Legislative activity affecting the Access to Information Act and touching on access to information in general, 2011–2012

Amendments to the Act, the Schedules and the Regulations
Statute or Order in Council Bill Citation Received Royal Assent Amendments
An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts C-10 Statutes of Canada: 2012, c. 1 March 13, 2012 Section 120 amends subsections 6(1) and (2) of the Criminal Records Act which is found under Schedule II of the ATIA. The amendment pertains to terminology and has no impact on the ATIA.
An Act to implement certain provisions of the 2011 budget as updated on June 6, 2011 and other measures C-13 Statutes of Canada: 2011, c. 24 December 15, 2011 Subsection 71(2) amends section 241(3.2) of the Income Tax Act that addresses the disclosure of information relating to charities listed in Schedule II of the Access to Information Act (ATIA). The amendment adds registered Canadian amateur athletic associations. The impact on the ATIA is minimal as the exception to non-disclosure is broadened.
An Act to reorganize the Canadian Wheat Board and to make consequential and related amendments to certain Acts C-18 Statutes of Canada: 2011, c. 25 December 15, 2011 Section 58 strikes out “Canadian Wheat Board” from Schedule I of the ATIA. The section would only come into effect once the Canadian Wheat Board was dissolved under Part 4 or continued as a corporation under Part 3. Section 57 provides that in either case, records that were under the control of the Board prior to its removal from Schedule 1 of the ATIA are subject to the Library and Archives of Canada Act.
New laws that touch on access to information in general
Statute or Order in Council Bill Citation Received Royal Assent Amendments
An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act C-19 Statutes of Canada: 2012, c. 6 April 5, 2012 The Act affects records retention policies regarding the Long Gun Registry and gun licenses.
An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012, and other measures C-38 Statutes of Canada: 2012, c. 19 June 6, 2012 This Act contains numerous amendments to Schedules I and II of the ATIA, both striking out and adding references.
A third Act to harmonize federal law with the civil law of Quebec and to amend certain Acts in order to ensure that each language version takes into account the common law and the civil law S-3 Statutes of Canada: 2011, c. 21 November 29, 2011 A change was made regarding privileged information in the Business Development Bank of Canada Act. It harmonizes the language to include equivalent civil law terms.
Proposed legislation and private members’ bills of note
Proposed legislation Bill Last stage at March 31, 2012 Proposed changes
An Act to amend the National Defence Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts C-15 First Reading in the House of Commons on October 7, 2011 Section 115 proposes to strike out “Canadian Forces Grievance Board” from Schedule I of the ATIA and add “Military Grievances External Review Committee”.
An Act to enhance the financial accountability and transparency of First Nations C-27 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on November 23, 2011 This Act deals with access to information held by aboriginal governments.
An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (response time) C-253 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on June 23, 2011 The ATIA would be amended to add to section 9 the procedure to follow when a request is still outstanding after hundred days.
An Act to establish and maintain a national Breast Implant Registry C-255 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on June 23, 2011 Schedules I and II of the ATIA would be amended to add Registrar of the Breast Implant Registry and Breast Implant Registry Act.
An Act to amend the Statistics Act (mandatory long-form census questionnaire) C-260 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on June 23, 2011 This bill would amend the Statistics Act to provide that the census of population taken under section 19 of that Act must be taken using a long-form census questionnaire
An Act to establish the office of the Veterans’ Ombudsman C-283 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on September 23, 2011 The ATIA is applicable with respect to the inclusion of personal information in a report.
An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (open government) C-301 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on October 29, 2011 The bill includes numerous amendments to the text of the ATIA, as drafted by former Information Commissioner John Reid in 2005.
An Act to amend the Investment Canada Act (disclosure of undertakings and demands) C-333 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on October 21, 2011 This bill requires proactive disclosure of certain information under the Investment Canada Act.
An Act to amend the Investment Canada Act (enhanced ministerial oversight) C-334 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on October 21, 2011 This Act proposes to repeals section 36 of the Investment Canada Act, which is listed in Schedule II of ATIA.
An Act to establish the Department of Peace C-373 Introduction and First Reading in the House of Commons on November 30, 2011 A new government institution would be added under Schedule I of the ATIA.
An Act to establish and maintain a national registry of medical devices S-202 Second Reading in the Senate on November 2, 2011 The Medical Devices Registry Act would be added to Schedule II of the ATIA.

Other parliamentary activities of interest

Senate inquiries
Inquiry Topic and date Excerpt
Inquiry No. 17 Statement by the Honourable Senator Francis Fox, P.C. on November 30, 2011 on the Canadian Access to Information System

“…[The Access to Information Act] deserves to be constantly updated and can only be updated with the cooperation of the government of the day. This pillar of our democracy calls for a constant recommitment by the authorities to ensure that transparency is part of our political DNA. […]

Nearly 30 years after the coming into force of the legislation, our access to information system needs to be reinvigorated in order to meet the challenges of the 21st century and remain effective. It often takes so long to process requests for information that it would seem the government is denying people information. I would like the current Prime Minister to send a clear message to every component of the machinery of government: the culture of proactive disclosure of documents must take precedence over the culture of secrecy. […]

 

Rapports du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique
Report 1: Access to Information Dispute and the Resulting Court Actions Concerning CBC (adopted by the Committee on February 28, 2012; presented to the House on March 8, 2012) The Committee calls on the Government to amend section 68.1 of the Access to Information Act in accordance with the expert testimony heard during the study. In doing so, the Government should consider international models as presented by the Information Commissioner.

Activité législative ayant une incidence sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et concernant l'accès à l'information en général pour 2011–2012

Modifications apportées à la Loi, aux Annexes et aux Règlements
Loi ou décret Projet de loi Référence Entrée en vigueur Modifications
Loi édictant la Loi sur la justice pour les victimes d'actes de terrorisme et modifiant la Loi sur l'immunité des États, le Code criminel, la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances, la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents, la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés et d'autres lois C-10 Lois du Canada : 2012, ch. 1 13 mars 2012

L'article 120 modifie les paragraphes 6(1) et (2) de la Loi sur le casier judiciaire qui figure à l'annexe II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. La modification est d'ordre terminologique et n'a aucune incidence sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

L'article 160 remplace « Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles » par « Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada » figurant à l'annexe I de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget de 2011 mis à jour le 6 juin 2011 et mettant en œuvre d'autres mesures C-13 Lois du Canada : 2011, ch. 24 15 décembre 2011 Le paragraphe 71(2) modifie le paragraphe 241(3.2) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu ayant trait à la divulgation de renseignements liés aux organismes de bienfaisance figurant à l'annexe II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. La modification ajoute les associations canadiennes enregistrées de sport amateur. L'incidence sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est minime, car l'exception à la non-divulgation est élargie.
Loi réorganisant la Commission canadienne du blé et apportant des modifications corrélatives et connexes à certaines lois C-18 Lois du Canada : 2011, ch. 25 15 décembre 2011 L'article 58 supprime « Commission canadienne du blé » de l'annexe I de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Cet article entre en vigueur à la suite de la dissolution de la Commission canadienne du blé aux termes de la partie 4 ou de sa constitution en société aux termes de la partie 3. L'article 57 stipule que dans les 2 cas, les documents qui relevaient de la Commission avant sa suppression de l'annexe I de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information sont assujettis à la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.
Nouvelles lois ayant une incidence sur l'accès à l'information en général
Loi ou décret Projet de loi Référence Entrée en vigueur Modifications
Loi modifiant le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu C-19 Lois du Canada : 2012, ch. 6 5 avril 2012 La Loi a une incidence sur les politiques de conservation des dossiers relatives au registre des armes d’épaule et aux permis de port d'armes.
Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 29 mars 2012 et mettant en œuvre d'autres mesures C-38 Lois du Canada : 2012, ch. 19 6 juin 2012 Cette loi contient de nombreuses modifications aux annexes I et II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, y supprimant et y ajoutant des citations.
Loi no 3 visant à harmoniser le droit fédéral avec le droit civil du Québec et modifiant certaines lois pour que chaque version linguistique tienne compte du droit civil et de la common law S-3 Lois du Canada : 2011, ch. 21 29 novembre 2011 Une modification a été apportée à la Loi sur la Banque de développement du Canada concernant les renseignements confidentiels. Cette modification permet d'harmoniser le libellé pour y ajouter des termes équivalents du doit civil.
Lois proposées et projets de loi d'initiative parlementaire d'importance
Loi proposée Projet de loi Dernière étape au 31 mars 2012 Modifications proposées
Loi modifiant la Loi sur la défense nationale et d'autres lois en conséquence C-15 Première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 7 octobre 2011 L'article 115 propose de supprimer « Comité des griefs des Forces canadiennes » de l'annexe I de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et d'y ajouter « Comité externe d’examen des griefs militaires »..
Loi visant à accroître l'obligation redditionnelle et la transparence des Premières Nations en matière financière C-27 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 23 novembre 2011 Cette loi concerne l'accès à l'information que détiennent les administrations autochtones.
Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (délai de réponse) C-253 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 23 juin 2011 La Loi sur l’accès à l’information serait modifiée pour ajouter à l'article 9 la procédure à suivre dans le cas où une demande est encore en suspens 100 jours après sa réception.
Loi prévoyant l'établissement et la tenue d'un registre national des implants mammaires d'un registre national des implants mammaires C-255 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 23 juin 2011 Les annexes I et II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information seraient modifiées pour y ajouter « Directeur du Registre des implants mammaires » et «Loi sur le Registre des implants mammaires ».
Loi modifiant la Loi sur la statistique (questionnaire complet de recensement obligatoire) C-260 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 23 juin 2011 Ce projet de loi modifierait la Loi sur la statistique pour prévoir que le recensement de la population fait aux termes de l’article 19 de cette loi est fait à l’aide d’un questionnaire complet.
Loi constituant le poste d’ombudsman des anciens combattants C-283 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 23 septembre 2011 La Loi sur l'accès à l'information est applicable en ce qui a trait à l'ajout de renseignements personnels à un rapport.
Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (transparence gouvernementale) C-301 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 29 octobre 2011 Le projet de loi comprend de nombreuses modifications à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information afin de mettre en œuvre les modifications proposées en 2005 par l'ancien commissaire à l’information du Canada, John Reid.
Loi modifiant la Loi sur Investissement Canada (publication des engagements et des mises en demeure) C-333 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 21 octobre 2011 Ce projet de loi exige la divulgation proactive de certains renseignements aux termes de la Loi sur Investissement Canada.
Loi modifiant la Loi sur Investissement Canada (surveillance ministérielle accrue) C-334 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 21 octobre 2011 Cette loi propose d'abroger l'article 36 de la Loi sur Investissement Canada, qui figure à l'annexe II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
Loi constituant le ministère de la Paix C-373 Dépôt et première lecture à la Chambre des communes le 30 novembre 2011 Une nouvelle institution gouvernementale serait créée aux termes de l'annexe I de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
Loi prévoyant l'établissement et la tenue d'un registre national des instruments médicaux S-202 Deuxième lecture au Sénat le 2 novembre 2011 La Loi sur le Registre des instruments médicaux serait ajoutée à l'annexe II de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Autres activités parlementaires d'intérêt

Interpellations du sénat
Interpellation Sujet et date Extrait
Interpellation no 17 Déclaration de l'honorable Francis Fox, sénateur, P.C. le 30 novembre 2011, au sujet du système canadien d'accès à l'information

«…[La Loi sur l'accès à l'information] mérite d'être constamment mise à jour et ne pourra l'être qu'avec la complicité du gouvernement en place. Ce pilier de notre démocratie exige un réengagement constant de la part des autorités pour assurer que la transparence fasse partie de notre ADN politique.[…]

Près de 30 ans après l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi, notre système d'accès à l'information a besoin d'un souffle nouveau pour relever les défis du XXIe siècle et demeurer efficace. Les délais dans le traitement des demandes sont souvent extravagants au point où cela ressemble, parfois, à un déni de communication de l'information. Je voudrais que le premier ministre actuel lance un message clair à toutes les composantes de l'appareil gouvernemental : la culture de divulgation proactive des documents doit primer sur la culture du secret. […]

 

Rapports du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique
Rapport no 1 : Différend au sujet de l'accès à l'information et les poursuites concernant Radio­Canada qui en découlent (adopté par le Comité le 28 février 2012, déposé à la Chambre le 8 mars 2012) Le Comité demande au gouvernement de modifier l'article 68.1 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information conformément aux témoignages des spécialistes entendus dans le cadre de l'étude. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement devrait tenir compte des modèles internationaux présentés par la commissaire à l'information.