2014-2015 Common problems jeopardize timeliness

Complaint: Several institutions, including Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Environment Canada, did not meet their deadlines for responding to requests from the Parliamentary Budget Officer about the possible impact Budget measures might have on service levels.

Investigation: The OIC learned that the institutions’ treatment of the requests featured several common problems that result in delays: files not advancing in the access office, unnecessarily long time extensions being taken for consultations on a small number of pages, and multiple consultations being carried out consecutively rather than concurrently.

Outcome: The Information Commissioner asked the three institutions for work plans and commitment dates for responding to the requester in order to avoid further unreasonable delays.

Information Commissioner’s position

  • Timeliness is fundamental to the right of access. Receiving a response in a timely manner ensures information is still relevant and that the government can be held to account for its decisions at appropriate times.
  • In this case, delays in processing files at each institution, and stretching out the response time by taking long extensions and improperly carrying out consultations resulted in an 18-month delay in the response.
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Des problèmes communs compromettent le respect des délais

Plainte : Plusieurs institutions, dont Pêches et Océans Canada, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Environnement Canada, ont omis de respecter les délais prévus pour répondre à des demandes présentées par le directeur parlementaire du budget concernant les possibles répercussions que les mesures budgétaires peuvent avoir sur les niveaux de services.

Enquête : Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a constaté que le traitement des demandes par les institutions était entaché de plusieurs problèmes qui sont à l’origine des retards : dossiers qui ne progressent pas au bureau d’accès à l’information, prolongations inutilement longues pour des consultations concernant un nombre peu élevé de pages et nombreuses consultations menées l’une après l’autre, plutôt que simultanément.

Résultat : La commissaire à l’information a demandé aux trois institutions concernées de soumettre un plan de travail et de fixer un délai pour répondre au demandeur dans le but d’éviter d’autres retards déraisonnables.

Prise de position de la commissaire à l’information

  • La présentation de l’information en temps opportun est un aspect fondamental du droit d’accès. Lorsqu’un demandeur reçoit une réponse en temps opportun, il a la certitude que l’information est encore pertinente et que le gouvernement peut être tenu responsable de ses décisions en temps voulu.
  • Dans la présente affaire, des retards dans le traitement des dossiers au sein de chaque institution et l’allongement des délais de réponse découlant de longues prolongations et de consultations menées de façon inadéquate ont donné lieu à un retard de 18 mois.
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte