Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Message from the Commissioner


Robert_Marleau_img_sm.jpg

When I was appointed Information Commissioner two years ago, the Office of the Information Commissioner faced a similar problem to that affecting the entire access to information system: an ever-increasing inventory of files carried over from year to year.

I immediately initiated major structural and operational changes to better address the challenges that were limiting our work and to eradicate once and for all the inventory built up over the years.

In 2008–2009, we formalized and fine-tuned our new way of doing business and, as the year ended, our new investigative process was starting to show results.

We also developed and refined other management strategies to ensure we have the proper skills and resources to effectively carry out our mandate over the next five years.

More importantly, we looked closely at how we could best improve the performance of the access to information system. I have said repeatedly that the compliance model inherent in the Act is weak. Currently, there are few incentives to comply with the Act’s requirements, and even fewer consequences for not doing so. Our new business model will allow us to effectively use the various tools at our disposal to maximize our influence on institutional compliance with the law.

Still, much more is needed to bring about a true culture of openness and transparency, and allow Canada to regain its status as a leader in the area of access to information. July 2008 marked the 25th anniversary of the Access to Information Act on a rather bittersweet note. It was a moment to celebrate the important democratic leap Canada took in 1983 when it gave citizens the right of access to information held by federal institutions. At the same time, the occasion highlighted just how much the legislation lags behind standards established by other countries and other Canadian jurisdictions. The Act is still framed within the reality that prevailed a quarter of a century ago. It does not take into account the massive technological changes that have completely reconfigured the information landscape.

In March 2009, I presented a series of legislative recommendations to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. These recommendations are meant as an initial effort to meet, without delay, the urgent challenges of modernizing the Act and strengthening the compliance model.

To move forward, strong, concerted leadership is required, now more than ever, from all quarters and all levels. Parliamentarians remain critical players, as they continue to press the government for legislative reform. The President of the Treasury Board, as the designated minister under the Act, must provide the political leadership to change a transparency adverse culture.

The Treasury Board Secretariat—as the organization responsible for ensuring that federal institutions fulfill their responsibilities under the Act—needs to provide institutional leadership guidance with clear performance objectives, explicit directives and adequate financial support and resources.

Within institutions, executive leadership is crucial to how well institutions fulfill their obligations under the Act. All ministers, deputy ministers and heads of agencies throughout the system must commit to the required cultural change. Through appropriate delegation of authority, access to information directors must be empowered to act in the true spirit of the legislation.

A rejuvenated, reorganized and better funded Office of the Information Commissioner also stands ready to fulfill the vision the Honourable Francis Fox set out in the parliamentary debates leading up to the adoption of the Access to Information Act. During the second reading debate in the House of Commons in 1981, he said: “I expect the office of the information commissioner to become over time more than an information ombudsman, more than an access advocate. I expect it to be the heart of the system.” This can only fully happen with legislative reform.

In closing, I wish to acknowledge the professionalism and dedication my staff has demonstrated through a period of radical change and scarcity. I also want to pay tribute to the memory of former Information Commissioner Dr. John Grace whose impassioned pleas for reform, 15 years ago, still resonate today. Dr. Grace set the bar high in the defence of the citizen’s right to know. Unfortunately, successive governments have chosen to ignore his recommendations and those of the commissioners who followed him. How much longer will Parliament stand by and tolerate this pervasive neglect and the attrition of a fundamental democratic right?

Information Commissioner of Canada

  robert_marleau_sig-eng.jpg
Robert Marleau



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Message du commissaire

Robert Marleau

Lorsque j’ai été nommé commissaire à l’information il y a deux ans, le Commissariat faisait face au même problème que celui qui touche l’ensemble du système d’accès à l’information : un arriéré croissant de dossiers reportés d’un exercice à l’autre.

J’ai immédiatement amorcé d’importants changements structurels et opérationnels visant à mieux relever les défis qui limitaient notre travail et à éradiquer, une fois pour toutes, l’arriéré de dossiers constitué au fil des ans.

En 2008–2009, nous avons officialisé et perfectionné notre nouveau mode de fonctionnement, et alors que l’exercice se terminait, notre nouveau processus d’enquête commençait à produire les résultats escomptés. Nous avons également élaboré et perfectionné d’autres stratégies de gestion dans le but de nous assurer les compétences et les ressources appropriées pour nous acquitter efficacement de notre mandat au cours des cinq années à venir.

Fait plus important encore, nous nous sommes penchés sur la meilleure façon d’améliorer le rendement du système d’accès à l’information. À plusieurs reprises, j’ai déploré le fait que le modèle de conformité contenu dans la Loi est faible. Il existe actuellement peu de mesures incitant les institutions à se conformer aux exigences de la Loi, et encore moins de conséquences à ne pas le faire. Notre nouveau modèle de gestion nous permettra d’utiliser efficacement les différents outils à notre disposition pour maximiser notre influence sur la conformité institutionnelle aux dispositions prévues par la Loi.

Néanmoins, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour instaurer une véritable culture d’ouverture et de transparence, et permettre au Canada de retrouver son statut de chef de file dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information.

Juillet 2008 a marqué le 25e anniversaire de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sur une note plutôt douce-amère. Cet anniversaire nous a permis de célébrer l’important gain démocratique survenu en 1983 lorsque le Canada a accordé à ses citoyens le droit d’accéder à l’information détenue par les institutions fédérales. En même temps, l’occasion a mis en évidence le retard de la Loi par rapport aux normes établies par d’autres pays et d’autres administrations canadiennes. La Loi est encore ancrée dans la réalité qui prévalait il y a un quart de siècle. Elle ne tient pas compte des changements technologiques majeurs qui ont complètement révolutionné le domaine de l’information.

En mars 2009, j’ai présenté une série de recommandations législatives au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur l’accès à l’information, la protection des renseignements personnels et l’éthique. Ces recommandations constituent un effort initial visant à relever sans délai les défis urgents que représentent la modernisation de la Loi et le renforcement du modèle de conformité.

Pour aller de l’avant, nous avons besoin, plus que jamais, d’un leadership fort et concerté, de la part de tous les intéressés et à tous les niveaux. Les parlementaires jouent un rôle des plus crucial en incitant le gouvernement à procéder à une réforme législative. Le président du Conseil du Trésor, à titre de ministre désigné en vertu de la Loi, doit fournir le leadership politique nécessaire au changement d’une culture opposée à la transparence.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor – en tant qu’organisme responsable de veiller à ce que les institutions fédérales s’acquittent des responsabilités que la Loi leur confère – doit encadrer le leadership institutionnel en fournissant des objectifs de rendement clairs, des directives explicites ainsi que des ressources et un soutien financier adéquats.  

Au sein des institutions, le leadership de la direction est crucial à l’efficacité avec laquelle les institutions s’acquittent de leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi. Tous les ministres, les sous-ministres et les dirigeants d’organisme dans l’ensemble du système doivent s’engager à mettre en œuvre le changement culturel requis. Par l’entremise d’une délégation de pouvoir appropriée, les directeurs de l’accès à l’information doivent être habilités à agir dans le véritable esprit de la Loi.

Un Commissariat à l’information rajeuni, réorganisé et mieux financé se tient prêt à réaliser la vision que l’honorable Francis Fox a énoncée au cours des débats parlementaires qui ont mené à l’adoption de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Voici ce qu’il a déclaré en 1981 lors des débats entourant la deuxième lecture à la Chambre des communes : « Je m’attends à ce que le commissaire à l’information devienne avec le temps plus qu’un ombudsman de l’information, plus qu’un défenseur de l’accès à l’information. Je m’attends à ce qu’il soit le moteur du système. » Seule une réforme législative permettra à cette vision de se concrétiser pleinement.

Pour terminer, je tiens à souligner le professionnalisme et le dévouement dont mon personnel a fait preuve au cours d’une période de changement radical et de rareté des ressources. Je tiens également à rendre hommage à la mémoire de l’ancien commissaire à l’information John Grace, dont les appels passionnés à la réforme, il y a quinze ans, résonnent encore aujourd’hui. M. Grace a fixé la barre haute pour ce qui est de défendre le droit des citoyens à l’information. Malheureusement, les gouvernements qui se sont succédé ont choisi d’ignorer ses recommandations et celles des commissaires qui l’ont suivi. Pendant combien de temps encore le Parlement tolérera-t-il une négligence aussi envahissante, menant à l’attrition d’un droit démocratique aussi fondamental?  

Le commissaire à l’information du Canada

 robert_marleau_sm_sig-eng.jpg
Robert Marleau


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant