Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadian International Development Agency

The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) delivers Canada's official development assistance around the world, working to reduce poverty, promote human rights and support sustainable development.

Assessment: B

(Received an F in 2008–2009)

  • CIDA turned in a very good performance in 2010–2011, despite a growing workload. The deemed refusal rate was 8.2 percent. The average time to complete a request fell from previous levels, despite CIDA's clearing its backlog of long-standing requests. In addition, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered only four complaints against CIDA in 2010–2011.
  • CIDA reports that its success was the result of receiving the resources it needed to secure consultants, establishing clear communication within the access to information team, implementing new procedures and creating a procedures manual, and providing extensive training to CIDA employees.
  • CIDA satisfactorily implemented all six of the OIC's 2008–2009 recommendations. However, the OIC is concerned about CIDA's practice of closing files with outstanding consultations and has issued a recommendation in this area, along with several others to prompt further improvements in performance (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 102 52
Number of new requests 150 205
Number of requests completed 168 198
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 10,188 17,563
Deemed refusal rate 37.7%* 8.2%*
Average number of days to complete a request 157 113
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 49
Number of consultation requests received 86 111
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 11 4
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 4** 0**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 8.29 9.8
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Delegation order.............................................. Met expectations

Backlog/improvement plan............................ Met expectations

Consultations: protocols............................... Met expectations

Consultations: inform requesters
of additional records
........................................ Met expectations

Consultations: time extensions.................... Met expectations

Extension notices........................................... Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution's initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here .

*   Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner's satisfaction. The number of complaints reported reflects complaints resolved as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may differ from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) turned in a very good performance in 2010–2011, despite a growing workload (37 percent more access requests and 29 percent more consultation requests compared with 2008–2009). The deemed refusal rate dropped from 37.7 percent to 8.2 percent, and the average time to complete a request fell from 157 days to 113 days. CIDA was able to clear its backlog of long-standing requests. (This inflates the average completion time. Excluding the backlogged cases, CIDA's average completion time for requests received and completed in 2010–2011 was 49 days.) The Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered only 4 complaints against CIDA in 2010–2011, compared with 11 in 2008–2009.

CIDA reported that its success was the result of receiving the resources necessary to secure consultants, establishing clear communication within the access to information team, implementing new procedures and creating a procedures manual, and providing extensive training (32 training sessions with 452 CIDA employees—with the priority on program areas that had trouble meeting their access obligations and those that asked for training). Access officials report that senior management has supported the shift to making access to information and privacy training mandatory for all employees.

With fewer complaints to respond to, CIDA reports that it was able to spend more time in communication with requesters. Analysts now discuss with requesters the possibility of partially releasing documents while awaiting responses on consultations, and also explain the use of exemptions. Not only does this help reduce the number of complaints, but it is also a good example of exercising the duty to assist. The reduction in complaints is likely also a result of more requests staying on time (CIDA completed all but nine requests—6 percent—within the deadlines it had set).

Consultations with other institutions have been more timely, thanks to informal agreements that CIDA put in place with Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, National Defence and the Department of Justice Canada. Follow-ups are still required when these institutions do not respect agreed-upon deadlines. The exercise of closing a request while engaging in consultations with other government institutions is a practice about which the OIC has expressed concern. The OIC is of the view that, absent a decision by the institution to apply an exemption in a substantive matter and to properly affect the severance required by section 25 of the Access to Information Act, a file should not be closed. The OIC, however, encourages institutions to make partial releases whenever possible, to fulfill their duty to assist.

Further, the OIC advocates that an institution set out fixed time frames within which consulted institutions have an opportunity to provide their severing recommendations, failing which the government institution in receipt of the request would determine for itself any applicable exemptions. This would obviate CIDA's practice of closing files with outstanding consultations.

CIDA reported that although changes have been made to the agency's information management system, further improvements are needed. Access officials said that upcoming awareness sessions should clarify some of the outstanding issues.

CIDA must be commended for its performance in 2010–2011. However, the OIC agrees with the access to information coordinator at this institution, who noted during the report card interview how quickly performance can decline. CIDA has reported that its performance for 2011–2012 will not be as good as that for 2010–2011. Due to a variety of factors, most notably the growing workload, the sudden loss of several employees and organizational restructuring, access staff have been finding it very difficult to adhere to legislative deadlines. This underlines the need for long-term planning.

Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued six recommendations to CIDA with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution's response and its October 2010 progress report, go here.)

  1. CIDA now closely follows its delegation order in the wake of the OIC's recommendation to eliminate unnecessary approvals. The Minister's office now receives a copy of release packages for information only, 72 hours before disclosure.
  2. At the OIC's recommendation, CIDA put an improvement plan in place that has resulted in the elimination of the backlog of long-standing requests and a large improvement in CIDA's deemed refusal rate.
  3. CIDA has agreements regarding consultations in place with the institutions it consults most, as per the OIC's recommendations.
  4. CIDA has a process in place to ensure that requesters know that it may receive additional records resulting from mandatory consultations, even though CIDA has closed the file. During the 2008–2009 report card process, it was unclear to the OIC whether CIDA was following this practice. As noted, the OIC does not agree with institutions' closing files with outstanding consultations after doing a partial release of records.
  5. CIDA regularly consults other institutions to set realistic deadlines, as the OIC recommended. However, the OIC notes the increase in the number of time extensions CIDA took in 2010–2011, particularly the large jump in those for 91–120 days and for more than 180 days.
  6. The OIC recommended that CIDA improve its procedures to ensure it submits all the required notices of extensions of more than 30 days. CIDA met the OIC's 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in this area in 2010–2011.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of the Canadian International Development Agency's workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution saw a 9-percent increase in its workload. It carried 49 percent fewer requests over from the previous fiscal year, but received 37 percent more new access requests and 29 percent more consultation requests. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 72 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act increased from 67 percent to 94 percent. The remaining requests were completed late: 49 requests in 2008–2009 and 9 in 2010–2011.

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. CIDA supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. CIDA submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that CIDA improve its performance in this area. In 2010-2011, CIDA submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices. The OIC notes the increase in the number of time extensions CIDA took in 2010–2011, particularly the large jump in those for 91–120 days and for more than 180 days.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that CIDA delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about CIDA's use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. There were no complaints against CIDA in either of these categories in 2010–2011.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Although CIDA saw an increase in complaints in 2009–2010 compared to the year before, more than half of these were not substantiated or discontinued. In 2010–2011, the number of complaints dropped sharply. Of the four complaints registered, all were pending at the time of writing.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 4 1 5 0 10
Refusals 0 0 0 1 1
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 5 1 11
2009–2010
Administrative 7 4 3 0 14
Refusals 0 3 1 3 7
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 7 8 4 3 22
2010–2011
Administrative 0 0 0 2 2
Refusals 0 0 0 2 2
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 4 4

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner's satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

CIDA improved its performance in 2010–2011, and the OIC is issuing the following five recommendations to ensure that that improvement continues.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Minister of International Cooperation and the Deputy Minister of the Canadian International Development Agency demonstrate leadership and maintain the resourcing levels needed for CIDA to comply with its obligations under the Access to Information Act.

RESPONSE: The Minister of International Cooperation and the Deputy Minister of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) will continue to demonstrate leadership and maintain the resourcing levels needed for it to comply with its obligations under the Access to Information Act

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency not close files with outstanding consultations. Instead, it should set out fixed time frames within which consulted institutions have an opportunity to provide their severing recommendations, failing which CIDA, as the government institution in receipt of the request, would determine for itself any applicable exemptions.

RESPONSE: CIDA will not close access to information request files with outstanding consultations. CIDA will better estimate time frames for consulting other institutions who provide severing recommendations and will clearly communicate those deadlines with them. Should the consulted institutions not meet the deadline, CIDA, as the government institution in receipt of the access to information request, will determine for itself any applicable exemptions for which it has the legal authority.

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency reduce the length of extensions that it takes to process access to information requests.

RESPONSE: CIDA will continue to work towards reducing the length of extensions that it takes to process access to information requests in order to achieve better turnaround times for access to information requests.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency continue to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: CIDA will continue its efforts to reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero by improving efficiency in the processing of its access to information requests. The fact that CIDA, as the government institution in receipt of the access to information request, will now determine for itself any applicable exemptions when consulted institutions do not respond within established time frames should contribute to reducing the refusal rate.

5. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that the Canadian International Development Agency report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: CIDA will report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Agence canadienne de développement international

L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) assure l'aide au développement officiel partout dans le monde, s'efforçant de réduire la pauvreté, de promouvoir les droits de l'homme et d'appuyer le développement durable.

Évaluation : B

(F en 2008-2009)

  • L'ACDI a connu un très bon rendement en 2010-2011, malgré l'accroissement de sa charge de travail. Son taux de présomption de refus a été de 8,2 %. Son délai moyen de traitement des demandes a diminué par rapport aux années antérieures, bien que l'ACDI ait éliminé son arriéré de demandes de longue date. En outre, le Commissariat à l'information a reçu seulement quatre plaintes contre l'ACDI en 2010-2011.
  • L'ACDI attribue son succès au fait qu'elle a reçu les ressources dont elle avait besoin pour retenir les services de consultants, qu'elle a établi des communications claires au sein de l'équipe d'accès à l'information, qu'elle a mis en œuvre de nouvelles procédures et a produit un manuel de procédures, et qu'elle a donné une formation poussée à son personnel.
  • L'ACDI a répondu de façon satisfaisante à chacune des six recommandations émises par le Commissariat en 2008-2009. Cependant, le Commissariat déplore la pratique de l'ACDI consistant à fermer des dossiers avec des consultations en cours et a formulé une recommandation sur ce point, ainsi que sur plusieurs autres points pour inciter l'institution à améliorer encore son rendement (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 102 52
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 150 205
Nombre de demandes traitées 168 198
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées 10 188 17 563
Taux de présomption de refus 37,7 %* 8,2 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 157 113
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 (en jours) s.o. 49
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 86 111
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 11 4
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 4** 0**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 8,29 9,8
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ordonnance de délégation...................................... A répondu aux attentes

Arriéré/plan d'amélioration.................................. A répondu aux attentes

Consultations : protocoles......................................... A répondu aux attentes

Consultations : informer les demandeurs de documents supplémentaires.............................................................. A répondu aux attentes

Consultations : prorogations de délai............. A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation........................................................ A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué est le nombre de plaintes réglées en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a connu un très bon rendement en 2010-2011, malgré l'accroissement de sa charge de travail (37 % de plus de demandes d'accès à l'information et 29 % de plus de demandes de consultation comparativement à 2008-2009). Son taux de présomption de refus est passé de 37,7 % à 8,2 % et son délai moyen de traitement des demandes est passé de 157 à 113 jours. L'ACDI a pu éliminer son arriéré de demandes de longue date. (Cela gonfle le délai moyen de traitement. En excluant l'arriéré, le délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues et traitées en 2010-2011 était de 49 jours.) Le Commissariat à l'information a reçu seulement 4 plaintes contre l'ACDI en 2010-2011, comparativement à 11 en 2008-2009.

L'ACDI attribue son succès au fait qu'elle a reçu les ressources dont elle avait besoin pour retenir les services de consultants, qu'elle a établi des communications claires au sein de l'équipe de l'accès à l'information, qu'elle a mis en œuvre de nouvelles procédures et produit un manuel de procédures, et qu'elle a offert des formations poussées (32 séances de formation avec 452 employés de l'ACDI – en accordant la priorité aux secteurs de programme qui avaient de la difficulté à s'acquitter de leurs obligations en matière d'accès à l'information et à ceux qui ont demandé de la formation). Les responsables de l'accès à l'information disent que la haute direction a appuyé le changement en obligeant tout le personnel à suivre la formation sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels.

Ayant eu moins de plaintes à traiter, l'ACDI a pu consacrer plus de temps à s'entretenir avec les demandeurs. Ses analystes discutent désormais avec les demandeurs de la possibilité de communiquer une partie des documents demandés, en attendant les réponses aux consultations, et expliquent également l'utilisation des exceptions. Non seulement cela aide à réduire le nombre de plaintes, mais il s'agit d'un exemple concret de ce que signifie l'obligation de prêter assistance. La réduction du nombre de plaintes s'explique probablement par le fait qu'un plus grand nombre de demandes ont été traitées à temps (l'ACDI a traité toutes les plaintes sauf neuf – 6 % – dans les délais qu'elle avait fixé).

Les consultations avec les autres institutions ont été plus rapides, grâce à des ententes informelles que l'ACDI a conclues avec les ministères des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, de la Défense nationale et de la Justice du Canada. Il y a encore des suivis à faire lorsque ces institutions ne respectent pas les échéances convenues. La fermeture d'un dossier avec des consultations en cours avec d'autres institutions fédérales est une pratique sur laquelle le Commissariat a quelques réserves. Le Commissariat est d'avis que, à moins que l'institution n'ait décidé d'appliquer une exception sur une question de fond et d'effectuer correctement le prélèvement requis par l'article 25 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, le dossier devrait demeurer ouvert. Par contre, le Commissariat encourage les institutions à s'acquitter de leur obligation de prêter assistance en communiquant partiellement, dans la mesure du possible, l'information demandée.

De plus, le Commissariat préconise que chaque institution impose des délais fixes au cours desquels les institutions consultées ont la possibilité de recommander des prélèvements, à défaut de quoi l'institution fédérale qui a reçu la demande déciderait d'elle-même des exceptions applicables. Cela ferait cesser la pratique de l'ACDI consistant à fermer des dossiers en cours de consultations.

L'ACDI a indiqué que des changements au système de gestion de l'information de l'Agence ont déjà été apportés, mais que d'autres améliorations s'imposent. Les responsables de l'accès à l'information ont dit que des séances de sensibilisation ayant bientôt lieu devraient aider à clarifier certains des problèmes qui subsistent.

L'ACDI mérite d'être félicitée pour son rendement en 2010-2011. Cependant, le Commissariat est d'accord avec la coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information de cette institution, qui a noté, pendant l'entrevue pour la fiche de rendement, combien ce rendement peut se dégrader rapidement. L'ACDI a dit que son rendement ne sera pas aussi bon en 2011-2012 qu'en 2010-2011. À cause de divers facteurs, et tout particulièrement de l'alourdissement de la charge de travail, du départ inopiné de plusieurs employés et d'une restructuration organisationnelle, le personnel de l'accès à l'information trouve très difficile de respecter les échéances imposées par la Loi. Cela témoigne de la nécessité d'une planification à long terme.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a fait six recommandations à l'ACDI dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument les mesures que l'institution a prises pour y répondre. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir .)

  1. L'ACDI suit maintenant de près son ordonnance de délégation, suite à la recommandation du Commissariat d'éliminer les niveaux d'autorisation inutiles. Le cabinet de la ministre reçoit désormais 72 heures avant la communication une copie des documents communiqués, à titre d'information seulement.
  2. Sur recommandation du Commissariat, l'ACDI s'est donné un plan d'amélioration qui a permis d'éliminer son arriéré des demandes de longue date et de diminuer considérablement son taux de présomption de refus.
  3. L'ACDI a conclu des ententes au sujet des consultations avec les institutions qu'elle consulte le plus, selon les recommandations du Commissariat.
  4. L'ACDI a instauré un processus permettant d'informer les demandeurs de la possibilité de recevoir d'autres documents suite aux consultations obligatoires, même si elle a fermé le dossier. Pendant le processus des fiches de rendement de 2008-2009, le Commissariat n'était pas en mesure de constater si l'ACDI se conformait à cette pratique. Ainsi qu'il a été noté, le Commissariat n'approuve pas la fermeture des dossiers après une communication partielle de documents lorsque des consultations sont en cours.
  5. L'ACDI consulte périodiquement d'autres institutions pour fixer des délais réalistes, selon la recommandation du Commissariat. Cependant, le Commissariat note l'augmentation du nombre de prorogations de délai que l'ACDI a prises en 2010-2011, et tout particulièrement le bond considérable du nombre de prorogations de 91-120 jours et de plus de 180 jours.
  6. Le Commissariat a recommandé que l'ACDI améliore ses procédures pour veiller à envoyer tous les avis requis pour les prorogations de délai de plus de 30 jours. L'ACDI s'est conformée à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour obtenir un rendement acceptable sur ce point en 2010-2011.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de l'Agence canadienne de développement international pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, l'institution a vu sa charge de travail augmenter de 9 %. Elle a reporté 49 % de moins de demandes de l'exercice financier précédent, mais a reçu 37 % de plus de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information et 29 % de plus de demandes de consultation. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées a augmenté de 72 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'informationest passée de 67 % à 94 %. Les autres demandes ont été traitées en retard : 49 demandes en 2008-2009 et 9 en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'ACDI a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. L'ACDI a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, et le Commissariat avait alors recommandé que l'ACDI améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, l'ACDI a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis. Le Commissariat note l'augmentation du nombre de prorogations de délai que l'ACDI a prises en 2010-2011, et particulièrement le bond considérable du nombre de prorogations de 91-120 jours et de plus de 180 jours.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) lors des trois exercices commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes au sujet de la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont l'ACDI a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par l'ACDI des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Il n'y a pas eu de plaintes contre l'ACDI dans l'une ou l'autre de ces catégories en 2010-2011.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. L'ACDI a eu une augmentation du nombre de plaintes en 2009-2010 par rapport à l'année précédente, mais plus de la moitié de ces plaintes n'étaient pas fondées ou ont été abandonnées. En 2010-2011, le nombre de plaintes a chuté sensiblement. Sur les quatre plaintes reçues, toutes étaient en suspens au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 4 1 5 0 10
Refus 0 0 0 1 1
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 4 1 5 1 11
2009-2010
Administratives 7 4 3 0 14
Refus 0 3 1 3 7
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 7 8 4 3 22
2010–2011
Administratives 0 0 0 2 2
Refus 0 0 0 2 2
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 0 0 0 4 4

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

L'ACDI a amélioré son rendement en 2010-2011, et le Commissariat fait les cinq recommandations suivantes pour veiller à ce que cette amélioration se poursuive.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que la ministre de la Coopération internationale et le sous-ministre de l'Agence canadienne de développement international fassent preuve de leadership et maintiennent les niveaux de ressources nécessaires pour permettre à l'ACDI de s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : La ministre de la Coopération internationale et la sous-ministre de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) continueront de faire preuve de leadership et maintiendront les niveaux de ressources nécessaires pour lui permettre de s'acquitter de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que l'Agence canadienne de développement international ne ferme pas les dossiers avec des consultations en cours. Elle devrait plutôt imposer des délais fixes au cours desquels les institutions consultées ont la possibilité de recommander des prélèvements, à défaut de quoi l'ACDI, en tant qu'institution fédérale ayant reçu la demande, déciderait d'elle-même des exceptions applicables.

RÉPONSE : L'ACDI ne fermera pas les dossiers de demandes en cour de consultations. L'ACDI fera une meilleure estimation des délais lors de consultations auprès d'autres institutions qui recommandent des prélèvements et leur communiquera clairement ses échéanciers. Si les institutions consultées ne respectent pas le délai imposé, l'ACDI, à titre d'institution fédérale qui a reçu la demande d'accès à l'information, déterminera elle-même les exceptions applicables pour lesquelles la loi la rend responsable.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que l'Agence canadienne de développement international réduise la durée des prorogations qu'elle prend pour traiter les demandes d'information.

RÉPONSE : L'ACDI continuera de fournir les efforts nécessaires pour réduire la durée des prorogations qu'elle prend pour traiter les demandes d'accès à l'information, afin d'abréger les délais de réponse aux demandes d'accès à l'information.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que l'Agence canadienne de développement international continue de ramener son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : L'ACDI poursuivra ses efforts pour ramener à zéro son taux de présomption de refus en améliorant l'efficacité du traitement de ses demandes d'accès à l'information. Le fait que l'ACDI, en tant qu'institution fédérale à qui est adressée la demande d'accès à l'information, déterminera désormais elle-même les exceptions applicables lorsque les institutions consultées ne répondront pas dans les délais fixés devrait contribuer à réduire le taux de refus.

5. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que l'Agence canadienne de développement international fasse rapport des progrès qu'elle fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : L'ACDI fera rapport des progrès qu'elle fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.