Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appendix A: Status update from Treasury Board Secretariat on systemic issues

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) issued five recommendations to Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) related to the systemic issues identified in the 2008–2009 special report. Since then, TBS has provided updates to its response to these recommendations, first to report on its work in 2009–2010 and now to summarize developments in 2010–2011 and subsequently. Both are presented below.

OIC recommendation 1

That the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat assess the extent to which institutions implement the best practices on the delegation of powers, duties and functions pursuant to section 73 of the Access to Information Act with the view to achieving appropriate, efficient and transparent delegation orders.

Context

In the Commissioner's April 2010 Special Report to Parliament it was noted that the Commissioner's office uncovered oral evidence that delegation orders have a direct and significant impact on the ability of institutions to meet the statutory deadlines for responding to requests for information. The Report also referenced the best practices developed by the Treasury Board Secretariat. Among the 18 best practices, one recommends that ATIP Coordinators be delegated full authority by the head of the institution for the administration of the Act.

TBS 2009–2010 response

In the spring of 2010 TBS issued a number of best practices, which included the following regarding delegation:

That the Access to Information Coordinator be given full delegated authority by the head of the institution for the administration of the Act; and

That the head of the institution delegate functions as far down within the Access to Information Office as possible. For example, extension and third party notices can be delegated to Access to Information Officers, as well as to the Coordinator. In response to the Commissioner's recommendation, TBS reviewed the delegation orders of 24 institutions that were assessed by the Office of the Information Commissioner for the period 2008–2009 as part of its Report Card initiative. It also analyzed statistical data provided by the same institutions. It was found that in most institutions ATIP Coordinators have full delegation. It was also found that delegation by itself is not a determinant factor in meeting statutory timelines. Delegation is, however, an important element and can eliminate unnecessary levels of approval. To ensure that delegation is properly addressed, the Policy on Access to Information requires heads of institutions to consider whether any of their powers, duties or functions under the Act should be delegated. Furthermore, the Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act requires heads to respect certain principles when delegating, such as:

  • Heads can only designate officers and employees of their government institution;
  • Powers, duties and functions are delegated to positions identified by title, not to individuals identified by name;
  • Persons with delegated authorities are to be well informed of their responsibilities;
  • Powers, duties and functions that have been delegated may not be further delegated; and
  • The delegation order is to be reviewed when circumstances surrounding the delegations have changed.

TBS 2010–2011 response

On July 20, 2011 the Secretary of the Treasury Board sent an email to all Deputy Ministers and Heads of Agencies encouraging them to consult the TBS Website for new fact sheets and best practices for the delegation orders.

OIC recommendation 2

That, as part of the Management Accountability Framework, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat review current criteria to ensure that they are measuring the overall performance of federal institutions in meeting their obligations under the Access to Information Act.

TBS 2009–2010 response

The Management Accountability Framework (MAF) sets out the Treasury Board Secretariat's expectations of senior public service managers in a number of areas for good public service management, including on the administration of the Access to Information Act. Activities related to the Act's administration have been assessed under MAF since fiscal year 2005–2006. Assessments comprise a review and analysis of institutions' annual reports to Parliament, their Info Source chapters and a number of other reports to determine if institutions are providing complete, comprehensive and up-to-date descriptions of their functions, programs, activities and related information holdings. This year, the Secretariat added new requirements that are focused on governance and capacity, which are intended to evaluate the ability of institutions to administer the ATIP program, including the way institutions are organized to respond to ATI requests, whether procedures are established for ATI specialists and program officials and whether training is being delivered and taken. Areas assessed are reviewed on an annual basis to ensure the continued effectiveness of MAF.

It is, however, important to note that MAF is not the only assessment tool. Parliament put in place a mechanism to ensure accountability for the administration of the Access to Information Act. Section 72 of the Act requires the head of each government institution to present to Parliament an annual report on the administration of the Act within their institution. TBS also collects, in accordance with the Act, statistical data to assess institutions' compliance. Data collection will significantly be expanded in the coming year. Further details on this point are provided in the TBS response to recommendations 3 and 4. TBS is committed to continue working with the Office of the Information Commissioner and institutions in order to ensure the effectiveness of reporting and compliance activities.

TBS 2010–2011 response

Additional questions on governance and capacity were introduced in MAF 2010–2011 in order to evaluate the ability of institutions to administer the ATIP program. For MAF 2011–2012, the Secretariat added new questions to assess compliance with policy instruments to broaden assessment beyond legislative reporting requirements. As such, TBS evaluated institutions' responses to ATI requests, procedures established for ATI specialists and program officials, and training delivered and taken.

The methodology for assessments continues to be reviewed on an annual basis to ensure the continued effectiveness of MAF.

OIC recommendation 3

That the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat collect annual statistics in accordance with Recommendations 3, 4 and 5 included in the 2007–2008 Special Report.

OIC recommendation 4

That the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, together with relevant institutions, assess the magnitude of consultations between federal institutions and the impact of such consultations on institutions' workloads with a view to allocating appropriate resources for this function.

TBS 2009–2010 response

TBS has been collecting statistical data from institutions on their application of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act since the Acts came into force in 1983. Data is consolidated and published yearly in the Info Source Bulletin. Beginning in April 2011, TBS will be expanding its requirements for the collection of annual Access to Information statistical data. Institutions will be required to compile and report annually on new data elements, such as number of pages processed, timelines, extensions, consultations and delays. The new data will provide a better understanding of the workload of institutions, the complexity of requests, causes of delay and will enable TBS to better assess compliance of institutions with the Access to Information Act. The results of the new data elements will be published in the Fall 2012 edition of the Info Source Bulletin. TBS will continue to work closely with institutions to assist them with the transition to the new data collection requirements.

TBS 2010–2011 response

Starting in May 2012, TBS will collect the results of the new data elements on areas such as consultations, fees, time extensions, and deemed refusals, that will be published in the Fall 2012 edition of the Info Source Bulletin.

TBS will continue to work closely with the institutions to assist them with the transition to the new data collection requirements.

In terms of workloads associated with consultations, TBS has amended the Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act (directive) to limit inter-institutional consultations in a continuous effort to reduce delays. While consultations related to sections 15 (exemptions related to international affairs and defence) and 16 (exemptions related to law enforcement and investigations) were previously mandatory under the former Directive, consultations are now limited to 2 circumstances:

  • Where the processing institution requires more information for the proper exercise of discretion to withhold information;
  • Where the processing institution intends to disclose sensitive information.

OIC recommendation 5

That the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, in collaboration with relevant institutions and agencies, develop and implement, as a matter of urgency, an integrated human resources action plan to address the current shortage of access to information staff.

TBS 2009–2010 response

The Access to Information and Privacy Community is comprised of dedicated professionals who strive to provide good service to Canadians. TBS has actively been supporting the ATIP Community in a variety of ways. It meets with the Community regularly, develops tools and guidance and offers
a wide range of awareness sessions on ATIP-related topics. Since April 1, 2008, 134 sessions have been delivered, with 1,617 participants attending. Another 26 sessions are planned for this coming year.

In addition, the Secretariat launched last spring an initiative to address the recruitment and retention challenges of the Community to ensure it has the capacity to deliver ATIP services now and in the future. With key stakeholders and several representatives from ATIP offices across the federal public service, generic organizational models, work descriptions, and competencies to standardize the work across the public service are being developed. These tools will form the basis for the launch of a collective staffing process, as well as the design and implementation of a broader community development and learning strategy.

TBS 2010–2011 response

The TBS' commitment to training remains strong. TBS has for several years offered a training program to meet the specific needs of the ATIP community, providing on an ongoing basis, free of charge and in both official languages, sessions on a variety of ATIP-related topics. Since April 1, 2008, 159 sessions have been delivered, with over 1,960 participants attending. Another 16 sessions are scheduled to the end of the 2011–2012 fiscal year.

In Fall 2011, the Treasury Board Secretariat consulted the ATIP community to better understand the challenges it faces and assess its strengths and identify its needs. The conclusions contributed to the development of the training plan for 2012–2013. This plan will be posted before the end of the fiscal year 2011–2012 in order for ATIP staff to inform their individual learning plans.

The Secretariat is also addressing broader issues related to community development. For example, the Community Development Initiative (CDI) launched in 2010 addresses the recruitment and retention challenges of the Community to ensure it has the capacity to deliver ATIP services now and in the future. With key stakeholders and several representatives from ATIP offices across the federal public service, generic organizational models and work descriptions were finalized and will be submitted to the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO) for validation. Contracting for a competencies dictionary to standardize the work across the public service is currently under way. These tools will form the basis for the launch of a collective staffing process, as well as the design and implementation of a broader community development and learning strategy. The Secretariat will keep the Community updated on developments.

In addition, the Canada School of Public Service and the Treasury Board Secretariat have undertaken work to meet federal employee learning needs with respect to Access to Information. A cornerstone is the Access to Information and Privacy overview course which is currently offered by the Canada School. The course, which was piloted during the summer of 2010, is available across Canada in both official languages. The Canada School is responsible for reviewing and updating all of its courses which have components related to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act to ensure they reflect changes brought to the ATIP legislation, recent jurisprudence as well as the new policy instruments. Specifically, the Canada School is targeting training to ensure a learning continuum that starts with the Orientation of all new public servants, and the four mandatory Authority Delegation Training courses for public service managers. The Canada School maintains attendance records for all authority delegation training courses and is in a position to provide statistical information on the successful completion of the mandatory online assessment tools that aim at confirming the knowledge acquisition through this training.

Finally, the Secretariat regularly provides briefings on ATIP for senior officials. The Secretariat also offers individual briefings on access to information and privacy to Governor in Council appointees.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Annexe A : Mise à jour du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada sur les enjeux systémiques

Le Commissariat à l'information a émis cinq recommandations au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) au sujet des problèmes systémiques exposés dans le rapport spécial de 2008-2009. Depuis lors, le SCT a mis à jour sa réponse à ces recommandations, d'abord pour faire état du travail qu'il a accompli en 2009-2010 et maintenant pour résumer les faits nouveaux survenus en 2010-2011 et depuis. Ces mises à jour sont présentées ici.

Recommandation 1 du Commissariat

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada évalue la mesure dans laquelle les institutions mettent en œuvre les pratiques exemplaires concernant la délégation de certaines attributions aux termes de l'article 73 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l'objectif étant d'obtenir des ordonnances de délégation qui sont pertinentes, efficaces et transparentes.

Contexte

Dans son rapport spécial au Parlement d'avril 2010, la commissaire a souligné que le Commissariat avait recueilli des preuves orales selon lesquelles les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs ont une incidence directe et appréciable sur la capacité des institutions de respecter les échéances prévues par la Loi pour répondre aux demandes d'information. Le rapport cite également les pratiques exemplaires élaborées par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Parmi ces 18 pratiques, l'une recommande que le responsable d'une institution accorde aux coordonnateurs de l'AIPRP les pleins pouvoirs quant à l'administration de la Loi.

Réponse du SCT pour 2009-2010

Au printemps 2010, le SCT a émis des pratiques exemplaires qui comprennent les recommandations suivantes à l'égard de la délégation :

  • que le coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information détienne les pleins pouvoirs pour l'administration de la Loi qui lui ont été délégués par le responsable de l'institution;
  • que le responsable de l'institution délègue les fonctions au niveau le plus bas possible dans la hiérarchie du bureau d'accès à l'information. Par exemple, les avis de prorogation et les avis aux tiers peuvent être délégués aux analystes de l'accès à l'information ainsi qu'au coordonnateur. En réponse à la recommandation de la commissaire, le SCT a examiné les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs de 24 institutions évaluées par le Commissariat à l'information pour 2008-2009 dans le cadre de son initiative sur les fiches de rendement. Il a également analysé les données statistiques fournies par ces mêmes institutions. L'examen a permis de conclure que, dans la plupart des institutions, les coordonnateurs de l'AIPRP avaient la pleine délégation de pouvoirs et que la délégation en soi ne constitue pas un facteur déterminant du respect des échéances prévues par la Loi. Il s'agit toutefois d'un élément important qui peut éliminer les niveaux inutiles d'approbation. En vue de veiller au traitement adéquat de la question de la délégation, la Politique sur l'accès à l'information exige des responsables des institutions qu'ils déterminent si l'un ou l'autre de leurs pouvoirs, tâches ou fonctions en vertu de la Loi devrait être délégué. De plus, la Directive concernant l'administrationde la Loi sur l'accès à l'information les oblige à respecter certains principes au moment de la délégation de pouvoirs, par exemple :
    • le responsable ne peut déléguer ses attributions qu'aux cadres et employés de son institution fédérale;
    • les pouvoirs, les tâches et les fonctions sont délégués à des postes désignés par leur titre et non à des personnes désignées par leur nom;
    • les personnes auxquelles des pouvoirs ont été délégués doivent être bien informées de leurs responsabilités;
    • les pouvoirs, les tâches et les fonctions ayant été délégués ne peuvent pas être sous délégués;
    • l'arrêté de délégation est revu lorsque les circonstances entourant la délégation ont changé.

Réponse du SCT pour 2010-2011

Le 20 juillet 2011, la secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor a adressé un courriel à tous les sous-ministres et dirigeants d'organismes pour les inciter à consulter le site Web du SCT, où ils trouveraient de nouvelles fiches d'information et pratiques exemplaires pour les ordonnances de délégation.

Recommandation 2 du Commissariat

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada examine les critères actuels du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion pour s'assurer qu'ils mesurent l'efficacité globale avec laquelle les institutions fédérales respectent leurs obligations aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Réponse du SCT pour 2009-2010

Le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG) énonce les attentes du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor auxquelles doivent répondre les cadres supérieurs de l'administration fédérale dans un certain nombre de domaines pour promouvoir la saine gestion au sein de la fonction publique incluant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Les activités liées à l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information sont évaluées selon le CRG depuis l'exercice 2005-2006. Les évaluations comprennent un examen et une analyse des rapports annuels que les institutions soumettent au Parlement, leurs chapitres d'Info Source et d'autres rapports afin de déterminer si ces institutions fournissent des descriptions complètes, exhaustives et à jour de leurs fonctions, programmes, activités et fonds de renseignements connexes. Cette année, le Secrétariat a ajouté de nouvelles exigences axées sur la gouvernance et la capacité pour évaluer la compétence d'une institution à administrer le programme d'AIPRP. Ces exigences comprennent la façon dont l'institution est organisée pour répondre aux demandes d'accès à l'information, les procédures mises en place pour les experts dans les domaines de l'accès à l'information et des programmes, ainsi que la formation offerte et suivie. Les méthodes d'évaluation de la conformité utilisées relativement au CRG sont examinées chaque année. Ce processus continu de mise au point permettra de garantir l'efficacité et l'harmonisation de toutes les procédures d'évaluation.

Par contre, il convient de prendre note que le CRG n'est pas le seul outil d'évaluation. Le Parlement a en effet mis en place un mécanisme afin d'assurer la responsabilité pour l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. L'article 72 exige que le responsable de chaque institution fédérale dépose annuellement un rapport d'application de la Loi en ce qui concerne son institution. Le SCT recueille également, en vertu de la Loi, des données statistiques pour évaluer la conformité des institutions. Cette collecte prendra beaucoup d'ampleur au cours de la prochaine année. Des détails supplémentaires à ce sujet se trouvent dans la réponse du SCT aux recommandations 3 et 4. Le SCT s'engage à poursuivre sa collaboration avec le Commissariat à l'information et les institutions dans le but d'assurer l'efficacité des activités en matière d'établissement de rapports et de conformité.

Réponse du SCT pour 2010-2011

De nouvelles questions sur la gouvernance et la capacité ont été ajoutées au CRG de 2010-2011, afin d'évaluer la capacité des institutions d'administrer le programme d'AIPRP. Pour le CRG de 2011-2012, le Secrétariat a ajouté de nouvelles questions pour évaluer la conformité avec les instruments de politiques afin d'élargir l'évaluation au-delà des exigences en matière de rapport imposées par la Loi. Ainsi, le SCT a évalué les réponses des institutions aux demandes d'accès à l'information, les procédures mises en place pour les spécialistes de l'accès à l'information et les responsables de programme, ainsi que la formation offerte et suivie.

Le Secrétariat continue de revoir annuellement la méthodologie pour les évaluations, afin de veiller à ce que le CRG conserve son efficacité.

Recommandation 3 du Commissariat

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada recueille des statistiques annuelles conformément aux recommandations 3, 4 et 5 du rapport spécial de 2007-2008.

Recommandation 4 du Commissariat

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, de concert avec les institutions concernées, évalue l'ampleur des consultations entre les institutions fédérales et leurs répercussions sur la charge de travail des institutions en vue d'affecter les ressources nécessaires à cette fonction.

Réponse du SCT pour 2009-2010

Le SCT recueille auprès des institutions des données statistiques concernant leur application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels depuis l'entrée en vigueur de ces lois en 1983. Les données sont consolidées et publiées tous les ans dans le bulletin Info Source. À partir du mois d'avril 2011, le SCT étendra ses exigences relatives à la collecte des données statistiques annuelles sur l'accès à l'information. Les institutions devront désormais compiler de nouveaux éléments de données et présenter annuellement des rapports à ce sujet, comme le nombre de pages traitées, les échéanciers, les prorogations, les consultations et les retards. Les nouvelles données permettront de mieux comprendre la charge de travail des institutions, la complexité des demandes et les causes des retards. En outre, grâce à elles, le SCT sera en mesure de mieux évaluer la conformité des institutions par rapport à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les résultats des nouveaux éléments de données seront publiés dans l'édition de l'automne 2012 du bulletin Info Source. Le SCT continuera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les institutions en vue de les aider à faire la transition vers les nouvelles exigences relatives à la collecte de données.

Réponse du SCT pour 2010-2011

À compter du mois de mai 2012, le SCT recueillera les résultats des nouveaux éléments de données sur des points comme les consultations, les frais, les prorogations de délai et les présomptions de refus, qu'il publiera dans l'édition d'automne 2012 du bulletin Info Source.

Le SCT continuera de travailler de près avec les institutions pour les aider à faire la transition vers les nouvelles exigences relatives à la collecte des données.

Pour ce qui est des charges de travail associées aux consultations, le SCT a modifié la Directive concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (directive) pour limiter les consultations interinstitutionnelles, dans un souci constant de réduction des retards. Auparavant obligatoires et conformément à l'ancienne Directive, les consultations relatives aux articles 15 (exceptions pour les affaires internationales et la défense) et 16 (exceptions pour l'application de la Loi et les enquêtes) sont maintenant limitées à deux cas :

  • lorsque l'institution qui traite la demande a besoin de plus d'information pour exercer correctement son devoir de réserve;
  • lorsque l'institution qui traite la demande a l'intention de divulguer des renseignements délicats.

Recommandation 5 du Commissariat

Que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, en collaboration avec les institutions et organismes concernés, élabore et mette en œuvre, dans les plus brefs délais, un plan d'action intégré en matière de ressources humaines pour résorber la pénurie actuelle de personnel des unités d'accès à l'information.

Réponse du SCT pour 2009-2010

La collectivité de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels est composée de professionnels dévoués qui s'efforcent de fournir un bon service aux Canadiens. Le SCT appuie activement la collectivité de l'AIPRP de diverses manières. Il rencontre régulièrement ses membres, élabore des outils et directives et offre un large éventail de séances de sensibilisation sur des sujets liés à l'AIPRP. Depuis le 1er avril 2008, 134 séances ont eu lieu et 1 617 personnes y ont pris part. Vingt-six autres sont prévues pour la prochaine année.

De plus, le Secrétariat a lancé au printemps dernier une initiative visant à relever les défis associés au recrutement et au maintien en poste auxquels est confrontée la collectivité afin d'assurer qu'elle a la capacité de fournir les services d'AIPRP, maintenant et à l'avenir. Les principaux intervenants et plusieurs représentants des bureaux d'AIPRP dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale élaborent des modèles organisationnels génériques, des descriptions de poste et des compétences en vue de normaliser le travail au sein de la fonction publique. Ces outils constitueront le fondement du lancement d'un processus de dotation collective de même que de la conception et de la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie élargie d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement de la collectivité.

Réponse du SCT pour 2010-2011

Le SCT demeure fermement engagé envers la formation. Depuis plusieurs années, il offre un programme de formation pour répondre aux besoins particuliers de la collectivité de l'AIPRP, en donnant, de façon continue, gratuitement et dans les deux langues officielles, des séances de formation sur divers sujets liés à l'AIPRP. Depuis le 1er avril 2008, il y a eu 159 séances, qui ont attiré plus de 1 960 participants. Seize autres séances sont prévues d'ici la fin de l'exercice financier 2011-2012.

À l'automne 2011, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a consulté la collectivité de l'AIPRP pour mieux comprendre les défis qu'elle doit relever, évaluer ses forces et déterminer ses besoins. Les conclusions ont contribué à l'élaboration du plan de formation pour 2012-2013. Le SCT affichera ce plan avant la fin de l'exercice financier de 2011-2012, afin d'éclairer les plans d'apprentissage individuels du personnel de l'AIPRP.

Le Secrétariat s'intéresse aussi aux questions plus vastes en lien avec le développement de la collectivité. Par exemple, l'Initiative de développement de la collectivité (IDC) lancée en 2010 traite des difficultés de recrutement et de la rétention de membres de la collectivité pour lui donner la capacité de fournir les services d'AIPRP, maintenant et à l'avenir. Les principaux intervenants et plusieurs représentants des bureaux d'AIPRP dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique fédérale ont élaboré des modèles organisationnels et des descriptions de poste génériques, qui seront soumis au Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) pour validation. Un appel d'offres pour la production d'un dictionnaire des compétences afin de normaliser le travail à l'échelle de la fonction publique est en cours. Ces outils constitueront le fondement du lancement d'un processus de dotation collective de même que de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie élargie d'apprentissage et de développement de la collectivité. Le Secrétariat tiendra la collectivité au courant des développements subséquents.

De plus, l'École de la fonction publique du Canada (École) et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ont lancé des travaux pour répondre aux besoins d'apprentissage des fonctionnaires fédéraux en matière d'accès à l'information. Une pierre angulaire est le cours d'introduction générale à l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels, que l'École offre actuellement. Le cours, qui a fait l'objet d'un projet pilote à l'été 2010, est offert à travers le Canada dans les deux langues officielles. L'École est responsable de revoir et de mettre à jour tous ses cours ayant trait à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, pour qu'ils reflètent les changements apportés à la législation de l'AIPRP, la jurisprudence récente de même que les nouveaux instruments de politiques. Plus particulièrement, l'École cible la formation pour assurer un continuum d'apprentissage commençant avec l'orientation de tous les nouveaux fonctionnaires, et les quatre cours obligatoires sur la délégation de pouvoirs pour les gestionnaires de la fonction publique. L'École détient les listes de présence à tous ses cours sur la délégation de pouvoirs et est en mesure de fournir des renseignements statistiques sur la maîtrise des outils obligatoires d'évaluation en ligne pour confirmer les connaissances acquises lors de cette formation.

Finalement, le Secrétariat offre périodiquement des séances d'information sur l'AIPRP à l'intention des hauts fonctionnaires. Le Secrétariat offre aussi des séances d'information individuelles sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels aux personnes nommées par le gouverneur en conseil.