Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Previous   Table of contents   Next

6. Advocating for legislative reform

Significant and thoughtful proposals for reform have been made almost continuously over the last two decades, but very few have attracted parliamentary attention. For legislation like the [Access to Information Act], which the courts have affirmed is quasi-constitutional in nature, its continuing vitality now hinges upon meaningful reform efforts.

Murray Rankin8

This past year marked the 25th anniversary of the adoption of the Access to Information Act. Sadly, the occasion highlighted just how much the legislation lags behind provincial, territorial and international standards. It has remained static in a dynamic environment of massive technological changes, which have completely reconfigured the information landscape.

Yet, over the last two decades, much time has been spent on various studies of the legislation, and many proposals for reform have been presented. More than ever, the Act needs to be strengthened to reflect the realities that have taken shape since its adoption, and now is the time for action.

Throughout the year, we engaged in a dialogue with stakeholders, including access to information users and those who work in the field.9 We wanted to learn more about what the priorities for the modernization of the Act should be. We presented 12 recommendations stemming from this dialogue to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in March 2009 (see box).10 Our recommendations fall under a number of general themes: parliamentary review, providing a right of access to all, strengthening the compliance model, public education, research and advice, coverage and timeliness. This list of recommendations is by no means comprehensive. It includes only the most pressing matters for reform, in an initial effort to meet the urgent challenge of modernizing the Act without further delay.

8 The Access to Information Act 25 years later: Toward a New Generation of Access Rights in Canada, commissioned by the Office of the Information Commissioner, June 10, 2008, http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/pa-ap_acc-atia-ref.aspx

9 For more information, go to rrm-slr_consult_modern_2008-june_19_dialogue_on_modernizing_the_access_to_information_regime.aspx

10 Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today’s Imperatives, pa-ap-atia_reform_2009-march_2009-strengthening_the_access_to_information_act_to_meet_todays_imperatives.aspx

Recommendations

1. That Parliament review the Access to Information Act every five years

2. That all persons have a right to request access to records pursuant to the Access to Information Act

3. That the Access to Information Act provide the Information Commissioner with order-making power for administrative matters

4. That the Access to Information Act provide the Information Commissioner with discretion on whether to investigate complaints

5. That the Access to Information Act provide a public education and research mandate to the Information Commissioner

6. That the Access to Information Act provide an advisory mandate to the Information Commissioner on proposed legislative initiatives

7. That the application of the Access to Information Act be extended to cover records related to the general administration of Parliament and the courts

8. That the Access to Information Act apply to Cabinet confidences

9. That the Access to Information Act require the approval of the Information Commissioner for all extensions beyond 60 days

10. That the Access to Information Act specify timeframes for the Information Commissioner to complete administrative investigations

11. That the Access to Information Act allow requesters the option of direct recourse to the Federal Court for access refusals

12. That the Access to Information Act allow time extensions for multiple and simultaneous requests from a single requester

At year-end, the Standing Committee began hearings on the reform of the Act. The Commissioner appeared before the committee to discuss the recommendations. We will continue our efforts in this regard to impress upon the government the imperative for change.

Other proposed changes to the Act

We monitor Parliament’s activities for proposals to amend the Access to Information Act and advise on the implications of draft legislation on the right of access to information.

During 2008–2009, there were a number of bills at various stages that proposed amendments to the Access to Information Act. See Appendix 3.




Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

6. Plaidoyer en faveur d’une réforme législative  

Des propositions de réforme importantes et réfléchies ont été faites de façon quasi continue au cours des deux dernières décennies, mais très peu ont attiré l’attention du Parlement. La vitalité d’une loi comme la [Loi sur l’accès à l’information], dont la nature quasi constitutionnelle a été confirmée par les tribunaux, réside maintenant dans des efforts de réforme significatifs.

Murray Rankin 8

L’année écoulée a été marquée par le 25e anniversaire de l’adoption de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Malheureusement, l’occasion a mis en évidence à quel point la loi accuse du retard par rapport aux normes provinciales, territoriales et internationales. Elle est restée statique dans un environnement dynamique où sont survenus d’énormes changements technologiques, qui ont complètement redessiné le paysage de l’information.

Pourtant, au cours des deux dernières décennies, on a consacré beaucoup de temps à diverses études des textes législatifs, et on a présenté un grand nombre de propositions de réforme. Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, il faut renforcer la Loi de façon à tenir compte des réalités qui ont pris forme depuis son adoption. Le temps est venu d’agir.

Tout au long de l’année, nous avons poursuivi un dialogue avec les intervenants, y compris les utilisateurs de l’accès à l’information et ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine9. Nous voulions en savoir davantage sur ce que devaient être les priorités en vue de la modernisation de la Loi. Nous avons présenté 12 recommandations, issues de ce dialogue, au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes en mars 2009 (voir l’encadré)10. Nos recommandations se répartissent sous plusieurs thèmes généraux : examen parlementaire, universalité du droit d’accès, renforcement du modèle de conformité, sensibilisation du public, recherche et prestation de conseils, portée de la Loi et rapidité du traitement. Cette liste de recommandations n’est nullement exhaustive. Elle ne contient que les éléments les plus pressants de la réforme dans un effort initial pour relever sans plus tarder l’urgent défi de la modernisation de la Loi.

8 La Loi sur l’accès à l’information 25 ans plus tard : Vers une nouvelle génération de droits d’accès au Canada. Étude commandée par le Commissariat à l’information, 10 juin 2008,www.oic-ci.gc.ca/publicComments/pdf_fr/ATIA25y.pdf

9 Pour plus d’information, voir le lien suivant : www.oic-ci.gc.ca/InfoNotice/infoNoticeJune18-f.asp

10 Renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels, www.oic-ci.gc.ca/publications/modernization_2009-f.asp



Recommandations 

1. Que le Parlement passe en revue la Loi sur l’accès à l’information tous les cinq ans.

2. Que tous aient le droit de demander l’accès aux documents conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

3. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information accorde au commissaire à l’information un pouvoir exécutoire pour les questions de nature administrative.

4. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information accorde au commissaire à l’information le pouvoir discrétionnaire d’enquêter ou non sur des plaintes.

5. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information accorde au commissaire à l’information un mandat d’éducation du public et de recherche.

6. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information accorde un mandat consultatif au commissaire à l’information pour les projets de mesures législatives.

7. Que l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information soit élargie de manière à couvrir les documents concernant l’administration générale du Parlement et des tribunaux.

8. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information s’applique aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

9. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information exige que toutes les prorogations au-delà de 60 jours soient approuvées par le commissaire à l’information.

10. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information précise les délais pour la réalisation des enquêtes de caractère administratif par le commissaire à l’information.

11. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permette aux demandeurs de s’adresser directement à la Cour fédérale en cas de refus d’accès.

12. Que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information prévoie des prorogations pour de multiples demandes simultanées provenant d’un seul demandeur.

À la fin de l’exercice, le Comité permanent a commencé ses audiences sur la réforme de la Loi. Le commissaire a comparu devant le Comité pour discuter des recommandations. Nous poursuivrons nos efforts à cet égard pour bien faire comprendre au gouvernement l’urgence d’apporter des changements.

Autres modifications proposées à la Loi

Nous surveillons les activités du Parlement en lien avec les modifications proposées à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et donnons des conseils sur les répercussions de tout avant-projet de loi sur le droit d’accès à l’information.

En 2008–2009, plusieurs projets de loi proposant des modifications à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information se trouvaient à diverses étapes du processus d’adoption. Voir l’annexe 3.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant