6. Looking ahead

As we move into the second year of our 2011–2014 strategic plan, we will continue to strive to meet our objectives through activities and initiatives, such as those described below, in our three key areas (leading access to information regime, exemplary service to Canadians and exceptional workplace). Our work will also be guided by the imperatives set out in the Clerk of the Privy Council’s annual report on the public service in terms of recruiting to fill skills gaps, developing competencies, and achieving excellence and results in our core functions.

Investigations

As we grapple with our increasingly complex inventory of complaints, and expecting that we could receive between 2,000 and 2,500 complaints in 2012–2013 (5 to 6 percent of all access requests), we will continue to develop and refine strategies to work through our caseload efficiently and effectively. For example, we plan to expand our use of the portfolio approach and fine-tune it according to institutions’ business lines, exemptions invoked and the subject matter of the request.

To support our investigative function, we will integrate our case management systems for investigations and litigation matters. With a similar goal, we will develop standard processes to facilitate coordination between the investigative and legal branches.

We will also closely monitor the impact of deficit reduction plans on access to information operations across the system, since they will likely affect the type and number of complaints we receive in the coming years.

A new Assistant Commissioner will be appointed in 2012–2013 to lead us in this work.

Updating the Access to Information Act

Canada will mark the 30th anniversary of the Access to Information Act in 2013. Since the Act came into force in 1983, all provinces and territories have implemented increasingly progressive access laws—joining early adopters Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, who were the first in Canada to pass freedom of information legislation. In addition, more than 90 countries have or are in the process of adopting access laws.

In the intervening years, Canada’s law has been surpassed by those of its national and international counterparts. It has not kept pace with legislative, policy and technological developments.

To provide the government with input on how the Act could be brought in line with current requirements, we are conducting a review of the access laws in various jurisdictions, and will complete this in 2012–2013. We will also provide information on this topic to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics and other parliamentary committees, as requested.

Open Government Partnership

In 2011, the Speech from the Throne and several other developments gave impetus to open government at the federal level. On September 19, 2011, the government signalled Canada’s intent to join the international Open Government Partnership. In 2012−2013, we will provide informed input on the necessary amendments to the Access to Information Act on the occasion of its 30th anniversary. We will also provide input into the government’s open government initiatives both at home and as part of the international effort.

Shared services delivery

To achieve greater efficiencies and minimize risks, we will take advantage of shared services options, when feasible. In April 2012, we established a memorandum of understanding with the Shared Services Unit of Public Works and Government Services Canada for all human resources services.

Our planned relocation with other Agents of Parliament in 2013 presents additional opportunities to achieve efficiencies by sharing common administrative services. We will continue to implement standard business processes consistent with those of other federal institutions. This standardization will facilitate any transition to shared services arrangements we choose to make. 

Table of Contents

6. Jeter un regard sur l’avenir

Alors que nous passons à la deuxième année de notre plan stratégique de 2011-2014, nous continuerons à nous efforcer de satisfaire à nos objectifs au moyen d’activités et d’initiatives, comme celles décrites ci-dessous, dans nos trois secteurs clés : un régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan, une prestation de service exemplaire à l’intention de la population canadienne et un milieu de travail exceptionnel. Notre travail sera guidé également par les impératifs énoncés dans le rapport annuel du greffier du Conseil privé sur la fonction publique en termes de recrutement pour combler les lacunes de compétences, de perfectionnement des compétences, ainsi que de réalisation de l’excellence et de résultats dans nos fonctions essentielles.

Enquêtes

Alors que nous luttons avec notre éventail de plaintes de plus en plus complexe, et que nous prévoyons la réception potentielle de 2 000 à 2 500 plaintes en 2012-2013 (de 5 à 6 % de l’ensemble des demandes d’accès), nous continuerons à concevoir et à perfectionner des stratégies afin de progresser dans notre volume de travail de manière efficace et rentable. Par exemple, nous prévoyons étendre notre utilisation de l’approche selon le portefeuille et l’adapter en fonction des axes opérationnels des institutions, des exemptions invoquées et de l’objet de la demande.

Dans le but de soutenir notre fonction d’enquête, nous intégrerons nos systèmes de gestion de cas pour les enquêtes et les litiges. Dans un but semblable, nous mettrons au point des processus standards pour faciliter la coordination entre les services d’enquête et les services juridiques.

Nous allons aussi surveiller étroitement l’incidence des plans de réduction des déficits sur les opérations d’accès à l’information dans l’ensemble du système, étant donné qu’ils vont probablement avoir des répercussions sur le type et le nombre de plaintes que nous recevrons au cours des prochaines années.

Un nouveau commissaire adjoint sera nommé en 2012-2013 pour nous diriger dans ce travail.

Mise à jour de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Le Canada va marquer le 30e anniversaire de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2013. Étant donné que la Loi est entrée en vigueur en 1983, l’ensemble des provinces et territoires ont mis en œuvre des lois de plus en plus progressives en matière d’accès à l’information – pour rejoindre les provinces de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick, qui étaient les précurseurs au Canada en matière d’adoption de la législation relative à la liberté de l’accès à l’information. En outre, plus de 90 pays ont adopté les lois sur l’accès à l’information ou sont en phase de les adopter.

Dans les années qui ont suivi, la législation au Canada a été dépassée par celle de ses homologues nationaux et internationaux. Elle n’a pas tenu le rythme par rapport aux évolutions législatives, politiques et technologiques.

Afin de fournir au gouvernement des commentaires sur la façon dont la Loi pourrait être alignée sur les exigences actuelles, nous réalisons une évaluation des lois relatives à l’accès à l’information dans différentes juridictions, qui devrait prendre fin en automne 2013. Nous fournirons des renseignements à ce sujet au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique ainsi qu’à d’autres commissions parlementaires, sur demande.

Partenariat pour un gouvernement ouvert

En 2011, le discours du Trône et plusieurs autres mises au point ont encouragé l’établissement d’un gouvernement ouvert au niveau fédéral. Le 19 septembre 2011, le gouvernement a signalé l’intention du Canada de se joindre au Partenariat pour un gouvernement ouvert. Nous ferons part de nos remarques au sujet des initiatives du gouvernement pour ce qui est de son ouverture tant à l’échelle nationale que dans le cadre des efforts internationaux.

Prestation de services partagés

En vue de rehausser l’efficacité et de minimiser les risques, nous tirerons parti des options de services partagés, dans la mesure du possible. En avril 2012, nous avons établi un protocole d’entente avec l’Unité des services partagés de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada pour tous les services liés aux ressources humaines.

Notre relocalisation prévue avec d’autres agents du Parlement en 2013 présente d’autres occasions d’accroître notre efficacité en partageant des services administratifs communs. Nous continuerons de mettre en œuvre des processus opérationnels standards conformes à ceux des autres institutions fédérales. Cette normalisation va faciliter la transition vers les arrangements de services partagés que nous choisirons de prendre.

Table des matières