Duty to assist requires complete, accurate and timely responses

Complaint: After committing, as a result of a complaint investigation, to release a report into the 2011 crash of a Chinook helicopter in southern Afghanistan by a certain date, the Department of National Defence (DND) did not do so.

Investigation: As part of a second investigation, which the Commissioner initiated in light of the publication delay, the OIC came to the view that DND could not have reasonably expected to complete the report by the initial deadline, since important stages of the investigation had not yet begun. DND did not mention this fact to the OIC during the first investigation.

Outcome: DND ultimately released the report 18 months after the original access request had been made and 10 months after the promised publication date.

Information Commissioner’s position

  • The delay in releasing the report, and the second investigation in its entirety, could have been avoided if DND had met its basic obligations under the duty to assist to provide an accurate, complete and timely response at the outset.
  • When the information requesters are seeking is to be published, institutions should monitor the situation and follow up with requesters when publication occurs or is to be delayed.
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

L'obligation de prêter assistance nécessite une réponse complète, précise et rapide

Plainte : Après s’être engagé, dans le cadre d’une enquête sur une plainte, à publier d’ici une certaine date un rapport sur l’hélicoptère Chinook qui s’était écrasé dans le sud de l’Afghanistan en 2011, le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) n’a pas respecté cet engagement.

Enquête : Dans le cadre d’une enquête sur une seconde plainte, que la commissaire a entreprise à cause du retard dans la publication, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada est arrivé à la conclusion que le MDN ne pouvait pas raisonnablement espérer terminer le rapport à la date d’échéance initiale, puisque des étapes importantes de l’enquête n’avaient pas encore été entamées. Le MDN n’avait pas mentionné ce fait au Commissariat au cours de l’enquête sur la première plainte.

Résultat : Le MDN a finalement publié le rapport 18 mois après de dépôt de la demande d’accès originale et 10 mois après la date de publication promise.

Prise de position de la commissaire à l’information

  • Le retard dans la publication du rapport, et la seconde enquête dans son ensemble, auraient pu être évités si le MDN avait respecté ses obligations de base de prêter assistance et avait fourni une réponse complète, précise et rapide dès le départ.
  • Lorsque l’information que recherche le demandeur doit être publiée, les institutions doivent surveiller la situation et assurer un suivi auprès du demandeur au moment de la publication ou lorsque cette publication sera retardée.
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte