Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Executive summary

This report is the third in a series by the Office of the Information Commissioner looking into delays in responding to access to information requests by federal institutions and assessing their overall compliance with the Access to Information Act.

To assess the subject institutions, we developed in 2008–2009 three indicators of delay and then collected statistical and contextual information to form a complete picture of institutions’ operations. The 2010–2011 sample comprised the 18 at-risk and below-average performers from the 2008–2009 report card process. Out of these, 13 improved their performance, two received the same grade and three performed worse in 2010–2011.

We also developed detailed indicators to assess institutions’ timeliness in responding to requests, and found signs of improvement. This progress, in combination with effective oversight, ongoing and adequate resources for the access function, and leadership by ministers and senior officials, bodes well for more timely responses to access requests and greater compliance with the Act.

We were encouraged that seven institutions had deemed refusal rates (requests completed late as a proportion of overall caseload) of less than 10 percent in 2010–2011, compared to just one among this same group of institutions in 2008–2009. In addition, 10 institutions significantly reduced their backlog of long-standing requests, and a number completed requests received in 2010–2011 in times approaching 30 days or fewer. Finally, while institutions were still closing only half of overdue requests in the first 30 days after the due date in 2010–2011, there were nearly one quarter fewer late requests than in 2008–2009.

During the 2008–2009 report card exercise, we identified six systemic issues (leadership, delegation orders, time extensions, consultations, resources and information/records management) as sources of chronic delay. Many of our recommendations at that time focused on these themes. Generally speaking, the institutions that significantly improved their rating for 2010–2011 were those that implemented most of those recommendations.

The overall improvement in institutions’ performance against the measures of timeliness that we have been tracking over the past three years suggests that institutions are providing more timely service to requesters and that the report cards and the follow-up by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics have had a positive effect.

Nonetheless, we are concerned about the fragile health of the access system, particularly in light of recent budget cuts. Those reductions could jeopardize the gains institutions have made, especially if the number of requests continues to climb, as it has since 2004–2005.

Given the improved performance, however, we will suspend our report card exercise until at least 2014. We will dedicate all of our investigative resources to pursuing individual complaints, in order to maximize disclosure of information. In the meantime, we have recommended that institutions report to Parliament in their annual report on access to information operations on their progress implementing our recommendations, so federal institutions can be held to account for their access to information operations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sommaire

Ce rapport est le troisième d'une série que le Commissariat à l'information consacre à l'examen des délais de réponse aux demandes d'accès à l'information dans les institutions fédérales et à l'évaluation de leur conformité globale en regard de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

En 2008-2009, pour évaluer les institutions visées, nous avions élaboré trois indicateurs de retard, puis nous avions recueilli des renseignements statistiques et contextuels pour brosser un tableau complet des opérations des institutions. L'échantillon de 2010-2011 comprenait les 18 institutions dont le rendement était à risque ou inférieur à la moyenne selon les résultats des fiches de rendement de 2008-2009. Parmi celles-ci, 13 ont amélioré leur rendement, deux ont reçu la même note et trois ont affiché un rendement inférieur en 2010-2011.

Nous avons aussi défini des indicateurs détaillés pour évaluer les délais de réponse des institutions, et observé des signes d'amélioration. Ces progrès, conjugués à une surveillance efficace, à des ressources continues et suffisantes pour la fonction d'accès et au leadership des ministres et des hauts fonctionnaires, augurent bien pour une réduction des délais de réponse aux demandes d'accès et un meilleur respect de la Loi.

Nous avons constaté avec satisfaction que sept institutions avaient des taux de présomption de refus (proportion des demandes traitées en retard par rapport à la charge de travail globale) de moins de 10 % en 2010-2011, comparativement à une seule du même groupe d'institutions en 2008-2009. De plus, 10 institutions ont diminué considérablement leur arriéré de demandes de longue date, et un certain nombre ont traité les demandes reçues en 2010-2011 dans des délais avoisinant 30 jours ou moins. Enfin, bien qu'elles aient continué de ne fermer qu'environ la moitié des demandes en retard dans les 30 jours suivants la date d'échéance en 2010-2011, les institutions avaient près d'un quart de moins de demandes en retard qu'en 2008-2009.

Pendant le processus des fiches de rendement de 2008-2009, nous avions identifié six problèmes systémiques (leadership, ordonnances de délégation, prorogations de délai, consultations, ressources ainsi que gestion de l'information et des documents) comme sources de retard chronique. Plusieurs de nos recommandations avaient alors porté sur ces thèmes. De façon générale, les institutions qui ont considérablement amélioré leur rendement en 2010-2011 sont celles qui ont donné suite à la plupart de nos recommandations.

L'amélioration d'ensemble du rendement des institutions par rapport aux indicateurs de respect des délais que nous surveillons depuis trois ans, amène à penser que les institutions assurent un service plus rapide aux demandeurs et que les fiches de rendement et le suivi effectué par le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes ont porté fruit.

Néanmoins, nous nous inquiétons de la santé fragile du système d'accès, surtout à la lumière des récentes compressions budgétaires. Ces réductions pourraient compromettre les gains que les institutions ont réalisés, surtout si le nombre de demandes continue de progresser, comme nous l'observons depuis 2004-2005.

Par contre, compte tenu de l'amélioration du rendement, nous suspendrons notre exercice des fiches de rendement jusqu'en 2014, au moins. Nous consacrerons toutes nos ressources d'enquête à l'examen des plaintes individuelles, afin de maximiser la divulgation de renseignements. Entre-temps, nous avons recommandé que les institutions fassent rapport au Parlement des progrès qu'elles font dans la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations dans leur rapport annuel sur les opérations d'accès à l'information, afin d'obliger les institutions fédérales à rendre compte de leurs opérations d'accès à l'information.