Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Maximizing compliance

In a context of limited resources, maximizing compliance is sometimes best achieved through the use of a variety of tools that are interdependent and that also complement investigations and systemic actions. General application tools involve ongoing proactive efforts, directed at a broad range of stakeholders, to promote requesters’ rights and develop partnerships. The aim is clearly to prevent non-compliance and to facilitate compliance. In contrast, specific application tools are directed toward individual parties in specific circumstances that result in or could lead to non-compliance.

To promote compliance, it is important that officials who are involved in the access to information process understand the basic principles and requirements of the legislation and related policies. They must also be aware of citizens’ expectations regarding what government information should be available to them and how it should be disseminated in an increasingly sophisticated electronic environment. It is equally important that requesters be aware of and understand their rights and how to exercise them. Collaboration with important stakeholders at all levels is key for achieving these objectives. The Information Commissioner is the critical link between all players and can promote compliance through information and strategic partnerships.

In cases of potential or alleged situations of non-compliance, conducting investigations into matters affecting access rights often reaps the benefit of encouraging parties to comply without resorting to more drastic actions. Mediation and negotiation generally produce mutually satisfactory results that are less costly and less time-consuming than adversarial measures. However, it is important to note that means of suasion and resolution are balanced with the full range of adversarial tools at the disposal of the Commissioner in cases where vigorous enforcement is necessary to ensure compliance with the legislation.

The table below shows how our activities work together to achieve the greatest impact to maximize compliance.

Compliance continuum

Compliance through information and partnerships Facilitating compliance Responses to non-compliance

Annual and special reports to Parliament

Advice and representations to Parliament

News releases and media interviews

Speeches, presentations, information sessions and seminars

Input and representations to Central Agencies (e.g. the Treasury Board Secretariat)

Participation at access to information community events

Liaison with federal, provincial, territorial and international information and privacy commissioners

Liaison with national and international freedom of information communities and civil society groups

International parliamentary assistance

Website, blogs and podcasts

Right to Know Week

Review of complaints to identify systemic issues

Systemic investigations (proactive)

Report cards

Review of extension notices

Consultations with access to information stakeholders, including institutions and users

Compliance programs

Case summaries and Commissioner’s findings

Reference guides, information notices and best practices

Investigation guidelines (GRIDS)

Training

Suasion and resolution Adversarial
Investigations and systemic investigations (reactive)

Early resolution

Well-founded complaints accepted

Commissioner-initiated complaints

Mediation and negotiation

Informal representations to senior officials

Commissioner’s interpretations of policy positions

Reports of findings and recommendations

Special reports to Parliament

Exercise of formal powers (e.g. subpoenas and hearings)

Non-resolved complaints

Federal Court actions

Interventions in court

Referrals for prosecutions

GENERAL APPLICATION SPECIFIC APPLICATION



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Maximisation de la conformité

Dans un contexte de ressources limitées, la maximisation de la conformité est parfois réalisée au mieux grâce à l’utilisation d’une variété d’outils interdépendants qui servent également de compléments aux enquêtes et aux mesures systémiques. Les outils d’application générale supposent des efforts proactifs continus auprès d’un large éventail d’intervenants, dans le but de promouvoir les droits des demandeurs et d’élaborer des partenariats. Le but est clairement de prévenir la non-conformité et de faciliter la conformité. En revanche, les outils d’application spécifique visent des intervenants particuliers dans des circonstances précises qui entraînent la non-conformité ou pourraient y mener.

Pour favoriser la conformité, il est important que les responsables qui participent au processus d’accès à l’information comprennent les principes et les exigences de base de la Loi et des politiques connexes. Ils doivent également être conscients des attentes des citoyens en ce qui a trait à l’information gouvernementale qui devrait être accessible et comment cette information devrait être diffusée dans un environnement électronique de plus en plus complexe. Il est également important que les demandeurs connaissent et comprennent leurs droits, et la façon de les exercer. La collaboration avec les principaux intervenants à tous les niveaux est capitale à l’atteinte de ces objectifs. Le commissaire à l’information est le lien crucial entre tous les acteurs, et peut promouvoir la conformité par le biais de l’information et de partenariats stratégiques.

Dans les cas de situations potentielles ou alléguées de non-conformité, la tenue d’enquêtes sur les questions qui ont une incidence sur les droits d’accès à l’information a souvent l’avantage d’encourager les parties à se conformer sans que des mesures plus draconiennes soient nécessaires. La médiation et la négociation produisent généralement des résultats mutuellement satisfaisants moins coûteux et plus rapides que les mesures accusatoires. Il est toutefois important de noter qu’en plus des moyens de persuasion et de résolution, le commissaire dispose d’un ensemble d’outils accusatoires pour les cas où une application vigoureuse est nécessaire pour assurer la conformité à la Loi.

Le tableau qui suit montre comment nos activités se complètent de façon à maximiser la conformité.

Continuum de conformité

Conformité par le biais de l’information et de partenariats

Facilitation de la conformité

Réponses à la non-conformité

Rapports annuels et spéciaux présentés au Parlement

Conseils et observations adressés au Parlement

Communiqués de presse et entrevues avec les médias

Discours, exposés, séances d’information et colloques

Information et observations adressés aux organismes centraux (p. ex., le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor)

Participation aux activités des milieux concernés par l’accès à l’information

Liaison avec les commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et internationaux

Liaison avec les milieux concernés par l’accès à l’information et les groupes de la société civile nationaux et internationaux

Assistance parlementaire internationale

Site Internet, blogues et fichiers balados

Semaine du droit à l’information

Examen des plaintes en vue de déceler les problèmes systémiques

Enquêtes systémiques (proactives)

Fiches de rendement

Examen des avis de prorogation

Consultations avec les intervenants en accès à l’information, y compris les institutions et les usagers

Programmes de conformité

Résumés de conclusions d’enquête et conclusions du commissaire

Manuels de référence, avis de publication de renseignements et pratiques exemplaires

Lignes directrices en matière d’enquête (GRIDS)

Formation

Persuasion et règlement

Mesures accusatoires

Enquêtes et enquêtes systémiques (réactives)

Règlement rapide

Plaintes fondées acceptées

Plaintes déposées par le commissaire

Médiation et négociation

Commentaires officieux adressés à des hauts fonctionnaires

Interprétations de positions de principe par le commissaire

Rapports sur les conclusions et les recommandations

Rapports spéciaux à l’intention du Parlement

Exercice des pouvoirs officiels (p. ex., assignations à témoigner et audiences)

Plaintes non réglées

Mesures prises par la Cour fédérale

Interventions en cour

Renvois pour poursuites

APPLICATION GÉNÉRALE APPLICATION SPÉCIFIQUE

 

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant