Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Who we are and what we do

The Information Commissioner is an Agent of Parliament appointed under the Access to Information Act, Canada’s freedom of information legislation. The Commissioner reviews the complaints of individuals and organizations who believe that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act. As an ombudsperson, the Commissioner also promotes access to information in Canada.

Canada’s current Information Commissioner, Suzanne Legault, began her seven-year term on June 30, 2010, after serving one year as Interim Commissioner. Prior to this, she was Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations. Earlier in her career, Ms. Legault was Deputy Commissioner, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs, at the Competition Bureau, Legal Counsel with the Department of Justice Canada, as well as a criminal lawyer in private practice and a Crown prosecutor.

The Commissioner is supported in her work by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC), an independent public body set up in 1983 under the Access to Information Act to respond to complaints from the public about access to government information.

Our mission is to conduct efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. We use mediation and persuasion to resolve them. We bring cases to the Federal Court of Canada when they involve important principles of law or legal interpretation.

We encourage federal institutions to disclose information as a matter of course and to respect Canadians’ rights to request and receive information, in the name of transparency and accountability.

We actively make the case for greater freedom of information in Canada through targeted initiatives such as Right to Know Week, and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and federal institutions.

The OIC is funded through annual appropriations from Parliament. As a small organization, it has limited financial flexibility, 75 percent of its $12 million budget being allocated to salaries. As of April 2011, the OIC counts a workforce of 106 full-time equivalents, including 98 indeterminate employees.

The organizational structure of the OIC is shown in the diagram below.

The organizational structure of the OIC

[D]

The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch investigates individual complaints about the processing of access requests, conducts dispute resolution activities and makes formal recommendations to institutions, as required. It also assesses federal institutions’ compliance with their obligations and carries out systemic investigations and analysis.

Legal Services represents the Commissioner in court and provides legal advice on investigations, legislative issues and administrative matters. It closely monitors the range of cases having potential litigation ramifications for the OIC and access to information in general. It also assists investigators by providing them with up-to-date and customized reference tools on the evolving technicalities of the case law.

Corporate Services provides strategic and corporate leadership in human resources and financial management, internal audit as well as information management and technology. It provides policy direction and conducts the OIC’s external relations with a wide range of stakeholders, notably Parliament, government and representatives of the media. It is also responsible for managing the OIC’s access to information and privacy function.

Table of Contents

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant

Qui nous sommes et ce que nous faisons

La commissaire à l'information est une haute fonctionnaire du Parlement nommée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, qui régit l'accès à l'information au Canada. La commissaire enquête sur les plaintes déposées par les particuliers et les organisations qui estiment que les institutions fédérales n'ont pas respecté les droits qui leur sont conférés par la Loi. En tant que protectrice du citoyen, la commissaire fait aussi la promotion de l'accès à l'information au Canada.

La présente commissaire à l'information du Canada, Suzanne Legault, a amorcé son mandat de sept ans le 30 juin 2010, après avoir été commissaire par intérim pendant un an. Elle occupait auparavant le poste de commissaire adjointe chargée de la politique, des communications et des opérations. Au cours de sa carrière, Mme Legault a été commissaire adjointe pour les affaires législatives et parlementaires au Bureau de la concurrence, conseillère juridique au ministère de la Justice du Canada, avocate en pratique privée au criminel et procureur de la Couronne.

La commissaire est secondée dans ses fonctions par le Commissariat à l'information du Canada, un organisme gouvernemental indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour régler les plaintes du public concernant l'accès à l'information gouvernementale.

Nous avons pour mission d'enquêter de manière efficace, équitable et confidentielle sur les plaintes déposées contre les institutions fédérales concernant leur façon de traiter les demandes d'accès à l'information. Nous avons recours à la médiation et à la persuasion pour les régler. Nous renvoyons à la Cour fédérale du Canada les affaires qui soulèvent d'importants principes de droit ou d'interprétation juridique.

Nous encourageons les institutions fédérales à divulguer couramment leur information et à respecter le droit des Canadiens de demander et d'obtenir des renseignements au nom de la transparence et de la reddition de comptes.

Nous favorisons activement un plus grand accès à l'information au Canada grâce à des initiatives ciblées comme la Semaine du droit à l'information et un dialogue constant avec les Canadiens, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales.

Le Commissariat est financé grâce à des crédits annuels alloués par le Parlement. Vu sa petite taille, sa marge de manœuvre financière est limitée, 75 p. 100 de son budget de 12 millions de dollars étant consacré aux salaires. Au 1 er avril 2011, le Commissariat dispose d'un effectif de 106 équivalents temps plein, dont 98 employés permanents.

La structure organisationnelle du Commissariat à l'information est illustrée ci-dessous.

La structure organisationnelle du Commissariat à l’information

[D]

La Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi enquête sur les plaintes individuelles concernant le traitement des demandes d'accès, mène des activités de règlement des différends et, au besoin, émet des recommandations formelles aux institutions. La direction évalue également la conformité des institutions à leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi et effectue des enquêtes et analyses systémiques.

Les Services juridiques représentent la commissaire devant les tribunaux et offrent des conseils juridiques relativement aux enquêtes et aux questions législatives ou administratives. Ils suivent de près différents dossiers comportant des risques de litige pour le Commissariat ou l'accès à l'information en général. Ils assistent également les enquêteurs en leur fournissant des outils de référence à jour et adaptés à leurs besoins concernant les subtilités de la jurisprudence et leur évolution.

Les Services organisationnels assurent un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en ressources humaines, en gestion financière, en vérification interne et en technologie et gestion de l'information. Ils fournissent une orientation en matière de politiques et dirigent les relations externes avec une vaste gamme d'intervenants, notamment le Parlement, le gouvernement et les représentants des médias. Cette direction est également responsable du programme d'Accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels au sein du Commissariat.

Précédent Table des matières Suivant