Systemic investigation into the use of text-based messaging in federal institutions

Rapidly evolving technologies pose a new set of questions and parameters for access to information regimes.  Forms of communication, such as BlackBerry Pin-to-Pin and SMS text messages, create new challenges that may affect requesters’ rights to government-held records.

The Act allows the Information Commissioner to initiate a complaint (external link) when she is satisfied that there are reasonable grounds to investigate a matter relating to requesting or obtaining access to records under this legislation.

At this time, there is no Government-wide policy on the use of text-based peer-to-peer forms of communication.  Consequently, the Information Commissioner has initiated a systemic investigation into whether text-based messages containing government information sent from, or received on, government issued wireless devices are properly managed and preserved to ensure the right of access to information.

Eleven institutions have been selected for review based on a number of factors, such as the size of the institution, the volume of requests it receives in a year, or its responsibilities for providing direction and assistance on recordkeeping for the Government of Canada. The institutions included in this investigation are:

  • Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
  • Foreign Affairs and International Trade
  • Health Canada
  • Industry Canada
  • Justice Canada
  • Library and Archives Canada
  • National Defence
  • Privy Council Office
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada
  • Transport Canada
  • Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Enquête systémique sur l’utilisation de services de messagerie en mode texte dans les institutions fédérales

Les technologies en évolution rapide donnent lieu à un nouvel ensemble de questions et de paramètres pour les régimes d’accès à l’information. Les formes de communication, comme les communications BlackBerry de NIP à NIP et les messages texte SMS, présentent également de nouveaux défis qui peuvent porter atteinte aux droits des requérants aux documents détenus par le gouvernement.

La Loi autorise la commissaire à l’information à porter plainte si elle a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une enquête devrait être menée sur une question relative à la demande ou à l’obtention de documents en vertu de la présente loi.

Il n’y a pas de politique à l’échelle gouvernementale sur l’utilisation de la messagerie en mode texte pair à pair. Par conséquent, la commissaire à l’information a entrepris une enquête systémique sur la question de savoir si ces messages en mode texte contenant de l’information gouvernementale envoyée de, ou reçue par un appareil sans fil distribué par le gouvernement, sont bien gérés et préservés afin d’assurer le droit d’accès à l’information.

Onze institutions ont été choisies pour un examen en fonction d’un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment la taille de l’institution, le nombre de demandes que celle‑ci reçoit dans une année ou ses responsabilités en ce qui concerne la fourniture de directives et d’aide relativement à la tenue des documents du gouvernement du Canada. Les institutions visées par l’enquête sont :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Bureau du Conseil privé
Défense nationale
Industrie Canada
Ministère de la Justice
Santé Canada
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
Transports Canada
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada