Background on the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada and proposals for reform of the Access to Information Act

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada is an independent public body created in 1983 under the Access to Information Act (the Act). The office’s primary responsibility is to conduct efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The office strives to maximize compliance with the Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information using the full range of tools, activities and powers at the Commissioner’s disposal.

The Office of the Information Commissioner primarily uses mediation and persuasion to resolve complaints. In doing so, the office gives complainants, heads of institutions and all third parties affected by complaints a reasonable opportunity to make representations. The office encourages institutions to disclose information and to respect Canadians’ rights to receive information, in the name of transparency and accountability. The office brings cases to the Federal Court to ensure the Act is properly applied and interpreted.

The office also supports the Information Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all matters pertaining to access to information. The office actively makes the case for greater freedom of information in Canada through targeted initiatives such as Right to Know Week and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and federal institutions.

Studies and legislative changes

There have been reform initiatives since shortly after the Act came into force in 1983. This document contains a list of key documents that have studied the Act with a view to reform. These documents may be categorized under the general themes of Parliamentary review, proposed legislative reforms and government and private member’s bills.

1986: Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General review

The only statutory review of the Act was conducted in 1986. This statutory review was required under subsection 75(1) of the Act and was undertaken by the Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor GeneralFootnote1. Although the Act requires that the administration of the legislation “shall be reviewed on a permanent basis” by a Parliamentary Committee, there have been no subsequent comprehensive statutory reviews of the Act.

1987: Open and Shut: Enhancing the Right to Know and the Right to Privacy

In 1987, at the close of their statutory review, the Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General issued a comprehensive report entitled, Open and Shut: Enhancing the Right to Know and the Right to PrivacyFootnote2. The report concluded that the Act had “major shortcomings and weaknesses.” The committee recommended, amongst other things, that the Act cover all federal government institutions, including all administrative tribunals, Parliament and Agents of Parliament, that Cabinet confidences no longer be excluded from the Act and that the Commissioner have order-making power for certain administrative issues.

1987: Access and Privacy: The Steps Ahead

In 1987 the government responded to the committee in its reports titled Access and Privacy: The Steps AheadFootnote3. While the government agreed with some of the committee’s recommendations, no amendments were made to the Act as a result of the legislative review.

2002: Access to Information: Making it Work for Canadians

In June 2002, the Access to Information Review Task Force issued its report entitled, Access to Information: Making it Work for Canadians (more popularly known as the Delagrave Report after the Chairperson of the Task Force)Footnote4. The Task Force was mandated with reviewing the Act. The comprehensive report made 140 recommendations for legislative, administrative and cultural reform at the federal level. It was hoped that the report would “provide a blueprint for renewal that can realistically be achieved and maintained.”

2002: Special Report on the Access to Information Review Task Force

In September 2002, then Information Commissioner John Reid responded to the Access to Information Review Task Force in his Special Report on the Access to Information Review Task ForceFootnote5. The Special Report was critical of many recommendations made by the Task Force.

2005: A Comprehensive Framework for Access to Information – A Discussion Paper

Since the Report of the Task Force was issued, few of its recommendations have been implemented or pursued further by way of legislative amendment. In 2005, the department of Justice Canada drafted a report titled A Comprehensive Framework for Access to Information – A Discussion PaperFootnote6. That document studied recommendations from the Task Force, reports from Information Commissioners of Canada, Private Members’ Bills, and international sources, among others. The report stated that the “Government of Canada agrees that the Act must be modernized” and that any amendments should be forward-looking, able to withstand changing circumstances, and effective for many years to come. The government presented the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics with its paper for full and deliberate consideration before moving towards legislative reform.

2005: Tabling of draft bill entitled the Open Government Act

In 2005, a draft bill, entitled the Open Government Act, was tabled before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. Developed by Information Commissioner John Reid at the request of the Standing Committee, the draft bill included substantial changes to the law. A primary objective was to address concerns about a “culture of secrecy” within political and bureaucratic environments.

2006: Federal Accountability Act passed in the House of Commons

In 2006, the government passed the Federal Accountability Act which made several amendments to the Act. Changes included codifying the “duty to assist” requesters and expanding the coverage of the Act, notably to remaining Crown corporations and their subsidiaries and Agents of Parliament. The Federal Accountability Act also added a number of exemptions and exclusions to the Act, mostly for specific institutions.

2006: Strengthening the Access to Information Act – A Discussion of Ideas Intrinsic to the Reform of the Access to Information Act

In that same year, Justice Canada published a report Strengthening the Access to Information Act – A Discussion of Ideas Intrinsic to the Reform of the Access to Information Act (2006). This report offered comments on draft bill and some alternative approaches for consideration.

2006: Response to the Government’s Action Plan for Reform of the Access to Information Act

In April 2006, Information Commissioner Reid tabled a Special Report to Parliament Response to the Government’s Action Plan for Reform of the Access to Information ActFootnote7.The special report was critical of the government’s commitment to reform the Act since many of the key reforms which the government had promised to enact failed to find their way into the Federal Accountability Act and some of those reforms that were included in the Federal Accountability Act were detrimental to the right of access.

2009: Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today’s Imperatives

In 2009, Information Commissioner Robert Marleau tabled his report Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today’s ImperativesFootnote8. That report concluded that, while it is recognized that the Act is sound in terms of its concept and balance, work is urgently needed to modernize it from a legislative perspective and to align it with more progressive regimes both nationally and internationally. The report made 12 recommendations aimed at enhancing access to information.

2009: The Access to Information Act: First Steps Towards Renewal

In the same year, the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics responded to the Commissioner in its report The Access to Information Act: First Steps Towards RenewalFootnote9. After consideration, the Committee supported the majority of these recommendations.

2015: Striking the right balance for transparency – Recommendations to modernize the Access to Information Act

In 2015, the current Information Commissioner of Canada tabled her report Striking the right balance for transparency – Recommendations to modernize the Access to Information ActFootnote10. The document contained 85 recommendations that propose fundamental changes to the Act that would resolve recurring issues and strike the right balance for transparency.

Annual reports of Information Commissioners

By way of Annual Reports to Parliament, Information Commissioners have suggested throughout the years many reform proposals. In 1993, Commissioner Grace put forward the “case for reform” of the Act in light of rapid advances in technologyFootnote11, namely computerized records. In 1994, Commissioner Reid crafted a blueprint to reform a “very good law” that had five major weaknesses, including transforming the Cabinet Confidence exclusion and closing the gaps in the Acts coverageFootnote12. Reform of the Act has been a recurring theme throughout all of this Commissioner’s annual reports.

Private Member’s bills

While the above studies and reforms were being conducted, many Private Members’ bills have been introduced. These bills have ranged in scope from amendments to particular provisions of the Act to sweeping reform measures.

Examples of recent Private Members’ bills that proposed amendments to the Act include:

  • Bill C-201, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (Open Government Act) 1st Session, 38th Parliament
  • Bill C-554, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (Open Government Act) 2nd Session, 39th Parliament
  • Bill C-556, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (Improved Access), 2nd Session, 39th Parliament
  • Bill C-461, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (Disclosure of Information), 1st and 2nd Session, 41st Parliament
  • Bill C-567, An Act to Amend the Access to Information Act (Transparency and Duty to Document), 2nd Session, 41st Parliament
  • Bill C-613, An Act to amend the Parliament of Canada Act and the Access to Information Act (transparency), 2nd Session, 41st Parliament

Information on the above documents can be obtained by contacting Michael Ricco at 819-994-1135.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Review by a committee designated by Parliament
(2) The committee designated or established by Parliament for the purpose of subsection (1) shall, not later than July 1, 1986, undertake a comprehensive review of the provisions and operation of this Act, and shall within a year after the review is undertaken or within such further time as the House of Commons may authorize, submit a report to Parliament thereon including a statement of any changes the committee would recommend.

Return to Footnote1referrer

Footnote 2

Reference, see fnb 6 page 103

Return to Footnote2referrer

Footnote 3

1987, Cat. No. J2-73/1987; ISBN 0-662-55472-8

Return to Footnote3referrer

Footnote 4

June 2002, Cat. No. BT22-83/2002-MRC; ISBN 0-662-66665-8

Return to Footnote4referrer

Footnote 5

Special Report to Parliament, Cat. No. IP4-1/2002; ISBN 0-662-66765-4

Return to Footnote5referrer

Footnote 6

Ref; pages 1-3, 31

Return to Footnote6referrer

Footnote 7

Cat. No. IP4-2/2006; ISBN 0-662-49216-1

Return to Footnote7referrer

Footnote 8

Appendix C - Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today’s Imperatives

Return to Footnote8referrer

Footnote 9

The Access to Information Act: First Steps Towards Renewal

Return to Footnote9referrer

Footnote 10

Striking the right balance for transparency – Recommendations to modernize the Access to Information Act

Return to Footnote10referrer

Footnote 11

Case for Reform

Return to Footnote11referrer

Footnote 12

Annual Report - Information Commissioner 2000-2001 (PDF)

Return to Footnote12referrer

Information générale relative au Commissariat à l'information du Canada et aux propositions de réforme de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Le Commissariat à l’information est un organisme public indépendant qui a été créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). Sa principale responsabilité consiste à réaliser des enquêtes efficaces, justes et confidentielles lorsqu’une plainte est formulée quant au traitement par une institution fédérale d’une demande d’accès à l’information. Le Commissariat s’efforce de maximiser la conformité à la Loi tout en encourageant la divulgation de l’information du secteur public en utilisant toute la gamme d’outils, d’activités et de pouvoirs qui sont à la disposition de la commissaire.

Le Commissariat privilégie le recours à la médiation et à la persuasion afin de résoudre les plaintes. Ainsi, il accorde aux plaignants, aux responsables d’institutions fédérales et aux tiers concernés par les plaintes une possibilité raisonnable de présenter leurs observations. Au nom de la transparence et de la reddition de comptes, le Commissariat encourage les institutions à divulguer leur information dans le cadre de leurs activités courantes et à respecter le droit des Canadiens d’obtenir des renseignements. Il transmet des cas à la Cour fédérale pour veiller à ce que la Loi soit correctement appliquée et interprétée.

Le Commissariat soutient également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires sur toutes les questions se rapportant à l’accès à l’information. Il fait la promotion active d’un plus grand accès à l’information au Canada au moyen d’initiatives ciblées, comme la Semaine du droit à l’information, et par un dialogue constant avec les Canadiens, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales.

Études et modifications législatives

Peu après l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi en 1983, des initiatives de réforme ont commencé à voir le jour. Le présent document contient une liste des principaux documents ayant servi à étudier la Loi en vue de la réformer. On peut classer lesdits documents selon les catégories générales suivantes : examen parlementaire, réformes législatives proposées et projets de loi émanant des députés et du gouvernement.

1986 : Comité permanent de la justice et le Solliciteur général examen législatif

L'unique examen législatif de la Loi a été réalisé en 1986. Il a été demandé aux termes du paragraphe 75(1) de la Loi, et le Comité permanent de la justice et le Solliciteur généralNote de bas de page1 s'en sont chargés. Bien que la Loi exige que l'application de la législation fasse l'objet d'un « examen permanent » mené par un comité parlementaire, elle n'a subi aucun examen législatif approfondi subséquent.

1987 : Une question à deux volets : Comment améliorer le droit d’accès à l’information tout en renforçant les mesures de protection des renseignements personnels

En 1987, à l'issue de son examen législatif, le Comité permanent de la justice et le Solliciteur général ont publié un rapport complet intitulé Une question à deux volets : Comment améliorer le droit d’accès à l’information tout en renforçant les mesures de protection des renseignements personnelsNote de bas de page2. Ledit rapport concluait que la Loi présentait « d'importantes lacunes et faiblesses ». Le Comité recommandait notamment de faire en sorte que la Loi vise toutes les institutions fédérales, y compris la totalité des tribunaux administratifs, le Parlement et les agents du Parlement; que les documents confidentiels du Cabinet ne soient plus exclus de la Loi et que le commissaire ait le pouvoir de rendre des ordonnances dans le cadre de certaines questions d'ordre administratif.

1987 : Accès et renseignements personnels : les prochaines étapes

En 1987, le gouvernement a répondu au Comité dans son rapport intitulé Accès et renseignements personnels : les prochaines étapesNote de bas de page3. Le gouvernement était d'accord avec certaines recommandations du Comité; toutefois, aucune modification n'a été apportée à la Loi à l'issue de l'examen législatif.

2002 : Accès à l'information : comment mieux servir les Canadiens

En juin 2002, le Groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information a publié son rapport intitulé Accès à l'information : comment mieux servir les Canadiens (mieux connu sous le nom de «  Rapport Delagrave », en référence au nom du président du Groupe d'étude)Note de bas de page4. Le Groupe d'étude a été chargé d'examiner la Loi. Le rapport complet émettait 140 recommandations relatives à une réforme législative, administrative et culturelle à l'échelle fédérale. Il se voulait « un projet de renouveau qui peut être raisonnablement et durablement mis en œuvre ».

2002 : Réponse au rapport du groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information – Rapport spécial au Parlement

En septembre 2002, John Reid, alors commissaire à l'information du Canada, a répondu au Groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information dans le document intitulé Réponse au rapport du groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information – Rapport spécial au ParlementNote de bas de page5. Le Rapport spécial critiquait bon nombre des recommandations émises par le Groupe d'étude.

2005 : Un Cadre compréhensif concernant la réforme de l'accès à l'information – Document de travail

Depuis la publication du rapport du Groupe d'étude, les recommandations mises en œuvre ou poursuivies au moyen de modifications législatives ont été peu nombreuses. En 2005, le ministère de la Justice Canada a rédigé une ébauche de rapport intitulée Un Cadre compréhensif concernant la réforme de l'accès à l'information – Document de travailNote de bas de page6. Ce document se concentrait notamment sur les recommandations émises par le Groupe d'étude, sur les rapports des commissaires à l'information du Canada, sur les projets de loi émanant des députés et sur des sources internationales. Selon le rapport, le « gouvernement du Canada convient que la Loi doit être modernisée », et que toute modification doit être orientée vers l'avenir, capable de résister aux situations changeantes, et efficace pendant de nombreuses années encore. Le gouvernement a présenté son document au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique aux fins d'examen exhaustif et délibéré avant de s'orienter vers une réforme législative.

2005 : Déposition d’un avant-projet de loi intitulé Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale

En 2005, un avant projet de loi, intitulé Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale, a été déposé au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique. Rédigé par John Reid, commissaire à l'information du Canada, sur demande du Comité permanent, l'avant projet de loi comprenait d'importantes modifications de la Loi. L'un des principaux objectifs consistait à traiter les préoccupations liées à une « culture du secret » dans les sphères politiques et bureaucratiques.

2006 : La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité a été adoptée par le gouvernement

En 2006, le gouvernement a adopté la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité qui modifiait la Loi à plusieurs égards. Par exemple, elle codifiait l’« obligation de prêter assistance » aux demandeurs et étendait l'application de la Loi, principalement aux dernières sociétés d’État et à leurs filiales, ainsi qu'aux agents du Parlement. La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité ajoutait également un certain nombre d'exceptions et d'exclusions à la Loi, essentiellement pour des institutions précises.

2006 : Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information : Discussion d'idées inhérentes à la réforme de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Cette même année, Justice Canada a publié un rapport intitulé Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information : Discussion d'idées inhérentes à la réforme de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (2006). Ce document commentait l'avant projet de loi et certaines autres approches à prendre en compte.

2006 : Réponse au Plan d’action du gouvernement relativement à la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

En avril 2006, le commissaire à l'information du Canada Reid a déposé un rapport spécial au Parlement intitulé Réponse au Plan d’action du gouvernement relativement à la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationNote de bas de page7. Il s'agissait d'une critique de l'engagement du gouvernement en vue de la réforme de la Loi, puisque bon nombre des réformes clés promises par le gouvernement n'avaient pas été intégrées à la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, et que certaines des réformes intégrées à la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité étaient préjudiciables au droit d'accès.

2009 : Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels

En 2009, Robert Marleau, commissaire à l'information du Canada, a déposé son rapport intitulé Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour faire face aux impératifs actuelsNote de bas de page8. Selon ce rapport, la Loi s’appuyait sur de solides principes et assurait un juste équilibre, mais il fallait faire en sorte de la moderniser rapidement sur le plan législatif, et de l'harmoniser avec des régimes plus progressifs, tant à l'échelle nationale qu'internationale. Le rapport émettait 12 recommandations visant à améliorer l'accès à l'information.

2009 : La Loi sur l’accès à l’information : premiers pas vers un renouvellement

La même année, le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique a répondu au commissaire dans son rapport intitulé La Loi sur l’accès à l’information : premiers pas vers un renouvellementNote de bas de page9. Après examen, le Comité a appuyé la majorité de ces recommandations.

2015 : Viser juste pour la transparence – Recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

En 2015, l'actuelle commissaire à l'information du Canada a déposé son rapport intitulé Viser juste pour la transparence – Recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationNote de bas de page10. Le document contenait 85 recommandations qui proposent d'apporter des modifications fondamentales à la Loi, qui pourraient résoudre les problèmes récurrents et trouver le juste équilibre en ce qui concerne la transparence.

Rapports annuels des commissaires à l'information

Au moyen de rapports annuels présentés au Parlement, les commissaires à l'information du Canada ont proposé de nombreuses réformes au fil des ans. En 1993, le commissaire Grace a mis en avant les « arguments en faveur de la réforme » de la Loi à la lumière de progrès technologiques rapidesNote de bas de page11, à savoir les documents informatisés. En 1994, le commissaire Reid a mis sur pied un projet visant à réformer une « excellente loi » comportant cinq faiblesses majeures, notamment la transformation de l'exclusion des documents confidentiels du Cabinet et la correction des lacunes concernant la portée de la LoiNote de bas de page12. La réforme de la Loi est un thème récurrent dans tous les rapports annuels de cette commissaire.

Projets de loi émanant d'un député

Au moment de la réalisation des études et de la mise en œuvre des réformes susmentionnées, bon nombre de projets de loi émanant de députés ont été présentés. La portée de ces projets de loi allait de la modification de dispositions précises de la Loi à des mesures de réforme radicale.

Voici des exemples de récents projets de loi émanant d'un député qui proposaient des modifications de la Loi :

  • Projet de loi C 201, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale), 38e législature, 1re session
  • Projet de loi C 554, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale), 39e législature, 2e session
  • Projet de loi C 556, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (amélioration de l'accès), 39e législature, 2e session
  • Projet de loi C 461, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (communication de renseignements), 41e législature, 1re et 2e sessions
  • Projet de loi C 567, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (transparence et obligation de consigner), 41e législature, 2e session
  • Projet de loi C 613, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (transparence), 41e législature, 2e session

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Examen permanent par un comité parlementaire
(2) Le comité prévu au paragraphe (1) entreprend, au plus tard le 1er juillet 1986, un examen approfondi des dispositions de la présente loi ainsi que des conséquences de son application en vue de la présentation, dans un délai d’un an à compter du début de l’examen ou tel délai plus long autorisé par la Chambre des communes, d’un rapport au Parlement où seront consignées ses conclusions ainsi que ses recommandations, s’il y a lieu, quant aux modifications qui seraient souhaitables.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Notes de bas de page 2

Référence, voir note 6, page 103

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Notes de bas de page 3

1987, catalogue no J2 73/1987; ISBN 0 662 55472 8

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page3

Notes de bas de page 4

Juin 2002, catalogue noBT22 83/2002 MRC; ISBN 0 662 66665 8

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page4

Notes de bas de page 5

Rapport spécial au Parlement, catalogue no IP4 1/2002; ISBN 0 662 66765 4

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page5

Notes de bas de page 6

Réf. pages 1 à 3, 31

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page6

Notes de bas de page 7

Catalogue no IP4 2/2006; ISBN 0 662 49216 1

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page7

Notes de bas de page 8

Annexe C — Renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page8

Notes de bas de page 9

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information : premiers pas vers un renouvellement

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page9

Notes de bas de page 10

Viser juste pour la transparence – Recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page10

Notes de bas de page 11

Arguments en faveur de la réforme

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page11

Notes de bas de page 12

Rapport annuel du Commissaire à l’information 2000-2001 (PDF)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page12