2013-2014 Records about attendance at mandatory training are not personal information

Complaint: The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) withheld in their entirety under subsection 19(1) records about the attendance of a newly commissioned inspector at the RCMP’s Officer Orientation and Developmental Course.

Investigation: The RCMP stated that the information sought (the dates of the inspector’s attendance, the complete list of courses, and the names of all the facilitators and any others in attendance), in conjunction with the name, rank and employee identification number of regular members of the RCMP, constituted personal information, as described in section 3 of the Privacy Act. However, the course was mandatory for newly commissioned officers.

Outcome: After a formal request from the Information Commissioner to justify its position, the RCMP agreed to release the information.

Information Commissioner’s position

  • The fact that a member had attended this course is not personal information, since the training was mandatory and therefore related to the position or functions of an individual who is an employee of a government institution. This constitutes an exception to subsection 19(1), as per paragraph (3)(j) of the Privacy Act.
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Les documents concernant la participation à des formations obligatoires ne sont pas des renseignements personnels

Plainte : En vertu du paragraphe 19(1), la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) n’a pas divulgué l’ensemble des dossiers concernant la participation d’un nouvel inspecteur nouvellement nommé au cours d’orientation et de perfectionnement des officiers de la GRC.

Enquête : La GRC a déclaré que les renseignements demandés (les dates de présence de l’inspecteur, la liste complète des cours et les noms de tous les animateurs et des autres personnes présentes) ainsi que le nom, le grade et le numéro d’identification des membres réguliers de la GRC constituaient des renseignements personnels, comme le prévoit l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cependant, le cours était obligatoire pour les nouveaux officiers.

Résultat : À la suite d’une demande officielle de la commissaire à l’information de justifier sa position, la GRC a accepté de communiquer les renseignements.

Prise de position de la commissaire à l’information

  • Le fait qu’un membre ait suivi ce cours ne constitue pas un renseignement personnel, puisque la formation était obligatoire et se rapportait donc au poste ou aux fonctions d’une personne qui est un employé d’une institution fédérale. Il s’agit d’une exception au paragraphe 19(1), conformément à l’alinéa (3)j) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte