Time Extensions and Notifications Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a) and Subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act

This notice is to advise government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act of factors the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) takes into account when interpreting provisions related to time extensions and reviewing notifications pursuant to paragraph 9(1)(a) and subsection 9(2) of the Act respectively. It is also intended to assist officials within both institutions and the OIC in preparing and reviewing rationales to substantiate extensions and the documentation associated with them in the context of an investigation into a complaint. Ultimately, use of appropriate criteria and improved documentation will support and expedite any investigations undertaken in response to requester- or Commissioner-initiated complaints.

Background

During the course of its investigations, as well as in its annual reports to Parliament and institutional report cards, the OIC has routinely identified the inappropriate use of time extensions as a leading cause of delays in responding to access to information requests. The inconsistent application of paragraph 9(1)(a), which provides for an extension when a request involves a search for or through a large number of records and would unreasonably interfere with operations, is the result of varying interpretations of what constitutes a "large number" and often of attempts by institutions to manage their workloads.

Subsection 9(2) requires institutions to notify the Information Commissioner of extensions greater than 30 days at the same time they notify requesters. The OIC has identified a failure to comply with this provision as a chronic problem.

In Report Card 2008-2009: Out of Time, the Commissioner made commitments to clarify the OIC's interpretation of paragraph 9(1)(a), to develop a template to assist institutions in fulfilling the requirements of subsection 9(2) and to assign an official to review extension notices. This notice provides guidance on the OIC's interpretation and application of paragraph 9(1)(a) and proposes a template for use in the subsection 9(2) notification process.

Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a)

Paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act provides that institutions may extend the 30-day time limit to respond to a request for information if it is for a large number of records or necessitates a search through a large number of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. When conducting its investigations, the OIC has identified several issues concerning the interpretation of the terms "large number of records", "search through a large number of records" and "unreasonable interference with operations of the government institution".

Determining what is a large number of records and what constitutes a search through a large number of records

The OIC has been considering 1,000 pages of records or more as a benchmark for what constitutes a large number. In cases involving fewer pages, it has required institutions to provide rationales to substantiate their positions regarding volume. However, the page count reflects archival standards developed prior to the deployment of electronic records systems throughout government institutions. Consequently, while the number of pages continues to be an important factor, the OIC may assess extensions on a broader, case-by-case basis with contextual factors playing a role in the assessment.

Factors the OIC may consider during extension investigations include but are not limited to:

(Please suggest additional factors.)

  • Period of time necessary to determine the scope of the request and identify program areas which may hold records;
  • Estimate of the number of records and/or pages responsive to the request co-related with the number of days required to process the records;
  • Commonality and currency of the formats of the records;
  • Degree of ease in reviewing the records [Example: Large computer printout where the review of 1 or 2 pages results in a uniform approach being applied to all pages];
  • Existence of previous requests for the same or similar records;
  • Number of records management systems to be searched;
  • Number of officials involved in the search; and
  • Accessibility of the records [Example: Records held in multiple locations].

It is important to note the OIC does not accept an institution's inadequate records management system as a legitimate justification for a time extension. It has been suggested that the average number of records an institution routinely processes within 30 days could be employed as a scale for determining what constitutes a large number of records. However, this factor would have minimal weight in an investigation if the OIC is of the view the institution is performing at a sub-standard level.

Determining what is interference with the operations of the institution

The second part of the criteria under paragraph 9(1)(a) is whether meeting the 30 day timeline would unreasonably interfere with operations of the institution. Factors the OIC may consider during extension investigations include but are not limited to:

(Please suggest additional factors.)

  • Nature and extent of the interference;
  • Degree to which the subject matter expertise of the Office of Primary Interest (OPI) will be diverted to the detriment of the OPI's core functions; and
  • Extent to which the ATIP resources required to respond to the request is adversely affecting the processing of other requests.

The OIC has not generally viewed a temporary lack of resources resulting from holidays, power outages, special events, etc. as valid arguments in investigations of extensions. However, lack of adequate resources in extraordinary circumstances may be taken into account on a case-by-case basis. In these circumstances, institutions may be asked to demonstrate they are making an effort to resolve their resource problems.

Notice of Right to Complain

Subsection 9(1) requires institutions to notify requesters, as part of the notice of extension, that the person has a right to make a complaint to the Commissioner about the extension. Complaints must be made within sixty days after the day on which the person receives the notice. Direction on the timeframe for filing a complaint is available at the following address: http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/eng/inv-inv_pd-dp_timeframe-complaint-atia-temps-plaintes-atia.aspx

Investigations

The lists of factors above are by no means exhaustive. They are intended to provide information on how the OIC may approach extension investigations. Ultimately, institutions are responsible for demonstrating that all parts of the tests are met and that time extensions are substantiated.

Detailed documentation assists the OIC in determining the validity of extensions during investigations. In situations where the OIC has questions about the length of extensions, it may request institutions to provide detailed work plans to support the rationales. It may also collaborate with them to establish new response dates if necessary.

If an institution has satisfied all the criteria enumerated in paragraph 9(1)(a) and has notified the person who made the request about the extension within the required 30 days following receipt of the request, the OIC has found the extension to be valid.

Extension Notifications Pursuant to Subsection 9(2)

Under subsection 2 of the Access to Information Act, where the head of a government institution extends the time limit for more than 30 days under subsection 1, the head shall give notice of the extension to the Information Commissioner at the same time notice is given to the requester.

Institutions have the option of sending the notifications either by regular mail, facsimile or email (a Web template is not yet available).

It is suggested to include the following information in your notification: 

  • Date of access request;
  • Date completed request is received by the institution;
  • Institution's file number;
  • Text of the request;
  • Date extension notification sent to requester;
  • Reason under section 9 for extension (specify paragraph);
  • Length of extension; and
  • Notice of the right to complain to the OIC included.

The Information Commissioner will assign an official to review extension notices and compile monthly, quarterly and annual statistics regarding system-wide and institutional compliance with subsection 9(2). These statistics will be published on the OIC website.

Prorogations de délai et avis en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) et du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

La présente note d'information indique aux institutions fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information les facteurs que le Commissariat à l'information du Canada (CI) peut prendre en considération pour interpréter les dispositions relatives aux prorogations de délai et pour examiner les avis en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) et du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi, respectivement. Cette note a également pour but d'aider les fonctionnaires des institutions comme ceux du Commissariat à examiner et à rédiger les motifs justifiant les prorogations de délai et les documents connexes dans le cadre d'une enquête sur une plainte. Il s'agit à la limite d'utiliser des critères pertinents et d'obtenir de meilleurs documents pour faciliter et accélérer toute enquête entreprise à la suite d'une plainte d'un demandeur ou de la commissaire.

Contexte

Dans ses enquêtes comme dans ses rapports annuels au Parlement et ses fiches de rendement des institutions, le Commissariat voit invariablement dans l'abus des prorogations de délai une cause majeure des retards qui empêchent de donner suite aux demandes d'accès à l'information. L'alinéa 9(1)a) - qui prévoit une prorogation quand une demande exige de trouver de nombreux dossiers ou de faire des recherches dans ces dossiers, ce qui entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution - est appliqué de façon inégale, à cause des diverses interprétations données à la notion de « volume important » et, souvent, des efforts de l'institution pour gérer sa charge de travail.

Selon le paragraphe 9(2), quand la prorogation de délai dépasse 30 jours, le responsable de l'institution doit en aviser le Commissariat en même temps que la personne qui a fait la demande. Le Commissariat a constaté que le non-respect de cette disposition est un problème chronique.

Dans les Fiches de rendement 2008-2009 : Hors délais, la commissaire s'est engagée à préciser la manière dont le Commissariat interprète l'alinéa 9(1)a), à élaborer un modèle ou formulaire Web pour aider les institutions à respecter les exigences du paragraphe 9(2) et à désigner un fonctionnaire chargé d'examiner les avis de prorogation de délai. La présente note d'information explique la manière dont le Commissariat interprète et applique l'alinéa 9(1)a)et propose un modèle ou formulaire Web à utiliser dans le processus de notification en vertu du paragraphe 9(2).

Prorogations de délai en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a)

Selon l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, une institution fédérale peut proroger le délai de 30 jours pour répondre à une demande quand l'observation de ce délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution en raison soit du grand nombre de documents demandés, soit de l'ampleur des recherches à effectuer pour donner suite à la demande. Au cours de ses enquêtes, le Commissariat a relevé plusieurs problèmes concernant l'interprétation des termes « grand nombre de documents demandés », « ampleur des recherches à effectuer » et « entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution ».

Déterminer le sens des termes « grand nombre de documents demandés » et « ampleur des recherches à effectuer »

Pour le Commissariat, 1 000 pages de documents ou plus constituent un grand nombre de documents. Lorsqu'il y a moins de pages, il demande à l'institution de justifier sa notion de ce qu'est un grand volume de documents. Cependant, le nombre de pages est un critère inspiré des normes archivistiques en vigueur avant l'implantation des systèmes de gestion des documents électroniques dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. Donc même si le nombre de pages demeure un facteur important, le Commissariat peut évaluer les prorogations de délai sur une base plus large, au cas par cas, en accordant plus d'importance aux facteurs contextuels dans son évaluation.

Les facteurs que le Commissariat considère dans ses enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai peuvent entre autres comprendre les suivants :

(Veuillez suggérer tout autre facteur possible.)

  • la période nécessaire pour déterminer la portée de la demande et les secteurs de programme susceptibles de détenir les documents recherchés;
  • l'estimation du nombre de pages et/ou de documents pertinents à la demande, par rapport au nombre de jours nécessaires pour traiter ces documents;
  • le format plus ou moins standard et à jour des documents;
  • la facilité plus ou moins grande avec laquelle on peut examiner les documents [p. ex. dans le cas de volumineux imprimés d'ordinateur, l'examen d'une ou de deux pages peut permettre de trouver une méthode uniforme pour toutes les pages];
  • l'existence de demandes antérieures pour obtenir les mêmes documents ou des documents analogues;
  • le nombre de systèmes de gestion de documents à consulter;
  • le nombre de fonctionnaires participant à la recherche;
  • l'accessibilité des documents [p. ex. documents dispersés un peu partout].

IMPORTANT - Le Commissariat n'accepte pas qu'une institution invoque l'insuffisance de son système de gestion des documents pour justifier une prorogation de délai. En outre, même s'il a déjà considéré le nombre moyen de documents qu'une institution traite normalement en 30 jours comme une indication de ce qui constitue un nombre important de documents, ce facteur aura peu de poids dans une enquête si le Commissariat estime que l'institution a un rendement inférieur à la norme.

Définir ce qu'est une entrave sérieuse au fonctionnement de l'institution

L'autre critère énoncé à l'alinéa 9(1)a)concerne la possibilité que l'observation du délai de 30 jours entrave de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l'institution. Les facteurs que le Commissariat considère dans ses enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai peuvent entre autres comprendre les suivants :

(Veuillez suggérer tout autre facteur possible.)

  • la nature et l'ampleur de l'entrave;
  • la mesure dans laquelle l'expertise pertinente que possède le bureau de première responsabilité (BPR) sera détournée au détriment des fonctions essentielles de ce bureau;
  • la mesure selon laquelle, pour répondre à la demande, il faudrait y consacrer tant de ressources de l'AIPRP que le traitement des autres demandes en souffrirait.

D'ordinaire le Commissariat ne considère pas le manque temporaire de ressources (dû par exemple à des congés, à des pannes d'électricité ou à des événements spéciaux) comme une raison valable de demander une prorogation de délai. Cependant, le manque de ressources pourra être pris en compte dans certaines circonstances exceptionnelles, à juger au cas par cas. Dans de telles circonstances, on pourra demander à l'institution de démontrer qu'elle s'efforce de régler son problème de ressources.

Avis du droit de se plaindre

Aux termes du paragraphe 9(1), l'institution doit envoyer à la personne qui a fait la demande un avis de prorogation de délai, en lui faisant part de son droit de déposer une plainte à ce propos auprès du Commissariat à l'information. La plainte doit être déposée dans les 60 jours suivant la date où la personne a reçu l'avis. Les directives sur les délais de présentation d'une plainte figurent à l'adresse suivante : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/fra/inv-inv_pd-dp_timeframe-complaint-atia-temps-plaintes-atia.aspx

Enquêtes

Les listes de facteurs précitées ne sont aucunement exhaustives. Elles donnent des exemples de la manière dont le Commissariat peut aborder les enquêtes sur les prorogations de délai. En fin de compte, il incombe à l'institution de démontrer que tous les éléments des critères sont respectés et que la prorogation de délai est justifiée.

Lors des enquêtes, le Commissariat pourra mieux établir la validité des prorogations s'il dispose de documents détaillés. Dans les cas où il s'interroge sur la durée d'une prorogation, il peut demander à l'institution de lui fournir des plans de travail détaillés pour justifier la demande. Au besoin il peut même collaborer avec elle pour établir une nouvelle date de réponse.

Si l'institution respecte tous les critères énoncés à l'alinéa 9(1)a)et si elle a avisé la personne qui a fait la demande de prorogation dans les 30 jours requis suivant la réception de la demande, le Commissariat conclut que la prorogation de délai est légitime.

Avis de prorogation en vertu du paragraphe 9(2)

En vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, lorsque la prorogation de délai visée au paragraphe (1) dépasse 30 jours, le responsable de l'institution fédérale en avise en même temps le Commissaire à l'information et la personne qui a fait la demande.

Les institutions ont l’option d’envoyer les avis par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courriel (un formulaire Web n’est pas encore disponible).

Il est proposé d’inclure l’information suivante dans vos avis :

  • la date de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle la demande remplie est parvenue à l'institution;
  • le numéro de dossier de l'institution;
  • le texte de la demande;
  • la date à laquelle l'avis de prorogation est envoyé à la personne qui a fait la demande;
  • la raison invoquée en vertu de l'article 9 (préciser le paragraphe) pour demander la prorogation;
  • la durée de la prorogation;
  • l'avis du droit de se plaindre au Commissariat (inclus).

La Commissaire désignera un fonctionnaire chargé d'examiner les avis de prorogation de délai et de compiler des statistiques mensuelles, semestrielles et annuelles sur la manière dont l'ensemble des systèmes et des institutions se conforment au paragraphe 9(2). Ces statistiques seront affichées sur le site Web du Commissariat.