Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a)of the Access to Information Act

Advisory Notice

This purpose of this notice is to advise government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act) of factors the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) generally takes into account when interpreting paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act during the investigation of a complaint. The provision permits institutions to extend the time limits for responding to requests "for a reasonable period of time" when they involve a search for or through a large number of records and would unreasonably interfere with operations.

The notice is also intended to assist officials both in institutions and the OIC in preparing and reviewing rationales to substantiate extensions and the documentation associated with them during the course of investigations. Ultimately, use of appropriate criteria and improved documentation will support and expedite any investigations undertaken in response to requester- or Commissioner-initiated complaints.

Background

During the conduct of its investigations, as well as in its annual reports to Parliament and institutional report cards, the OIC has identified the inappropriate use of time extensions as a leading cause of delays in responding to access to information requests. The inconsistent application of paragraph 9(1)(a), which provides for an extension when a request involves a search for or through a large number of records and would unreasonably interfere with operations, is the result of varying interpretations of what constitutes a "large number" and often of attempts by institutions to manage their workloads.

In Report Card 2008-2009: Out of Time, the Commissioner made a commitment to clarify the OIC's interpretation of paragraph 9(1)(a). This notice provides guidance on the OIC's interpretation and application of the provision.

Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a)

Paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act provides that institutions may extend the 30-day time limit to respond to a request for information if it is for a large number of records or necessitates a search through a large number of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. When conducting its investigations, the OIC has identified several issues concerning the interpretation of the terms "large number of records", "search through a large number of records" and "unreasonable interference with operations of the government institution".

Determining what constitutes a large number of records

The OIC has been considering 1,000 pages of records or more as a benchmark for what constitutes a large number. In cases involving fewer pages, it has required institutions to provide rationales to substantiate their positions regarding volume. While the number of pages continues to be an important indicator of volume, the OIC may assess extensions on a broader, case-by-case basis with contextual factors playing a role in the assessment.

In Implementation Report Number 67 (September 17, 1999), the Treasury Board Secretariat indicated that the average number of records an institution routinely processes within 30 days could be employed as a scale for determining what constitutes a large number of records. Although it might be considered in particular circumstances, this factor would have minimal weight in an investigation if the OIC is of the view the institution is performing at a sub-standard level.

Determining what constitutes a search through a large number of records

In the past, guidance regarding searching through a large number of records has tended to be based primarily on page counts of paper documents. In the current environment, while electronic searches may quickly generate records on a topic, they must still be examined manually to assess their particular relevance to a request.

Factors the OIC may consider during extension investigations to assess what constitutes a search through a large number of records include but are not limited to:

  • Commonality and currency of the formats of the records [Example: Record production requires use of unusual software or antiquated hardware];
  • Degree of ease in reviewing and assessing the relevancy of the records [Example: Large computer printout where the review of 1 or 2 pages results in a uniform approach being applied to all pages];
  • Existence of previous requests for the same or similar records;
  • Number of records management systems to be searched;
  • Number of officials involved in the search;
  • Accessibility of the records [Example: Records held in multiple locations];

In the past, it is important to note the OIC has not accepted an institution's chronic lack of resources or inadequate records management system as a legitimate justification for a time extension.

Determining what is unreasonable interference with the operations of the institution

The second part of the criteria under paragraph 9(1)(a) is whether meeting the 30 day timeline would unreasonably interfere with operations of the institution. Factors the OIC may consider during extension investigations include but are not limited to:

  • Nature and extent of the interference;
  • Degree to which the subject matter expertise of the Office of Primary Interest (OPI) will be diverted to the detriment of the OPI's core functions; and
  • Extent to which institutional resources required to respond to the request is adversely affecting the processing of other requests.

The OIC has not viewed a temporary lack of resources resulting from holidays, extended personal leave, power outages, special events, etc. as valid arguments in investigations of extensions. However, lack of adequate resources in extraordinary circumstances may be taken into account on a case-by-case basis. In these circumstances, institutions may be asked to demonstrate they are making an effort to resolve their resource problems.

Notice of Right to Complain

Subsection 9(1) requires institutions to notify requesters, as part of the notice of extension, that the person has a right to make a complaint to the Commissioner about the extension. Complaints must be made within sixty days after the day on which the person receives the notice. Direction on the timeframe for filing a complaint is available at the following address: http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/inv-inv_pd-dp_timeframe-complaint-atia-temps-plaintes-atia.aspx

Investigations

The lists of factors above are by no means exhaustive. They are intended to provide information on how the OIC may approach extension investigations. Ultimately, institutions are responsible for demonstrating that all parts of the tests are met and that time extensions are substantiated. Detailed documentation assists the OIC in determining the validity of extensions during investigations.

Subsection 9(1) of the Act prescribes that institutions may extend the time limit for a "reasonable" period of time. In situations where the OIC does not consider the period of time reasonable, it may request institutions to provide detailed work plans to support the rationales. If necessary, it may also collaborate with them to establish earlier response dates based on the work to be completed.

If an institution has satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(a) and has notified the person who made the request about the extension within the required 30 days following receipt of the request, the OIC will, absent other adverse facts, find the extension to be valid.

Advisory Notice

Notification of Extensions Pursuant to Subsection 9(2)of the Access to Information Act

The purpose of this notice is to propose to government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act) use of a template to notify the Information Commissioner of extensions of the time limit for responding to access requests. Pursuant to subsection 9(2) of the Act, where the head of a government institution extends the time limit for more than 30 days under subsection 1, the head shall give notice of the extension to the Information Commissioner at the same time notice is given to the requester.

Background

During the course of its investigations, as well as in its annual reports to Parliament and institutional report cards, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) has identified cases where institutions have failed to comply with the notification requirement prescribed by subsection 9(2). To address this issue and to promote a reduction in the number of complaints regarding extensions, the Commissioner made a commitment in Report Card 2008-2009: Out of Time to develop and implement an electronic template to assist institutions in the notification process. In addition, she committed to assigning an official in the OIC to review the notices and prepare reports on the length of extensions on a system-wide basis.

Currently, a common notification practice is for institutions to copy to the Information Commissioner the letter of extension sent to the requester. This practice has the disadvantage of unnecessarily disclosing personal information about the requester. While paper-based notification remains an option, some institutions have been requesting that an electronic means of transmitting the information to the OIC be developed.

Template

The electronic template the OIC is proposing is designed to assist institutions in timely adherence to extension notification requirements. It will be available on the OIC's website. Every effort will be made to establish interoperability between the notification function and institutional web and electronic case management systems to ensure seamless and secure transmittal of information from institutions to the OIC.

The categories of information listed on the template conform to those that are generally provided to the requester and the OIC. More importantly, the information is consistent with the intent of the "duty to assist" enumerated in section 4(2.1) of the Act and Principle 3 for assisting applicants in Appendix C of the Treasury Board Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act. The latter requires institutions "to provide information on the Access to Information Act, including information on the processing of your request and your right to complain to the Information Commissioner of Canada."

Information in the web extension reporting template includes:

  • Date of access request;
  • Date completed request is received by the institution;
  • Institution's file number;
  • Text of the request;
  • Date extension notification sent to requester;
  • Reason under section 9 for extension (specify paragraph);
  • Length of extension; and
  • Notice of the right to complain to the OIC included.

The Information Commissioner has assigned an official to review extension notices and compile quarterly and annual statistics regarding system-wide and institutional compliance with subsection 9(2). These statistics will be published on the OIC website.

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Note d'information

La présente note d'information a pour objet d'informer les institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information des facteurs que le Commissariat à l'information du Canada prend généralement en considération lorsqu'il interprète l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi dans le cadre d'une enquête faisant suite à une plainte. Cette disposition permet aux institutions de proroger le délai prévu pour répondre à une demande « d'une période que justifient les circonstances » dans les cas où l'observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution en raison soit du grand nombre de documents demandés, soit de l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer.

Cette note a également pour but d'aider les fonctionnaires des institutions et du Commissariat à examiner et à rédiger les motifs justifiant les prorogations de délai et les documents connexes au cours des enquêtes. L'utilisation de critères pertinents et de meilleurs documents facilitera et accélérera toute enquête entreprise à la suite d'une plainte d'un demandeur ou émanant de la commissaire.

Contexte

Au cours de ses enquêtes tout comme dans ses rapports annuels au Parlement et ses fiches de rendement des institutions, le Commissariat a observé que l'utilisation inappropriée des prorogations de délai est une cause majeure des retards dans le traitement des demandes d'accès à l'information. L'alinéa 9(1)a) - qui permet une prorogation quand une demande exige de trouver un grand nombre de documents ou de faire beaucoup de recherches et entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution - est appliqué de façon inégale, à cause des diverses interprétations données à l'expression « un grand nombre » et, souvent, des efforts des institutions pour gérer leur charge de travail.

Dans le rapport intitulé Fiches de rendement 2008-2009 : Hors délais, la commissaire s'est engagée à préciser la manière dont le Commissariat interprète l'alinéa 9(1)a). La présente note d'information explique donc comment le Commissariat interprète et applique cette disposition.

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a)

En vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, une institution fédérale peut proroger le délai de 30 jours pour répondre à une demande quand l'observation de ce délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution en raison soit du grand nombre de documents demandés, soit de l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer pour donner suite à la demande. Au cours de ses enquêtes, le Commissariat a relevé plusieurs problèmes concernant l'interprétation des expressions « grand nombre de documents », « ampleur des recherches à effectuer » et « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution ».

Déterminer le sens de l'expression « grand nombre de documents »

Pour le Commissariat, 1 000 pages de documents ou plus constituent un grand nombre de documents. Lorsqu'il y a moins de pages, le Commissariat demande à l'institution de justifier pourquoi elle soutient qu'il y a un grand nombre de documents. Même si le nombre de pages demeure un indicateur important du volume, le Commissariat peut évaluer les prorogations de délai de manière plus large, au cas par cas, en accordant plus d'importance aux facteurs contextuels.

Dans le Rapport de mise en œuvre no 67 (17 septembre 1999), le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor indique que le nombre moyen de documents qu'une institution traite normalement en 30 jours pourrait servir d'indication de ce qui constitue un grand nombre de documents. Bien qu'il puisse être pris en considération dans certains cas, ce facteur aura peu de poids dans une enquête si le Commissariat estime que l'institution a un rendement inférieur à la norme.

Déterminer le sens de l'expression « ampleur des recherches à effectuer »

Par le passé, pour déterminer l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer, on calculait d'abord le nombre de pages des documents papier. Aujourd'hui, bien qu'une recherche électronique puisse permettre de trouver rapidement des documents sur un sujet, il faut tout de même les examiner manuellement pour en évaluer la pertinence.

Les facteurs que le Commissariat peut prendre en considération dans ses enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai pour évaluer l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer sont notamment les suivants :

  • le format plus ou moins standard et à jour des documents [p. ex. la production du document exige l'utilisation d'un logiciel inusité ou d'un matériel désuet];
  • la facilité plus ou moins grande avec laquelle on peut examiner et évaluer la pertinence des documents [p. ex. dans le cas de volumineux imprimés d'ordinateur, l'examen d'une ou de deux pages peut permettre de trouver une méthode uniforme pour toutes les pages];
  • l'existence de demandes antérieures pour obtenir les mêmes documents ou des documents analogues;
  • le nombre de systèmes de gestion de documents à consulter;
  • le nombre de personnes participant à la recherche;
  • l'accessibilité des documents [p. ex. documents dispersés un peu partout].

Il importe de noter que, par le passé, le Commissariat n'a pas accepté qu'une institution invoque le manque chronique de ressources ou les lacunes de son système de gestion des documents pour justifier une prorogation de délai.

Déterminer le sens de l'expression « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution »

L'autre critère énoncé à l'alinéa 9(1)a)concerne la possibilité que l'observation du délai de 30 jours entrave de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution. Les facteurs que le Commissariat peut considérer dans ses enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai sont notamment les suivants :

  • la nature et l'ampleur de l'entrave;
  • la mesure dans laquelle l'expertise pertinente que possède le bureau de première responsabilité (BPR) sera détournée au détriment des fonctions essentielles de ce bureau;
  • la mesure selon laquelle, pour répondre à la demande, il faudrait y consacrer tellement de ressources institutionnelles que le traitement des autres demandes en souffrirait.

Dans ses enquêtes, le Commissariat n'a pas considéré le manque temporaire de ressources (dû par exemple à des congés, des congés personnels prolongés, des pannes d'électricité ou des événements spéciaux) comme une raison valable de demander une prorogation de délai. Cependant, le manque de ressources pourrait être pris en compte dans certaines circonstances exceptionnelles, à évaluer au cas par cas. Dans ces situations, on pourrait demander à l'institution de démontrer qu'elle s'efforce de régler son problème de ressources.

Avis du droit de se plaindre

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(1), l'institution doit envoyer à la personne qui a fait la demande un avis de prorogation de délai, en lui faisant part de son droit de déposer une plainte à ce propos auprès du Commissariat à l'information. La plainte doit être déposée dans les 60 jours suivant la date où la personne a reçu l'avis. Les directives sur les délais de présentation d'une plainte figurent à l'adresse suivante : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_pd-dp_timeframe-complaint-atia-temps-plaintes-atia.aspx .

Enquêtes

Les listes de facteurs précitées ne sont aucunement exhaustives. Elles donnent des exemples de la manière dont le Commissariat peut aborder les enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai. En fin de compte, il incombe à l'institution de démontrer que tous les éléments des critères sont respectés et que la prorogation de délai est justifiée.

Le paragraphe 9(1) de la Loi prescrit que les institutions peuvent proroger le délai d'une « période que justifient les circonstances ». Dans les cas où le Commissariat considère que le délai n'est pas justifié, il peut demander à l'institution de lui fournir des plans de travail détaillés pour appuyer sa justification. Au besoin, il pourra également collaborer avec l'institution pour fixer des dates de réponses plus rapprochées compte tenu du travail à accomplir.

Si l'institution respecte tous les critères énoncés à l'alinéa 9(1)a)et si elle a avisé la personne qui a fait la demande de la prorogation dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de la demande, le Commissariat conclura, en l'absence d'autres faits défavorables, que la prorogation de délai est légitime.

Note d'information

Prorogations de délai en vertu du paragraphe 9(2)
de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

La présente note d'information vise à proposer aux institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information l'utilisation d'un modèle en vue d'informer le commissaire à l'information des prorogations de délais pour répondre à une demande d'accès. En vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi, lorsque la prorogation de délai visée au paragraphe (1) dépasse 30 jours, le responsable de l'institution fédérale en avise en même temps le commissaire à l'information et la personne qui a fait la demande.

Contexte

Au cours de ses enquêtes, tout comme dans ses rapports annuels au Parlement et ses fiches de rendement des institutions, le Commissariat a relevé des cas où des institutions ne se sont pas conformées aux exigences en matière d'avis prévues au paragraphe 9(2). Pour tenir compte de cette question et favoriser une réduction du nombre de plaintes relatives aux prorogations, la commissaire s'est engagée dans le rapport intitulé Fiches de rendement 2008‑2009 : Hors délais à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre un modèle électronique visant à faciliter le processus d'avis pour les institutions. De plus, elle s'est engagée à affecter un membre du personnel du Commissariat à l'examen des avis et à la rédaction de rapports sur la durée des prorogations dans l'ensemble du système.

À l'heure actuelle, il est fréquent que les institutions fassent parvenir à la commissaire, en guise d'avis, une copie de la lettre de prorogation envoyée à la personne qui a fait la demande. Cette pratique a le désavantage de divulguer inutilement des renseignements personnels à propos de cette dernière. Même s'il demeure possible d'envoyer un avis sur support papier, certaines institutions ont demandé qu'on élabore une façon de transmettre cette information au Commissariat sur support électronique.

Modèle

Le modèle électronique que propose le Commissariat vise à aider les institutions à respecter les exigences en matière d'avis de prorogation des délais. Il sera affiché sur le site Web du Commissariat. Tout sera mis en œuvre pour assurer l'interopérabilité entre la fonction envoi des avis et les systèmes de diffusion Web et de gestion électronique des cas des institutions, afin que celles-ci puissent communiquer de l'information de manière sûre et uniforme au Commissariat.

Les catégories d'information dont on dresse la liste dans le modèle sont conformes à celles qui sont généralement remises à la personne qui a fait la demande et au Commissariat. Plus important encore, l'information est conforme à l'intention de « l'obligation de prêter assistance » prévue au paragraphe 4(2.1) de la Loi et au principe 3 portant sur l'assistance aux auteurs de demandes qu'on trouve à l'annexe C de la Directive concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, publiée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce principe exige que les institutions puissent « fournir des renseignements au sujet de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, notamment en ce qui concerne le traitement de votre demande et votre droit de porter plainte auprès du Commissaire à l'information du Canada ».

Le modèle Web servant à transmettre les avis de prorogation comprend les renseignements suivants :

  • la date de la demande d'accès;
  • la date à laquelle la demande dûment remplie est parvenue à l'institution;
  • le numéro de dossier de l'institution;
  • le texte de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle l'avis de prorogation est envoyé à la personne qui a fait la demande;
  • la raison invoquée en vertu de l'article 9 (préciser le paragraphe) pour demander la prorogation;
  • la durée de la prorogation;
  • l'avis du droit de se plaindre au Commissariat.

La commissaire à l'information a désigné un membre du personnel chargé d'examiner les avis de prorogation de délai et de compiler des statistiques trimestrielles et annuelles sur la conformité des systèmes et des institutions au paragraphe 9(2). Ces données seront publiées sur le site Web du Commissariat.