A review of Scotland’s ATI publication scheme

Access to information regime – ScotlandFootnote 1

Three pieces of legislation govern Scotland’s access to information regime:

Scottish laws

  • The Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002
  • The Environmental Information Regulations 2004
  • The INSPIRE Regulations 2009

The Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act – 2002Footnote 2

  • The Freedom of Information Act (2002) came into force in 2005, and introduced a general statutory right of access to all types of ‘recorded’ information of any age held by Scottish public authorities.
  • Public authorities subject to the Act are required to respond to access requests and make a lot of information publically available by way of a Guide to Information, commonly referred to as a “publication scheme”. The authority’s responsibility in this regard is called the “publication scheme” duty.
  • The Act requires public authorities to adopt and maintain a publication scheme that sets out the types of information that they commit to routinely publish. The Act outlines the duty of all authorities to adopt and maintain a current publication scheme. The Act also sets out the power of the Information Commissioner to refuse or approve a public authority’s publication scheme.
  • Under the Act, public authorities are under a legal obligation to:
    • Publish the classes of information that they make routinely available;
    • Tell the public how to access the information they publish and whether information is available free of charge or on payment.
  • A requester is encouraged to search the public authority’s website before making a request. If information is available with a publication scheme, he or she does not have to make a request under the Act. Most of the information that an authority publishes under the scheme is free of charge or available for a small fee. It there is a charge, the publication scheme will provide information. The charge for providing some information, for example a birth and marriage certificate, may be set by other laws.
  • If a formal request is needed to obtain information, a public authority has the duty to help the requester make their request. Authorities have 20 working days to respond to a request.
  • A publication scheme should be available on the authority's website, or on request. If the publication scheme is on the authority's website, the requester can access the scheme and links to copies of documents that can be downloaded or read online.
  • The Act allows for the development of model publication schemes which can be adopted by more than one authority.
  • The Scottish Information Commissioner has produced and issued a model publication scheme that is available for public authorities. Authorities can also develop their own scheme, provided they meet the Information Commissioner’s standards and the scheme is approved.Footnote 3
  • Adoption of the model publication scheme commits an authority to:
    • Adopt the scheme without amending it.
    • Publish the information, including environmental information, that it holds which falls within the eight different classes of information set out by the Commissioner.Footnote 4
    • Ensure that the way it publishes its information meets the Model Publication Scheme 2015 Principles.Footnote 5
    • Publish a Guide to Information which sets out the information the authority publishes through this model scheme, how to access it, whether there is a charge for it and how to get help to access information.
    • Notify the Scottish Information Commissioner that it has adopted the model scheme.
  • Where an authority fails to meet these commitments, it cannot be considered to have adopted the model scheme and may be failing in its duty to adopt and maintain a publication scheme in line with the Freedom of Information Act.Footnote 6
  • The Information Commissioner has an Enforcement policy that sets out what it will do in the event of non-compliance with the publication scheme duty. Under the Act, the Information Commissioner may issue an Enforcement Notice requiring the authority to comply. If the authority fails to comply, the Commissioner may refer the matter to the Court of Session (the highest court in Scotland). The court may decide to treat the authority as if it has committed a contempt of court. The penalty is 2 years imprisonment or an unlimited fine.
  • The Scottish Information Commissioner’s office has issued few Enforcement Notices for publication schemes, and in all cases the authorities have compliedFootnote 7.

The Scottish Information Commissioner

  • The Scottish Information Commissioner, Rosemary Agnew, is a fully independent public official who is mandated to both promote and enforce Scotland's freedom of information laws.
  • She promotes and enforces both the public’s right to ask for the information held by Scottish public authorities, and good practice by authorities.
  • Through her work she supports the openness, transparency and accountability of public bodies. Her duties include:
    • The promotion of good practice amongst public authorities;
    • Investigating applications and issuing legally enforceable decisions;
    • Approving and assisting in the preparation of publication schemes;
    • Providing the public and authorities with information on the operation of the Act; and
    • Enforcing compliance with the Act.Footnote 8

Requesters are encourages to visit the Information Commissioner’s website for a variety of guidance on the Scottish Laws. This includes the complete list of public authorities, best practices for requesters and public authorities, information on the purpose and use of publication schemes, in addition to the Information Commissioner’s Model Publication Scheme.

Figure 1: Classes of information

The Information Commissioner’s Model Publication Scheme

The publication scheme sets out the types of information that a public authority routinely makes available. These are referred to as “class” of records and each class of record has a description. Below is a table provided by the Information Commissioner as a Model (example) for public authorities.

Class Description

1 About the authority

Information about the authority, who we are, where to find us, how to contact us, how we are managed and our external relations

2 How we deliver our functions and services

Information about our work, our strategies and policies for delivering functions and services and information for our service users

3 How we take decisions and what we have decided

Information about the decisions we take, how we make decisions and how we involve others

4 What we spend and how we spend it

Information about our strategy for, and management of, financial resources (in sufficient detail to explain how we plan to spend public money and what has actually been spent)

5 How we manage our human, physical and information resources

Information about how we manage the human, physical and information resources of the authority.

6 How we procure goods and services from external providers

Information about how we procure goods and services and our contracts with external providers

7 How we are performing

Information about how we perform as an organisation and how well we deliver our functions and services

8 Our commercial publications

Information packaged and made available for sale on a commercial basis and sold at market value through a retail outlet e.g., bookshop, museum or research journal.

Figure 2: Principles of the 2015 Model Publication Scheme

Information in a publication scheme must be consisted with the Model Publication Scheme principles. These principles govern how authorities must publish their information.

Principle 1: Availability and formats

A) Information published through this model scheme should, wherever possible, be made available on the authority’s website.

B) There must be an alternative arrangement for people who do not wish to, or who cannot, access the information either online or by inspection at the authority’s premises. An authority may, for example, arrange to send out information in paper copy on request (although there may be a charge for doing so).

Principle 2: Exempt information

C) If information described by the classes cannot be published and is exempt under Scotland’s freedom of information laws (for example sensitive personal data or a trade secret), the authority may withhold the information or provide a redacted version for publication, but it must explain why it has done so.

Principle 3: Copyright and re-use

D) The authority’s Guide to Information must include a copyright statement which is consistent with the fair dealing provisions of the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988. Where the authority does not hold the copyright in information it publishes, this should be made clear.

E) Any conditions applied to the re-use of published information must be consistent with the Re-Use of Public Sector Information Regulations 2005.

F) The Commissioner recommends that authorities consider using the Open Government Licence, produced by the National Archives for their published information.

Principle 4: Charges

G) The Guide to Information must contain a charging schedule, explaining any charges and how they will be calculated.

H) No charge may be made to view information on the authority’s website or at its premises, except where there is a fee set by other legislation, for example, for access to some registers.

I) The authority may charge for computer discs, photocopying, postage and packing and other costs associated with supplying information. The charge must be no more than these elements actually cost the authority e.g. cost per photocopy or postage. There may be no further charges for information in Classes 1–7. An exception is made for commercial publications (see Class 8) where pricing may be based on market value.

Principle 5: Contact details

J) The authority must provide contact details for enquiries about any aspect of the adoption of the model scheme, the authority’s Guide to Information and to ask for copies of the authority’s published information

K) The Act requires authorities to provide reasonable advice and assistance to anyone who wants to request information which is not published. The authority’s Guide to Information must provide contact details to access this help.

Principle 6: Duration

L) Once published through the Guide to Information, the information should be available for the current and previous two financial years. Where information has been updated or superseded, only the current version need be available (previous versions may be requested from the authority).


Footnote 1

All information on the Scottish Publication Scheme was found on the Scottish Information Commissioner’s website.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Information taken from the Scottish Government’s website.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The Scottish Information Commissioner is trying to get all authorities using the same model publication scheme as a basis, so he can redirect his attention from the approval of independent schemes, and toward actively assessing whether authorities are publishing information in accordance with the scheme.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See Figure 1 for a list of the eight classes of information.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

See Figure 2 for a list of the Model Publication Scheme 2015 principles.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Section 23 deals with publication schemes, and lays out the duty of each authority to have a scheme, publish information in accordance with that scheme, and review the scheme from time to time. See the following URL for more on publication schemes within the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act (2002).

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

This information was obtained by the OIC on March 3, 2016.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

The Scottish Information Commissioner is not responsible for enforcing Data Protection legislation, and is completely independent from the UK Information Commissioner. The UK Information Commissioner is responsible for policing and enforcing the Data Protection Act 1998, and the UK Freedom of Information Act 2000. The latter does not apply to bodies covered by Scottish legislation.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Examen du programme de publication et d’accès à l’information de l’Écosse

Régime d’accès à l’information en ÉcosseNote de bas de page 1

Le régime d’accès à l’information de l’Écosse comprend trois lois :

Lois écossaises

  • La loi sur la liberté d’accès à l’information de 2002 (Freedom of Information Act)
  • Le règlement sur l’information environnementale de 2004 (Environmental Information Regulations)
  • Le règlement INSPIRE de 2009

La Freedom of Information Act de 2002 de l’ÉcosseNote de bas de page 2

  • Cette Loi est entrée en vigueur en 2005. Elle prévoyait un droit d’accès général accordé par la Loi à tous les types d’information « enregistrée », sans égard à leur âge, dont les autorités publiques de l’Écosse disposent.
  • Les autorités publiques visées par la Loi sont tenues de répondre aux demandes d’accès et de permettre l’accès à un grand nombre de renseignements au moyen d’un guide à l’information, aussi désigné par le terme « système de publication proactive de renseignements ». La responsabilité de l’autorité à cet égard est désignée par le terme « obligation relative au système de publication proactive ».
  • En vertu de la Loi, les autorités publiques sont tenues d’adopter et de maintenir un programme de publication qui établit les types de renseignements qu’elles s’engagent à publier régulièrement. La Loi décrit les obligations de toutes les autorités quant à l’adoption et au maintien d’un système de publication à jour. En outre, elle définit les pouvoirs de la commissaire à l’information qui peut refuser ou approuver le système de publication d’une autorité publique.
  • En vertu de la Loi, les autorités publiques sont tenues légalement de :
    • publier les catégories de renseignements auxquels elles donnent régulièrement accès;
    • dire au public comment accéder à l’information publiée, et indiquer si l’accès à l’information est gratuit ou payant.
  • On incite les demandeurs à consulter le site Web d’une autorité publique avant de présenter une demande. Si des renseignements sont publiés dans le cadre d’un système de publication, la personne n’a pas à présenter de demande en vertu de la Loi. La majorité des renseignements qu’une autorité publie dans le cadre d’un système de publication est accessible sans frais ou moyennant de légers frais. Si des frais sont imposés, le système de publication fournira l’information. Les frais imposés pour rendre une information accessible, p. ex. un certificat de naissance ou de mariage, peuvent être établis par d’autres lois.
  • S’il faut présenter une demande officielle pour obtenir de l’information, une autorité publique a l’obligation d’assister le demandeur à la préparer. Les autorités disposent de 20 jours pour répondre à une demande.
  • Le système de publication doit être affiché sur le site Web de l’autorité ou être donné sur demande. S’il se trouve sur le site Web de l’autorité, le demandeur peut y accéder, ainsi qu’aux liens vers les copies de documents à télécharger ou à lire en ligne.
  • La Loi prévoit l’élaboration de systèmes de publication qui peuvent être adoptés par plus d’une autorité.
  • La commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse a créé et dévoilé un modèle de système de publication à l’intention des autorités publiques. Ces dernières peuvent aussi créer leur propre système, si ce système respecte les normes de la commissaire à l’information et s’il est approuvéNote de bas de page 3.
  • Voici en quoi l’adoption du modèle de système de publication engage une autorité :
    • Elle adopte le système sans le modifier.  
    • Elle publie l’information, y compris les renseignements en matière d’environnement, dont elle dispose en fonction des huit différentes catégories de renseignements établies par la commissaireNote de bas de page 4.
    • Elle veille à ce que la publication de ses renseignements respecte les principes du modèle de système de publication de 2015Note de bas de page 5.
    • Elle publie un guide à l’information qui détermine les renseignements qu’elle rend accessibles dans le cadre de ce programme de publication, la manière d’y accéder, les frais pour se les procurer s’il y a lieu, ainsi que la manière d’obtenir de l’aide pour accéder aux renseignements.
    • Elle avise la commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse qu’elle a adopté le modèle de programme.  
  • Lorsqu’une autorité ne respecte pas ces engagements, on ne considère pas qu’elle a adopté le modèle de programme. Elle ne respecte donc pas son obligation d’adopter et de maintenir un système de publication qui est conforme à la Freedom of Information ActNote de bas de page 6.
  • La commissaire à l’information dispose d’une politique d’application de la Loi qui établit les mesures qu’elle prendra en cas de non-respect de l’obligation associée au système de publication. En vertu de la Loi, elle peut délivrer un avis d’application de la Loi qui exige que l’autorité prenne des mesures de conformité. Si l’autorité ne se conforme pas, la commissaire peut transmettre le cas à la cour de session (la plus haute cour en Écosse). La cour peut rendre un verdict semblable à l’outrage au tribunal. L’autorité peut être condamnée à deux ans d’emprisonnement ou se voir imposer une amende d’un montant illimité.
  • Le commissariat à l’information de l’Écosse a délivré quelques avis d’application de Loi en ce qui a trait à des systèmes de publication. Dans tous les cas, les autorités ont pris des mesures de conformitéNote de bas de page 7.

Commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse

  • La commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse, Rosemary Agnew, est une fonctionnaire entièrement indépendante qui est chargée de faire la promotion des lois concernant la liberté d’accès à l’information en Écosse et de les appliquer.
  • Elle fait la promotion du droit de la population de demander aux autorités publiques écossaises de fournir l’information dont elles disposent, ainsi que des pratiques exemplaires des autorités, en plus de les mettre en application.
  • Dans le cadre de son travail, elle appuie l’ouverture, la transparence et la responsabilité des organismes publics. Parmi ses tâches, elle doit faire ce qui suit :
    • Inciter les autorités publiques à adopter des pratiques exemplaires.
    • Vérifier l’application et prendre des décisions ayant force obligatoire.
    • Approuver des programmes de publication et aider à leur préparation.
    • Fournir à la population et aux autorités de l’information sur l’application de la Loi.
    • Assurer le respect de la Loide bas de page8

On incite les demandeurs à consulter le site Web de la commissaire à l’information pour obtenir des renseignements concernant les lois écossaises. Cela comprend la liste complète des autorités publiques, des pratiques exemplaires à l’intention des demandeurs et des autorités publiques, de l’information sur l’objectif et l’utilisation des programmes de publication, en plus du modèle de programme de publication de la commissaire à l’information.

Figure 1 : Catégories d’information

Modèle de système de publication proactive de la commissaire à l’information

Le système de publication détermine les types de renseignements qu’une autorité publique rend régulièrement accessibles. Ce sont des « catégories » de dossiers qui disposent d’une description. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un exemple de tableau fourni par la commissaire à l’information aux autorités publiques.

Catégorie Description

1 À propos de l’autorité

Renseignements sur l’autorité, qui elle est, où la trouver, comment communiquer avec elle, sa gestion et ses relations externes

2 Prestation des services et exécution des fonctions

Renseignements sur son travail, ses stratégies et ses politiques pour la prestation de services, et l’exécution des fonctions, ainsi que de l’information pour les bénéficiaires des services

3 Processus décisionnel et décisions prises

Renseignements sur les décisions prises, la manière dont ces décisions sont prises et la manière dont les autres y participent

4 Dépenses

Renseignements sur notre stratégie, ainsi que la gestion des ressources financières (de manière suffisamment détaillée pour expliquer comment l’autorité prévoit dépenser les fonds publics, et les dépenses qui ont été faites)

5 Gestion des ressources humaines, matérielles et d’information

Renseignements sur la gestion des ressources humaines, matérielles et d’information de l’autorité

6 Acquisition de biens et de services auprès des fournisseurs

Renseignements sur l’acquisition des biens et des services, ainsi que les contrats avec les fournisseurs externes

7 Rendement

Renseignements sur le rendement à titre d’organisation et sur la mesure dans laquelle les fonctions et services sont offerts

8 Publications commerciales

Renseignements regroupés et divulgués en vue de la vente, à la valeur du marché, dans un magasin de détail (p. ex. librairie, musée ou journal périodique de recherche)

Figure 2 : Principes du modèle de systèmes de publication proactive de 2015

L’information accessible dans le cadre d’un système de publication doit respecter les principes du modèle de système de publication. Ces principes régissent la manière dont les autorités doivent publier leurs renseignements.

Principe 1 : Accessibilité et formats

A) L’information publiée dans le cadre de ce modèle de programme devrait, lorsque c’est possible, être accessible sur le site Web de l’autorité.

B) Il faut prévoir un autre arrangement pour les personnes qui ne souhaitent ni ne peuvent accéder à l’information en ligne ou qui souhaitent l’inspecter dans les locaux de l’autorité. Par exemple, une autorité peut faire en sorte d’envoyer l’information imprimée qui a été demandée (des frais peuvent être imposés).

Principe 2 : Renseignements exemptés

C) S’il est impossible de publier l’information décrite dans les catégories parce qu’elle est exemptée en vertu des lois d’accès à l’information de l’Écosse (p. ex. des renseignements personnels délicats ou un secret commercial), l’autorité peut retirer l’information ou fournir une version caviardée en vue de la publication. Cependant, elle doit expliquer pourquoi.

Principe 3 : Droit d’auteur et réutilisation

D) Le guide à l’information de l’autorité doit comprendre une déclaration concernant le droit d’auteur qui va de pair avec les dispositions relatives à l’utilisation équitable de la loi sur le droit d’auteur, les dessins et les brevets de 1988 (Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988). Lorsque l’autorité n’a pas de droit d’auteur en ce qui a trait à l’information qu’elle publie, cela devrait être indiqué clairement.

E) Toute condition qui s’applique à la réutilisation de l’information publiée doit aller de pair avec le règlement sur la réutilisation des renseignements du secteur public de 2005 (Re-Use of Public Sector Information Regulations 2005).

F) La commissaire recommande aux autorités de prendre en considération l’utilisation de la licence de gouvernement ouvert, produite par les archives nationales, en ce qui a trait à l’information publiée.

Principe 4 : Frais

G) Le guide à l’information doit renfermer une grille tarifaire, expliquant tous les frais et leur calcul.

H) Il est interdit d’imposer des frais pour consulter de l’information affichée sur le site Web de l’autorité ou se trouvant dans ses installations, sauf si ces frais sont imposés par une autre loi, p. ex. l’accès à certains registres.

I) L’autorité peut imposer des frais pour les disques informatiques, la photocopie, les frais d’affranchissement, l’emballage et d’autres coûts associés à la prestation des renseignements. Les frais ne doivent pas dépasser le coût que paie l’autorité pour ces éléments, p. ex. le coût par photocopie ou des frais d’affranchissement. D’autres frais ne peuvent pas être imposés pour les renseignements des catégories 1 à 7. Une exception vise les publications commerciales (voir la catégorie 8), tandis que l’établissement du prix est en fonction de la valeur du marché.

Principe 5 : Coordonnées

J) L’autorité doit fournir les coordonnées pour les demandes à propos de tout aspect de l’adoption du programme de publication, du guide à l’information de l’autorité, et des copies de renseignements publiés par l’autorité.

K) En vertu de la Loi, les autorités doivent fournir des conseils et une aide raisonnables à quiconque demande de l’information qui n’est pas publiée. Le guide à l’information de l’autorité doit renfermer les coordonnées pour obtenir cette aide. 

Principe 6 : Durée

L) Lorsque les renseignements sont publiés au moyen du guide à l’information, ils doivent être accessibles pour l’exercice en cours et les deux exercices précédents. Lorsque les renseignements ont été mis à jour ou supprimés, seule la version la plus récente doit être accessible (un demandeur peut exiger que l’autorité lui fournisse des versions antérieures).

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Vous trouverez tous les renseignements du système de publication écossais à la page Web de la commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Renseignements tirés du site Web du gouvernement de l’Écosse.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

La commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse cherche à faire en sorte que toutes les autorités se servent du même modèle de système de publication, afin qu’il puisse plutôt se consacrer à l’approbation des systèmes indépendants, et à l’évaluation du fait que les autorités publient l’information conformément au système ou non.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir la figure 1 pour obtenir une liste des huit catégories de renseignements.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Voir la figure 2 pour obtenir une liste des principes du modèle de programme de publication de 2015.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

L’article 23 porte sur les programmes de publication, et fait état de l’obligation de chaque autorité d’avoir un système, de publier l’information conformément à ce programme, et d’examiner à l’occasion ce système. Pour obtenir davantage d’information sur les systèmes de publication en vertu de la Freedom of Information Act de 2002 de l’Écosse, allez à

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Le Commissariat à l'information a obtenu l’information le 3 mars 2016.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

La commissaire à l’information de l’Écosse n’est pas chargée de l’application des lois concernant la protection des données. Elle est complètement indépendante du commissaire à l’information du Royaume-Uni. Ce dernier est chargé du maintien de l’ordre et de l’application de la Loi de 1998 sur la protection des données (Data Protection Act 1998), ainsi que la loi sur l’accès à l’information de 2000 du Royaume-Uni (UK Freedom of Information Act 2000). Cette dernière ne s’applique pas aux organismes visés par les lois écossaises.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8