Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

3. Taking stock of institutions new to the Access to Information Act

The challenges of institutions who became subject to the Access to Information Act in recent years—including our office—came to the fore this year, in both investigations and legal proceedings. Solutions for dealing with those challenges also became apparent, however, as we collaborated with institutions.

The 70 or so institutions that became subject to the Access to Information Act in 2006 and 2007 under the Federal Accountability Act have now had a few years of experience working with the legislation as they respond to access requests and complaints. These institutions include Crown corporations (such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation [CBC], Canada Post and Via Rail), various foundations and agencies, and officers of Parliament (such the Auditor General of Canada, the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, and our own office). The distinctive features of these organizations, as well as their newness, presented challenges as they developed access to information expertise and implemented significant administrative and cultural changes to achieve compliance.

As Table 1 indicates, we have received complaints against about one quarter of the new institutions since 2007. More than 80 percent of the complaints were against the CBC, largely involving one requester. Eighty-five percent of the complaints completed with a finding were found to have merit. For our part, requesters filed all but one of the 24 complaints against us in 2007-2008 and 2010-2011. We have not been subject to a complaint since August 2009.

Table 1. Complaints received and completed, 2007-2010 

Institution New complaints Closed Discontinued With merit Not substantiated
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation 889 576 18* 498 60
Canada Post Corporation 116 75 6 49 20
Atomic Energy of Canada Limited 32 27 0 24 3
Office of the Information Commissioner (complaints investigated by the Information Commissioner ad hoc) 24 24 4** 6 14
National Arts Centre 10 9 1 3 5
Office of the Auditor General 10 3 2*** 0 1
Office of the Privacy Commissioner 8 7 1 2 4
VIA Rail 6 3 2 0 4
Canada Eldor Inc. 4 4 4 0 0
Canadian Wheat Board 3 2 0 1 1
Elections Canada 3 0 0 0 0
Export Development Canada 3 1 0 0 1
Others (7 institutions) 11 9 3 3 3
Total 1095 716 37 580 99

*Including one complaint that was cancelled before the investigation began.

**Including two complaints that were cancelled before the investigation began and two that the complainant withdrew after the investigation began.

***Including one complaint that was cancelled before the investigation began.

Collaborative strategies

Throughout our investigations, we significantly stepped up our collaborative efforts to better understand the challenges that new institutions face when applying the Access to Information Act. Beyond our desire to resolve these complaints efficiently, we also wanted to help institutions prevent such issues from reoccurring. To this end, we regularly offered our expertise and advice when needed, and built strong working relationships between all stakeholders to help address their special circumstances.

For example, the former Information Commissioner met with senior officials of the larger of the new institutions during their first year of processing access requests to explain their duty to assist obligations and our role in investigating complaints, and to learn more about the obstacles that they were facing. This year, we also implemented a portfolio approach, grouping some complaints by institution and topic to give our investigators a clearer understanding of an institution’s business.

We established links and relationships with new institutions, and adapted to their reality in recognizing that Crown corporations and officers of Parliament function differently than other institutions. For example, the Act provides that the Auditor General of Canada shall not disclose to a requester information that it gathers or creates in the course of conducting an audit or examination (section 16.1). This exemption applies to both ongoing and completed audits or examinations. In recognizing the volume and class nature of the information involved, and to gain efficiencies in our investigations, we established a protocol with the Auditor General of Canada whereby we may review the information on its site to satisfy ourselves that the exemption has been properly applied.

During our work with new institutions we also learned of some best practices. For example, Via Rail demonstrated that it sees complying with the Act as part of its everyday business practice. Upon becoming subject to the Act, Via Rail immediately posted on its website, as a service to the public, instructions on how to make an access to information request.

Developing experience with new and existing provisions

When the new institutions became subject to the Act, they were required to navigate new legislation and learn what information they must disclose as well as justify the reasons for applying exemptions and exclusions to withhold information. On top of this, additional exemptions were created to protect some of their specific interests, such as the economic interests of Canada Post and Via Rail, and audits conducted by the Auditor General of Canada.

When we became subject to the Act, section 16.1 became particularly relevant, due to the nature of our work and the kinds of records that are under our control. Section 16.1 is a mandatory exemption protecting the confidentiality of the investigative process. We cannot reasonably conduct an investigation into a complaint without full access to all pertinent information, even information that may be considered sensitive or private. By erecting a strong wall of confidentiality around our work that is bolstered by mandatory exemptions, the Act provides us access to vital material without compromising any of the stakeholders involved.

But what happens after the investigation has closed? What remains confidential and exempted from release, should a requester seek access to that investigation’s records? As a new institution negotiating a new exemption without any jurisprudence to guide us, we experienced some challenges in answering such questions appropriately.

Our initial efforts to address the complexity of these issues resulted in several complaints made against our office. Learning from our decisions and the independent feedback we received from the Information Commissioner ad hoc, our office set out to develop a sound approach to meeting our duty to assist obligations while maintaining the confidentiality of our investigations. We put a new policy in place that sets clear rules for working with section 16.1, and administrative practices that balance the needs of all stakeholders involved—requesters, institutions and ourselves.

Subsequently, we received only a small number of complaints about our application of section 16.1. Upon investigation, the Information Commissioner ad hoc found them to be not substantiated. It is worth noting that the process of receiving feedback from the Information Commissioner ad hoc and then subsequently improving our practices confirms the value of this independent oversight. We agree with the Information Commissioner ad hoc that it should be formalized in the legislation. See Appendix 1.

Our experience mirrors challenges that other new institutions have faced. For example, section 68.1 is a new provision that specifically excludes CBC’s journalistic, creative and programming information. As such, CBC began to regularly apply section 68.1 exclusions when responding to requests, resulting in a large number of complaints.

We have not been able to investigate these complaints because there is a difference of opinion between us and the CBC about the implications of this exclusion in our investigations. As reported in Chapter 5, we are currently before the courts because the CBC has refused to provide us with records that we subpoenaed related to complaints. Without the benefit of reviewing the information alleged to be excluded, we cannot assess whether the CBC was correct in its initial decision to withhold records respondent to the original requests. In light of this legal proceeding, we have had to place around 120 refusal complaints on hold.

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) also has a provision particular to it. Section 68.2 excludes from the Act information that is not related to AECL’s general administration or to the operation of a nuclear facility. AECL has been the subject of two complaints about how it has applied this exemption. During our investigations, AECL has cooperated fully in providing us information that it had excluded from an access request under section 68.2. This cooperation has allowed us to proceed with our investigation without unnecessary delays.

Noteworthy investigations

Our investigations into complaints against the CBC have been instructive in terms of the challenges new institutions have faced as well as breaking new ground on applying new provisions in the Act. The following summarize three such investigations.

Justification is required

Background

Overwhelmed by a large volume of requests, the CBC began to automatically exempt all records containing certain internal accounting codes and certain credit card numbers. To do so, it claimed the exemption that protects any information that might facilitate the commission of an offence (subsection 16(2)). The requester complained to us about the CBC’s use of this provision in several requests.

Resolving the complaint

Since the onus falls on institutions to prove the applicability of an exemption, we requested a detailed rationale for each instance the CBC applied the exemption.

In the course of doing so, the CBC’s access to information officials conceded that, in order to commit an offence using the internal codes, a breakdown of accounting controls would have to happen at several levels within the institution itself. After this re-evaluation, the CBC released the records, which were previously exempted, to the requester.

As for the corporate credit card numbers, we agreed with the institution that the release of information could facilitate the commission of an offence. As such, this information remained withheld.

Lessons learned

When deciding to withhold information under the Act, institutions must assess and demonstrate how disclosure of the requested information would result in probable harm to the particular interest it has identified. When it cannot demonstrate the harm, it must disclose the information.

Proper assessment for proper fees

Background

The Access to Information Act allows institutions to charge fees for every hour (after the first five hours) they reasonably need to search for records and prepare them for release.

The CBC received 68 requests and assessed that the resulting processing fees would total several thousand dollars. The requester complained to us, stating that he considered the fees to be excessive. The requester also suggested that the CBC might be using the large fees as a general deterrent to requesters.

Resolving the complaint

To evaluate whether the CBC properly estimated the fees, we asked them to provide a detailed justification for each request. The CBC did so and we worked closely with officials there to assess each one.

We found that most of the fees were, in fact, unjustifiably high, in some instances due to mistakes made by inexperienced access staff. However, we found no evidence that the CBC was using excessive fees as a way to deter requesters.

As a result of our investigation, the CBC re-assessed the excessive fees and ended up processing many requests for free.

Lessons learned

Institutions are responsible for providing their staff with appropriate advice and training on calculating processing fees, particularly if they are large and out of the ordinary. Institutions must also be able to adequately justify any fees that are out of the ordinary. In this case, a more diligent approach to the assessment of fees on the part of the CBC would have resulted in a better service to the public and fewer complaints to our office.

In addition, we recognize that the fee scheme in the Access to Information Regulations, which dates back to the 1980s, needs to be revisited to reflect the electronic-based environment in which all institutions work and to address the discrepancies in how the regulations are applied. This will likely reduce the number of fee complaints we receive each year. (They accounted for four percent of new complaints in 2009-2010.) We will pursue this issue with the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat.

Missed commitments

Background

This is a follow-up to a case that we originally reported two years ago and again in last year’s annual report.1

A person submitted hundreds of access requests to the CBC in the first few months that it became subject to the Access to Information Act. He then made hundreds of complaints to us when the institution failed to respond on time.

Although we found the bulk of these delay complaints to have merit, we agreed to the CBC’s undertaking to respond to the remaining requests within one year. We understood that the institution was overwhelmed by requests and dealing with a heavy workload.

We monitored CBC’s progress as it worked to meet the April 1, 2009, deadline for more than 260 outstanding requests. Unfortunately, the CBC failed to respond to 32 of these requests by that deadline. Consequently, the Commissioner initiated a complaint for each of the outstanding requests.

Resolving the complaint

In order to investigate these complaints, we had to ask the CBC for additional documentation. Given the delays in processing these requests up to that point, we also informed the CBC that we would exercise our formal powers to compel it to produce the responsive records, if required. In response, CBC sent us all of the information we requested (processing files) but not the responsive records at issue.

The CBC responded to all of the outstanding requests between April 3 and May 28, 2009, before it became necessary to issue the order for production of records. We found the complaints to be valid and resolved.

It is our view that the institution might not have responded to these requests as soon as it did, had it not been for strong action on our part—initiating our own complaints and then expressing our willingness to issue an order for the production of records—and the requester’s—taking the CBC to court. (For a summary of that proceeding, see “Large volume of requests”.)

Lessons learned

While we acknowledge that the CBC has been working under difficult circumstances, we expected that the institution would fully meet its commitment to respond to all the requests in the year provided. In its breach of not only the provisions but also the spirit of the Access to Information Act, the CBC clearly did not respect the rights of the requester. This case also raises the broader question of whether the Act needs to be reformed to allow institutions to take time extensions for responding to multiple and simultaneous requests from a single requester. This was one of the amendments we proposed in our 2009 legislative reform package.2

Looking ahead

Working with these institutions to overcome their obstacles gave us invaluable insight into broad-based issues that may be affecting institutional performance across the entire access to information system. As such, our experience resolving these cases has directly informed our ongoing systemic investigations into compliance. For example, next year we will be producing report cards on new institutions. For more information, see Chapter 4.

1 See 2007-2008 annual report and 2008-2009 annual report.

2 See recommendation 12.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

3. Bilan des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Les difficultés des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information dans les dernières années – dont le Commissariat fait partie – ont pris une importance particulière cette année, aussi bien dans le cadre des enquêtes que dans celui des actions en justice. Les solutions elles aussi ont cependant pris forme tandis que nous collaborions avec les institutions pour qu’elles surmontent leurs difficultés.

Les quelque 70 institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2006 et 2007 en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité ont acquis une certaine expérience à mesure qu’elles ont répondu à des demandes d’accès et à des plaintes depuis lors. Il y a parmi ces institutions des sociétés d’État (la Société Radio-Canada (SRC), la Société canadienne des postes et Via Rail, par exemple), diverses fondations et agences, et des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement (la vérificatrice générale, le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et notre Commissariat, par exemple). Les caractéristiques distinctives de ces organisations ainsi que la nouveauté de la situation ont suscité des difficultés à mesure que ces organisations développaient leur propre expertise en matière d’accès à l’information et mettaient en place d’importants changements dans les procédures administratives et dans les mentalités pour instaurer un climat de conformité.

Comme l’illustre le tableau 1, depuis 2007, nous avons reçu des plaintes contre un quart des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi. Plus de 80 % des plaintes concernaient la SRC et émanaient pour la plupart d’un seul demandeur. Quatre-vingt-cinq pour cent des plaintes ayant donné lieu à une conclusion ont été jugées fondées. Pour ce qui nous concerne, à l’exception d’une, toutes les 24 plaintes ont été déposées en 2007–2008 et 2008–2009. Nous n’avons pas fait l’objet de plaintes depuis août 2009.

Tableau 1 – Plaintes reçues et réglées, 2007–2010 

Institution Nouvelles plaintes Dossiers fermés Plaintes abandonnées Plaintes fondées Plaintes non fondées
Société Radio-Canada 889 576 18* 498 60
Société canadienne des postes 116 75 6 49 20
Énergie atomique du Canada Limitée 32 27 0 24 3
Commissariat à l’information (plaintes traitées par le commissaire à l’information ad hoc) 24 24 4** 6 14
Centre national des arts 10 9 1 3 5
Bureau de la vérificatrice générale 10 3 2*** 0 1
Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée 8 7 1 2 4
VIA Rail 6 3 2 0 4
Canada Eldor Inc. 4 4 4 0 0
Commission canadienne du blé 3 2 0 1 1
Élections Canada 3 0 0 0 0
Exportation et Développement Canada 3 1 0 0 1
Autres (7 institutions) 11 9 3 3 3
Total 1 095 716 37 580 99

* Y compris une plainte annulée avant le début de l’enquête.

** Y compris deux plaintes annulées avant le début de l’enquête et deux retirées par le plaignant après le début de l’enquête.

*** Y compris une plainte annulée avant le début de l’enquête.

Stratégies de collaboration

Tout au long de nos enquêtes, nous avons multiplié nos efforts de collaboration pour mieux comprendre les difficultés auxquelles se heurtaient les institutions nouvellement assujetties dans le cadre de l’application des dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Outre notre désir de régler efficacement les plaintes, nous voulions aider ces institutions à éviter que les problèmes se reproduisent. C’est pourquoi nous avons régulièrement proposé notre expertise et nos conseils et développé de solides relations de travail entre toutes les parties intéressées afin de répondre à leurs besoins.

Par exemple, l’ex-commissaire à l’information a rencontré des cadres supérieurs des plus grandes institutions parmi celles qui étaient nouvellement assujetties à la Loi au cours de la première année de traitement des demandes d’accès afin de leur expliquer leur devoir d’assistance et notre rôle d’enquête sur les plaintes et pour en savoir plus sur leurs difficultés. Cette année, nous avons également mis en place une perspective axée sur le portefeuille en regroupant certaines plaintes par institution et par thème afin que nos enquêteurs comprennent mieux les opérations de telle ou telle institution.

Nous avons créé des liens et des relations avec les institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi et nous nous sommes adaptés à leur situation en prenant conscience du fait que les sociétés d’État et les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement fonctionnent différemment d’autres institutions. Par exemple, la Loi prévoit que la vérificatrice générale du Canada ne doit pas communiquer l’information qu’elle obtient ou crée durant une vérification ou un examen (article 16.1). Cette exemption s’applique aux vérifications et examens en cours et terminés. Compte tenu du volume et de la nature des renseignements en question et pour gagner en efficacité dans le cadre des enquêtes, nous avons dressé un protocole de concert avec la vérificatrice générale du Canada selon lequel nous pouvons examiner l’information sur place pour nous satisfaire que l’exemption a été correctement appliquée.

Durant nos activités auprès des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi, nous avons également découvert certaines pratiques exemplaires. Par exemple, Via Rail a fait la preuve que la conformité à la Loi faisait partie de ses activités quotidiennes. Au moment où elle est devenue assujettie à la Loi, elle a immédiatement affiché sur son site Web, à titre de service à la population, des instructions expliquant comment faire une demande d’accès à l’information.

Acquérir de l’expérience concernant les dispositions habituelles et nouvelles

Les institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi ont dû s’initier à la nouvelle réglementation et apprendre quelle information elle devrait communiquer et comment justifier l’application d’exemptions et d’exclusions. En outre, d’autres exemptions ont été créées pour protéger certains de leurs intérêts propres, par exemple les intérêts économiques de la Société canadienne des postes et de Via Rail, ainsi que les vérifications effectuées par la vérificatrice générale du Canada.

Lorsque le Commissariat est devenu assujetti à la Loi, l’article 16.1 a pris une importance particulière en raison de la nature de nos activités et des types de documents qui sont placés sous notre contrôle. Cette disposition est une exemption obligatoire qui protège la confidentialité de la procédure d’enquête. Nous ne pouvons raisonnablement procéder à une enquête sans avoir entièrement accès à toute l’information utile, même celle qui est considérée comme confidentielle ou privée. En érigeant un solide mur de protection autour de notre travail au moyen d’exemptions obligatoires, la Loi nous donne accès à des documents cruciaux sans compromettre les parties en cause.

Mais que se passe-t-il une fois l’enquête terminée? Qu’est-ce qui reste confidentiel et exempté? Le demandeur devrait-il avoir accès à ces documents d’enquête? À titre d’institution nouvellement assujettie à la Loi négociant une nouvelle exemption sans jurisprudence pour nous aider, nous avons eu quelque difficulté à répondre correctement à ce genre de questions.

Nos premiers efforts pour affronter la complexité de ces questions a donné lieu à plusieurs plaintes contre le Commissariat. Tirant les leçons de l’expérience et des commentaires indépendants que nous avons reçus du commissaire à l’information ad hoc, nous avons élaboré une méthode pour remplir notre devoir d’assistance tout en protégeant le caractère confidentiel des enquêtes. Nous avons adopté une nouvelle politique énonçant clairement les règles d’application de l’article 16.1 et nous nous sommes dotés de pratiques administratives équilibrant les besoins de toutes les parties en cause (demandeurs, institutions et nous-mêmes).

Par la suite, nous n’avons reçu que peu de plaintes concernant l’application de l’article 16.1. Après enquête, le commissaire à l’information ad hoc les a jugées non fondées. Rappelons que les commentaires du commissaire à l’information ad hoc nous ont permis d’améliorer nos pratiques, ce qui confirme la valeur de cette fonction de surveillance indépendante. Nous sommes d’accord avec le commissaire à l’information ad hoc pour estimer que la fonction devrait être formalisée dans la réglementation.

Nos difficultés sont semblables à celles qu’ont connues d’autres institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi. Par exemple, l’article 68.1 est une nouvelle disposition qui exclut expressément les renseignements de la SRC se rapportant à des activités de journalisme, de création et de programmation. La SRC s’est mis à appliquer régulièrement les exclusions prévues dans cette disposition, déclenchant un grand nombre de plaintes.

Nous n’avons pas pu faire enquête sur ces plaintes en raison d’une différence d’opinion avec la SRC concernant les répercussions de cette exclusion dans nos enquêtes. Comme nous le voyons au chapitre 5, nous devons régulièrement nous présenter devant les tribunaux parce que la SRC refuse de nous fournir des documents ayant fait l’objet d’une ordonnance de production dans le cadre d’enquêtes sur des plaintes. Si nous ne pouvons pas examiner les documents prétendument exclus, nous ne pouvons pas déterminer si la SRC a eu raison de retenir des documents. C’est en raison de ces actions en justice que nous avons dû laisser en suspens environ 120 plaintes pour refus.

Il existe également une disposition propre à Énergie atomique du Canada Limitée (EACL) : l’article 68.2 exclut de l’application de la Loi les renseignements qui ne sont pas liés à l’administration générale de l’organisme ou au fonctionnement d’une installation nucléaire. EACL a fait l’objet de deux plaintes concernant son application de l’exemption. L’organisme a collaboré à nos enquêtes et nous a fourni toute l’information exclue en vertu de cette disposition. Cette collaboration nous a permis d’enquêter sans délai.

Enquêtes notoires

Nos enquêtes sur les plaintes contre la SRC ont été instructives : elles nous ont éclairés sur les difficultés des institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi qui doivent trouver comment appliquer les nouvelles dispositions législatives. Voici un résumé de trois de ces enquêtes.

Une justification est nécessaire

Contexte

Submergée par un très grand nombre de demandes, la SRC s’est mise à exempter automatiquement tous les documents contenant certains codes comptables internes et certains numéros de cartes de crédit. Pour ce faire, elle a invoqué l’exemption protégeant les renseignements susceptibles de faciliter la perpétration d’une infraction (paragraphe 16(2)). Le demandeur nous a adressé une plainte à ce sujet.

Règlement de la plainte

Comme c’est aux institutions qu’il incombe de prouver l’applicabilité d’une exemption, nous avons demandé une justification détaillée de chaque cas où la SRC l’a invoquée.

Les fonctionnaires de la SRC ont alors concédé que, pour qu’une infraction soit commise à l’aide des codes internes, il faudrait que les mécanismes de contrôle fassent défaut à plusieurs niveaux en même temps au sein de l’institution proprement dit. Après cette réévaluation, la Société a communiqué les documents auparavant exemptés.

Quant aux numéros de carte de crédit, nous étions d’accord avec la SRC pour considérer que leur communication pourrait faciliter la perpétration d’une infraction. L’information a donc été retenue.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Lorsqu’elles décident de ne pas communiquer de renseignements, les institutions doivent déterminer et évaluer dans quelle mesure leur communication causerait vraisemblablement du tort aux intérêts particuliers qu’elle a circonscrits. Si elles ne le peuvent pas, elles doivent communiquer l’information.

Une évaluation correcte des frais

Contexte

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information autorise les institutions à facturer des frais pour chaque heure (en sus des cinq premières heures) dont elles ont raisonnablement besoin pour faire des recherches et préparer les documents à communiquer.

La SRC a reçu 68 demandes et calculé que les frais de traitement s’élèveraient à plusieurs milliers de dollars au total. Le demandeur nous a adressé une plainte, estimant ces frais trop élevés. Il a également laissé entendre que la Société se servait peut-être de ce moyen pour décourager les demandeurs.

Règlement de la plainte

Pour savoir si la SRC avait correctement évalué les frais, nous lui avons demandé de fournir une justification détaillée de chaque cas. C’est ce qu’elle a fait, et nous avons collaboré étroitement avec ses employés pour évaluer chaque plainte.

Nous avons constaté que, le plus souvent, ces frais étaient élevés sans raison, parfois à cause des erreurs commises par un personnel d’accès manquant d’expérience. Cela dit, nous n’avons pas trouvé de motif de conclure que la SRC employait ce moyen pour décourager les demandeurs.

À la suite de notre enquête, la SRC a réévalué les frais et a fini par traiter de nombreuses demandes gratuitement.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Les institutions doivent donner à leur personnel les conseils et la formation qui leur permettront de calculer correctement les frais de traitement, notamment si ces derniers sont importants ou inusités. Elles doivent aussi être en mesure de justifier les frais élevés. En l’occurrence, une méthode plus attentive d’évaluation des frais de la SRC aurait permis d’offrir un meilleur service à la population et de réduire le nombre de plaintes au Commissariat.

Par ailleurs, nous admettons que le système de frais prévu dans le Règlement sur l’accès à l’information, qui remonte aux années 1980, doit être repensé en fonction des moyens électroniques dont disposent toutes les institutions et en tenant compte des variations d’application de la réglementation. Cela permettra sans doute de réduire le nombre de plaintes pour frais que nous recevons chaque année (elles représentent quatre pour cent des nouvelles plaintes en 2009–2010). Nous approfondirons cette question avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Engagements manqués

Contexte

Il s’agit ici de la suite d’une affaire dont nous avons rendu compte il y a deux ans, puis de nouveau dans le rapport de l’année dernière1.

Un demandeur a adressé des centaines de demandes d’accès à la SRC au cours des premiers mois où celle-ci est devenue assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il nous a ensuite adressé des centaines de plaintes parce que l’institution n’avait pas répondu à temps.

Bien que nous ayons conclu que la plupart des plaintes étaient fondées, nous avons accepté l’engagement de la SRC de répondre aux autres demandes dans un délai d’un an. Nous comprenions que l’institution était submergée de demandes et qu’elle faisait face à une lourde charge de travail.

Nous avons fait le suivi des progrès de la Société tandis qu’elle s’efforçait de respecter l’échéance du 1er avril 2009 pour plus de 260 demandes en souffrance. Malheureusement, elle n’a pas répondu à 32 d’entre elles à temps. Nous avons donc déposé une plainte dans chaque cas.

Règlement de la plainte

Pour faire enquête sur ces plaintes, nous avons dû demander d’autres documents à la SRC. Compte tenu des retards de traitement à ce stade, nous l’avons également informée que nous emploierions nos pouvoirs officiels pour la contraindre à produire des documents utiles le cas échéant. En réponse, la Société nous a adressé tous les renseignements que nous avions demandés (dossiers de traitement), mais pas les documents utiles en question.

La SRC a répondu à toutes les demandes en souffrance entre le 3 avril et le 28 mai 2009, avant qu’il devienne nécessaire de rendre une ordonnance de production de documents. Nous avons conclu que les plaintes étaient fondées et réglées.

Nous sommes d’avis que l’institution n’aurait peut-être pas répondu aussi rapidement si nous n’avions pas pris de mesures nous-mêmes – en déposant nos propres plaintes et en expliquant que nous étions prêts à ordonner la production des documents et, avec le demandeur, à porter l’affaire devant les tribunaux (voir « Un grand nombre de demandes » pour un résumé de l’affaire).

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Nous n’ignorons pas que la SRC se trouve dans une situation difficile, mais nous estimions que l’institution devait remplir intégralement son engagement à répondre à toutes les demandes dans le délai d’un an prévu. En ne respectant ni les dispositions ni l’esprit de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la SRC a clairement bafoué les droits du demandeur. Ce dossier soulève également la question plus générale de savoir s’il convient de modifier la Loi pour permettre aux institutions de se prévaloir de prorogations de délai lorsqu’elles doivent répondre à des demandes multiples et simultanées de la part d’un même demandeur. C’est l’une des modifications que nous avons proposées dans notre projet de réforme législative en 20092.

L’avenir

En travaillant avec ces institutions pour les aider à surmonter leurs difficultés, nous avons mieux compris les grands enjeux susceptibles d’avoir un effet sur le rendement institutionnel dans l’ensemble du système d’accès à l’information. À ce titre, notre expérience du règlement de ces cas a directement alimenté nos enquêtes systémiques sur la conformité. Par exemple, nous avons l’intention de produire des fiches de rendement sur les institutions nouvellement assujetties à la Loi dès l’an prochain (voir le chapitre 4 pour plus de renseignements).

1 Voir le Rapport annuel 2007-2008 et le Rapport annuel 2008-2009

2 Voir la recommandation 12