Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) enforces throughout Canada laws made by or under the authority of Parliament, with the exception of the Criminal Code, the enforcement of which is delegated to the provinces. The RCMP provides police services in all provinces (except Ontario and Quebec) and territories, and in 180 municipalities.

Assessment: C

(Received a C in 2008–2009)

  • The RCMP showed some improvement in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009. Its deemed refusal rate decreased from 18.3 percent to 12.6 percent. The number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) also decreased. The average time to complete a request, excluding long-standing requests, was a commendable 20 days. However, none of these improvements was enough to move the RCMP up the grade scale.
  • In March 2010, the RCMP carried out an internal review that resulted in streamlined processes, new software and a stable, experienced workforce.
  • The RCMP satisfactorily implemented all three of the OIC's 2008–2009 recommendations. Since there is room for further improvement, however, the OIC has made new recommendations to that end (2010-2011 Recommendations), including to maintain adequate resources for the access function.
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 256 196
Number of new requests 2,008 1,657
Number of requests completed 1,976 1,709
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 317,278 245,148
Deemed refusal rate 18.3%* 12.6%*
Average number of days to complete a request 38 64
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 20
Number of consultation requests received 531 625
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 105 69
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 26** 17**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 19.05 15.69
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Extension notices............................................ Met expectations

Improvement plan........................................... Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's initial response, go here .

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) showed some improvement in its access to information performance in 2010–2011, compared to 2008–2009. The RCMP reduced its deemed refusal rate from 18.3 percent to 12.6 percent. The number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) also decreased, from 105 in 2008–2009 to 69 in 2010–2011. The average time to complete a request increased, however, from 38 days to 64 days. This was largely due to the RCMP's focus on completing many of the long-standing requests in its backlog. Excluding those, the RCMP's average completion time was a commendable 20 days for requests received and completed in 2010–2011. However, none of these improvements was enough to move the RCMP up the grade scale.

In March 2010, the RCMP conducted an efficiency review of its access to information operations. This involved the coordinator's meeting with all units to collect input regarding issues and challenges, and then developing plans to respond to them. This resulted in a more streamlined process that enabled analysts to better cope with the workload. The RCMP also upgraded its access software.

The RCMP provides acting opportunities for those employees who demonstrate leadership potential and often promotes from within, all with an eye to succession planning. An office move in 2009–2010 meant losing some staff, while attracting others who preferred the new location. Generally, the RCMP's access office has seen high retention levels for various reasons, including having a large number of regular members on staff who are required to "lock in" for a specific length of time. RCMP officials reported that stability is also the result of good working conditions. 

In the past, training has been a major focus for access officials, with 2,000 employees having been trained in previous years. This is one area in which the RCMP has already had to cut back as a result of budgetary restraint: in 2010–2011, only seven presentations were given to 481 participants. Access employees, however, are still encouraged to enroll in various courses to build their knowledge and skills.

An excellent initiative, unique to the RCMP, is placing an access resource in the field when the RCMP is involved in major events such as G8/G20 summits or the Olympics. Having someone on site who is well versed in access to information and can easily retrieve and process records has proven effective, RCMP access officials stated. The OIC is encouraged by the RCMP's innovative response to a challenging situation.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued three recommendations to the RCMP with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's response, go here.)

  1. The RCMP has, as per the OIC's recommendation, improved its deemed refusal rate.
  2. The RCMP submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices of extensions taken for more than 30 days, which meets the OIC's standard for acceptable performance in this area.
  3. Since the 2008–2009 report card, the RCMP has developed and implemented a clear plan to improve the delivery of access to information services, as per the OIC's recommendation.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw an 11-percent decrease in its workload. Both the number of new requests and the carry-over from the previous fiscal year decreased (by 17 percent and 23 percent, respectively), while the number of consultation requests increased by 18 percent. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed decreased by 23 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests the Royal Canadian Mounted Police completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act rose from 88 percent to 93 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 236 requests in 2008–2009 and 102 in 2010–2011.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. The RCMP submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that the RCMP improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, the RCMP submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that the RCMP delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about the RCMP's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Overall, the number of complaints against the RCMP dropped by 34 percent from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011. There was a slight increase in deemed refusal complaints over the same period, and a 76-percent decrease in time extension complaints.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

* Resolved complaints are those that the Office of the Information Commissioner finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. The number of complaints registered with the OIC declined significantly in 2009–2010 from the previous year, and held steady in 2010–2011.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 15 21 3 0 39
Refusals 11 36 9 10 66
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 26 57 12 10 105
2009–2010
Administrative 13 7 2** 0 22
Refusals 6 25 8 7 46
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 19 32 10 7 68
2010–2011
Administrative 11 4 8 6 29
Refusals 6 11 10** 12 39
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 17 16 18 18 69

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction. 

** The OIC began using new disposition categories in 2010–2011. There was one miscellaneous complaint registered in 2009–2010 and closed in 2010–2011 and one refusal complaint in 2010–2011 in the Settled category, which comprises complaints about minor errors, settled to the Commissioner's satisfaction without a finding. For reporting purposes, these complaints were placed in the Discontinued category.

2010–2011 recommendations

There is room for improvement in the RCMP's performance, building on the gains made in 2010–2011, so it can improve its rating beyond the "C" grade it is receiving this year and also received in 2008–2009.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Minister of Public Safety, who is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, demonstrate the leadership required across the institution to promote a culture of compliance and improve the institution's access to information performance.

RESPONSE: As the Minister of Public Safety, I agree with this recommendation. The performance and steady progress by the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Program of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) in recent years clearly exemplify my commitment to ensure that the RCMP continues to embrace and nurture the spirit of the Access to Information Act. In the coming months, I will write to each of the Deputy Heads in the Public Safety portfolio to remind them of the importance of the ATIP Program and the need to foster a culture of compliance. 

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain the resources needed to comply with its obligations under the Access to Information Act, including providing training across the organization.

RESPONSE: The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. The RCMP, including the ATIP Branch, will be affected by Government-wide reductions, efficiencies and program cuts announced in Budget 2012. However, the RCMP remains committed to complying with its obligations under the Access to Information Act. In March 2010, the RCMP carried out an internal review resulting in streamlined processes, modern software and a stable, experienced workforce. This has resulted in achieving an average time to complete a request of 20 days. Further, the RCMP reduced its deemed refusal rate and the number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner. The RCMP implemented all three of the OIC's 2008–2009 recommendations and continues to look for ways to improve its performance.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. In 2010–2011, the RCMP's deemed refusal rate decreased from 18.3% to 12.6%. The RCMP has invested significant resources and efforts into the ATIP program in recent years; however, the RCMP, including the ATIP Branch, will be affected by Government-wide reductions, efficiencies and program cuts announced in Budget 2012. The RCMP will continue to work towards improving compliance rates.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Royal Canadian Mounted Police report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: The RCMP agrees with this recommendation. In an effort to maintain transparency and accountability of ATIP operational results, the RCMP remains committed to reporting annually to Parliament. The RCMP, as part of this annual report, will report on its progress implementing these recommendations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) applique partout au pays les lois adoptées par le Parlement, exception faite du Code criminel, dont l'application est déléguée aux gouvernements provinciaux. La GRC fournit à forfait des services de police dans l'ensemble des provinces (sauf le Québec et l'Ontario) et des territoires, et dans 180 municipalités.

Évaluation : C

(C en 2008-2009)

  • La GRC a connu une certaine amélioration en 2010-2011 par rapport à 2008-2009. Son taux de présomption de refus est tombé de 18,3 % à 12,6 %. Le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l'information a aussi diminué. Le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande, à l'exclusion des demandes de longue date, a été de 20 jours, ce qui est louable. Cependant, aucune de ces améliorations n'a été suffisante pour bonifier la note de la GRC.
  • En mars 2010, la GRC a procédé à un examen interne qui a mené à une rationalisation de ses processus, un nouveau logiciel et un personnel d'expérience stable.
  • La GRC a répondu de manière satisfaisante à chacune des trois recommandations de 2008-2009 émises par le Commissariat. Puisqu'il y a encore de la marge pour d'autres améliorations, le Commissariat a fait de nouvelles recommandations à cette fin (voir), y compris une recommandation pour le maintien de ressources suffisantes pour la fonction d'accès.
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 256 196
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 2 008 1 657
Nombre de demandes traitées 1 976 1 709
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 317 278 245 148
Taux de présomption de refus 18,3 %* 12,6 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 38 64
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (en jours) s.o. 20
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 531 625
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 105 69
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 26** 17**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 19,05 15,69
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Taux de présomption de refus........................... A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................. A répondu aux attentes

Plan d'amélioration...................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse initiale de l'institution, voir.

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a connu une certaine amélioration de son rendement en matière d'accès à l'information en 2010-2011 comparativement à 2008-2009. La GRC a ramené son taux de présomption de refus de 18,3 % à 12,6 %. Le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l'information a aussi diminué, baissant de 105 en 2008-2009 à 69 en 2010-2011. Par contre, le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande a augmenté, passant de 38 jours à 64 jours. Cela s'explique principalement par le fait que la GRC s'est attaquée à ses arriérés en traitant un grand nombre des demandes de longue date. Sans ces dernières, le délai moyen de traitement à la GRC a été de 20 jours, ce qui est louable, pour les demandes reçues et traitées en 2010-2011. Cependant, aucune de ces améliorations n'a été suffisante pour bonifier la note de la GRC.

En mars 2010, la GRC a procédé à un examen d'efficience de ses opérations d'accès à l'information. Pour cela, le coordonnateur a rencontré tous les services pour recueillir leurs observations sur les enjeux et les défis, puis a élaboré des plans pour y répondre. Il en est ressorti un processus plus rationalisé qui a permis aux analystes de mieux composer avec la charge de travail. La GRC a aussi modernisé son logiciel d'accès.

La GRC donne des affectations intérimaires aux employés qui affichent des aptitudes pour le leadership et accorde souvent des promotions à l'interne, dans une optique de planification de la relève. Un déménagement de bureau en 2009-2010 a fait perdre certains employés, mais en a attiré d'autres qui préféraient le nouvel emplacement. En général, le bureau d'accès de la GRC a joui de hauts niveaux de rétention de l'effectif pour diverses raisons, dont la présence à l'effectif d'un grand nombre de membres réguliers qui sont tenus de s'engager pour une durée déterminée. Les responsables de la GRC ont dit que la stabilité est aussi le résultat de bonnes conditions de travail.

Par le passé, les responsables de l'accès accordaient beaucoup d'importance à la formation : 2 000 employés ont été formés au cours des années précédentes. Dû aux contraintes budgétaires, la GRC a effectué des compressions dans ce domaine. Ainsi, en 2010-2011, seulement sept présentations ont été offertes à 481 participants. Toutefois, le personnel de l'accès est toujours incité à s'inscrire à divers cours pour perfectionner ses connaissances et ses compétences.

Une excellente initiative, qui est propre à la GRC, consiste à envoyer une personne-ressource en matière d'accès à l'information sur le terrain lorsque la GRC travaille à de grandes activités comme les sommets du G8/G20 ou les Olympiques. La présence sur place d'une personne qui est bien versée en accès à l'information et qui peut facilement récupérer et traiter les documents s'est révélée efficace, ont noté les responsables de l'accès à la GRC. Le Commissariat est encouragé par la solution innovatrice de la GRC à une situation difficile.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a émis trois recommandations à la GRC dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument la suite que l'institution y a donnée. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse de l'institution, voir.)

  1. La GRC a amélioré son taux de présomption de refus, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.
  2. La GRC a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours, ce qui est conforme à la norme du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable sur ce point.
  3. Depuis la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009, la GRC a développé et mis en œuvre un plan clair pour l'amélioration des services d'accès à l'information, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail diminuer de 11 %. Le nombre de nouvelles demandes et le nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice précédent ont diminué (de 17 % et 23 %, respectivement), tandis que le nombre de demandes de consultation a augmenté de 18 %. Le nombre total de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a augmenté de 23 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 88 % à 93 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 236 demandes en 2008-2009 et 102 en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Comme la GRC a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, le Commissariat a alors recommandé que la GRC améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, la GRC a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont la GRC a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par la GRC des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Au total, le nombre de plaintes contre la GRC a chuté de 34 % de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011. Il y a eu une légère augmentation du nombre de plaintes pour présomption de refus au cours de la même période, et une diminution de 76 % du nombre de plaintes pour prorogation de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat a diminué considérablement en 2009-2010 par rapport à l'année précédente, et s'est maintenu constant en 2010-2011.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 15 21 3 0 39
Refus 11 36 9 10 66
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 26 57 12 10 105
2009-2010
Administratives 13 7 2** 0 22
Refus 6 25 8 7 46
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 19 32 10 7 68
2010–2011
Administratives 11 4 8 6 29
Refus 6 11 10** 12 39
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 17 16 18 18 69

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

* * En 2010-2011, le Commissariat a commencé à classer différemment les suites données aux plaintes. Il y a eu une plainte classée dans la catégorie Diverses en 2009-2010, dont le dossier a été fermé en 2010-2011, et une plainte pour refus en 2010-2011 classée dans la catégorie Réglées, qui comprend les plaintes au sujet d'erreurs mineures, réglées à la satisfaction de la commissaire sans qu'elle émette de recommandation. Pour les besoins du rapport, ces plaintes ont été classées dans la catégorie Abandonnées.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

La GRC peut améliorer davantage son rendement, en mettant à profit les gains réalisés en 2010-2011, pour élever sa note au-delà du « C » qu'elle reçoit cette année et qu'elle a aussi reçue en 2008-2009.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le ministre de la Sécurité publique, qui est responsable de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, fasse preuve de leadership à l'échelle de l'institution pour promouvoir une culture de conformité et améliorer le rendement de l'institution en matière d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : En tant que ministre de la Sécurité publique, je suis d'accord sur cette recommandation. Le rendement et les progrès constants du Programme d'accès à l'information et de protection de la vie privée (AIPRP) de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) ces dernières années témoignent de façon éloquente de mon engagement à voir à ce que la GRC continue de faire sien et de promouvoir l'esprit de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Dans les mois à venir, j'écrirai à tous les administrateurs généraux du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique pour leur rappeler l'importance du programme d'AIPRP et la nécessité de favoriser une culture de conformité.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada maintienne les ressources dont elle a besoin pour s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, et notamment pour offrir de la formation à l'échelle de l'organisation.

RÉPONSE : La GRC est d'accord sur cette recommandation . La GRC, y compris la Sous-direction de l'AIPRP, n'échappera pas aux réductions, aux économies d'échelle et aux compressions de programme annoncées dans le budget de 2012 pour l'ensemble du gouvernement. Malgré tout, elle demeure engagée à se conformer aux obligations que lui impose la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. En mars 2010, elle a mené un examen interne qui a débouché sur une rationalisation des processus, l'adoption d'un logiciel moderne et un personnel d'expérience et stable. Cela lui a permis de réaliser un délai moyen de 20 jours pour le traitement des demandes. En outre, la GRC a réduit son taux de présomption de refus et le nombre de plaintes au Commissariat à l'information. La GRC a mis en œuvre chacune des trois recommandations de 2008-2009 du Commissariat et est toujours en quête de moyens d'améliorer son rendement.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ramène son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : La GRC est d'accord sur cette recommandation. En 2010-2011, le taux de présomption de refus de la GRC est passé de 18,3 % à 12,6 %. La GRC a mis des ressources et des efforts considérables dans son programme d'AIPRP ces dernières années. Mais la GRC, y compris la Sous-direction de l'AIPRP, n'échappera pas aux réductions, aux économies d'échelle et aux compressions de programme annoncées dans le budget 2012 pour l'ensemble du gouvernement. La GRC continuera de travailler à l'amélioration de ses taux de conformité.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'elle fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : La GRC est d'accord sur cette recommandation. Dans un souci de transparence et de responsabilisation pour les résultats opérationnels en matière d'AIPRP, la GRC maintient son engagement de faire rapport chaque année au Parlement. Dans le cadre de ce rapport annuel, la GRC fera rapport des progrès qu'elle fera dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations.