Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Other documents of interest


OIC'S Information Management (IM) Training Module

Quiz

Information Management 101: Quiz

For each question, chose the correct answer

1. It is the responsibility of Records Centre staff to save all official records.
True
False
In order to ensure that the Government of Canada can provide documentary evidence of its activities, all Government of Canada employees must be diligent about saving the official records for which they are responsible.
Correct
2. Official Records are all information that is handled in the conduct of government business.
True
False
Official Records provide evidence of the specific business activities that occur in a department. There is much information handled in the conduct of government business that is only required for a short period of time to perform a routine task (transitory records).
Correct
3. Wouldn’t it make sense to save everything to make sure that I don’t accidentally destroy an official record.
True
False
Correct
In order to ensure that the Government of Canada can support its information systems and produce relevant information with ease and accuracy, all Government of Canada employees must be diligent about deleting transitory records and personal information. However, if you are ever in doubt of a record’s status then keep it.
4. Official Records can exist in media other than paper.
True
False
Correct
Records can exist in all media including paper, electronic, microfiche, vinyl, magnetic tape, cloth and more. Remember that emails can also be official records.
5. Information Management is equivalent to Records Management.
True
False
Correct
Information management is about far more than mere records management – information management is about managing information throughout its entire life cycle from creation/collection to ultimate disposal, it is about ensuring that information is accessible for decision making and repurposing, it is about ensuring that information is protected and that the privacy rights of Canadians are respected and so much more.
6. Information is a strategic resource just as important to the business of government as human resources and financial resources.
True
False
Correct
This notion is critical to effective information management and is the driving force behind the Policy on Information Management.
7. Now that I have reviewed this module I know everything that I need to know in order to fulfill my responsibilities towards information management in the government of Canada.
True
False
Correct
This module is intended to raise your awareness about your information management responsibilities – it is highly recommended that you review all of the modules in this series in order to have a detailed understanding of such important IM topics as: records management, information security, effective email management, privacy and more.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Autres documents dignes d’intérêt


Modules de formation de la gestion de l'information

Quiz

Introduction à la gestion de l’information :

Choisissez la bonne réponse à chaque question

1. Il incombe aux employés du Centre des dossiers de sauvegarder tous les documents officiels.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Pour veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure d’offrir des preuves documentaires de ses activités, tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux doivent s’assurer de sauvegarder et de gérer les documents officiels dont ils sont responsables.
Bonne réponse!
2. Les documents officiels sont les documents traités dans l’exercice des fonctions.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Un document officiel sert de preuve documentaire des activités d’un ministère. De nombreux renseignements sont traités dans l’exercice des fonctions et n’ont pas le statut de document officiel étant donné qu’ils sont requis pendant une courte période seulement, pour exécuter une tâche courante (documents éphémères).
Bonne réponse!
3. Ne serait il pas logique de tout sauvegarder pour éviter de détruire accidentellement un document officiel?
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Pour veiller à ce que le gouvernement soit en mesure d’appuyer ses systèmes d’information et de produire aisément des données pertinentes sur demande, tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux doivent supprimer rapidement les documents éphémères et les renseignements personnels. Mais en cas de doute quant à la nature d’un document – sauvegardez le.
4. Les documents officiels ne sont pas uniquement des documents sur support papier.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Les documents peuvent prendre diverses formes, notamment le papier, les fichiers électroniques, les microfiches, le vinyle, les bandes magnétiques, le tissu et j’en passe! N’oubliez pas que les courriels peuvent également constituer des documents officiels.
5. La gestion de l’information est synonyme de gestion des documents.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – La gestion de l’information c’est bien plus que la gestion des documents. En effet, la gestion de l’information donne lieu à la gestion de l’information tout au long du cycle de vie, depuis la création/collecte jusqu’à l’élimination; elle permet de veiller à ce que l’information soit accessible en vue de décisions et de recyclage, d’assurer la protection de l’information et de respecter les droits des Canadiens en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et bien plus.
6. L’information est une ressource stratégique tout aussi importante que les ressources humaines et financières.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Cette notion est essentielle pour assurer l’efficacité de la gestion de l’information et elle est à l’origine de la politique sur la gestion de l’information gouvernementale (GIG).
7. Maintenant que j’ai examiné ce module, je sais tout ce que je dois savoir pour assumer mes responsabilités en matière de gestion de l’information au sein de la fonction publique fédérale.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Ce module vise à vous faire prendre conscience de vos responsabilités en matière de gestion de l’information – nous vous recommandons fortement d’examiner tous les modules de la série pour bien comprendre des sujets importants comme : la gestion des documents, la sécurité de l’information, la gestion efficace du courriel, la protection des renseignements personnels.