Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Public Safety Canada

Public Safety Canada coordinates and supports the efforts of federal organizations to ensure national security and the safety of Canadians. It works with various stakeholders on issues of emergency management, national security, law enforcement, crime prevention and the protection of Canada's borders.

Assessment: B

(Received a C in 2008–2009)

  • Public Safety Canada's performance was above average in 2010–2011, and was an improvement over that from 2008–2009, even in the face of 27 percent more requests. The institution's deemed refusal rate was 5.8 percent and the average time to complete a request was 70 days.
  • Access officials reported that they continued to struggle with a lack of awareness in program areas of their obligations under the Access to Information Act and their importance. In contrast, the high staff turnover at Public Safety Canada that affected access operations in 2008–2009 seemed to have abated in 2010–2011.
  • Public Safety Canada satisfactorily implemented two of the Office of the Information Commissioner's (OIC) five 2008–2009 recommendations. It did not amend its delegation order or develop a training plan for access staff. However, the OIC is more concerned that the combination of a growing request volume and possible budget cuts not jeopardize those gains. The OIC has issued a recommendation to address this, and a number of others to prompt improved performance (2010-2011 Recommendations).

Quick facts

2008–2009

2010–2011

Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 59 28
Number of new requests 235 298
Number of requests completed 241 271
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 28,695 32,616
Deemed refusal rate 8.5%* 5.8%*
Average number of days to complete a request 75 70
Number of consultation requests received 198 223
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 18 21
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 4** 6**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 6.5 8.6
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Delegation order.............................. Did not meet expectations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Consultations................................... Did not meet expectations

Training............................................. Did not meet expectations

Extension notices............................................ Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's initial response, go here.

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Public Safety Canada's performance was above average in 2010–2011, and an improvement from 2008–2009, even in the face of 27 percent more requests. The institution's deemed refusal rate was 5.8 percent, and the average time to complete a request was 70 days.

The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) notes Public Safety Canada's increasing use of time extensions in 2010–2011, and is particularly concerned about the sharp increase in those for more than 180 days.

Consultations with certain institutions continue to be a source of delay, although Public Safety Canada reports that, overall, the process is working efficiently. When consultations take too long, Public Safety Canada continues to invoke its own discretionary exemptions and release the documents, which the OIC supports as a good practice.

Internally, the quality of records and recommendations submitted by certain program areas has caused difficulty, access officials reported, and has resulted in extensive discussions between officials in those areas and access staff. Public Safety Canada reported that introducing a "statement of completeness" into the process has helped immensely. Director general-level officials must attest to a thorough search, completeness of the records provided, and the rationale for any exemptions.

The OIC suggests that further training of employees in program areas could lead to greater awareness of access obligations: currently, the only program areas to receive training are those that request it. The access office does not have a dedicated resource to provide training; instead, this duty is shared between the coordinator and two other senior staff. Although the OIC had recommended that Public Safety Canada develop an employee training plan, the institution reports that there has not been an overwhelming need to train access staff in the last two years. Employees do, however, participate in Treasury Board Secretariat learning events, and some access staff are seeking certification through the University of Alberta's Information Access and Protection of Privacy program.

The problem of high staff turnover, reported by Public Safety Canada in the past, seemed to have abated in 2010–2011, and the access unit was fully staffed with 8.6 full-time equivalents, an increase from 6.5 in 2008–2009. Further, a number of the analysts had a minimum of five years of experience in the field. Public Safety Canada reported that having a highly supportive assistant deputy minister, director general and director contributed to the stability of the unit.

Access staff said they are concerned that the current level of compliance will be difficult to maintain, since the number of requests continues to increase and operating budgets are being cut.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued five recommendations to Public Safety Canada with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's initial response, go here.)

  1. Despite the OIC's recommendation to revise the delegation order to provide the access to information coordinator with greater autonomy, the current delegation order stands. However, access officials reported increased awareness that having assistant deputy ministers review thousands of pages of documents is not an efficient use of their time. This may reportedly lead to the delegation order's being changed in the future. In the OIC's experience, strong delegation orders that are not diffuse tend to lead to the best results. However, Public Safety Canada access officials have said their delegation order does not cause delays in the access process, a fact borne out by the institution's performance in 2010–2011.
  2. With its deemed refusal rate decreasing to 5.8 percent, Public Safety Canada is close to full compliance with the requirements of the Access to Information Act.
  3. Public Safety Canada did not, as per the OIC's recommendation, develop formal protocols regarding consultations with other institutions, but this does not appear to be impeding the processing of requests.
  4. Public Safety Canada did not follow the OIC's recommendation to implement a training plan for access staff. However, it does maintain a stable employee training program, which is largely focused outside of the access office.
  5. In 2010–2011, Public Safety Canada submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices of extensions taken for more than 30 days, which meets the OIC's standard for acceptable performance in this area.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Public Safety Canada's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw a 12-percent increase in its workload. A 53-percent decrease in requests carried over into 2010–2011 was offset by 27 percent more new requests and 13 percent more consultation requests than in 2008–2009. The number of pages reviewed for completed requests increased by 14 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Public Safety Canada completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act remained the same, at 95 percent, although the proportion of requests completed within 30 days decreased by two percentage points, from 74 percent in 2008–2009 to 72 percent in 2010–2011. A small number of requests were completed late: 10 requests in 2008–2009 and 11 in 2010–2011.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Public Safety Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Public Safety Canada submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that Public Safety Canada improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, Public Safety Canada submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices. The OIC notes Public Safety Canada's increasing use of time extensions in 2010–2011, and is particularly concerned about the sharp increase in those for more than 180 days.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Public Safety Canada in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Public Safety Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Public Safety Canada's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Overall, the number of complaints against Public Safety Canada in 2010–2011 increased by 16 percent from 2008–2009, although the number of both deemed refusal complaints and time extension complaints decreased slightly.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Public Safety Canada in each of three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Although the number of complaints registered with the OIC decreased significantly in 2009–2010, compared to the year before, it rose again in 2010–2011 to exceed the number received in 2008–2009.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 3 2 8 0 13
Refusals 1 1 1 1 4
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 4 4 9 1 18
2009–2010
Administrative 1 3 0 0 4
Refusals 0 2 0 1 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 5 0 1 7
2010–2011
Administrative 5 2 4 2 13
Refusals 1 1 3 2 7
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 6 3 7 5 21

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

Public Safety Canada's improvement could be jeopardized by budget cuts, particularly since the number of requests the institution receives continues to increase.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada maintain the resourcing levels needed to comply with its obligations under the Access to Information Act.

Response: Public Safety Canada will resource the function appropriately.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada amend its delegation order, as recommended in 2008–2009.

RESPONSE: The Minister of Public Safety made a new delegation order on March 8, 2012, which is now in effect. We informed the Office of the Information Commissioner of the change and provided a copy of the new order on March 9, 2012.

The new delegation order gives full authority for the application of exemptions to the ATIP Coordinator, thereby streamlining the approval process, as recommended by the Office of the Information Commissioner.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada review and document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

RESPONSE: Public Safety Canada must take extensions in order to consult with other government departments and other governments, given the nature of our work. Public Safety Canada takes reasonable and legitimate extensions in order to do so. The department receives periodic notices from other institutions informing us of how long those departments require to process consultations. In cases where no notice has been received, extensions are taken based on the average number of days an institution has historically required, or by contacting the department to ask. Public Safety Canada will create a guide for the use of extensions by the end of fiscal year 2012–2013 to document the current processes.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Public Safety Canada report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: Public Safety Canada agrees to report on progress in implementing the recommendations of the Office of the Information Commissioner in its 2011–2012 Annual Report to Parliament on the Administration of the Access to Information Act.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sécurité publique Canada

Sécurité publique Canada coordonne et soutient les efforts des organismes fédéraux responsables de la sécurité nationale et de la sécurité des Canadiens. Il collabore avec différents intervenants sur les questions de gestion d'urgences, de sécurité nationale, d'application de la loi, de prévention du crime et de protection des frontières du Canada.

Évaluation : B

(C en 2008-2009)

  • Sécurité publique Canada a connu en 2010-2011 un rendement supérieur à la moyenne, ce qui constituait une amélioration par rapport à 2008-2009, malgré une augmentation de 27 % du nombre de demandes. Le taux de présomption de refus de l'institution a été de 5,8 %, et le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande de 70 jours.
  • Les responsables de l'accès ont dit qu'ils ont encore de la difficulté à sensibiliser les secteurs de programme à leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à leur importance. Par contre, le fort roulement de personnel à Sécurité publique Canada, qui a nui aux opérations d'accès en 2008-2009, a semblé ralentir en 2010-2011.
  • Sécurité publique Canada a répondu de manière satisfaisante à deux des cinq recommandations de 2008-2009 du Commissariat à l'information. Par contre, il n'a pas modifié son ordonnance de délégation ni élaboré un plan de formation pour le personnel de l'accès à l'information. Cependant, le Commissariat craint davantage que la combinaison de l'augmentation du volume des demandes et des compressions budgétaires possibles compromettent ces gains. Le Commissariat a émis une recommandation sur ce point, et sur plusieurs autres, pour inciter l'institution à améliorer son rendement davantage (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 59 28
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 235 298
Nombre de demandes traitées 241 271
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 28 695 32 616
Taux de présomption de refus 8,5 %* 5,8 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 75 70
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 198 223
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 18 21
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 4** 6**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 6,5 8,6
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ordonnance de délégation........................ N'a pas répondu aux attentes

Taux de présomption de refus........................... A répondu aux attentes

Consultations......................................................... N'a pas répondu aux attentes

Formation................................................................. N'a pas répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................. A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse initiale de l'institution, voir .

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Sécurité publique Canada a connu un rendement supérieur à la moyenne en 2010-2011, ce qui constituait une amélioration par rapport à 2008-2009, malgré une augmentation de 27 % du nombre de demandes. Le taux de présomption de refus de l'institution a été de 5,8 %, et le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande de 70 jours.

Le Commissariat à l'information note que Sécurité publique Canada a fait une plus grande utilisation des prorogations de délai en 2010-2011, et s'inquiète particulièrement de la nette augmentation du nombre de ses prorogations de plus de 180 jours.

Les consultations avec certaines institutions demeurent une cause de retard, mais Sécurité publique Canada indique que, dans l'ensemble, le processus est efficient. Lorsque les consultations prennent trop de temps, Sécurité publique Canada continue d'invoquer ses exceptions discrétionnaires et de communiquer les documents, ce que le Commissariat considère comme une bonne pratique.

À l'interne, la qualité des documents et des recommandations soumis par certains secteurs de programme pose problème, ont noté les responsables de l'accès, ce qui a donné lieu à de longues discussions entre les responsables de ces secteurs et le personnel de l'accès. Sécurité publique Canada a dit que l'introduction d'une « attestation de conformité » dans le processus a beaucoup aidé. Des fonctionnaires du niveau de directeur général doivent attester de la rigueur de la recherche, l'exhaustivité des documents fournis et la raison des exceptions.

Le Commissariat est d'avis qu'une formation plus poussée du personnel des secteurs de programme pourrait mener à une plus grande sensibilisation aux obligations en matière d'accès. À l'heure actuelle, les seuls secteurs de programme à recevoir de la formation sont ceux qui la demandent. Le bureau d'accès n'a pas de personne spécialisée pour offrir de la formation; la tâche est plutôt partagée entre la coordonnatrice et deux autres employés de niveau supérieur. Bien que le Commissariat ait recommandé que Sécurité publique Canada se donne un plan de formation du personnel, l'institution indique qu'il n'y a pas eu un besoin criant de former le personnel d'accès au cours des deux dernières années. Par contre, les employés participent aux activités d'apprentissage du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et certains membres du personnel d'accès désirent obtenir la certification par le programme d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels de l'Université de l'Alberta.

Le problème du roulement élevé de personnel, dont Sécurité publique Canada a déjà fait état par le passé, semble s'être résorbé en 2010-2011, et le service de l'accès avait un effectif complet de 8,6 équivalents temps plein, contre 6,5 en 2008-2009. De plus, un certain nombre d'analystes comptaient un minimum de cinq ans d'expérience dans le domaine. Sécurité publique Canada a noté que le fait d'avoir l'appui solide du sous-ministre adjoint, du directeur général et de la directrice a contribué à la stabilité du bureau.

Les agents d'accès ont dit craindre que le niveau actuel de conformité soit difficile à maintenir, puisque le nombre de demandes continue d'augmenter et que les budgets de fonctionnement se diminuent.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a émis cinq recommandations à Sécurité publique Canada dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument la suite que l'institution y a donnée. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse de l'institution, voir.)

  1. Malgré la recommandation du Commissariat de réviser l'ordonnance de délégation pour donner une plus grande autonomie à la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information, la même ordonnance de délégation est toujours en vigueur. Cependant, les responsables de l'accès ont remarqué être plus conscients qu'obliger les sous-ministres adjoints à examiner des milliers de pages de documents n'est pas une utilisation efficiente de leur temps. Cela pourrait amener à modifier l'ordonnance de délégation plus tard. Selon l'expérience du Commissariat, les bonnes ordonnances de délégation qui ne sont pas vagues ont tendance à donner les meilleurs résultats. Cependant, les responsables de l'accès à Sécurité publique Canada ont noté que leur ordonnance de délégation ne retarde pas le processus d'accès, comme il ressort d'ailleurs du rendement de l'institution pour 2010-2011.
  2. Ayant ramené son taux de présomption de refus à 5,8 %, Sécurité publique Canada se conforme à peu de choses près aux exigences de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
  3. Sécurité publique Canada n'a pas, contrairement à la recommandation du Commissariat, élaboré de protocoles officiels concernant les consultations avec les autres institutions, mais cela ne semble pas nuire au traitement des demandes.
  4. Sécurité publique Canada n'a pas suivi la recommandation du Commissariat d'instaurer un plan de formation pour le personnel d'accès. Cependant, il maintient un programme continu de formation du personnel, qui se trouve essentiellement en dehors du bureau d'accès.
  5. En 2010-2011, Sécurité publique Canada a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours, ce qui est la norme du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable sur ce point.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Sécurité publique Canada lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail augmenter de 12 %. Une diminution de 53 % du nombre de demandes reportées en 2010-2011 a été effacée par des augmentations de 27 % du nombre de nouvelles demandes et de 13 % du nombre de demandes de consultation par rapport à 2008-2009. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées a augmenté de 14 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que Sécurité publique Canada a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est demeurée la même, à 95 %, même si la proportion de demandes traitées dans les 30 jours a diminué de deux points, passant de 74 % en 2008-2009 à 72 % en 2010-2011. Un petit nombre de demandes ont été traitées en retard : 10 demandes en 2008-2009 et 11 en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que Sécurité publique Canada a prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Sécurité publique Canada a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, et le Commissariat a alors recommandé que Sécurité publique Canada améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, Sécurité publique Canada a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis. Le Commissariat note que Sécurité publique Canada a accru l'utilisation des prorogations de délai en 2010-2011, et s'inquiète particulièrement de l'augmentation marquée du nombre de prorogations de plus de 180 jours.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Sécurité publique Canada lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont Sécurité publique Canada a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par Sécurité publique Canada des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Au total, le nombre de plaintes contre Sécurité publique Canada en 2010-2011 a augmenté de 16 % par rapport à 2008-2009, malgré une légère diminution du nombre de plaintes pour présomption de refus et prorogation de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Sécurité publique Canada dans chacun des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Après une nette diminution en 2009-2010 comparativement à l'année précédente, le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat a augmenté de nouveau en 2010-2011, pour dépasser le nombre de plaintes reçues en 2008-2009.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 3 2 8 0 13
Refus 1 1 1 1 4
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 4 4 9 1 18
2009-2010
Administratives 1 3 0 0 4
Refus 0 2 0 1 3
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 5 0 1 7
2010–2011
Administratives 5 2 4 2 13
Refus 1 1 3 2 7
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 1 1
Total 6 3 7 5 21

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

Sécurité publique Canada risque de voir les compressions budgétaires compromettre ses améliorations, particulièrement puisque le nombre de demandes que reçoit l'institution continue de croître.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada maintienne les niveaux de ressources nécessaires pour s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Sécurité publique Canada dégagera les ressources appropriées pour la fonction.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada modifie son ordonnance de délégation, selon la recommandation de 2008-2009.

RÉPONSE : Le 8 mars 2012, le ministre de la Sécurité publique a signé une nouvelle ordonnance de délégation, qui est maintenant en vigueur. Nous avons signalé le changement au Commissariat à l'information et lui avons remis une copie de la nouvelle ordonnance le 9 mars 2012.

La nouvelle ordonnance de délégation donne pleins pouvoirs à la coordonnatrice de l'AIPRP pour l'application d'exceptions, d'où la rationalisation du processus des approbations, dans le sens de la recommandation du Commissariat à l'information.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada examine et documente les critères qu'il utilise pour les prorogations de délai afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient raisonnables et légitimes.

RÉPONSE : Sécurité publique Canada doit prendre des prorogations pour consulter d'autres ministères et d'autres gouvernements, étant donné la nature de son travail. Sécurité publique Canada prend des prorogations raisonnables et légitimes à cette fin. Le Ministère reçoit des avis périodiques d'autres institutions qui l'informent du temps dont elles auront besoin pour traiter les consultations. Lorsqu'il ne reçoit pas d'avis, il établit les prorogations en fonction du nombre moyen de jours dont l'institution a eu besoin par le passé, ou en entrant en contact avec le ministère concerné. Sécurité publique Canada produira un guide pour l'utilisation des prorogations d'ici la fin de l'exercice 2012-2013 afin de documenter les processus actuels.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Sécurité publique Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Sécurité publique Canada est d'accord pour faire rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Commissariat à l'information dans son Rapport annuel 2011-2012 au Parlement sur l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.