Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Environment Canada

Environment Canada’s mandate is to preserve and enhance the quality of the natural environment, conserve Canada’s renewable resources, conserve and protect Canada’s water resources, forecast weather and environmental change, enforce rules relating to boundary waters, and coordinate environmental policies and programs for the federal government.

Assessment: C

(Received an F in 2008–2009)

  • Although it received 26 percent more new requests in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009, Environment Canada achieved a solid performance.
  • Environment Canada attributes its improved performance to a number of factors, including a 72-percent decrease in complaints, a much shorter document retrieval time, a very successful personnel development initiative and improved internal processes.
  • The institution satisfactorily implemented all four of the Office of the Information Commissioner's (OIC) 2008–2009 recommendations. To prompt further improvements in performance, the OIC has issued six new recommendations (2010-2011 Recommendations).
Quick facts

2008–2009

2010–2011

Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 276 215
Number of new requests 892 1,128
Number of requests completed 914 1,171
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 134,080 163,273
Deemed refusal rate 36.9%* 14.7%*
Average number of days to complete a request 97 72
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 26
Number of consultation requests received 212 159
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 54 15
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 25** 7**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 8.8 12
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Resources......................................................... Met expectations

Backlog............................................................. Met expectations

Records management..................................... Met expectations

Extension notices............................................ Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution’s initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. The number of complaints reported here is current as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may be different from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Although it received 26 percent more requests in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009, Environment Canada achieved a solid performance. Its deemed refusal rate was 14.7 percent, and analysts took 26 days to complete new requests received in 2010–2011 (the rate rises to 72 days when long-standing files that were completed are taken into account).

Prior to receiving its 2008–2009 report card, Environment Canada had already implemented an action plan that gave it a head start on improving its access to information performance. Since then, Environment Canada has made significant and steady improvement.

Environment Canada attributes its performance to a number of factors, including a 72-percent decrease in complaints, which has meant more time to deal with current requests. The coordinator reported that there is now a better understanding of the appropriate use of extensions among analysts.

The institution’s document retrieval time has greatly improved, the coordinator said, now that Environment Canada has come out the other side of a significant reorganization in 2008–2009. While that was going on, it was often difficult to identify where certain documents were held and by whom. The average retrieval time is down to seven days, the coordinator said, due to a combination of institutional stability (which has made it easier to track the movement of requests within the institution), senior management support and new records management software. In addition, access officials delivered training to more than 700 employees in the last two fiscal years to emphasize the importance of responding quickly to document retrieval requests.

Environment Canada’s success with its personnel development initiative is noteworthy. Finding that recruiting employees through collective staffing was largely unsuccessful and that experienced analysts capable of reviewing files were scarce, Environment Canada decided to draw from and develop its own employees. Analysts are now recruited at a junior level and mentored by more senior analysts, gradually progressing to increasingly complex files. This results in the staff not only receiving solid training, but also in greater retention, since employees can see a clear path to advancement. Since candidates are now chiefly recruited from within Environment Canada, they arrive with valuable organizational knowledge. This curtails the adjustment period, which, in turn, increases productivity. The staffing initiative is proving successful (several employees have already been promoted through the program), yet Environment Canada expects that the initiative’s full potential will only be realized in another one to two years.

Environment Canada has also closely examined its internal practices to improve performance. These include processing more requests informally when the information has already been released, developing an intake unit to better manage the front end of the access process and streamlining approval of requests regarding environmental compliance. These requests often result in no records being located, and are generally approved by the manager of the access office, who has full delegation. Environment Canada also reported having improved communication with requesters, and providing partial releases of documents for large-volume requests, when possible.

Although Environment Canada has made progress in closing some of the oldest files in its backlog of long-standing requests, it has not yet been able to eliminate the backlog completely. However, the coordinator reported in the fall of 2011 that the majority of the remaining files were in the final stages of review and approval. The completion of this phase of the improvement plan is notable and should allow for even better results for Environment Canada in subsequent years.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued four recommendations to Environment Canada with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution’s response and its October 2010 progress report, go here.)

  1. Through its personnel development initiative, Environment Canada has been able to successfully recruit, train and retain employees for the access to information office, in line with the OIC’s recommendation that it ensure sufficient permanent resources for the function.
  2. Environment Canada implemented a solid action plan that has been instrumental in decreasing the number of requests in its backlog, as per the OIC’s recommendation.
  3. With increased stability in the institution, along with new software, training and senior management support, Environment Canada has been able to decrease its average time to retrieve documents from 26 days to 7. Document retrieval was a significant concern in 2008–2009.
  4. Environment Canada met the OIC’s 85-percent standard for acceptable performance, in terms of submitting the required notices of extensions taken for longer than 30 days.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Environment Canada’s workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw a 9-percent increase in its workload. The number of new requests rose by 26 percent, while the number of consultation requests and requests carried over from the previous fiscal year decreased by 25 percent and 22 percent, respectively. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 22 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Environment Canada completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act increased from 80 percent to 93 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 147 requests in 2008–2009 and 73 in 2010–2011. It is commendable that this pool of overdue requests dropped by half; however, Environment Canada took significantly more time extensions in 2010–2011 than it did in 2008–2009.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Environment Canada reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Environment Canada submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that the institution improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, Environment Canada submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices. The OIC notes that Environment Canada took more and longer extensions in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Environment Canada in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Environment Canada delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Environment Canada’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Overall, Environment Canada was the subject of 72 percent fewer complaints in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009, including fewer deemed refusal and time extension complaints.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Environment Canada in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Environment Canada has seen its complaints volume decrease 72 percent since the 2008–2009 report card. Of the complaints registered by the OIC in 2010–2011 and closed, nearly 50 percent were found to be not substantiated or were discontinued.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 19 13 4 2 38
Refusals 6 5 3 1 15
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 25 19 7 3 54
2009–2010
Administrative 10 0 1 0 11
Refusals 1 0 2** 0 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 11 0 3 0 14
2010–2011
Administrative 7 4 1 0 12
Refusals 0 0 2 1 3
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 7 4 3 1 15

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

** The OIC began using new disposition categories in 2010–2011. There was one refusal complaint registered in 2009–2010 and closed in 2010–2011 in the new Settled category, which comprises complaints about minor errors, settled to the Commissioner’s satisfaction without a finding. For reporting purposes, this complaint was placed in the Discontinued category.

2010–2011 recommendations

Although Environment Canada’s performance was better in 2010–2011 than it was in 2008–2009, a “C” grade is tenuous and indicates that there is still room for improvement. As a result, the OIC is issuing the following recommendations.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Minister of the Environment and the Deputy Minister of Environment Canada continue to demonstrate leadership to support the improvement efforts of the access to information office.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada (EC) supports this recommendation. The Minister and Deputy Minister of Environment remain committed to the continued improvement of Environment Canada’s Access to Information performance. The Deputy Minister is providing his full support to ongoing efforts to strengthen the department’s Access to Information capacity. Access to Information performance is reviewed on a monthly basis by EC’s Executive Management Committee.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that access to information performance be integrated into the performance management agreements of all senior management positions responsible for the access program at Environment Canada.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada supports this recommendation. Access to Information performance is included in the performance management agreements of all senior officials delegated with Access to Information and Privacy responsibilities.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada review and document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada supports this recommendation. The Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) office is currently developing a number of internal procedures and guides for departmental use. As part of this project, detailed guidance will be developed to enable ATIP staff to better assess and document the need for extensions.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada continue to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada supports this recommendation and has been working diligently towards a zero deemed refusal goal. Despite a continued increase in the volume of requests, EC’s compliance has improved over the last two years. Through continued emphasis on developing staff and streamlining operations, EC anticipates that this trend will continue in the coming years. 

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada continue with its plan to eliminate the backlog of access requests.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada supports this recommendation and has been working systematically towards eliminating the backlog of requests. EC will place continued emphasis on addressing the backlog over the next year.

6. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Environment Canada report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: Environment Canada supports this recommendation and will report on progress in its Annual Report to Parliament on Access to Information.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Environnement Canada

Environnement Canada a pour mandat de préserver et améliorer la qualité de l'environnement naturel, de conserver les ressources renouvelables du Canada, de conserver et protéger les ressources en eau du Canada, de prévoir les changements météorologiques et environnementaux, d'appliquer la législation sur les eaux limitrophes ainsi que de coordonner les politiques et les programmes environnementaux au nom du gouvernement fédéral.

Évaluation : C

(F en 2008-2009)

  • Malgré l'augmentation de 26 % du nombre de nouvelles demandes qu'il a reçues en 2010-2011 par rapport à 2008-2009, Environnement Canada a connu un solide rendement.
  • Environnement Canada attribue l'amélioration de son rendement à divers facteurs, dont une diminution de 72 % du nombre de plaintes, une diminution considérable des délais de récupération des documents, une initiative réussie de perfectionnement du personnel et l'amélioration de ses processus internes.
  • L'institution a répondu de façon satisfaisante à chacune des quatre recommandations émises par le Commissariat à l'information en 2008-2009. Pour l'inciter à s'améliorer davantage, le Commissariat a fait six nouvelles recommandations (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 276 215
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 892 1 128
Nombre de demandes traitées 914 1 171
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées 134 080 163 273
Taux de présomption de refus 36,9 %* 14,7 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 97 72
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (en jours) s.o. 26
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 212 159
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 54 15
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 25** 7**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 8,8 12
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ressources........................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Arriérés................................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Gestion des documents............................................. A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................. A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et du rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.

*  Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué ici est en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Bien qu'il ait reçu 26 % de plus de demandes en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009, Environnement Canada a connu un solide rendement. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 14,7 %, et ses analystes ont pris 26 jours pour traiter les nouvelles demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (72 jours si l'on tient compte des dossiers de longue date qui ont été fermés).

Avant de recevoir sa fiche de rendement de 2008-2009, Environnement Canada avait déjà mis en œuvre un plan d'action qui lui donnait une longueur d'avance pour l'amélioration de son rendement en matière d'accès à l'information. Depuis lors, Environnement Canada a fait des améliorations significatives et constantes.

Environnement Canada attribue son rendement à plusieurs facteurs, dont une diminution de 72 % du nombre de plaintes, ce qui lui a laissé plus de temps pour traiter les demandes courantes. Le coordonnateur a dit que les analystes comprennent mieux désormais l'utilisation appropriée des prorogations.

L'institution a considérablement réduit son délai de récupération des documents, a dit le coordonnateur, depuis qu'Environnement Canada est sorti d'une grande réorganisation en 2008-2009. Pendant cette réorganisation, il était souvent difficile de déterminer où certains documents étaient gardés et par qui. Le temps moyen de récupération n'est plus que de sept jours, a dit le coordonnateur, grâce à une combinaison de facteurs, dont la stabilité institutionnelle (qui a facilité le suivi des demandes au sein de l'institution), l'appui de la haute direction et le nouveau logiciel de gestion des documents. De plus, les agents d'accès ont offert de la formation à plus de 700 employés au cours des deux derniers exercices financiers pour souligner l'importance de répondre rapidement aux demandes de récupération des documents.

Le succès de l'initiative de perfectionnement du personnel d'Environnement Canada est digne de mention. Constatant que le recrutement par dotation collective était essentiellement un échec et que les analystes d'expérience capables d'examiner les dossiers étaient rares, Environnement Canada a décidé de procéder à un recrutement à l'interne et de perfectionner son propre personnel. Les analystes sont désormais recrutés au niveau débutant et confiés au mentorat d'analystes plus chevronnés, ainsi ils progressent graduellement en traitant des dossiers de plus en plus complexes. De ce fait, le personnel reçoit une solide formation, ce qui favorise leur rétention, puisque les employés peuvent clairement envisager un cheminement professionnel au sein de l'organisation. Puisqu'Environnement Canada recrute principalement ses candidats à l'interne, ces derniers détiennent déjà une précieuse connaissance de l'organisation. Cela limite la période d'adaptation habituellement nécessaire, ce qui résulte en une augmentation de la productivité. L'initiative de dotation s'avère déjà un succès (plusieurs employés ont déjà été promus au sein du programme), malgré cela Environnement Canada est d'avis qu'il faille encore attendre un an ou deux pour constater l'étendue des retombées positives de l'initiative.

Environnement Canada a aussi examiné ses pratiques internes pour améliorer son rendement. Ces pratiques comprennent le traitement informel d'un plus grand nombre de demandes lorsque l'information a déjà été communiquée, la création d'un service de réception pour mieux gérer les étapes initiales du processus d'accès et la rationalisation de l'approbation des demandes en matière de conformité environnementale. Il arrive souvent qu'il soit impossible de trouver les documents nécessaires pour répondre à ces demandes; ces dernières sont généralement approuvées par le gestionnaire du bureau de l'accès, qui est délégataire de responsabilités en matière d'accès à l'information. Environnement Canada a aussi dit avoir amélioré son dialogue avec les demandeurs et, dans la mesure du possible, communique partiellement les documents lorsque les demandes sont volumineuses.

Malgré les progrès qu'il a faits pour fermer certains des plus vieux dossiers de son arriéré de demandes de longue date, Environnement Canada ne l'a pas encore complètement éliminé. Cependant, le coordonnateur a déclaré à l'automne 2011 que la majorité des dossiers restants en sont aux stades finals de l'examen et de l'approbation. L'achèvement de cette phase du plan d'amélioration est notable et devrait permettre à Environnement Canada d'améliorer ses résultats dans les années à venir.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a fait quatre recommandations à Environnement Canada dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument les mesures que l'institution a prises pour y répondre. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.)

  1. Par son initiative de perfectionnement du personnel, Environnement Canada a réussi à recruter, former et retenir ses employés au sein du bureau de l'accès à l'information, selon la recommandation du Commissariat qui l'incitait à veiller à affecter suffisamment de ressources permanentes à la fonction.
  2. Environnement Canada a mis en œuvre un plan d'action solide qui a contribué à diminuer son arriéré, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.
  3. Grâce à la stabilité retrouvée au sein de l'institution, ainsi qu'à un nouveau logiciel, à la formation et à l'appui de la haute direction, Environnement Canada a pu réduire son délai moyen de récupération des documents, celui-ci est passé de 26 à 7 jours. La récupération des documents était une préoccupation importante en 2008-2009.
  4. Environnement Canada s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour obtenir un rendement acceptable en ce qui concerne l'envoi des avis requis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail d'Environnement Canada pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail augmenter de 9 %. Le nombre de nouvelles demandes a augmenté de 26 %, tandis que le nombre de demandes de consultation et le nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent ont diminué de 25 % et 22 %, respectivement. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées a baissé de 22 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information qu'Environnement Canada a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 80 % à 93 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 147 demandes en 2008-2009 et 73 en 2010-2011. Il est remarquable de constater que cet inventaire de demandes en retard ait diminué de moitié; cependant, Environnement Canada a pris nettement plus de prorogations de délai en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai qu'Environnement Canada a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. En 2008-2009, Environnement Canada avait envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis, et le Commissariat avait alors recommandé que l'institution améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, Environnement Canada a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis. Le Commissariat note que le nombre et la longueur des prorogations prises par Environnement Canada ont augmenté en 2010-2011 par rapport à 2008-2009.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Environnement Canada lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes concernant la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont Environnement Canada a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par Environnement Canada des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Au total, Environnement Canada a fait l'objet de 72 % de moins de plaintes en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009, y compris de plaintes pour présomption de refus et pour prorogation de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Environnement Canada lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Environnement Canada a vu son volume de plaintes diminuer de 72 % depuis la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Près de 50 % des plaintes que le Commissariat a reçues et fermées en 2010-2011 ont été jugées non fondées ou ont été abandonnées.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 19 13 4 2 38
Refus 6 5 3 1 15
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 25 19 7 3 54
2009-2010
Administratives 10 0 1 0 11
Refus 1 0 2** 0 3
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 11 0 3 0 14
2010–2011
Administratives 7 4 1 0 12
Refus 0 0 2 1 3
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 7 4 3 1 15

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

* * En 2010-2011, le Commissariat a commencé à classer différemment l'issue des plaintes. En 2009-2010, il y a eu une seule plainte pour refus, dont le dossier a été fermé en 2010-2011, classée dans la nouvelle catégorie Réglées, qui comprend les plaintes au sujet des erreurs mineures, réglées à la satisfaction de la commissaire sans qu'elle émette de recommandation. Pour les besoins du rapport, cette plainte a été classée dans la catégorie Abandonnées.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

Bien qu'Environnement Canada ait connu un meilleur rendement en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009, la note « C » est faible et indique qu'il y a encore place à l'amélioration. Par conséquent, le Commissariat fait les recommandations suivantes.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le ministre de l'Environnement et le sous-ministre d'Environnement Canada continuent de faire preuve de leadership en appuyant les efforts d'amélioration du bureau de l'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Environnement Canada (EC) appuie cette recommandation. Le ministre et le sous-ministre de l'Environnement demeurent engagés et tiennent résolument à améliorer continuellement le rendement d'Environnement Canada en matière d'accès à l'information. Le sous-ministre donne tout son appui aux efforts continus que le Ministère met en œuvre pour renforcer sa capacité en matière d'accès à l'information. Le Comité exécutif de gestion d'EC se penche chaque mois sur le rendement en matière d'accès à l'information.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande d'intégrer le rendement en matière d'accès à l'information aux ententes de gestion du rendement de tous les cadres supérieurs responsables du programme d'accès à l'information à Environnement Canada.

RÉPONSE : Environnement Canada appuie cette recommandation. Le rendement en matière d'accès à l'information fait partie des ententes de gestion du rendement de tous les cadres supérieurs délégataires de responsabilités en matière d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada examine et documente les critères qu'il utilise pour les prorogations de délai, afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient raisonnables et légitimes.

RÉPONSE : Environnement Canada appuie cette recommandation. Le bureau d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) développe présentement un certain nombre de procédures et de guides à l'usage du Ministère. Dans le cadre de ce projet, il élaborera des consignes détaillées pour permettre au personnel de l'AIPRP de mieux évaluer et documenter le besoin de prorogations.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada continue de ramener son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : Environnement Canada appuie cette recommandation et s'efforce assidûment de ramener son taux de présomption de refus à zéro. Malgré l'augmentation continue du volume de demandes, EC a amélioré sa conformité au cours des deux dernières années. EC prévoit que, grâce à l'emphase qu'il continue de mettre sur le perfectionnement de son personnel et la rationalisation de ses opérations, cette tendance se maintiendra dans les années à venir.

5. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada poursuive la mise en œuvre de son plan pour éliminer son arriéré de demandes d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE :Environnement Canada appuie cette recommandation et travaille systématiquement à éliminer son arriéré de demandes. EC continuera de mettre l'emphase sur la réduction de son arriéré au cours du prochain exercice financier.

6. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande qu'Environnement Canada fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Environnement Canada appuie cette recommandation et fera rapport de ses progrès dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur l'accès à l'information.