‑2009 qui seront réévaluées dans le Rapport spécial 2010-2011

  • Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien
  • Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
  • Agence canadienne de développement international
  • Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments
  • Agence du revenu du Canada
  • Bureau du Conseil privé
  • Défense nationale
  • Environnement Canada
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada
  • Patrimoine canadien
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada
  • Ressources naturelles Canada
  • Santé Canada
  • Sécurité publique Canada
  • Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
  • Service correctionnel du Canada
  • Transports Canada