Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

National Defence

National Defence complements the role of the Canadian Forces and is responsible for policy, resources, interdepartmental coordination and international defence relations. The Canadian Forces command, control and administer all military strategy, plans and requirements.

Assessment: B

(Received a D in 2008–2009)

National Defence's performance in 2010–2011 was above average. Its deemed refusal rate was 9.2 percent, its average time to complete a request was down by nearly one quarter, and it largely eliminated its backlog. National Defence also made improvements to its access process—streamlining requests and ensuring extensions were reasonable and justified. As a result, complaints against National Defence dropped from 226 in 2008–2009 to 68 in 2010–2011.

National Defence access officials reported that clearing the backlog has freed analysts to work on current requests and avoid a recurrence of aging requests. Efforts to communicate closely with requesters proved helpful in responding to access requests effectively.

National Defence satisfactorily implemented four of the OIC's five 2008–2009 recommendations and continues to disagree with the fifth. The OIC has issued three recommendations to prompt further improvement (2010-2011 Recommendations).

QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 674 306*
Number of new requests 1,669 1,483
Number of requests completed 1,761 1,479
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 188,272 253,002
Deemed refusal rate 15.8%** 9.2%**
Average number of days to complete a request 125 95
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 49
Number of consultation requests received 440 485
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC >85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 226 68
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 111+ 17+
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 61
(36.69)++
43.94
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Time extensions: frequency.......................... Met expectations

Time extension: proper application.............. Met expectations

Record-retrieval resources........................................ Disagreed

Information Support Team............................. Met expectations

Backlog............................................................. Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution's initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here.

*    Of these requests, 233 came in right at the end of 2009–2010 but 73 were already overdue at the beginning of the new fiscal year.

** Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

+   A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

++ For 2010–2011, National Defence changed how it allocates its staff between privacy, information and shared functions. The number in parentheses shows how this would apply retroactively to 2008–2009, for comparative purposes.

Report card

National Defence's performance in 2010–2011 was above average. Its deemed refusal rate was 9.2 percent, its average time to complete a request was down by nearly one quarter, and it largely eliminated its backlog. National Defence also made improvements to its access process—streamlining requests and ensuring extensions were reasonable and justified. As a result, complaints against National Defence dropped from 226 in 2008–2009 to 68 in 2010–2011.

National Defence access officials reported that clearing the backlog has freed analysts to work on current requests and avoid a recurrence of aging requests. National Defence also made efforts to communicate closely with its requesters in order to streamline, clarify and inform them of the next steps in the access process or any stumbling blocks.

Establishing expectations from the beginning and staying in touch has proven key, access officials said, to dealing efficiently with requests, particularly those submitted in bulk. National Defence gets many such requests, with requesters commonly asking for all the records on a given subject. The coordinator reported that seeking agreement from the requester to split a request into more manageable parts can result in increased application fees but likely means the information can be released more quickly. Access staff said that even though requesters did not always like what they were being told, there was increased clarity and mutual understanding about the process.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued five recommendations to National Defence with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution's response and October 2010 progress report, go here.)

1. In 2010–2011, National Defence took only half of the extensions (584) that it did in 2008–2009 (1,192) which still amounts to about half of its caseload being extended for more than 30 days.

2. The OIC is concerned that nearly one third of the complaints it registered against National Defence in 2010–2011 pertained to extensions. National Defence applied extensions to 38 percent of its new requests but reported to have initiated tighter controls on taking extensions, requiring the responding areas of the institutions to document their rationale for recommending them. The improvements related to both recommendations 1 and 2 are satisfactory to the OIC; however, National Defence should continue to strive for improvement in these areas.

With regard to extensions for searching through large volumes of records, the access coordinator voiced a need for clear direction from Treasury Board Secretariat on what defines a high-volume request, arguing that increased complexity has rendered previous volume thresholds obsolete at National Defence. National Defence considers a request comprising 250 pages to be a large volume for requests requiring multiple consultations and internal deliberation. The coordinator did note that National Defence does review complaint resolutions from the OIC as a guide for how to administer volume thresholds.

3. The OIC and National Defence continue to disagree that an appropriation of more staff to the locales where it is experiencing delay in retrieving records would improve its compliance. In 2008–2009, National Defence argued, for example, that in Afghanistan, fighting the war was its top priority. The OIC's position was that, as Canada settled into its continued presence there, National Defence should have found a way of expediting record retrieval as a normal course of business, such as dedicated resources to this role. The OIC maintains this position, noting that other security-based institutions have embedded an access resource within security operations to manage the flow of requests in real time.

4. The Information Support Team provides expert consultation to the access office on matters of operations security in order to balance security requirements and speed of review. The OIC recommended that this extra level of review not cause additional delay. National Defence reported that team members come on site to review records, and that they have undergone training from access management to frame their justification for exemptions in ways that are consistent with the Access to Information Act.

5. National Defence had a backlog of 674 cases at the end of 2008–2009, prompting the OIC's recommendation that it must be reduced. As of November 2011, it stood at 24 files, none from earlier than 2010. Since clearing the backlog, National Defence has reported that its current inventory is far easier to deal with. Only 73 of the 306 requests National Defence carried over into 2011–2012 were overdue.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of National Defence's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw an 18-percent decrease in its workload. Notably, the number of requests carried over from the previous fiscal year fell by 55 percent. At the same time the number of new requests and consultation requests decreased, by 11 percent and 10 percent, respectively. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 34 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests National Defence completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act decreased from 96 percent to 94 percent, with a smaller proportion of time extensions (38 percent in 2010–2011 versus 52 percent in 2008–2009). The remaining requests were completed late: 51 requests in 2008–2009 and 75 in 2010–2011. While the pool of overdue requests grew by nearly one third, National Defence completed 53 percent of these requests within 30 days after the deadline in 2010–2011, compared to 38 percent in 2008–2009.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions National Defence reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. National Defence met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in this area in both 2008–2009 and 2010–2011.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against National Defence in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that National Defence delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about National Defence's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. The number of both deemed refusal complaints and time extension complaints fell between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, in line with an overall drop in complaints against National Defence over the same period.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against National Defence in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Overall, the number of complaints against National Defence has fallen by 70 percent since 2008–2009. This decrease is most striking in the administrative category (82-percent decrease), which includes deemed refusal, fee and time extension complaints.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 105 34 42 0 181
Refusals 6 21 12 3 42
Cabinet confidences 0 3 0 0 3
Total 111 58 54 3 226
2009–2010
Administrative 41 13 15 1 70
Refusals 4 8 5** 13 30
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 45 21 20 14 100
2010–2011
Administrative 13 6 8 5 32
Refusals 4 7 8 16 35
Cabinet confidences 0 0 1 0 1
Total 17 13 17 21 68

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

** The OIC began using new disposition categories in 2010–2011. There was one refusal complaint registered in 2009–2010 and closed in 2010-2011 in the new Settled category, which comprises complaints about minor errors, settled to the Commissioner's satisfaction without a finding. For statistical purposes, this complaint was placed in the Discontinued category.

2010–2011 recommendations

National Defence's improved performance in 2010–2011 prompts the OIC to recommend that National Defence take actions that, in the OIC's view, would further enhance it.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that National Defence consider alternative methods of document retrieval so that its operations are not imperiled, but requesters' rights are respected.

RESPONSE: National Defence uses various methods of document retrieval, taking both expediency and security into consideration. The current methods do not imperil operations. DND is aware of the rights of requesters and strives as much as possible to respect them. It should be noted that as National Defence information storage and retrieval technology changes over time the methods of document retrieval are reviewed and refined on an ongoing basis.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that National Defence reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: The goal of National Defence is to respond to applicants in the least time possible considering the complexity of the requests received. There are, though, extenuating circumstances outside of the control of the Department that make the achievement of a deemed refusal rate of zero extremely challenging, Some requests fall into deemed refusal while undergoing consultations with organizations not under the control of National Defence. DND tracks the average response times for consultations and attempts to take appropriate extensions based upon historical information and thus keep the applicant informed of when to reasonably expect a response. In other cases it is the nature and complexity of the request that creates the challenge. DND continues to work with applicants to appropriately scope requests in order to add clarity so that the requests may be processed in a timely manner. In the same vein, all requests are vetted upon receipt in order to ensure that they meet all of the requirements of section 6 of the Act and to determine if the applicant has submitted more than one request within the text of their correspondence. If so, multiple requests can be assigned simultaneously, resulting in the processing of more manageable concurrent requests and quicker response times.  

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that National Defence report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: National Defence will report progress in responding to the above recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Défense nationale

La Défense nationale, qui complète le rôle des Forces canadiennes, est responsable des politiques, des ressources, de la coordination interministérielle et des relations internationales en matière de défense. Les Forces canadiennes assument la responsabilité du commandement, du contrôle et de l'administration de la stratégie, des plans et des exigences militaires.

Évaluation : B

(D en 2008-2009)

  • La Défense nationale a connu un rendement supérieur à la moyenne en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 9,2 %, son délai moyen de traitement d'une demande a diminué de près d'un quart, et elle a éliminé presque tous ses arriérés. La Défense nationale a aussi amélioré son processus d'accès - en rationalisant les demandes et veillant à ce que les prorogations de délai soient raisonnables et justifiées. Le nombre de plaintes contre la Défense nationale est ainsi tombé de 226 en 2008-2009 à 68 en 2010-2011.
  • Les responsables de l'accès à la Défense nationale ont dit que l'élimination des arriérés a libéré des analystes, qui ont pu travailler aux demandes courantes et éviter la répétition des demandes de longue date. Les efforts pour communiquer plus étroitement avec les demandeurs se sont révélés un bon moyen de répondre efficacement aux demandes d'accès.
  • La Défense nationale a donné une suite satisfaisante à quatre des cinq recommandations de 2008-2009 du Commissariat et reste en désaccord sur la cinquième. Le Commissariat a émis trois recommandations pour l'inciter à s'améliorer davantage (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 674 306*
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 1 669 1 483
Nombre de demandes traitées 1 761 1 479
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 188 272 253 002
Taux de présomption de refus 15,8 %** 9,2 %**
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 125 95
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (en jours) s.o. 49
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 440 485
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat >85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 226 68
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 111+ 17+
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 61 (36,99)++ 43,94
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Prorogations de délai : fréquence.................... A répondu aux attentes

Prorogations de délai : bonne application A répondu aux attentes

Ressources pour la récupération des documents....... Pas d'accord

Équipe de soutien à l'information.................... A répondu aux attentes

Arriérés................................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir .

* Sur ces demandes, 233 sont arrivées à la toute fin de 2009-2010, mais 73 étaient déjà en retard de traitement au début du nouvel exercice.

* * Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l'information pour calculer ce taux.)

+     Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

++Pour 2010-2011, la Défense nationale a modifié la façon dont elle répartit son personnel entre la protection des renseignements personnels, l'accès à l'information et les fonctions partagées. Le nombre indiqué entre parenthèses indique comment cette méthodologie s'appliquera rétroactivement à 2008-2009, aux fins de comparaison.

Fiche de rendement

La Défense nationale a connu un rendement supérieur à la moyenne en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 9,2 %, son délai moyen de traitement d'une demande a diminué de près d'un quart, et elle a éliminé presque tous ses arriérés. La Défense nationale a aussi amélioré son processus d'accès – en rationalisant les demandes et en veillant à ce que les prorogations de délai soient raisonnables et justifiées. Grâce à ce processus, le nombre de plaintes contre la Défense nationale est tombé de 226 en 2008-2009 à 68 en 2010-2011.

Les responsables de l'accès à la Défense nationale ont dit que l'élimination des arriérés a libéré des analystes, qui ont pu travailler aux demandes courantes et éviter la répétition des vieilles demandes. La Défense nationale a aussi fait des efforts pour communiquer de manière plus étroite avec ses demandeurs afin de rationaliser et de clarifier le processus et de les informer des prochaines étapes du processus d'accès ou des questions pouvant s'avérer problématiques.

L'établissement des attentes dès le début et le contact soutenu se sont révélé la clé, selon les responsables de l'accès, pour traiter les demandes de façon efficiente, particulièrement celles présentées en grand nombre. La Défense nationale reçoit un grand nombre de ces demandes, où les demandeurs réclament tout simplement tous les documents sur un sujet donné. La coordonnatrice a dit que, lorsque le demandeur est d'accord pour le fractionnement d'une demande en parties plus faciles à gérer, cela peut entraîner une augmentation des frais de demande, mais permet probablement de communiquer l'information plus vite. Le personnel de l'accès a dit que, même si les demandeurs n'aimaient pas toujours entendre ce qu'on leur disait, le processus était plus clair et mieux compris de part et d'autre.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a émis cinq recommandations à la Défense nationale dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument la suite que l'institution y a donnée. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.)

1. En 2010-2011, la Défense nationale a pris seulement la moitié des prorogations (584) qu'elle avait prises en 2008-2009 (1 192), ce qui signifie quand même des prorogations de plus de 30 jours pour environ la moitié de sa charge de travail.

2. Le Commissariat déplore que près d'un tiers des plaintes qu'il a reçues contre la Défense nationale en 2010-2011 aient eu trait à des prorogations. La Défense nationale a appliqué des prorogations à 38 % de ses nouvelles demandes, mais a dit avoir resserré les contrôles sur la prise de prorogations, en obligeant les secteurs des institutions d'où doit venir la réponse à justifier leurs recommandations à leur égard. Le Commissariat est satisfait des améliorations reliées à ses recommandations 1 et 2; cependant, la Défense nationale devrait continuer de s'améliorer sur ces points.

Pour ce qui est des prorogations de délai pour rechercher à travers un grand nombre de documents, la coordonnatrice de l'accès a exprimé le besoin d'une directive claire du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur ce qui définit une demande exigeant de rechercher à travers un grand nombre de documents, plaidant que l'accroissement de la complexité des demandes a rendu désuets les précédents seuils à la Défense nationale. La Défense nationale considère que 250 pages représentent un grand nombre pour les demandes nécessitant des consultations multiples et des discussions internes. La coordonnatrice a noté que la Défense nationale examine les résolutions de plaintes venant du Commissariat, lui servant de guide pour l'administration des seuils.

3. Le Commissariat et la Défense nationale restent en désaccord sur l'affectation d'un plus grand nombre de personnel aux endroits où elle accuse du retard dans la récupération des documents comme moyen d'améliorer sa conformité. En 2008-2009, la Défense nationale a fait valoir, par exemple, qu'en Afghanistan la guerre est sa première priorité. La position du Commissariat est que, lorsque le Canada a confirmé sa présence dans ce coin du monde, la Défense nationale devait trouver un moyen d'accélérer la récupération des documents dans le cadre normal de ses activités, par exemple en consacrant des ressources à ce rôle. Le Commissariat maintient cette position, signalant que d'autres institutions du domaine de la sécurité ont intégré une ressource d'accès dans leurs opérations de sécurité pour gérer le cheminement des demandes en temps réel.

4. L'équipe de soutien à l'information offre leur expertise au bureau d'accès sur les questions de sécurité des opérations afin d'équilibrer la sécurité et la vitesse de l'examen. Le Commissariat a recommandé que ce niveau supplémentaire d'examen n'entraîne pas de nouveaux retards. La Défense nationale a dit que des membres de l'équipe se rendent sur place pour examiner les documents, et qu'ils ont reçu une formation de la part des gestionnaires de l'accès afin de formuler leur justification des exceptions d'une façon compatible avec la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

5. La Défense nationale avait des arriérés de 674 cas à la fin de 2008-2009, ce qui a amené le Commissariat à recommander de les réduire. En date du mois de novembre 2011, les arriérés étaient de 24 dossiers, n'incluant pas de dossier remontant plus loin qu'en 2010. Depuis l'élimination des arriérés, la Défense nationale a dit que son inventaire actuel est beaucoup plus facile à gérer. Seulement 73 des 306 demandes que la Défense nationale a reportées en 2011-2012 étaient en retard de traitement.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de la Défense nationale pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail diminuer de 18 %. En particulier, le nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice précédent a baissé de 55 %. En même temps, le nombre de nouvelles demandes et le nombre de demandes de consultation ont baissé, de 11 % et 10 %, respectivement. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a augmenté de 34 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que la Défense nationale a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information a reculé de 96 % à 94 %, grâce à une plus faible proportion de prorogations de délai (38 % en 2010-2011 comparativement à 52 % en 2008-2009). Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 51 demandes en 2008-2009 et 75 en 2010-2011. Malgré une croissance de près d'un tiers de l'inventaire des demandes en retard, la Défense nationale a traité 53 % de ces demandes dans les 30 jours après l'échéance en 2010-2011, comparativement à 38 % en 2008-2009.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que la Défense nationale a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. La Défense nationale s'est conformée à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable sur ce point, en 2008-2009 comme en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre la Défense nationale dans les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont la Défense nationale a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par la Défense nationale des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Le nombre de plaintes pour présomption de refus et de plaintes pour prorogation de délai a baissé entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, dans le sens d'une diminution globale du nombre de plaintes contre la Défense nationale sur la même période.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre la Défense nationale lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Au total, le nombre de plaintes contre la Défense nationale a chuté de 70 % depuis 2008-2009. Cette diminution est la plus frappante dans la catégorie des questions administratives (diminution de 82 %), qui comprend les plaintes concernant la présomption de refus, les frais exigés et les prorogations de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 105 34 42 0 181
Refus 6 21 12 3 42
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 3 0 0 3
Total 111 58 54 3 226
2009-2010
Administratives 41 13 15 1 70
Refus 4 8 5** 13 30
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 45 21 20 14 100
2010–2011
Administratives 13 6 8 5 32
Refus 4 7 8 16 35
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 1 0 1
Total 17 13 17 21 68

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

* * En 2010-2011, le Commissariat a commencé à classer différemment les suites données aux plaintes. En 2009-2010, il y a eu une seule plainte pour refus, dont le dossier a été fermé en 2010-2011, dans la nouvelle catégorie Réglées, qui comprend les plaintes au sujet des erreurs mineures, réglées à la satisfaction de la commissaire sans qu'elle rende de conclusion. Pour les besoins des statistiques, cette plainte a été classée dans la catégorie Abandonnées.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

L'amélioration du rendement de la Défense nationale en 2010-2011 amène le Commissariat à recommander que la Défense nationale prenne des mesures qui, de l'avis du Commissariat, permettront de l'améliorer encore davantage.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Défense nationale étudie de nouvelles méthodes de récupération des documents de manière à ne pas compromettre ses opérations, tout en respectant les droits des demandeurs.

RÉPONSE : La Défense nationale utilise diverses méthodes de récupération des documents en tenant compte de considérations d'opportunisme et de sécurité. Les méthodes actuelles ne compromettent pas les opérations. Le MDN est conscient des droits des demandeurs et s'efforce dans toute la mesure du possible de les respecter. Il faut noter que, à mesure qu'évolue la technologie de stockage et de récupération de l'information, la Défense nationale revoit et raffine continuellement ses méthodes de récupération des documents.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Défense nationale ramène son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : La Défense nationale a pour objectif de répondre aux demandeurs dans les plus brefs délais possibles, compte tenu de la complexité des demandes reçues. Il y a, par contre, des circonstances atténuantes qui échappent au contrôle du Ministère et qui rendent extrêmement difficile le fait de ramener le taux de présomption de refus à zéro. Certaines demandes entrent dans la catégorie des présomptions de refus pendant des consultations qui sont menées avec des organismes ne relevant pas de la Défense nationale. Le MDN surveille les délais moyens de réponse pour les consultations et tente de prendre les prorogations appropriées en s'appuyant sur les renseignements historiques et de tenir ainsi le demandeur au courant de la date où il serait réaliste d'attendre une réponse. Dans d'autres cas, ce sont la nature et la complexité de la demande qui posent problème. Le MDN continue de travailler avec les demandeurs pour bien évaluer les demandes afin de les clarifier pour pouvoir en accélérer le traitement. Dans la même veine, il valide toutes les demandes dès leur réception pour vérifier qu'elles répondent à toutes les exigences de l'article 6 de la Loi et établir si le demandeur a formulé plus d'une demande dans le texte de sa correspondance. En l'occurrence, les demandes multiples peuvent être attribuées simultanément, ce qui permet de mieux gérer le traitement des demandes concurrentes et d'abréger les délais de réponse.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la Défense nationale fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : La Défense nationale fera rapport des progrès qu'elle fait dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations qui précèdent dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.