Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is a national and international leader in marine safety, and in the management of oceans and freshwater resources. DFO develops and implements policies and programs in support of Canada's scientific, ecological, social and economic interests in oceans and fresh waters, and works towards ensuring these resources benefit current and future generations.

Assessment: A

(Received a C in 2008–2009)

  • DFO turned in a very strong access to information performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 4.4 percent, and its average completion time for requests it received and completed in 2010–2011 was 39 days. DFO was able to eliminate its backlog, and the number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) received about DFO in 2010–2011 dropped by two thirds from 2008–2009 levels.
  • DFO attributes its significantly improved performance to senior management support, an amended delegation order that allowed a bottleneck in the access office to be cleared, a big drop in complaints volume and the elimination of its backlog.
  • DFO satisfactorily implemented all five of the OIC's 2008–2009 recommendations. The OIC commends DFO for its performance and encourages it to become a leader in the access to information community (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 103 67
Number of new requests 396 368
Number of requests completed 409 368
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 253,621 420,006
Deemed refusal rate 13.2%* 4.4%*
Average number of days to complete a request 86 74
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 39
Number of consultation requests received 155 165
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC >85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 33 11
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 12** 3**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 18.8 23.1
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Leadership........................................................ Met expectations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Backlog............................................................. Met expectations

Resources......................................................... Met expectations

Records management..................................... Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's initial response, go here.

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) turned in a very strong performance in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal rate was 4.4 percent, and its average completion time for requests it received and completed in 2010–2011 was 39 days (although this rises to 74 days when long-standing requests that were completed are taken into account). DFO was able to eliminate its backlog, and the number of complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) received about DFO in 2010–2011 dropped by two thirds from 2008–2009. By all of these measures, DFO's performance has improved since the previous report card.

At that time, DFO was already well aware of its marginal performance and was initiating discussions at the senior management level about how to improve. One of the results of those discussions was to amend the delegation order to add the Deputy Director, ATIP Operations, and give her full signing authority. This helped to alleviate the bottleneck that was situated there. The result was "fabulous," according to DFO access officials, who reported that requests moved more fluidly and there was a better focal point for control of files and performance of individual teams.

According to the coordinator, having to deal with only one third of the previous level of complaints has freed up analysts to devote their energy to keeping their current files moving.

DFO used consultants to eliminate its backlog and took steps to cooperate with the OIC in resolving a number of long-standing complaints. The coordinator said that DFO hopes to continue to use consultants in order to manage any voluminous and difficult requests that come in, since these can bog down analysts for months and imperil the progress of current requests.

DFO continues to have some information management challenges, with the institution's unwieldy record holdings in all corners of Canada. In addition, DFO reported sometimes having retrieval issues, when, for example, operational priorities coincide with access requests.

As part of a pilot project, DFO introduced a position devoted to policy and governance of its access to information and privacy program. One of the tasks assigned to that position is to look at how to improve training and awareness of access and privacy across the institution, including communication of the importance of the duty to assist principles. DFO also reported increased collaboration between the access office and the Information Management Branch to identify and implement additional ways of communicating the two groups' messages, in the hopes that increased awareness would result in, for example, achieving more effective and faster search and retrieval of records.

DFO has invested in updating both hardware and case management and redaction software for the access program. The DFO website provides valuable information for both internal and external audiences and, for the public, a comprehensive page that includes the contact information for staff (by name) in headquarters and the regions.

The OIC has observed some very lengthy extensions, as reported in the notices DFO sends to the OIC for extensions of longer than 30 days. DFO officials said that requests often involve issues with lengthy historical antecedents (the decline of Pacific salmon stocks and the impact of mining projects on lakes and waterways, for example), which require voluminous, lengthy and labour-intensive searches and consultations with other institutions. DFO expects this to continue as the public's focus on environmental issues and stewardship increases. DFO routinely contacts other government institutions with whom they are consulting for an estimate of the expected turnaround time of the consultation.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued five recommendations to DFO with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations and the institution's response, go here.)

  1. With regard to senior management leadership related to the access function, DFO reported that senior executives have historically been supportive of the access function, and that their support is expected to continue. DFO also reported, however, that the Treasury Board Secretariat's Management Accountability Framework (MAF) has been instrumental in bringing senior management attention to how the access program is managed. This level of engagement has contributed to the program's improved compliance. DFO's access to information coordinator now reports to the deputy minister through two levels—a senior assistant deputy minister and a director general, rather than just a director general.
  2. DFO is closing in on an ideal deemed refusal rate, in line with the OIC's recommendation. This can raise concern about the overuse of extensions to ensure compliance. DFO reported that about half of its consultations have to go through Privy Council Office–Cabinet Confidences Counsel, and therefore require extensions to complete. Nonetheless, DFO was able to complete the majority (78 percent) of its new requests within 30 days.
  3. DFO used consultants to eliminate its backlog. It hopes to be able to continue to employ consultants for large and difficult requests that take analysts' time away from new requests. This should help keep a new backlog from forming.
  4. Despite its ongoing concern about a lack of qualified personnel to draw from among the competitive access community, DFO is a well-resourced institution with sufficient personnel to take on its workload.
  5. Records management continues to be a reported challenge at DFO; however, with training and new hardware and software, it does not appear to be hampering performance, since the institution was able to reduce its average completion time for new requests to 39 days.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Fisheries and Oceans Canada's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw an 8-percent decrease in its workload. This is largely accounted for by the 35-percent decrease in the number of requests carried over from the previous fiscal year. The percentage changes for new requests (7-percent decrease) and consultation requests (6-percent increase) nearly cancel each other out. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 66 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Fisheries and Oceans Canada completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act increased from 92 percent to 99 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 27 requests in 2008–2009 and 3 in 2010–2011.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. DFO met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in this area in both 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The OIC notes DFO's increased use of extensions of 121–150 days and more than 180 days.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that DFO delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about DFO's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. The number of complaints in both categories declined in 2010–2011 from already low levels in 2008–2009.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

* Resolved complaints are those that the Office of the Information Commissioner finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. The OIC has registered fewer complaints against DFO in each year since issuing the 2008–2009 report card.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 11 5 4 0 20
Refusals 1 4 7 1 13
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 12 9 11 1 33
2009–2010
Administrative 4 1 2 0 7
Refusals 1 2 0 6 9
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 2 2
Total 5 3 2 8 18
2010–2011
Administrative 2 3 0 0 5
Refusals 1 0 2 3 6
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 3 2 3 11

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

In light of DFO's outstanding performance, the OIC challenges it to assume a leadership role in the access to information community, and issues the following recommendations for continued improvement.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Fisheries and Oceans Canada maintain its strong performance from the efforts of its access to information office as well as the sustained support and oversight of its leadership.

RESPONSE: Agreed. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will strive to maintain its strong performance through the ongoing efforts of the access to information office. DFO senior management will continue to support access to information through sound leadership and oversight.

ATIP will do this by continuing to offer ATIP training on a regular basis to all employees and will provide periodic messages through the departmental electronic bulletin to inform DFO staff of new developments in the ATIP field.

ATIP will also explore additional ways to provide training and increase awareness of ATIP by using Web 2.0 technology to provide training sessions, and by publishing, periodically, responses to frequently asked questions in the weekly departmental electronic bulletin/newsletter.

Finally, we will continue to inform senior management of ATIP developments, and of our effectiveness in meeting deadlines by making periodic presentations to the Departmental Management Board.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Fisheries and Oceans Canada report on its progress implementing this recommendation in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: Agreed. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will include a section devoted to the Office of the Information Commissioner's 2010–2011 report card findings in the 2011–2012 departmental annual report to Parliament on the administration of the Access to Information Act

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pêches et Océans Canada

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) est un chef de file national et international en matière de sécurité maritime et de gestion des ressources marines et d'eau douce. Le MPO élabore et met en œuvre des politiques et des programmes soutenant les intérêts scientifiques, écologiques, sociaux et économiques du Canada liés aux océans et aux eaux intérieures, et il voit à ce que les ressources marines et d'eau douce du Canada profitent aux générations actuelles et futures.

Évaluation : A

(C en 2008-2009)

  • Le MPO a connu un très bon rendement en matière d'accès à l'information en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus était de 4,4 %, et son délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues et traitées en 2010-2011 était de 39 jours. Le MPO a éliminé son arriéré, et le nombre de plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information (Commissariat) a reçues contre le MPO en 2010-2011 a diminué de deux tiers par rapport à 2008-2009.
  • Le MPO attribue la nette amélioration de son rendement à l'appui de la haute direction, à la modification de son ordonnance de délégation, qui a permis de désengorger le bureau d'accès, à une diminution considérable du volume de plaintes ainsi qu'à l'élimination de son arriéré.
  • Le MPO a répondu de façon satisfaisante à chacune des cinq recommandations émises par le Commissariat en 2008-2009. Le Commissariat félicite le MPO pour son rendement et l'incite à devenir un chef de file dans la collectivité de l'accès à l'information (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 103 67
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 396 368
Nombre de demandes traitées 409 368
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes 253 621 420 006
Taux de présomption de refus 13,2 %* 4,4 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 86 74
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (en jours) s.o. 39
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 155 165
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat >85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 33 11
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 12** 3**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 18,8 23,1
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Leadership........................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Taux de présomption de refus........................... A répondu aux attentes

Arriérés................................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Ressources........................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Gestion des documents............................................. A répondu aux attentes Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse de l'institution, voir.

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a connu un très bon rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus était de 4,4 %, et son délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues et traitées en 2010-2011 était de 39 jours (74 jours lorsque les demandes de longue date traitées sont prises en compte). Le MPO a éliminé son arriéré, et le nombre de plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre le MPO en 2010-2011 a diminué de deux tiers par rapport à 2008-2009. Selon toutes ces mesures, le MPO a amélioré son rendement depuis la fiche de rendement précédente.

À l'époque, le MPO était déjà bien conscient de son rendement marginal et la haute direction discutait déjà des mesures à prendre pour s'améliorer. Un des résultats de ces discussions a été la modification de l'ordonnance de délégation pour ajouter la directrice adjointe, Opérations d'AIPRP, et lui donner les pleins pouvoirs de signature. Cela a aidé à désengorger le bureau de la coordonnatrice qui s'y trouvait. Le résultat a été « fabuleux », selon les responsables de l'accès au MPO, qui ont dit que le traitement des demandes s'en est trouvé plus fluide et qu'il y a eu un meilleur contrôle des dossiers et du rendement des équipes individuelles.

Selon la coordonnatrice, le fait de n'avoir à traiter qu'un tiers des plaintes a libéré les analystes, qui ont ainsi pu consacrer leur énergie au traitement des dossiers courants.

Le MPO a retenu les services de consultants pour éliminer son arriéré et a pris des mesures pour collaborer avec le Commissariat afin de régler un certain nombre de plaintes de longue date. La coordonnatrice a dit que le MPO espère continuer de retenir les services des consultants pour gérer toutes demandes volumineuses et complexes qu'il pourrait recevoir, puisque celles-ci peuvent occuper les analystes pendant des mois et compromettre le traitement des demandes courantes.

Le MPO éprouve encore certains problèmes de gestion des renseignements, puisque l'institution détient des dépôts de documents difficiles à gérer à travers le Canada. De plus, le MPO a dit avoir parfois des problèmes de récupération, par exemple, lorsque ses priorités opérationnelles entrent en conflit avec le traitement des demandes d'accès.

Dans le cadre d'un projet pilote, le MPO a créé un poste consacré à la politique et à la gouvernance de son programme d'accès à l'information et de protection de la vie privée. Une des tâches rattachées à ce poste consiste à examiner comment améliorer la formation et la sensibilisation en matière d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels à l'échelle de l'institution, y compris à rappeler l'importance du principe d'obligation de prêter assistance. Le MPO a aussi fait état d'une meilleure collaboration entre le bureau d'accès et la Direction de la gestion de l'information pour déterminer et mettre en œuvre de nouveaux moyens pour communiquer les messages des deux groupes, dans l'espoir qu'une sensibilisation accrue débouche, par exemple, sur un accroissement de l'efficacité et de la rapidité de la recherche et de la récupération des documents.

Le MPO a investi dans la mise à jour du matériel et des logiciels de gestion des cas et d'édition du programme d'accès. Le site Web du MPO renferme des renseignements précieux pour les clientèles internes et externes et, pour le public, une page affichant les coordonnées des membres du personnel (en les nommant) de l'administration centrale et dans les régions.

Le Commissariat a noté de très longues prorogations, comme l'indiquent les avis que le MPO adresse au Commissariat lorsqu'il prend des prorogations de plus de 30 jours. Les fonctionnaires du MPO ont dit que les demandes concernent souvent des questions aux antécédents historiques (la diminution des stocks de saumon du Pacifique et les effets des chantiers miniers sur les lacs et les cours d'eau, par exemple), qui exigent de longues et nombreuses recherches demandant beaucoup de travail et de consultations avec les autres institutions. Le MPO prévoit que cela se poursuivra à mesure qu'augmentera l'intérêt du public pour les enjeux environnementaux et la gérance de l'environnement. Le MPO communique toujours avec les autres institutions fédérales qu'il consulte pour une estimation de son délai de réponse à la consultation.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a fait cinq recommandations au MPO dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument les mesures que l'institution a prises pour y répondre. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations et la réponse de l'institution, voir.)

  1. Au sujet du leadership de la haute direction pour ce qui est de la fonction d'accès, le MPO a dit que les cadres supérieurs ont toujours appuyé la fonction d'accès et qu'ils prévoient maintenir leur appui. Par contre, le MPO a aussi fait savoir que le Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion (CRG) du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a contribué à attirer l'attention de la haute direction sur la façon dont le programme d'accès est géré. Ce niveau d'engagement a contribué à améliorer la conformité du programme. La coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information du MPO relève désormais du sous-ministre et doit rendre des comptes à une sous-ministre adjointe principale et à un directeur général, plutôt qu'à un directeur général seulement.
  2. Le MPO s'approche d'un taux de présomption de refus idéal, conforme à la recommandation du Commissariat. Cela peut soulever des craintes concernant l'abus des prorogations pour assurer la conformité. Le MPO a dit qu'environ la moitié de ses consultations doivent passer par le service de Renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet/Conseillers juridiques du Bureau de Conseil privé, si bien qu'elles nécessitent des prorogations. Néanmoins, le MPO a pu traiter la majorité (78 %) de ses nouvelles demandes dans les 30 jours.
  3. Le MPO a retenu les services de consultants pour éliminer son arriéré. Il espère pouvoir continuer d'employer des consultants pour les demandes volumineuses et complexes, qui empêchent les analystes de se consacrer aux nouvelles demandes. Cela devrait contribuer à empêcher la constitution d'un nouvel arriéré.
  4. Malgré sa préoccupation constante concernant le manque de personnel qualifié dans la collectivité de l'accès, où la concurrence est vive, le MPO est une institution bien pourvue en ressources, comptant suffisamment de personnel pour traiter sa charge de travail.
  5. La gestion des documents demeure un problème au MPO. Cependant, grâce à la formation et à du nouveau matériel et des nouveaux logiciels, elle ne semble pas entraver son rendement, puisque l'institution a pu ramener son délai de traitement moyen des nouvelles demandes à 39 jours.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Pêches et Océans Canada pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail diminuer de 8 %. Ceci est largement attribuable à la diminution de 35 % du nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent. Si nous prenons en compte le changement en terme de pourcentage les nouvelles demandes (diminution de 7 %) et les demandes de consultation (augmentation de 6 %) s'annulent presque. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a augmenté de 66 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que Pêches et Océans Canada a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 92 % à 99 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 27 demandes en 2008-2009 et 3 en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le MPO s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour obtenir un rendement acceptable sur ce point en 2008-2009 comme en 2010-2011. Le Commissariat note que le MPO a pris plus de prorogations de 121-150 jours et de plus de 180 jours.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) lors des trois exercices commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes concernant la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont le MPO a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par le MPO des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Le nombre de ces deux types de plaintes a diminué en 2010-2011 alors qu'il était déjà bas en 2008-2009.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) lors des trois exercices commençant en 2008-2009. Depuis la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009, le Commissariat reçoit moins de plaintes chaque année contre le MPO.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 11 5 4 0 20
Refus 1 4 7 1 13
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 12 9 11 1 33
2009-2010
Administratives 4 1 2 0 7
Refus 1 2 0 6 9
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 2 2
Total 5 3 2 8 18
2010–2011
Administratives 2 3 0 0 5
Refus 1 0 2 3 6
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 3 3 2 3 11

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

Considérant le rendement exceptionnel du MPO, le Commissariat lui propose d'assumer un rôle de leader dans la collectivité de l'accès à l'information, et fait les recommandations suivantes pour l'aider à continuer de s'améliorer.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande à Pêches et Océans Canada de maintenir le solide rendement, que lui ont valu les efforts de son bureau d'accès à l'information, ainsi que l'appui et la surveillance continus de ses dirigeants.

RÉPONSE : D'accord. Pêches et Océans Canada s'efforcera de maintenir le solide rendement, que lui ont valu les efforts du bureau d'accès à l'information. La haute direction du MPO continuera d'appuyer l'accès à l'information par un solide leadership et une surveillance étroite.

À cette fin, le bureau de l'AIPRP continuera d'offrir régulièrement de la formation à tous les employés et diffusera des messages périodiques via le bulletin électronique du Ministère pour informer le personnel du MPO des faits nouveaux en matière d'AIPRP.

Le bureau de l'AIPRP explorera aussi la possibilité d'offrir de la formation et d'accroître la sensibilisation à l'AIPRP en utilisant la technologie du Web 2.0 pour offrir des séances de formation, tout en publiant périodiquement les réponses aux questions fréquemment posées dans le bulletin électronique hebdomadaire du Ministère.

Enfin, par des présentations périodiques au Conseil de gestion du Ministère, nous continuerons d'informer la haute direction des avancements en matière d'AIPRP et de l'efficacité avec laquelle nous respectons les délais.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Pêches et Océans Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de cette recommandation dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : D'accord. Pêches et Océans Canada consacrera une section du rapport annuel de 2011-2012 sur l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information qu'il présente au Parlement aux conclusions de la fiche de rendement de 2010-2011 du Commissariat à l'information.