Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Other documents of interest


OIC'S Information Management (IM) Training Module

Quiz

Records Management and You!: Quiz

For each question, chose the correct answer

1. It is the responsibility of Records Centre staff to save all official records.
True
False
Incorrect - In order to ensure that the Government of Canada can provide documentary evidence of its activities, all Government of Canada employees must be diligent about saving the official records for which they are responsible.
Correct
2. Official Records are all information that is handled in the conduct of government business.
True
False
Incorrect - Official Records provide evidence of the specific business activities that occur in a department. There is much information handled in the conduct of government business that doesn’t have the status of official record as it is only required for a short period of time to perform a routine task (transitory records).
Correct
3. If a record is determined to be transitory it may be deleted without further consideration.
True
False
Incorrect – Although the above statement is largely true, it is illegal to delete any email or document, once a formal ATIP request is received or even anticipated by the Department, relating to that subject.
Correct
4. Wouldn’t it make sense to save everything to make sure that I don’t accidentally destroy an official record.
True
False
Incorrect - In order to ensure that the Government of Canada can support its information systems and produce relevant information with ease and accuracy, all Government of Canada employees must be diligent about deleting transitory records and personal information. However, if you are ever in doubt of a record’s status then keep it.
Correct
5. Official Records can exist in media other than paper.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect– Records can exist in all media including paper, electronic, microfiche, vinyl, magnetic tape, cloth and more.
6. Personal comments and personal correspondence are not subject to an ATIP request.
True
False
Incorrect – All materials, regardless of medium and the inclusion of personal commentary is subject to ATIP requests. Furthermore, it is illegal to remove personal comments from records being requested as part of an ATIP investigation.
Correct
7. I don’t have to send all paper records to the Records Centre.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect – As long as records are being organized and maintained they can be saved where they were created and where they are required. When paper records are no longer being used they can be transferred to the Records Centre.
8. I can store official paper records containing signatures in my own location as long as they are being properly organized and maintained.
True
False
Incorrect – Originals of financial and legal agreements, and typically all other documents that require a signature, must be filed with the department’s Records Centre.
Correct
9. Electronic records should ideally be saved to a central repository.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect – Electronic records should ideally be saved to a central repository such as an electronic document and records management system (EDRMS, RDIMS). If you do not have a central repository, shared network drives are an advisable location for the saving, and sharing, of records.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Autres documents dignes d’intérêt


Modules de formation de la gestion de l'information

Quiz

La gestion des documents et vous: Test

Choisissez la bonne réponse à chaque question

1. Il incombe aux employés du Centre des dossiers de sauvegarder tous les documents officiels.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Pour veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure d’offrir des preuves documentaires de ses activités, tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux doivent s’assurer de sauvegarder et de gérer les documents officiels.
Bonne réponse!
2. Les documents officiels sont les documents traités dans l’exercice des fonctions par les fonctionnaires fédéraux.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Un document officiel sert de preuve documentaire des activités d’un ministère. De nombreux renseignements traités dans l’exercice des fonctions n’ont pas le statut de document officiel étant donné qu’ils sont requis pendant une courte période seulement, pour exécuter une tâche courante (documents éphémères).
Bonne réponse!
3. Si un document est considéré comme un document éphémère, il peut être supprimé sans aucune autre considération.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Il est illégal de supprimer un document ou un message électronique lorsque le Ministère a reçu ou prévoit recevoir une demande officielle d’AIPRP.
Bonne réponse!
4. Ne serait il pas logique de tout sauvegarder pour éviter de détruire accidentellement un document officiel?
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Pour veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure d’appuyer ses systèmes d’information et de produire aisément des données pertinentes sur demande, tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux devraient supprimer rapidement les documents éphémères et les renseignements personnels. Cependant, en cas de doute quant à la nature d’un document, il est préférable de le garder.
Bonne réponse!
5. Les documents officiels peuvent prendre une forme autre qu’un document sur support papier.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse– Les documents peuvent prendre diverses formes, notamment le papier, les fichiers électroniques, les microfiches, le vinyle, les bandes magnétiques, le tissu, etc..
6. Les commentaires et les articles de correspondance personnels ne sont pas visés par les demandes d’AIPRP.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Tous les documents, quel que soit le support utilisé et peu importe s’ils renferment des commentaires personnels, sont visés par les demandes d’AIPRP. Par ailleurs, il est illégal de supprimer des commentaires personnels contenus dans des documents visés par une demande d’AIPRP.
Bonne réponse!
7. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’envoyer tous les documents sur papier au Centre des documents.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Tant que les documents sont classés et mis à jour, ils peuvent être conservés à l’endroit où ils ont été créés et où ils sont nécessaires. Les documents sur support papier qui ne sont plus utilisés peuvent être transférés au Centre des documents.
8. Je peux sauvegarder des documents officiels sur support papier renfermant des signatures dans mon propre bureau, à condition qu’ils soient dûment classés.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Les originaux d’ententes financières et juridiques et les autres documents exigeant une signature doivent être conservés par le Centre des documents du Ministère.
Bonne réponse!
9. Les documents sur support électronique devraient, idéalement, être conservés dans un dépôt central.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Les documents électroniques devraient idéalement être conservés dans un dépôt central comme un système de gestion des documents électroniques et des dossiers (SGEDD, SGDDI). En l’absence d’un tel dépôt, on peut utiliser les unités partagées en réseau pour sauvegarder et partager des documents.