Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Information Commissioner supports the Council of Europe's Convention on Access to Official Documents

Ottawa, November 25, 2008

The Information Commissioner of Canada has written to the Chairman of the Council of Europe Committee of Ministers regarding the proposed Convention on Access to Official Documents. The Convention is an important initiative aimed at developing an international treaty on the right to information.

In the context of Canada's experience with access legislation, the Commissioner encourages the drafters to strengthen the Convention so that it will serve as a progressive model for nations endeavouring to foster a culture of openness in public institutions.


Mr. Carl Bildt
Minister of Foreign Affairs,
Chairman of the Council of Committee of Ministers
Ministry for Foreign Affairs

Dear Mr. Bildt:

As Information Commissioner of Canada, I am writing in support of the Council of Europe’s groundbreaking initiative to develop the world’s first international treaty on access to information.  When ratified, the Convention on Access to Official Documents should serve as a model for nations endeavouring to entrench the principle of the public’s right to know and to foster a culture of openness in public institutions.

Recently, Canada celebrated the 25th anniversary of its Access to Information Act (Act).  While sound in terms of its concepts and balance, it is recognized that work is needed to modernize the Act from both legislative and administrative perspectives.  Changes to date have been modest but we are fortunate in that the debate on how best to achieve and sustain a progressive régime is ongoing.

It is within the context of the Canadian experience, as well as the issues identified on by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, that I wish to make the following observations regarding the proposed treaty:

  • Of primary importance is the necessity to enshrine in the treaty an explicit public right of access to information.  Canada’s Parliament chose to set out this right in our federal legislation in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public, necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific, and decisions on the disclosure of information should be reviewed independently of government.  The Act also provides that it is intended to complement existing procedures for access and not to limit access to information normally available to the public.  These principles have proven to be sound and the courts have consistently referred to the purpose clause in interpreting the Act.

  • Prescribing specific time limits and establishing incentives for responding to requests in a timely manner is critical.  There is a common expression that “access delayed is access denied”.  It is our experience in Canada that, in the absence of prescribed time limits and incentives, delays will become endemic.

  • Fundamental to access to information is ensuring there is the broadest possible coverage of public bodies.  The public has a right of access to information held by all publicly funded institutions and legitimately expects to exercise this right in order to render these bodies accountable.  This includes all branches of government – legislative, executive and judicial.  In 2006, the Canadian government passed the Federal Accountability Act which strengthened the Access to Information Act by expanding its coverage to all Agents of Parliament, including the Office of the Information Commissioner, all Crown corporations and their wholly owned subsidiaries, and several foundations.  However, coverage of the functions of legislative and judicial bodies remains a subject of review and discussion.

  • Although our federal legislation does not incorporate the provision, providing the review body with the power to order the disclosure of records has proven effective in jurisdictions within and in other countries.  Studies indicate that it expedites the complaint process and ultimately provides a more effective means of redress for complainants.

  • There are many interdependent components inherent in the principle of the right of access.  Given that the Convention represents a “minimum standard”, allowing states to enter reservations and deviate from it would seriously compromise the integrity of the fundamental principle, lead to an erosion of access rights and undermine the aim to achieve greater unity between members.  In a globalized world linked by the free-flow of information, inconsistencies of application result in confusion for the public.  While Canadians are privileged to have freedom of information acts in all jurisdictions, they are often frustrated by variations in legislations that have evolved during different times and at different rates.      

Adopting the positions put forward by the Parliamentary Assembly would significantly enhance the Convention on Access to Official Documents.  In my view, the Council of Europe has a unique opportunity to establish an access regime that will positively influence international standards now and in the future. 

Yours sincerely,

Robert Marleau
Information Commissioner of Canada

c.c. The Honourable Cannon
Minister of Foreign Affairs
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

  Mr. David Tilson, M.P.
President
Ottawa, Ontario

  H.E. Mrs. Ingrid Iremark
Ambassador
Ottawa, Ontario

  H.E. Mr. Louis de Lorimier
Ambassador-designate
Belgium

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Analyse comparative


2008

Le Commissaire à l'information appuie le projet de Convention sur l’accès aux documents officiels du Conseil de l’Europe

Ottawa, Novembre 25, 2008 - Le Commissaire à l'information du Canada a écrit au Président du Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l’Europe concernant le projet de Convention sur l’accès aux documents officiels. La Convention est une initiative importante qui a pour but d'établir un traité international sur l’accès à l’information.

À la lumière de l’expérience canadienne de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, le Commissaire encourage les rédacteurs à renforcer la Convention pour qu’elle puisse servir de modèle progressif aux nations qui s’efforcent de promouvoir une culture de transparence au sein de leurs institutions publiques.



M. Carl Bildt
Ministre des Affaires étrangères de la Suède
Président du Comité des Ministres du Conseil de l’Europe
Ministère des Affaires étrangères

Monsieur le ministre,

En ma qualité de Commissaire à l’information du Canada, je vous écris pour appuyer l’initiative sans précédent du Conseil de l’Europe visant l’ élaboration du premier traité international au monde sur l’accès à l’information. Une fois ratifiée, la Convention sur l’accès aux documents officiels devrait servir de modèle aux nations qui s’efforcent d’appliquer le principe du droit de savoir de leurs citoyens et de promouvoir une culture d’ouverture au sein de leurs institutions publiques.

Le Canada vient de célébrer le 25e anniversaire de sa Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). Cette Loi s’appuie sur de solides principes et assure un juste équilibre, mais force est de reconnaître qu’il reste du travail à faire pour la moderniser sur les plans tant législatif qu’administratif. Les changements apportés jusqu’ à maintenant sont mineurs, mais nous poursuivons les discussions dans le but de trouver le meilleur moyen d’appliquer et de maintenir un régime progressif.

À la lumière de l’expérience canadienne et des questions soulevées le 3 octobre 2008 par l’Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe, j’aimerais formuler quelques observations concernant le projet de convention.

  • Il est de toute première importance d’enchâsser clairement dans le traité le droit d’accès du public à l’information. Le Parlement du Canada a choisi d’ énoncer ce droit dans notre législation fédérale, conformément aux principes selon lesquels l’information gouvernementale doit être accessible au public, les exceptions indispensables applicables à ce droit doivent être limitées et précises et les décisions relatives à la communication de renseignements doivent être examinées indépendamment du pouvoir exécutif. La Loi précise également que son objectif est de compléter les modalités d'accès aux documents de l'administration fédérale et non de restreindre l'accès aux renseignements normalement mis à la disposition du grand public. Ces principes ont démontré leur pertinence et les tribunaux se sont toujours appuyés sur la disposition de déclaration d’objet pour interpréter la Loi.

  • Il est essentiel de prescrire des délais précis et de prévoir des mesures incitatives visant une réponse rapide aux demandes d’accès. On dit communément que tout retard à répondre équivaut à un refus. L’expérience nous a appris qu’en l’absence de délais précis et de mesures incitatives, les retards deviennent endémiques.
     
  • Pour assurer l’accès à l’information, il est fondamental que la loi s’applique au plus grand nombre possible d’organismes publics. Le public a un droit d’accès aux renseignements détenus  par toutes institutions financées par l’ État et il s’attend, en toute légitimité, à exercer ce droit afin d’obliger ces organismes à rendre compte. Sont visés tous les organes du gouvernement – législatifs, exécutifs et judiciaires. En 2006, le gouvernement canadien a adopté la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité qui renforce la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en étendant son application à tous les mandataires du Parlement, y compris au Commissariat à l’information, à toutes les sociétés d’ État et leurs filiales à part entière ainsi qu’ à plusieurs fondations. L’application à l’ensemble des fonctions des pouvoirs législatifs et judiciaires continue toutefois de faire l’objet d’un examen et d’un débat.

  • Bien que cette disposition ne soit pas incorporée à nos lois fédérales, le fait de conférer à l’organe d’examen le pouvoir d’ordonner la divulgation de certains dossiers s’est avéré efficace dans les provinces et territoires du Canada et dans d’autres pays. Des études indiquent que cette mesure accélère le processus de plaintes et, en bout de ligne, offre un recours plus efficace aux plaignants.

  • Le principe du droit d’accès à l’information comporte de nombreux éléments interdépendants. Comme la Convention constitue «  une norme minimale  », permettant ainsi aux États de formuler des réserves et de s’en écarter, elle compromettrait sérieusement l’intégrité du principe fondamental, entraînerait l’ érosion des droits d’accès et minerait l’objectif qui consiste à favoriser une plus grande unité entre les membres. Dans un monde caractérisé par la libre circulation de l’information, les différences dans l’application de la Convention seraient une source de confusion pour le public. Même si les Canadiens ont le privilège d’avoir des lois qui leur assurent le libre accès à l’information dans toutes les provinces et territoires, ils sont souvent frustrés à cause des différences entre les diverses lois adoptées à des époques différentes et qui ont évolué à des rythmes différents.      

L’adoption des mesures proposées par l’Assemblée parlementaire contribuerait à améliorerait grandement la Convention sur l’accès aux documents officiels. Je pense que le Conseil de l’Europe doit saisir cette occasion exceptionnelle d’ établir un régime d’accès qui aura une incidence positive sur les normes internationales actuelles et futures. 

Veuillez agréer, monsieur le Ministre, mes salutations distinguées.

Robert Marleau
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

c.c. L’honourable Lawrence Cannon
Ministre des Affaires étrangères
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)

  M. David Tilson, député
Président
Ottawa, Ontario

  Mme Ingrid Iremark
Ambassadrice
Ottawa (Ontario)

  M. Louis de Lorimier
Ambassadeur désigné
Belgique