Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Natural Resources Canada

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) encourages innovation and expertise in earth sciences, forestry, energy and minerals, and metals to ensure responsible and sustainable development of Canada's natural resources.

Assessment: C

(Received an F in 2008–2009)

  • NRCan improved its performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 13.2 percent, and its average time to complete a request was 59 days. NRCan completed all the requests it received between September 2010 and March 2011 on time, and closed all 24 of the long-standing requests in its backlog.
  • NRCan attributed this improved performance to its Re-engineering ATIP initiative, launched in September 2010. This multi-faceted initiative involved, among other things, revising the delegation order so that the coordinator is now the only person who may act for the minister with regard to exemptions and other access matters.
  • NRCan satisfactorily implemented all five of the Office of the Information Commissioner's (OIC) 2008–2009 recommendations. The OIC is issuing six new recommendations to prompt further performance improvement (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 72 41
Number of new requests 365 354
Number of requests completed 370 363
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 64,462 73,774
Deemed refusal rate 22.4%* 13.2%*
Average number of days to complete a request 65 59
Number of consultation requests received 170 147
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 11 5
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 1** 1**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 5.6 7.0
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Delegation order.............................................. Met expectations

Resources......................................................... Met expectations

Average completion time............................... Met expectations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Extension notices............................................ Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution's initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here .

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) improved its performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 13.2 percent, and its average time to complete a request was 59 days. NRCan completed all the requests it received between September 2010 and March 2011 on time, and closed all 24 of the long-standing requests in its backlog.

NRCan launched its Re-engineering ATIP initiative in September 2010. This multi-faceted initiative involved, importantly, revising the delegation order so that the coordinator is now the only person who may act for the minister with regard to exemptions and other access matters.

Ultimately, the plan resulted in increased internal accountability, brought attention to the access function across the institution, and focused the attention of NRCan's leadership on the need to improve after NRCan received a failing grade on the 2008–2009 report card. An institution-wide, director general-level committee now provides executive oversight for access operations. Chaired by the Director General, Corporate Secretariat and Parliamentary Affairs Branch, the committee's specific objective is to improve NRCan's average completion time for requests. The committee also considers issues related to institutional access policy and processing procedures, training and sharing of best practices across the institution. Further, the deputy minister identified improving access performance as a corporate priority for 2010–2011. As a result, access performance measures were added to the performance management agreements of NRCan executives.    

The access office has also seen an increase in resources. The number of full-time equivalents grew from 5.6 in 2008–2009 to 7 in 2010–2011, although there is funding available for 12 positions. There has been a renewed emphasis on training, which is delivered to a variety of staff, including directors and program managers, and has served to reinforce the re-engineering program. NRCan reports that software tools continue to present significant challenges for officers and managers, which has resulted in inefficiencies and eroded confidence in the accuracy of software-generated reports. However, the office has invested in a new system for processing and redacting records, which it hopes will lead to efficiencies and better reporting accuracy. There were also plans to renovate and expand office space in December 2011.

NRCan has observed a general improvement in the time required for consultations. However, the prolonged time taken by certain institutions to turn the consultation requests around continues to impact NRCan's processing times.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued five recommendations to NRCan with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution's response and the October 2010 progress report, go here.)

  1. NRCan amended the delegation order, as per the OIC's recommendation, such that only the coordinator has delegated authority for exemptions and other access matters. This is the optimal arrangement in the OIC's view.
  2. NRCan allocated new resources to the ATIP program, including staff, equipment and upgraded office space.
  3. As recommended by the OIC, NRCan reduced its average completion time, and has struck a director-general committee to strive for further improvement.
  4. NRCan reduced its deemed refusal rate by 41 percent from 2008–2009.
  5. NRCan met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in terms of submitting the required notices of extensions of longer than 30 days, as per the OIC's recommendation.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Natural Resources Canada's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw an 11-percent decrease in its workload. This was due to decreases in all three categories of incoming work: new requests (3 percent), requests carried over from the previous fiscal year (43 percent) and consultation requests (14 percent). The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 14 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act rose from 68 percent to 91 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 111 requests in 2008–2009 and 28 in 2010–2011. In addition to decreasing its pool of overdue requests, NRCan completed them more quickly, finishing 79 percent within 30 days after the deadline in 2010–2011, compared to 54 percent in 2008–2009.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) reported to have taken in 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. NRCan submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that NRCan improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, NRCan submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices. The OIC notes the increased number of extensions NRCan took in 2010–2011.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that NRCan delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about NRCan's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Overall, the number of complaints of which NRCan was the subject decreased by 55 percent from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011. There were no complaints about deemed refusals in 2010–2011, and the number of time extension complaints dropped by half from 2008–2009.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

* Resolved complaints are those that the Office of the Information Commissioner finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Natural Resources Canada in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. The number of complaints decreased by more than half in 2010–2011 from the level in the two previous reporting periods.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 1 4 1 0 6
Refusals 0 0 1 2 3
Cabinet confidences 0 2 0 0 2
Total 1 6 2 2 11
2009–2010
Administrative 2 2 1 0 5
Refusals 1 3 0 1 5
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 3 6 1 1 11
2010–2011
Administrative 1 0 1 1 3
Refusals 0 0 0 2 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 0 1 3 5

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

Although NRCan's performance was better in 2010–2011 than it was in 2008–2009, a "C" grade is tenuous and indicates that there is still room for improvement. As a result, the OIC is issuing the following recommendations.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Minister of Natural Resources and the Deputy Minister of Natural Resources Canada demonstrate leadership in overseeing the progress and compliance with the Access to Information Act of the access to information office.

RESPONSE: Natural Resources Canada ATIP officials continue to meet weekly with Minister's staff to brief on the division's progress and compliance with the Access to Information Act. The Deputy Minister and the senior level cadre are briefed weekly at the DM's Operations Committee by the ADM of the branch responsible for access to information via the division's weekly report—"ATI at a Glance."   

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada set out fixed time frames within which consulted institutions have an opportunity to provide their severing recommendations. Failing that, Natural Resources Canada, as the government institution in receipt of the request, would determine for itself any applicable exemptions.

RESPONSE: NRCan's Access to Information division will continue to look at innovative approaches to working with colleagues from other government departments to improve performance as it relates to the timeliness of consultations. Fixed timelines will continue to be a part of the consultation process.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada review and document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

RESPONSE: NRCan ATIP officials will continue to ensure that reasonable and legitimate criteria are used when determining the need for extensions. In particular, the ATIP division is disciplined in ensuring the new TBS directives are consistently applied in all cases.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: NRCan has improved its deemed refusal rate significantly since its last reporting period. NRCan will maintain the new processes that have contributed to this success and continue to look for new ways of doing business to ensure its compliance rate improves. Our current calculations for fiscal year 2011–2012 demonstrate a 2% deemed refusal rate.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada continue to strive to reduce its average completion time.

RESPONSE: Over and above implementation of all of the OIC 2008–2009 report card recommendations, NRCan has put a number of mechanisms in place that will assist in its goal to reduce its average completion time. These include building the proper governance of ATIP processing via the DG ATIP Committee, weekly briefings with the Minister's Office, weekly briefings to the department's Senior Management Team at the Deputy Minister's weekly Operations Committee, performance measures in executive performance agreements, the introduction of e-tools to facilitate processing, improved tracking mechanisms, and state of the art facilities for the ATIP team, to name a few.

6. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Natural Resources Canada report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: NRCan will address the progress on implementing these recommendations in the upcoming annual report to Parliament on access to information.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ressources naturelles Canada

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) encourage l'innovation et l'expertise dans les domaines des sciences de la terre, de la foresterie, de l'énergie, ainsi que des minéraux et des métaux, afin d'assurer le développement responsable et durable des ressources naturelles du Canada.

Évaluation : C

(F en 2008-2009)

  • RNCan a amélioré son rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 13,2 % et le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande de 59 jours. RNCan a traité à temps toutes les demandes qu'il a reçues entre septembre 2010 et mars 2011, et a fermé la totalité des 24 dossiers de longue date contenus dans ses arriérés.
  • RNCan a attribué cette amélioration de rendement à son initiative de réingénierie de l'AIPRP lancée en septembre 2010. Cette initiative aux aspects multiples a comporté, entre autres choses, la révision de l'ordonnance de délégation de sorte que le coordonnateur est maintenant la seule personne qui peut agir pour le ministre en ce qui a trait aux exclusions et aux autres questions d'accès.
  • RNCan a donné une suite satisfaisante à chacune des cinq recommandations de 2008-2009 du Commissariat à l'information. Le Commissariat émet six nouvelles recommandations pour inciter l'institution à améliorer son rendement davantage (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 72 41
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 365 354
Nombre de demandes traitées 370 363
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 64 462 73 774
Taux de présomption de refus 22,4 %* 13,2 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 65 59
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 170 147
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 11 5
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 1** 1**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 5,6 7,0
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ordonnance de délégation.................................... A répondu aux attentes

Ressources........................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Délai moyen de traitement.................................... A répondu aux attentes

Taux de présomption de refus........................... A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................. A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que de la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.

* Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l'information pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) a amélioré son rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 13,2 % et son délai moyen de traitement d'une demande de 59 jours. RNCan a traité à temps toutes les demandes qu'il a reçues entre septembre 2010 et mars 2011, et a fermé la totalité des 24 dossiers de longue date contenus dans ses arriérés.

RNCan a lancé son initiative de réingénierie de l'AIPRP en septembre 2010. Cette initiative aux aspects multiples a comporté, chose très importante, la révision de l'ordonnance de délégation de sorte que le coordonnateur est maintenant la seule personne qui peut agir pour le ministre en ce qui a trait aux exclusions et aux autres questions d'accès.

En définitive, le plan a donné lieu à un accroissement de la responsabilisation interne, attiré l'attention sur la fonction d'accès à l'échelle de l'institution, et concentré l'attention des dirigeants de RNCan sur la nécessité de s'améliorer après la réception d'une note d'échec dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Un comité de directeurs généraux, à l'échelle de l'institution, assure maintenant la supervision des opérations d'accès. Sous la présidence de la directrice générale, Direction du secrétariat ministériel et des affaires parlementaires, le comité a pour objectif particulier d'abréger le délai moyen de traitement des demandes à RNCan. Le comité étudie aussi les questions concernant la politique d'accès et les procédures de traitement de l'institution, la formation et le partage des pratiques exemplaires à l'échelle de l'institution. En outre, le sous-ministre a fait du rendement en matière d'accès une priorité du Ministère pour 2010-2011. Par conséquent, des mesures de rendement en matière d'accès ont été ajoutées aux ententes de gestion du rendement des cadres supérieurs de RNCan.

Le bureau d'accès a aussi vu ses ressources augmenter. Le nombre d'équivalents temps plein est passé de 5,6 en 2008-2009 à 7 en 2010-2011, mais il y a du financement disponible pour 12 postes. L'institution a mis un accent renouvelé sur la formation, qui est donnée à divers membres du personnel, y compris des directeurs et des gestionnaires de programme, et qui a contribué à renforcer le programme de réingénierie. RNCan dit que les outils logiciels présentent encore d'importants défis pour les agents et les gestionnaires, ce qui a entraîné des pertes d'efficacité et effrite la confiance dans l'exactitude des rapports informatiques. Cependant, le bureau a investi dans un nouveau système pour le traitement des documents et les prélèvements, ce qui, espère-t-il, débouchera sur de nouvelles efficiences et donnera des rapports plus exacts. L'institution a aussi des plans de rénovation et d'expansion des bureaux pour décembre 2011.

RNCan a observé une amélioration générale du délai requis pour les consultations. Cependant, le long délai que prennent certaines institutions pour répondre aux demandes de consultation continue de se répercuter sur les délais de traitement de RNCan.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a émis cinq recommandations à RNCan dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument la suite que l'institution y a donnée. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.)

  1. RNCan a modifié l'ordonnance de délégation, selon la recommandation du Commissariat, de sorte que seul le coordonnateur a le pouvoir délégué pour les exclusions et les autres questions d'accès. De l'avis du Commissariat, c'est la formule optimale.
  2. RNCan a affecté de nouvelles ressources au programme d'AIPRP, y compris du personnel, du matériel et des bureaux rénovés.
  3. Selon la recommandation du Commissariat, RNCan a abrégé son délai moyen de traitement, et a mis sur pied un comité de directeurs généraux chargé de proposer d'autres améliorations.
  4. RNCan a diminué son taux de présomption de refus de 41 % depuis 2008-2009.
  5. RNCan s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable pour ce qui est de l'envoi des avis requis de prorogation de plus de 90 jours, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Ressources naturelles Canada pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail diminuer de 11 %. Cette diminution vient de baisses dans chacune des trois catégories de demandes : nouvelles demandes (3 %), demandes reportées de l'exercice précédent (43 %) et demandes de consultation (14 %). Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a augmenté de 14 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 68 % à 91 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 111 demandes en 2008-2009 et 28 en 2010-2011. RNCan a non seulement diminué son inventaire de demandes en retard, mais les a traitées plus rapidement, fermant ainsi 79 % des dossiers dans les 30 jours après l'échéance en 2010-2011, comparativement à 54 % en 2008-2009.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. RNCan a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, et le Commissariat a alors recommandé que RNCan améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, RNCan a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis. Le Commissariat note l'augmentation du nombre de prorogations que RNCan a prises en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) dans les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont RNCan a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par RNCan des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Au total, le nombre de plaintes dont RNCan a fait l'objet a diminué de 55 % de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011. Il n'y a pas eu de plaintes pour présomption de refus en 2010-2011, et le nombre de plaintes pour prorogation de délai a diminué de moitié par rapport à 2008-2009.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Ressources naturelles Canada lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Le nombre de plaintes a diminué de plus de moitié en 2010-2011 par rapport au niveau des deux périodes de référence précédentes.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 1 4 1 0 6
Refus 0 0 1 2 3
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 2 0 0 2
Total 1 6 2 2 11
2009-2010
Administratives 2 2 1 0 5
Refus 1 3 0 1 5
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 3 6 1 1 11
2010–2011
Administratives 1 0 1 1 3
Refus 0 0 0 2 2
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 0 1 3 5

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

RNCan a connu un meilleur rendement en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009, mais la note « C » est faible et indique qu'il y a encore des améliorations à faire. Par conséquent, le Commissariat émet les recommandations suivantes.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le ministre des Ressources naturelles et le sous-ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada fassent preuve de leadership dans la surveillance des progrès et du respect de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information au bureau de l'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Les responsables de l'AIPRP à Ressources naturelles Canada poursuivent leurs réunions hebdomadaires avec le personnel du ministre pour le mettre au courant des progrès que fait la division et de la façon dont elle se conforme à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le sous-ministre et les cadres de niveau supérieur sont informés hebdomadairement au Comité des opérations du SM par le SMA de la direction responsable de l'accès à l'information, par le biais du rapport hebdomadaire de la division intitulé : « Aperçu de l'AI ».

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada impose des délais fixes à l'intérieur desquels les institutions consultées ont la possibilité de recommander des prélèvements, à défaut de quoi Ressources naturelles Canada, en tant qu'institution fédérale ayant reçu la demande, déciderait lui-même des exceptions applicables.

RÉPONSE : La division de l'accès à l'information de RNCan poursuivra sa recherche d'approches innovatrices de collaboration avec les collègues des autres ministères pour l'amélioration de son rendement en ce qui a trait à la rapidité des consultations. Le processus de consultation restera soumis à des échéanciers fixes.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada examine et documente les critères qu'il utilise pour les prorogations de délai afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient raisonnables et légitimes.

RÉPONSE : Les fonctionnaires de l'AIPRP de RNCan continueront de veiller à l'application de critères raisonnables et légitimes pour établir le besoin de prorogations. En particulier, la division de l'AIPRP veillera à appliquer les nouvelles directives du SCT de façon convergente dans tous les cas.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada ramène son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : RNCan a amélioré considérablement son taux de présomption de refus depuis sa dernière période de référence. RNCan maintiendra les nouveaux processus qui ont contribué à ce succès et continuera de chercher de nouveaux moyens d'opérer pour améliorer son taux de conformité. Nos calculs actuels pour l'exercice 2011-2012 font ressortir un taux de présomption de refus de 2 %.

5. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada continue de s'efforcer de ramener son délai de traitement à zéro.

RÉPONSE : En plus de la mise en œuvre de toutes les recommandations de la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009 du Commissariat, RNCan a mis en place un certain nombre de mécanismes qui l'aideront à atteindre son objectif d'abrégement de son délai moyen de traitement. Ces mécanismes comprennent la bonne gouvernance du traitement aux fins de l'AIPRP par le biais du le Comité de l'AIPRP des DG, les séances d'information hebdomadaires avec le cabinet du ministre, les séances d'information hebdomadaires de l'équipe de la haute direction du Ministère aux réunions du Comité des opérations du sous-ministre, qui se réunit chaque semaine, les mesures de rendement dans les accords sur le rendement de la haute direction, l'instauration d'outils électroniques pour faciliter le traitement, l'amélioration des mécanismes de suivi, et les installations ultramodernes pour l'équipe de l'AIPRP, pour ne nommer que ceux-là.

6. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources naturelles Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : RNCan traitera des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son prochain rapport annuel au Parlement sur l'accès à l'information.