Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

The mission of the Human Resources and Skills Development Canada portfolio, which includes the federal Labour Program and Service Canada, is to build a stronger, more competitive Canada, to support Canadians in making choices that help them live productive and rewarding lives, and to improve Canadians' quality of life.

Assessment: A

(Received a C in 2008–2009)

  • HRSDC turned in a strong performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 3.5 percent and its average time to complete a request was 45 days. HRSDC also eliminated its backlog of long-standing requests.
  • HRSDC attributes its improved performance to having a strong and knowledgeable access to information team, with little turnover, instituting a quarterly report to clearly communicate plans and priorities, and briefing senior management on the institution's access to information statistics.
  • HRSDC satisfactorily implemented three of the Office of the Information Commissioner's (OIC) four 2008–2009 recommendations. The OIC has issued a new recommendation related to HRSDC's delegation order, to ensure it is not a source of delay in the access process, and other recommendations for improvement (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 78 46
Number of new requests 295 492
Number of requests completed 406 475
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 65,898 106,518
Deemed refusal rate 10.2%* 3.5%*
Average number of days to complete a request 80 45
Number of consultation requests received 129 148
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC >85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 11 26
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 5** 14**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations,
as of the end of the fiscal year
15 11.3
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Delegation order.............................. Did not meet expectations

Backlog............................................................. Met expectations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Extension notices............................................ Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's initial response, go here.

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) turned in a strong performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 3.5 percent and its average time to complete a request was 45 days. HRSDC also eliminated its backlog of long-standing requests. These achievements reflect notable improvements from 2008–2009, which, according to HRSDC, was an atypical year because of a merger of its access to information functions with those of Service Canada.

In an effort to reduce the deemed refusal rate, HRSDC officials instituted a quarterly report to clearly communicate plans and priorities. Also, senior management is now regularly updated on access statistics to provide awareness throughout the organization. HRSDC reported that the aim of this briefing is not to single out any particular area, but rather to quickly identify trouble spots.

HRSDC reported having a strong and stable access to information team, which has resulted in confidence, consistency and continuity. HRSDC has experienced very low staff turnover in recent years.

HRSDC reported that there were no delays in the approval process. The executive head of a branch or region is provided with a copy of the release package, upon request, and has four working days to sign off that he or she is aware the records are being released. Packages may also be provided to communications and the Minister's office upon request. Access officials said that responding to information requests is not delayed by this "seen and noted" process, since they have made it abundantly clear to all parties that they adhere to legislated timelines. Contrary to the OIC's 2008–2009 recommendation, however, the delegation order at HRSDC remains diffuse, listing senior officials outside the access office. HRSDC officials are of the view that, given the institution's size and complex structure, the access director is well served by having the support of senior portfolio management.

The number of complaints against HRSDC more than doubled from 11 in 2008–2009 to 26 in 2010–2011, half of which were for time extensions. HRSDC has suggested that the increase in complaints is due to the increase in requests: it received 67 percent more requests in 2010–2011 than in 2008–2009. Access officials said that a large number of complaints were made by a single person. With a significant increase in time extension complaints, the OIC reminds HRSDC to ensure that all time extensions taken are reasonable.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued four recommendations to HRSDC with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's response, go here .)

  1. HRSDC has not changed its delegation order in response to the OIC's recommendation that it do so, to remove non-access officials. In the OIC's experience, strong delegation orders that are not diffuse tend to lead to the best results. However, HRSDC access officials have said their delegation order does not cause delays in the access process, a fact borne out by the institution's performance in 2010–2011.
  2. HRSDC eliminated its backlog of long-standing requests in response to the OIC's recommendation to do so.
  3. HRSDC lowered its deemed refusal rate to 3.5 percent, one of the lowest rates among the institutions that were part of the 2010–2011 report card process.
  4. HRSDC met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in terms of submitting notices of extensions it took of more than 30 days.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw a 37-percent increase in its workload. Access requests carried over from the previous year decreased by 41 percent, but new requests increased by 67 percent and consultation requests increased by 15 percent from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 62 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act rose from 92 percent to 98 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 19 requests in 2008–2009 and 9 in 2010–2011. Although the number of overdue requests is small, HRSDC took longer to complete them after the deadline in 2010–2011 than it did in 2008–2009.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office to the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. HRSDC met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in this area in both 2008–2009 and 2010–2011.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that HRSDC delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about HRSDC's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. The number of time extension complaints against HRSDC increased by more than five times from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011. Of the 13 time extension complaints received in 2010–2011, 9 were resolved.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. The number of complaints against HRSDC more than doubled from 2008–2009 to 2010–2011. Half of the 26 complaints registered in 2010–2011 were about HRSDC's use of time extensions.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 3 1 1 0 5
Refusals 2 0 2 1 5
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 1 1
Total 5 1 3 2 11
2009–2010
Administrative 5 0 1 0 6
Refusals 7 1 4 0 12
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 12 1 5 0 18
2010–2011
Administrative 12 3 1 0 16
Refusals 2 4 0 4 10
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 14 7 1 4 26

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

In light of HRSDC's strong performance, the OIC challenges it to assume a leadership role in the access to information community. However, the OIC is also issuing three new recommendations to prompt further improvement.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada regularly review the processes and turnaround times related to the approvals required by the inclusion of non-access officials in the delegation order, to ensure they are not causing any delays in the release of records.

RESPONSE: Through its quarterly Access to Information Management Reports, HRSDC regularly reviews turnaround times to respond to Access to Information Act requests.

It should be noted the HRSDC's process does not involve obtaining approvals from non-Access officials cited on the delegation order.  

Including senior management on the delegation order serves the Access to Information and Privacy Division, since having a voice at the senior management table means that ATI-related issues that need to be expedited can promptly be discussed at a senior level and resolved efficiently.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada review its use of extensions to ensure that they are reasonable.

RESPONSE: In the spring of 2012, HRSDC is undertaking a review of its use of extensions to ensure that they are reasonable. 

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Human Resources and Skills Development Canada report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: HRSDC will report on its progress in implementing recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada

La mission du portefeuille de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, qui comprend le Programme du travail fédéral et Service Canada, est de bâtir un Canada plus fort et plus concurrentiel, d'aider les Canadiennes et Canadiens à faire les bons choix afin que leurs vies soient productives et gratifiantes, et d'améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Évaluation: A

(C en 2008-2009)

  • RHDCC a connu un bon rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 3,5 % et son délai moyen de traitement d'une demande est de 45 jours. RHDCC a aussi éliminé ses arriérés de demandes de longue date.
  • RHDCC attribue l'amélioration de son rendement à la solidité et à l'expertise de son équipe d'accès à l'information, où le roulement est faible, à l'institution d'un rapport trimestriel pour communiquer clairement les plans et les priorités, et à fournir une mise à jour à la haute direction au sujet de ses statistiques sur l'accès à l'information.
  • RHDCC a donné une suite satisfaisante à trois des recommandations de 2008-2009 du Commissariat à l'information. Le Commissariat a émis une nouvelle recommandation au sujet de l'ordonnance de délégation de RHDCC, pour qu'elle ne soit pas une cause de retard dans le processus d'accès, de même que d'autres recommandations pour s'améliorer (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 78 46
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 295 492
Nombre de demandes traitées 406 475
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 65 898 106 518
Taux de présomption de refus 10,2 %* 3,5 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 80 45
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 129 148
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat >85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 11 26
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 5** 14**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 15 11,3
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ordonnance de délégation........................ N'a pas répondu aux attentes

Arriérés................................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Taux de présomption de refus........................... A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................. A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse initiale de l'institution, voir.

*  Pourcentage de demandes reportées et de nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat à l'information pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) a connu un bon rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 3,5 % et son délai moyen de traitement d'une demande de 45 jours. RHDCC a aussi éliminé ses arriérés de demandes de longue date. Ces réalisations reflètent des améliorations remarquables depuis 2008-2009, qui, selon RHDCC, était une année atypique, en raison de la fusion de ses fonctions d'accès à l'information avec celles de Service Canada.

En vue de réduire le taux de présomption de refus, les responsables de RHDCC ont institué un rapport trimestriel pour communiquer clairement les plans et les priorités. De même, la haute direction reçoit maintenant des rapports périodiques de statistiques sur l'accès, dont l'objet est de sensibiliser l'ensemble de l'organisation. RHDCC a mentionné que le but de cette mise à jour n'est pas de pointer du doigt un secteur spécifique, mais plutôt de repérer rapidement les questions qui pourraient s'avérer problématiques.

RHDCC a dit avoir une équipe d'accès à l'information qui est solide et stable, menant à une confiance, une convergence et une continuité. Ces dernières années, le roulement de personnel de RHDCC a été très faible.

RHDCC a dit qu'il n'y a pas eu de retards dans le processus d'approbation. Le chef de la direction d'une direction générale ou d'une région reçoit une copie du dossier de communication, sur demande, et a quatre jours ouvrables pour indiquer qu'il est au courant des documents à communiquer. Les dossiers peuvent aussi être remis aux Communications et au cabinet du ministre, sur demande. Les responsables de l'accès ont dit que la réponse aux demandes d'information n'est pas retardée par ce processus « vu et noté », puisqu'il est abondamment clair pour toutes les parties prenantes qu'il y a des délais imposés par la Loi. Contrairement à la recommandation de 2008-2009 du Commissariat, cependant, l'ordonnance de délégation de RHDCC demeure floue, mentionnant certains hauts fonctionnaires qui ne font pas partie du bureau d'accès. Les responsables de RHDCC sont d'avis que, compte tenu de la taille et de la structure complexe de l'institution, la directrice de l'accès a tout avantage à pouvoir compter sur les cadres supérieurs du portefeuille.

Le nombre de plaintes contre RHDCC a plus que doublé, passant de 11 en 2008-2009 à 26 en 2010-2011, dont la moitié pour des prorogations de délai. RHDCC a expliqué que cette augmentation du nombre de plaintes vient de l'augmentation du nombre de demandes : il a reçu 67 % de plus de demandes en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009. Les responsables de l'accès ont dit qu'un grand nombre de plaintes venaient d'une même personne. Avec la multiplication des plaintes pour prorogation de délai, le Commissariat rappelle à RHDCC de veiller à ce que toutes les prorogations de délai qu'il prend soient raisonnables.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a fait quatre recommandations à RHDCC dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument la suite que l'institution y a donnée. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse de l'institution, voir.)

  1. RHDCC n'a pas changé son ordonnance de délégation malgré la recommandation du Commissariat, afin d'éliminer les fonctionnaires qui n'ont pas de responsabilités en matière d'accès. Selon l'expérience du Commissariat, les ordonnances de délégation rigoureuses qui ne sont pas floues ont tendance à donner les meilleurs résultats. Cependant, les responsables de l'accès à RHDCC ont mentionné que leur ordonnance de délégation ne retarde pas le processus d'accès, comme en témoigne le rendement de l'institution pour l'année 2010-2011.
  2. RHDCC a éliminé ses arriérés de demandes de longue date, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.
  3. RHDCC a ramené son taux de présomption de refus à 3,5 %, soit l'un des plus faibles parmi les institutions visées par le processus des fiches de rendement en 2010-2011.
  4. RHDCC s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable pour l'envoi de ses avis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail augmenter de 37 %. Le nombre de demandes d'accès reportées de l'exercice financier précédent a diminué de 41 %, mais celui des nouvelles demandes a augmenté de 67 % et celui des demandes de consultation a crû de 15 % de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a augmenté de 62 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 92 % à 98 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 19 demandes en 2008-2009 et 9 en 2010-2011. Bien que le nombre de demandes en retard soit faible, RHDCC a mis plus de temps à les traiter après l'échéance en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. RHDCC s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable sur ce point, en 2008-2009 comme en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009: plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont RHDCC a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par RHDCC des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Le nombre de plaintes pour prorogation de délai contre RHDCC a plus que quintuplé de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011. Sur les 13 plaintes pour prorogation de délai reçues en 2010-2011, 9 ont été réglées.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) dans les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Le nombre de plaintes contre RHDCC a plus que doublé de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011. La moitié des plaintes reçues en 2010-2011 concernaient l'utilisation par RHDCC des prorogations de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 3 1 1 0 5
Refus 2 0 2 1 5
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 1 1
Total 5 1 3 2 11
2009-2010
Administratives 5 0 1 0 6
Refus 7 1 4 0 12
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 12 1 5 0 18
2010–2011
Administratives 12 3 1 0 16
Refus 2 4 0 4 10
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 14 7 1 4 26

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

À la lumière du rendement solide de RHDCC, le Commissariat lui propose d'assumer un rôle de leader dans la collectivité de l'accès à l'information. Cependant, le Commissariat fait également trois nouvelles recommandations pour l'inciter à s'améliorer davantage.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada revoie périodiquement les processus et les délais pour les approbations que nécessite l'inclusion de fonctionnaires qui n'ont pas de responsabilités en matière d'accès dans l'ordonnance de délégation, afin de veiller à ce qu'ils ne retardent pas la communication de documents.

RÉPONSE : Par ses rapports trimestriels sur la gestion de l'accès à l'information, RHDCC fait périodiquement le point sur ses délais de réponse aux demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Il faut noter que le processus de RHDCC ne comporte pas l'obtention d'approbations des fonctionnaires sans responsabilités en matière d'accès qui sont nommés dans l'ordonnance de délégation.

La mention de cadres supérieurs dans l'ordonnance de délégation est utile pour la Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, puisque le fait d'avoir une voix à la table de la haute direction signifie que les questions d'accès qui doivent être débattues peuvent l'être rapidement à un niveau supérieur et réglées efficacement.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada revoie l'utilisation qu'il fait des prorogations pour s'assurer qu'elles sont raisonnables.

RÉPONSE :Au printemps 2012, RHDCC entreprend un examen de l'utilisation qu'il fait des prorogations afin de s'assurer qu'elles sont raisonnables.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : RHDCC fera rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre des recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.