Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadian Security Intelligence Service

The Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) collects, analyzes and retains information and intelligence about activities that may threaten the security of Canada, and reports to and advises the Government of Canada on these matters.

Assessment: A

(Received a D in 2008–2009)

  • CSIS performed well in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal was 3 percent—the lowest among the institutions that were part of the report card process this year. It took CSIS an average of 49 days to complete a request, the second-best rate for the year.
  • CSIS cited a number of factors that contributed to its success in 2010–2011: a well-established staff complement, training, compliance monitoring and a general will to improve.
  • CSIS satisfactorily implemented all four of the Office of the Information Commissioner’s (OIC) 2008–2009 recommendations. The OIC has issued a new recommendation in the area of time extensions for searching through large volumes of records, because it is not clear to the OIC why CSIS had to take so many for this reason when it has an excellent central records registry (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 37 33
Number of new requests 150 263
Number of requests completed 140 260
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 33,333 31,309
Deemed refusal rate 20.9%* 3%*
Average number of days to complete a request 86 49
Number of consultation
requests received
182 257
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 13 22
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 6** 1**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 15 15
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Training............................................................ Met expectations

Deemed refusal rate........................................ Met expectations

Average completion time............................... Met expectations

Extension notices........................................... Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution’s initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. The number of complaints reported reflects complaints resolved as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may differ from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

The Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) performed well in 2010–2011. Its deemed refusal was 3 percent—the lowest among the institutions that were part of the report card process this year. It took CSIS an average of 49 days to complete a request, the second-best rate for the year. This is a significant improvement from CSIS’s results on its first-ever report card in 2008–2009, when it received a “D” grade.

CSIS began 2010–2011 with a clean slate, since none of its small carry-over of 31 requests was overdue. The access coordinator cited a number of reasons for how CSIS managed to stay current with its request and consultation workload for the rest of the year.

For example, CSIS has an established complement of employees. It is especially important for CSIS to be able to retain its staff because the stringent security screening that each employee undergoes is a significant investment of time. CSIS has chosen to assign its staff the responsibility for their cases from start to finish. The coordinator said that this makes it easy for anyone to be able to inquire about the advancement— or any other aspect—of a request.

The coordinator also credits training, compliance oversight and a general will to improve for CSIS’s commendable performance in 2010–2011. There were two full days of Privasoft training for all staff that was intended to avert technical mishaps; requests were monitored to ensure they were advancing; and the responsible director general was briefed regularly about the access office’s statistical progress.

CSIS has begun proactively processing frequently requested records with results that have proven so successful that a full-time resource has been assigned to this task. CSIS also reported that communicating with its applicants has helped to streamline its operations.

CSIS reported an increase of about 50 percent for new requests, and that its consultations are “skyrocketing” (a 41-percent increase from 2008–2009). The coordinator observed that many of the consultation requests it received were not necessary and would prefer that consulting institutions contacted CSIS in advance of sending the consultation.

As reported in the 2008–2009 report card, CSIS has a strong information management advantage, since every record generated is entered into a central registry. This causes the OIC to question, however, why CSIS needed to take extensions on almost half of the new requests it received in 2010–2011, the majority of which were for searching through records or for when the nature of a request impacted operations.

The OIC received three complaints of an administrative nature (delays/time extensions) about CSIS. However, there was a significant increase in the refusal category, which includes complaints about institutions’ use of exemptions, there being no records that match the request and incomplete responses.

Follow-up on the 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued four recommendations to CSIS with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution’s response and its October 2010 progress report, go here ).

  1. CSIS undertook two full days of Privasoft training for all staff to avoid technical mishaps, as per the OIC’s recommendation.
  2. In response to the OIC’s recommendation, CSIS reduced its deemed refusal rate to 3 percent, from 20.9 percent in 2008–2009.
  3. CSIS cut its average time to complete requests nearly in half, to 49 days, which is among the best results for institutions in the 2010–2011 cohort.
  4. CSIS met the OIC’s 85-percent standard for acceptable performance, in terms of submitting the required notices of extensions taken for longer than 30 days.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service’s workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw a 50-percent increase in its workload. This was accounted for by a 75-percent increase in the number of new requests it received and a 41-percent rise in consultation requests. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed decreased by 6 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act increased from 79 percent to 96 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 22 requests in 2008–2009 and 9 in 2010–2011. The Office of the Information Commissioner is concerned that CSIS took time extensions for nearly half of the new requests it completed in 2010–2011, although CSIS was the subject of only two time extension complaints that year.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CSIS submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that CSIS improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, CSIS submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CSIS delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CSIS’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. After receiving no complaints about CSIS in 2009–2010, the Office of the Information Commissioner received one deemed refusal complaint and two time extension complaints in 2010–2011.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

* Resolved complaints are those that the Office of the Information Commissioner finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. In 2010–2011, the OIC received three administrative complaints (delays/time extensions), which is an increase from the previous year but, notably, not in proportion to the large increase in the number of time extensions CSIS took in 2010–2011. Of concern to the OIC, however, is a significant increase in the refusal complaints, which includes complaints about institutions' use of exemptions, there being no records that match the request and incomplete responses.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 5 0 1 0 6
Refusals 1 2 2 2 7
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 2 3 2 13
2009–2010
Administrative 0 0 0 0 0
Refusals 0 0 2** 2 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 2 2 4
2010–2011
Administrative 1 0 1 1 3
Refusals 0 0 0 19 19
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 0 1 20 22

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

** The OIC began using new disposition categories in 2010–2011. There was one refusal complaint registered in 2009–2010 and closed in 2010–2011 in the new Settled category, which comprises complaints about minor errors, settled to the Commissioner’s satisfaction without a finding. For reporting purposes, this complaint was placed in the Discontinued category.

2010–2011 recommendations

In light of CSIS’s outstanding performance, the OIC challenges it to assume a leadership role in the access to information community.

1.  The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service review and document the criteria it uses for extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act to ensure that the extensions are reasonable and legitimate.

RESPONSE: The criteria for extensions will be reviewed in each case considered for an extension to ensure the extensions are reasonable and legitimate. The underlying reason behind each time extension will be duly documented in the ATIP case management system.

2.  The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian Security Intelligence Service report on its progress implementing this recommendation in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: The 2011–2012 Access to Information Act Annual Report to Parliament will address this issue.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité

Le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) recueille, analyse et conserve l'information et les renseignements sur les activités qui pourraient menacer la sécurité du Canada, pour ensuite en faire rapport au gouvernement du Canada et le conseiller à ce sujet.

Évaluation : A

(D en 2008-2009)

  • Le SCRS a connu un bon rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus était de 3 % - le plus bas parmi les institutions visées par le processus des fiches de rendement cette année. Le SCRS a mis en moyenne 49 jours pour traiter une demande, se classant ainsi au deuxième rang cette année.
  • Le SCRS a expliqué ses succès de 2010-2011 par divers facteurs : un effectif bien établi, la formation, la surveillance de la conformité et la volonté générale de s'améliorer.
  • Le SCRS a répondu de façon satisfaisante à chacune des quatre recommandations émises par le Commissariat en 2008-2009. Le Commissariat a fait une nouvelle recommandation au sujet des prorogations de délai prises pour fouiller un grand nombre de documents, parce que le Commissariat ne comprend pas pourquoi le SCRS a invoqué cette raison aussi souvent, alors qu'il détient un excellent dépôt central de dossiers (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 37 33
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 150 263
Nombre de demandes traitées 140 260
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées 33 333 31 309
Taux de présomption de refus 20,9 %* 3 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 86 49
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 182 257
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 13 22
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 6** 1**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 15 15
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Formation............................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Taux de présomption de refus............................. A répondu aux attentes

Délai moyen de traitement...................................... A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................... A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué est le nombre de plaintes réglées en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) a connu un bon rendement en 2010-2011. Son taux de présomption de refus était de 3 % – le plus bas parmi les institutions visées par le processus des fiches de rendement cette année-là. Le SCRS a mis en moyenne 49 jours pour traiter une demande, se classant ainsi au deuxième rang des institutions cette année-là. C'est une amélioration importante par rapport aux résultats qu'a obtenus le SCRS dans sa toute première fiche de rendement en 2008-2009, où il a reçu la note « D ».

Le SCRS a pu partir de zéro en 2010-2011, puisqu'aucune des 31 demandes qu'il avait reportées n'était en retard. La coordonnatrice de l'accès a cité plusieurs raisons expliquant comment le SCRS a réussi à se maintenir à jour avec la quantité de demandes et de consultations pour le reste de l'année.

Par exemple, le SCRS a un effectif bien établi. Il est particulièrement important que le SCRS puisse conserver son effectif, parce que la vérification de sécurité extrêmement rigoureuse à laquelle il soumet chaque employé demande un important investissement de temps. Le SCRS a donc choisi de confier à ses employés la responsabilité de leurs dossiers du début à la fin. Selon la coordonnatrice, chacun peut ainsi facilement se renseigner sur l'avancement – ou sur un autre aspect – d'une demande.

La coordonnatrice attribue aussi à la formation, à la surveillance de la conformité et à une volonté générale de s'améliorer le rendement louable du SCRS en 2010-2011. L'ensemble du personnel a reçu une formation de deux jours sur Privasoft, afin d'éviter les accidents techniques; le traitement des demandes était contrôlé pour en assurer l'avancement; et le directeur général responsable était informé périodiquement des progrès statistiques du bureau d'accès.

Le SCRS a commencé à traiter proactivement les documents fréquemment demandés et a obtenu des résultats tellement positifs, qu'il a affecté une ressource à temps plein à cette tâche. Le SCRS a aussi dit que de communiquer avec ses demandeurs lui a permis de rationaliser ses opérations.

Le SCRS a fait état d'une augmentation d'environ 50 % du nombre de nouvelles demandes, et a dit que le nombre de demandes de consultation qu'il a reçues avait « augmenté en flèche » (il y en a reçu 41 % de plus qu'en 2008-2009). La coordonnatrice a affirmé qu'un grand nombre des demandes de consultations que le SCRS recevait n'étaient pas nécessaires et que le SCRS préférerait que les autres institutions le contactent avant d'envoyer des demandes de consultation.

Comme l'indiquait la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009, le SCRS jouit d'un solide avantage en gestion de l'information, puisque chaque document qu'il génère est enregistré dans un dépôt central. Cela amène le Commissariat à se demander pourquoi le SCRS a eu besoin de prendre des prorogations pour près de la moitié des nouvelles demandes qu'il a reçues en 2010-2011, dont la majorité était pour passer en revue les documents ou parce que la nature de la demande influait sur ses opérations.

Le Commissariat a reçu trois plaintes d'ordre administratives (retards/prorogations de délai) contre le SCRS. Cependant, il y a eu une augmentation marquée du nombre de plaintes pour refus, qui comprennent les plaintes concernant un recours aux exceptions, comme il n'y a pas de dossiers pour apparier les demandes et les réponses incomplètes.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat avait fait quatre recommandations au SCRS dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument les mesures que l'institution a prises pour y répondre. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir ).

  1. Le SCRS a offert deux journées complètes de formation sur Privasoft à tout le personnel, afin d'éviter les accidents techniques, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.
  2. Suite à la recommandation du Commissariat, le SCRS a ramené son taux de présomption de refus à 3 %, comparativement à 20,9 % en 2008-2009.
  3. Le SCRS a réduit de près de moitié son délai moyen de traitement, le ramenant à 49 jours, se situant ainsi parmi les meilleurs résultats des institutions de la cohorte de 2010-2011.
  4. Le SCRS s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour un rendement acceptable pour ce qui est de l'envoi des avis requis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail augmenter de 50 %. Cela vient d'un accroissement de 75 % du nombre de nouvelles demandes qu'elle a reçues et d'une hausse de 41 % du nombre de demandes de consultation. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes a baissé de 6 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 79 % à 96 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 22 demandes en 2008-2009 et 9 en 2010-2011. Le Commissariat à l'information déplore que le SCRS ait pris des prorogations de délai pour près de la moitié des nouvelles demandes qu'il a traitées en 2010-2011, même si le SCRS a fait l'objet de seulement deux plaintes pour prorogation de délai cette année-là.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de laLoi sur l'accès à l'information. Le SCRS a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, et le Commissariat avait alors recommandé que le SCRS améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, le SCRS a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont le SCRS a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par le SCRS des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Après n'avoir reçu aucune plainte au sujet du SCRS en 2009-2010, le Commissariat à l'information a reçu une plainte pour présomption de refus et deux autres pour prorogation de délai en 2010-2011.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. En 2010-2011, le Commissariat a reçu trois plaintes d'ordre administratives (retards/prorogations de délai), ce qui est plus que l'année précédente, mais qui n'est pas proportionnel à la forte augmentation du nombre de prorogations de délai que le SCRS a prises en 2010-2011. Le Commissariat se préoccupe, par contre, d'une augmentation importante du nombre de plaintes pour refus, qui comprennent les plaintes concernant un recours aux exceptions, comme il n'y a pas de dossiers pour apparier les demandes et les réponses incomplètes.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 5 0 1 0 6
Refus 1 2 2 2 7
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 6 2 3 2 13
2009-2010
Administratives 0 0 0 0 0
Refus 0 0 2** 2 4
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 2 2 4
2010–2011
Administratives 1 0 1 1 3
Refus 0 0 0 19 19
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 1 0 1 20 22

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

* * En 2010-2011, le Commissariat a commencé à classer différemment l'issue des plaintes. En 2009-2010, il y a eu une seule plainte pour refus, dont le dossier a été fermé en 2010-2011, classée dans la nouvelle catégorie Réglées, qui comprend les plaintes au sujet des erreurs mineures, réglées à la satisfaction de la commissaire sans qu'elle émette de recommandation. Pour les besoins du rapport, cette plainte a été inscrite dans la catégorie Abandonnées.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

À la lumière du rendement exceptionnel du SCRS, le Commissariat lui propose le défi d'assumer un rôle de leader dans la collectivité de l'accès à l'information.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité examine et documente les critères qu'il utilise pour prendre des prorogations en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et veiller à ce que les prorogations soient raisonnables et légitimes.

RÉPONSE : Le SCRS examinera les critères pour les prorogations dans chaque cas où il envisagera une prorogation pour veiller à ce que les prorogations soient raisonnables et légitimes. La justification sous-tendant la décision de prendre une prorogation de délai sera dûment documentée dans le système de gestion des cas d'AIPRP.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de cette recommandation dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Le rapport annuel au Parlement sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour 2011-2012 traitera de cette question.