Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Strategic use of systemic actions

Many compliance problems cannot be solved adequately when treated in isolation, independent of the larger issues affecting the access to information system. To effect greater compliance across federal institutions and to reduce the number of complaints we receive, we approach certain problems with a more strategic and proactive approach. By integrating key information, observations and conclusions drawn from our own experience and that of our stakeholders, we can suggest more effective solutions and achieve better results.

As preventative or proactive actions, we review complaints and extension notices (for time extensions taken beyond 30 days) to identify systemic issues, or undertake a systemic investigation to formally address a problem hindering access to records of federal institutions. We also review and grade the performance of federal institutions in complying with the Access to Information Act. These assessments are called “report cards.” These reviews provide information about the challenges, weaknesses, strengths of the federal institutions, and assesses what progress has been achieved. (More information on report cards and systemic issues is provided in Chapter 4.)

These actions enable us to develop expert and independent advice about the access to information implications of legislation, jurisprudence, regulations and policies. The Commissioner can then bring this unique perspective regarding access to information to parliamentarians, public servants, federal government institutions and the Canadian public.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Usage stratégique de mesures systémiques

De nombreux problèmes de conformité ne peuvent pas être réglés adéquatement lorsqu’ils sont traités de façon isolée et indépendamment des enjeux plus larges qui ont une incidence sur le système d’accès à l’information. Pour assurer une plus grande conformité de la part de l’ensemble des institutions fédérales et réduire le nombre de plaintes que nous recevons, nous abordons certains problèmes avec une approche plus stratégique et proactive. En intégrant les données, observations et conclusions tirées de notre propre expérience et de celle de nos partenaires, nous pouvons suggérer des solutions plus efficaces et parvenir à de meilleurs résultats.

Problèmes systémiques

En guise de mesures préventives ou proactives, nous étudions les plaintes et les avis de prorogation (dans le cas de prorogations supérieures à 30 jours) de manière à déceler les problèmes systémiques, ou nous entreprenons une enquête systémique dans le but de remédier officiellement à un problème qui nuit à l’accès aux documents des institutions fédérales. Nous examinons et cotons également le rendement des institutions fédérales en matière de conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces évaluations sont appelées « fiches de rendement ». Elles fournissent de l’information sur les défis, les faiblesses et les points forts des institutions fédérales, et évaluent les progrès réalisés. (Pour plus d’information sur les fiches de rendement et les problèmes systémiques, consulter le chapitre 4.)

Ces mesures nous permettent d’élaborer des conseils éclairés et indépendants sur l’incidence de la législation, de la jurisprudence, de la réglementation et des politiques du point de vue de l’accès à l’information. Le commissaire peut alors porter cette perspective unique sur l’accès à l’information à l’attention des parlementaires, des fonctionnaires, des institutions fédérales et du public canadien.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant