Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Other documents of interest


OIC'S Information Management (IM) Training Module

Quiz

IM and The Departing Employee: Quiz

For each question, chose the correct answer

1. Information management rules for departing employees apply only to those who have held permanent positions of employment in the Government of Canada.
True
False
Incorrect – An employee is any individual that has held either a temporary or a permanent position within the Government of Canada (including contractors). Information Management rules for departure apply to all such categories of employee.
Correct
2. When leaving your position temporarily (parental leave, secondment etc.), your most important responsibility is to ensure that a colleague has the ability to access the information that you receive and store.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect – In order to ensure business continuity you and your manager need to put in place a plan to ensure that the official information that you manage is accessible when you are away from the office.
3. IM departure rules do not apply to those making moves to new positions with the same department.
True
False
Incorrect – Often, if you are moving to a new organisation in your department, the majority of the rules for a departing employee will apply to you. Contact your Records Centre for more information on your situation.
Correct
4. Information Management and Records Services staff are responsible for cleaning up, deleting and organising the paper and electronic documents of departing employees.
True
False
Incorrect – In most departments, there is little or no staff available to clear out the mountains of information left by departing employees. Managing your information upon your departure is your responsibility!
Correct
5. It is as important for departing employees to delete their transitory records as it is for them to organise their official records.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect - Employees have an equal responsibility to dispose of records that have no enduring value as they have to ensuring the proper preservation of official records.
6. Once you have “cleaned-up” your paper files your job is done.
True
False
Incorrect – During the “clean-up” stage, you need to ensure that you also address electronic documents in your email box, on your computer’s hard drive, in personal network directories, on diskettes or CD’s, on your laptop, on BlackBerries, and on your home PCs.
Correct
7. Sensitive records need to be treated differently than your other records.
True
False
Correct
Incorrect – Sensitive records need to be handled differently in both their storage, their transport/transmittal and in their disposal. See your security organization for more detail.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Autres documents dignes d’intérêt


Modules de formation de la gestion de l'information

Quiz

La GI et l’employé qui quitte son poste: Test

Choisissez la bonne réponse à chaque question

1. Les règles en matière de gestion de l’information visant les employés qui quittent leur poste s’appliquent uniquement aux employés permanents de la fonction publique fédérale.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Un employé est une personne qui occupe un poste permanent ou temporaire au sein de la fonction publique fédérale (y compris les entrepreneurs). Les règles en matière de gestion de l’information s’appliquent donc à toutes les catégories d’employés.
Bonne réponse!
2. Lorsque vous vous absentez temporairement (congé parental, détachement, etc.), votre principale responsabilité consiste à faire en sorte qu’un collègue ait accès à l’information reçue et sauvegardée par vous.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Pour assurer la continuité des opérations, votre gestionnaire et vous devez prendre des mesures pour faire en sorte que l’information officielle dont vous assurez la gestion soit accessible en votre absence.
3. Les règles en matière de GI ne s’appliquent pas aux personnes qui changent de poste au sein d’un même ministère.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Si vous changez d’organisation au sein de votre ministère, la majorité des règles applicables aux employés qui quittent leur poste s’appliquent à vous. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec votre centre des documents.
Bonne réponse!
4. Les employés affectés à la gestion de l’information et aux documents sont responsables de l’épuration, de la suppression et du classement des documents sur support papier et sur support électronique des employés qui quittent leur poste.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Dans la plupart des ministères, il y a peu ou pas assez d’employés pour faire le ménage de l’énorme quantité d’information « abandonnée » par un employé qui quitte son poste. La gestion de l’information est donc votre responsabilité!
Bonne réponse!
5. Il est tout aussi important pour un employé qui quitte son poste de supprimer ses documents éphémères que d’organiser ses documents officiels.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Les employés sont tenus non seulement de conserver de façon appropriée les documents officiels, mais également d’éliminer les documents éphémères.
6. Il suffit de « faire le ménage » des documents sur papier.
Vrai
Faux
Mauvaise réponse – Vous devez également faire le ménage des documents sur support électronique contenus dans votre boîte aux lettres de courriel, sur votre disque dur, dans vos répertoires personnels du réseau, sur disquette ou CD, dans votre ordinateur portable, dans votre BlackBerry et dans vos ordinateurs personnels à la maison.
Bonne réponse!
7. Les documents de nature délicate doivent être traités différemment des autres documents.
Vrai
Faux
Bonne réponse!
Mauvaise réponse – Les documents de nature délicate doivent être traités, entreposés, transportés ou transmis et éliminés différemment. Pour plus de détails, consultez votre service responsable de la sécurité.