2013-2014 Claiming the “mosaic effect” requires showing that specific personal information would be disclosed

Complaint: Transport Canada refused to release aircraft registration numbers, claiming they were personal information under subsection 19(1).

Investigation: Transport Canada maintained that by cross-referencing these numbers with information on the publicly available Canadian Civil Aviation Register website, it would be possible to discern the names and addresses of the owners of registered aircraft involved in air occurrences.

Outcome: As a result of the investigation, Transport Canada released the records in full, claiming it was doing so using its discretion to release personal information in the public interest under subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act. However, the Information Commissioner found that the information did not qualify as personal information and should not have been withheld under subsection 19(1) in the first place.

Information Commissioner’s position

  • To withhold records under subsection 19(1) in this instance, Transport Canada would have had to demonstrate that releasing various types of seemingly unrelated information would paint a larger picture that would disclose specific personal information (known as the “mosaic effect”).
  • Transport Canada could not do so in this case. At most, someone might have been able discern the identity of the owners of aircraft involved in air occurrences, but not whether these owners were personally involved.
  • In its decision in FCA+157">Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board), 2006 FCA 157, the Federal Court of Appeal said that the possibility that information might be cross-referenced with other sources does not render otherwise “non-personal” information “personal.”
Date modified:
Submit a complaint

Pour invoquer « l'effet mosaïque », il faut démontrer que des renseignements personnels précis seraient divulgués

Plainte : Transports Canada a refusé de communiquer les numéros d’immatriculation des aéronefs, alléguant qu’il s’agissait de renseignements personnels suivant le paragraphe 19(1).

Enquête : Transports Canada a soutenu que, en renvoyant ces numéros à l’information disponible sur le site Web du Registre des aéronefs civils canadiens, il serait possible de discerner les noms et adresses des propriétaires d’aéronefs immatriculés impliqués dans des événements aériens.

Résultat : À la suite de l’enquête, Transports Canada a communiqué tous les documents, alléguant qu’il avait exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer des renseignements personnels pour des raisons d’intérêt public en vertu du sous-alinéa 8(2)m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Toutefois, la commissaire à l’information a conclu que les renseignements n’étaient pas considérés comme des renseignements personnels et qu’ils n’auraient pas dû, pour commencer, faire l’objet d’une non-divulgation en vertu du paragraphe 19(1).

Prise de position de la commissaire à l’information

  • Dans la présente affaire, pour ce qui est de ne pas divulguer des documents en vertu du paragraphe 19(1), Transports Canada aurait dû démontrer que la communication de divers types de renseignements apparemment sans lien entre eux donnerait une vue d’ensemble qui révèlerait des renseignements personnels précis (connu sous « l’effet mosaïque »).
  • Transports Canada n’a pas pu le faire dans la présente affaire. Tout au plus, quelqu’un aurait pu discerner l’identité des propriétaires des aéronefs impliqués dans des événements aériens, mais pas si ces propriétaires étaient personnellement impliqués.
  • Dans sa décision Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c. Canada (Bureau canadien d’enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports), 2006 CAF 157, la Cour d’appel fédérale a déclaré que la possibilité que des renseignements puissent être renvoyés à d’autres sources ne rend pas « personnels » des renseignements autrement « non personnels ».
Date de modification :
Soumettre une plainte