Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Coordination of Access to Information Requests System (CAIRS)

The Coordination of Access to Information Requests System (CAIRS) was created in 1989 to facilitate the identification and coordination of access to information requests raising interdepartmental issues or involving significant legal or policy issues. CAIRS was a central registry containing the text of requests received by federal institutions covered by the Access to Information Act (Act). Over time, even though CAIRS was not publicly available, external users recognized the usefulness of the information contained in the system and started making access requests for the list of requests.

During 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) was consulted about the future of the system as part of the Treasury Board Secretariat’s (TBS) policy renewal initiative pertaining to access to information. In October 2007, we recommended to TBS that CAIRS be maintained until an alternative could be found.

In April 2008, TBS announced that that it was discontinuing the requirement to update CAIRS, which effectively rendered the system obsolete. We received two complaints regarding this decision. At the time the investigation was initiated, TBS had not proposed an alternative to CAIRS.

During the course of the investigation, the OIC consulted with a number of stakeholders and obtained representations from them. The representations indicated that the information in CAIRS provided real value to access requesters and the public in general. The lack of a centralized source of information makes the search process more time consuming, inefficient and costly. It was recommended that any alternate system should allow for quick, inexpensive and easy searches of current and previous requests. Treasury Board representations highlighted various factors that were considered prior to the decision to abolish the requirement to update CAIRS. Key elements included the fact that the system was of limited value to federal institutions and that the information was still available directly from these institutions.

Although CAIRS was not originally designed for public use, the information contained in the database generates substantial and continued public interest. This has been confirmed by the creation of the non-governmental Online Democracy and CAIRS.info websites. We believe that advances in technology allow federal institutions to go much further in providing access to their information.

Abolishing the requirement to update the information contained in CAIRS effectively eliminated a centralized source of information on access requests received by federal institutions. However, since the information is still available from institutions, the Office was unable to conclude that the policy change represented a denial of access under the Act.

To assist in resolving the matter and to facilitate the dissemination of government information, we recommended to the President of the Treasury Board that TBS develop and implement a practice directing institutions to post the lists of access requests they have received on their websites. We also recommended that TBS enable a central search feature to allow the public to search the lists of requests. In addition, the Office recommended to the President that access requesters and the public in general be consulted to obtain their perspectives on the usefulness of such a tool.

We note that a number of federal institutions are already posting lists of completed access requests on their websites, notably National Defence, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, as well as the Office of the Information Commissioner.

In response to recommendations, the President of the Treasury Board indicated that TBS would consult federal institutions and assess the associated resource implications. Consultations have commenced. 

Based on its discussions with TBS, the Office has noted a willingness to introduce a practice leading to the publication of access requests. TBS has taken a leadership role among federal institutions in posting the list of summaries of requests completed by TBS every month. The Office is confident that TBS will follow up on the recommendations on a government-wide basis. The Office has therefore concluded its investigation and will continue to monitor TBS’s progress in seeking an acceptable alternative to CAIRS.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Enquêtes systémiques

Le Système de coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information (SCDAI)

Le Système de coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information (SCDAI) a été créé en 1989 en vue de faciliter l’identification et la coordination des demandes d’accès à l’information soulevant des enjeux interministériels ou des questions d’importance sur le plan juridique ou politique. Le SCDAI était un registre central renfermant le texte des demandes reçues par les institutions fédérales aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l’information (la Loi). Ce système n’était pas accessible publiquement. Cependant, au fil des ans, des utilisateurs externes ont commencé à voir l’utilité de l’information contenue dans la base de données et à faire des demandes d’accès pour obtenir la liste des demandes qu’elle renfermait.

Au cours de l’année 2007, le Commissariat a été consulté au sujet de l’avenir du système dans le cadre de l’exercice du Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor (SCT) sur le renouvellement des politiques en matière d’accès à l’information. En octobre 2007, nous avons recommandé au SCT de conserver le SCDAI jusqu’à ce qu’une solution de remplacement soit trouvée.

En avril 2008, le (SCT) annonçait que l’exigence de mettre à jour l’information dans le SCDAI n’était plus en vigueur rendant la base de données désuète. Nous avons reçu deux plaintes portant sur cette décision.  Au moment de procéder à l’enquête, le SCT n’avait proposé aucune solution de rechange au SCDAI.

Au cours de l’enquête, le Commissariat a consulté un nombre d’intervenants et a obtenu les observations des parties. L’information recueillie auprès des intervenants a démontré la valeur indéniable de l’information contenue au SCDAI pour les demandeurs d’accès et le public en général.  L’absence d’une source d’information centralisée rend le processus à suivre pour obtenir de l’information similaire fastidieux, inefficace et coûteux. Il a été recommandé que tout nouveau système devrait permettre de faire des recherches rapidement, facilement et à peu de frais sur les demandes en cours ou passées. Les représentations du Conseil du Trésor ont mis en évidence plusieurs facteurs qui ont été considérés avant de prendre la décision d’éliminer l’exigence de mettre à jour le SCDAI.  Au cœur des considérations du SCT est le fait que le système avait une valeur limitée pour les institutions fédérales et que l’information demeurait disponible directement des institutions fédérales.

Bien que le SCDAI n’ait pas été conçu à l’origine pour usage public, l’information contenue dans cette base de données suscite un intérêt public important et soutenu, comme en atteste la création des sites web non-gouvernementaux Online Democracy et CAIRS.info. Nous sommes d’avis que les progrès technologiques permettent aux institutions fédérales d’aller beaucoup plus loin pour donner accès à l’information qu’elles détiennent.

L’élimination de l’exigence de mettre à jour l’information présentée dans le SCDAI a eu pour effet pratique d’éliminer une source centrale d’information sur les demandes reçues par les institutions fédérales. Cependant, cette information reste toujours disponible auprès des institutions fédérales. Par conséquent, le Commissariat n’a pu conclure que le changement de politique constituait un refus d’accès aux termes de la Loi.

Néanmoins, afin de régler la question et faciliter la diffusion de l’information gouvernementale, nous avons recommandé au président du Conseil du Trésor d’élaborer et mettre en place une pratique visant à exiger des institutions qu’elles affichent sur leurs sites Web une liste des demandes d’accès reçues. Nous avons également recommandé au SCT de mettre au point une fonction de recherche centrale pour permettre au public d’interroger ces listes. Par ailleurs, le Commissariat a recommandé au président de consulter les demandeurs et le public en général pour obtenir leurs commentaires compte tenu de leurs points de vue sur l’utilité d’un tel outil.

Nous notons que quelques institutions fédérales affichent déjà sur leurs sites Web les listes de demandes d’accès complétées, à savoir la Défense nationale, l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada Atlantique et le Commissariat à l’information.

En réponse aux recommandations, le président du Conseil du Trésor a indiqué que le SCT allait consulter les institutions fédérales et entreprendre une analyse des besoins en ressources associés aux recommandations. Ces consultations ont déjà débuté.

Compte tenu des discussions avec le SCT, le Commissariat constate une ouverture quant au bien-fondé de mettre en place une pratique visant à la publication des demandes d’accès. Par ailleurs, le SCT a pris un rôle de leadership auprès des institutions fédérales en affichant une liste mensuelle des sommaires des demandes d’accès complétées par le Secrétariat. Le Commissariat a bon espoir que le SCT donnera suite aux recommandations à l’échelle pangouvernementale. Le Commissariat a conclu son enquête et va continuer à suivre les progrès du SCT en vue de trouver une solution de remplacement convenable au SCDAI.