Confidential information must be treated consistently as such

Complaint: Citing paragraph 20(1)(b), Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) exempted from a list the locations of storage tanks on Indigenous land in Alberta that contain petroleum products and allied petroleum products.

Investigation: AANDC maintained that the tank locations met the criteria of paragraph 20(1)(b), including the confidentiality requirements. However, the OIC learned that the Storage Tank Systems for Petroleum Products and Allied Petroleum Products Regulations stipulate that “the owner or operator must display the identification number in a readily visible location on or near the storage tank system for which the number was issued.” This requirement is echoed on the Environment Canada website.

Outcome: Since the locations of the tanks could be discerned through observation of the visible identification numbers, the location could not be characterized as “confidential.” AANDC agreed to disclose the information in response to a formal recommendation from the Information Commissioner.

Information Commissioner’s position

  • In order for paragraph 20(1)(b) to apply, institutions must demonstrate that all the criteria set out in the provision are met.
  • In this instance, AANDC could not show that the storage tank identification numbers, and therefore the locations of the tanks, were confidential and had been consistently treated as such.
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Les renseignements de nature confidentielle doivent être traités comme tels de façon constante

Plainte : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a invoqué l’alinéa 20(1)b) après avoir conclu que l’emplacement des réservoirs de stockage sur des terres autochtones en Alberta contenant des produits pétroliers et des produits pétroliers apparentés faisait l’objet d’une exception. L’emplacement de ces réservoirs figurait sur une liste.

Enquête : AADNC a soutenu que l’emplacement des réservoirs répondait aux critères prévus à l’alinéa 20(1)b), y compris aux exigences de confidentialité. Toutefois, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a appris que le Règlement sur les systèmes de stockage de produits pétroliers et de produits apparentés prévoit que « [l]e propriétaire ou l’exploitant place le numéro d’identification bien en vue sur le système de stockage ou près de celui-ci ». Cette exigence est reprise sur le site Web d’Environnement Canada.

Résultat : Étant donné que l’emplacement des réservoirs pouvait être discerné par l’observation des numéros d’identification visibles, il n’était pas possible de qualifier l’emplacement comme étant « confidentiel ». AADNC a accepté de divulguer l’information en réponse à une recommandation officielle de la commissaire à l’information.

Prise de position de la commissaire à l’information

  • Pour que l’alinéa 20(1)b) s’applique, les institutions doivent démontrer que tous les critères énoncés dans la disposition sont respectés.
  • Dans la présente affaire, AANDC n’a pas pu démontrer que les numéros d’identification des réservoirs de stockage, et donc leur emplacement, étaient de nature confidentielle et avaient été traités comme tels de façon constante.
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte