Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage is responsible for national policies and programs that promote Canadian content, foster cultural participation, active citizenship and participation in Canada’s civic life, and strengthen connections among Canadians.

Assessment: D

(Received an F in 2008–2009)

  • Canadian Heritage performed well in many regards in 2010–2011, with no files completed late from its current requests. However, its backlogged inventory kept its deemed refusal rate high, at 28.7 percent. The number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) against Canadian Heritage fell by 44 percent from the 2008–2009 level. The institution also streamlined its access review process.
  • A failing grade in 2008–2009 brought attention to the access to information program at Canadian Heritage and set changes in motion. Canadian Heritage subsequently doubled its full-time staff, and began carefully monitoring internal deadlines.
  • Canadian Heritage satisfactorily implemented all five of the OIC’s 2008–2009 recommendations. The OIC is issuing four recommendations to prompt further performance improvement in the coming years (2010-2011 Recommendations).
QUICK FACTS
2008–2009 2010–2011
Number of requests carried over from previous fiscal year 93 137
Number of new requests 294 253
Number of requests completed 239 296
Number of pages reviewed for requests completed 31,033 45,547
Deemed refusal rate 40.8%* 28.7%*
Average number of days to complete a request 107 185
Average number of days to complete a request received in 2010–2011 n/a 36
Number of consultation requests received 106 110
Percentage of required extension notices submitted to the OIC <85% >85%
Number of complaints registered with the OIC 25 14
Number of complaints the OIC resolved 14** 2**
Number of full-time equivalents in access to information operations, as of the end of the fiscal year 5.4 10.2
Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

Delegation order........................................ Met expectations

Resources................................................... Met expectations

Backlog....................................................... Met expectations

Training....................................................... Met expectations

Extension notices...................................... Met expectations

See report card text for details. For the full text of the recommendations, as well as the institution’s initial response and October 2010 progress report, go here.

* Percentage of carried over and new requests delayed beyond the deadlines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act. (See Appendix B for the formula the OIC used to calculate this rate.)

** A complaint is resolved when the OIC finds it has merit and the institution resolves it to the Commissioner’s satisfaction. The number of complaints reported reflects complaints resolved as of November 2011. As a result, the figure for 2008–2009 may differ from what appeared in the 2008–2009 report card.

Report card

Canadian Heritage performed well in many regards in 2010–2011, with no files completed late from its current requests. However, its backlogged inventory kept its deemed refusal rate high, at 28.7 percent. The number of complaints registered with the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) against Canadian Heritage fell by 44 percent from 2008–2009. The institution also made some progress reducing its backlog of long-standing requests, which drove its average completion time up to 185 days. However, excluding the backlogged files, the average completion time for requests received and completed in 2010–2011 was a commendable 36 days. The institution also reported that streamlining the review process and monitoring internal deadlines have both proved to be successful strategies.

A failing grade on the 2008–2009 report card brought management attention to access to information operations and set changes in motion. Notably, Canadian Heritage nearly doubled its staff from 5.4 to 10.2 full-time equivalents. The access to information coordinator determined the number of employees the office requires by analyzing the number of requests coming in and their complexity, and estimating how many files each analyst can realistically manage. A business case was prepared using this equation, which resulted in the office receiving the necessary resources and has greatly improved the institution’s ability to comply with the access legislation. An increase in knowledgeable and experienced staff has also meant that the unit has been able to be more proactive in clarifying requests with requesters and working with program areas to retrieve relevant records.

This equation does not, however, account for policy and other auxiliary Access to Information Activities, such as statistical reporting, policy development and training, since Canadian Heritage’s primary focus is processing requests. Nonetheless, one full-time resource managed to train 549 employees during 2010–2011, slightly more than 25 percent of all staff. This included regional training as well as customized training for specific program areas.

In addition to human resources, Canadian Heritage also invested in updated technology, allowing for an integrated approach to processing requests.

Canadian Heritage made changes suggested by the OIC with respect to its review process. Previously there was a multi-step process whereby one copy of the proposed disclosure package circulated to all senior management prior to release. Now, program areas whose records are the subject of the request have three days prior to the information being released to review the package. With fewer recipients and a streamlined process, the final stages of processing an access to information package have been simplified and therefore expedited. This process is compliant with the delegation order at Canadian Heritage.

To demonstrate its commitment to the legislation, Canadian Heritage has included access to information performance in executive performance agreements. The access coordinator reported that deadlines are now more well respected throughout the institution.

Follow-up on 2008–2009 recommendations

The OIC issued five recommendations to Canadian Heritage with the 2008–2009 report card. The following summarizes the subsequent developments at the institution in response. (For the full text of the recommendations, the institution’s 2008–2009 response and its October 2010 progress report, go here .)

  1. By streamlining the review process, Canadian Heritage has ensured that it is not delaying the release of information and adheres to the delegation order, as per the OIC’s recommendation.
  2. The OIC commends Canadian Heritage for allocating the resources necessary to improve its performance, as recommended. Since receiving the 2008–2009 report card, Canadian Heritage has nearly doubled its staff and invested in new technology to facilitate the processing of requests.
  3. Canadian Heritage made inroads towards eliminating its backlog of long-standing requests, but more work can be done.
  4. Canadian Heritage developed a training plan, in response to the OIC’s recommendation, and provided training to more than 25 percent of employees across the institution.
  5. The OIC recommended that Canadian Heritage improve its procedures to ensure it submits all the required notices of extensions of more than 30 days. Canadian Heritage met the OIC’s 85-percent standard for acceptable performance in this area in 2010–2011.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This graph shows the sources of Canadian Heritage’s workload for the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. Comparing 2008–2009 to 2010–2011, the institution’s overall workload was essentially the same but the composition changed. Canadian Heritage received 14 percent fewer new requests but carried over 47 percent more requests from the previous fiscal year. The number of pages reviewed for requests completed increased by 47 percent.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Between 2008–2009 and 2010–2011, the proportion of new access requests Canadian Heritage completed within the timelines (30 days and extended) set out in the Access to Information Act increased from 75 percent (with 57 overdue requests) to 100 percent (and no overdue requests). However, Canadian Heritage did take extensions for a greater proportion of its requests in 2010–2011 (22 percent) than in 2008–2009 (4 percent).

How long it took to complete new requests, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

This graph shows the number and length of the time extensions Canadian Heritage reported to have taken in 2008–2009 and 2010–2011. The institution supplied this information in the notices it sent to the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) under subsection 9(2) of the Access to Information Act. Canadian Heritage submitted fewer than 85 percent of the required notices in 2008–2009, at which point the OIC issued a recommendation that Canadian Heritage improve its performance in this area. In 2010–2011, Canadian Heritage submitted more than 85 percent of the required notices. The OIC notes the increase in the number of extensions Canadian Heritage took in 2010–2011 for more than 120 days.

Number and length of time extensions taken, 2008–2009 and 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

These graphs show the number and outcome of two types of complaint registered against Canadian Heritage in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009: complaints about deemed refusals (access to information requests that Canadian Heritage delayed beyond the deadlines—30 days and extended—set out in the Access to Information Act) and complaints about Canadian Heritage’s use of the time extensions allowed under the Act. Overall, Canadian Heritage was the subject of 44 percent fewer complaints in 2010–2011 compared to 2008–2009, including fewer deemed refusal and time extension complaints.

Number and outcome of delay-related complaints, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Text Version

Number and outcome of complaints received by the Office of the Information Commissioner, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

This table sets out the number and outcome of the complaints the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) registered against Canadian Heritage in the three fiscal years starting in 2008–2009. The number of complaints against Canadian Heritage was 44 percent lower in 2010–2011 than in 2008–2009. Half of the complaints registered in 2010–2011 are pending, while 36 percent were found to be not substantiated or were discontinued.

 

Resolved*

Not substantiated

Discontinued

Pending

Total

2008–2009
Administrative 14 2 5 0 21
Refusals 0 1 2 1 4
Cabinet confidences 0 0 0 0 0
Total 14 3 7 1 25
2009–2010
Administrative 6 4 0 0 10
Refusals 2 0 3 3 8
Cabinet confidences 0 1 0 0 1
Total 8 5 3 3 19
2010–2011
Administrative 2 1 1 1 5
Refusals 0 1 0 4 5
Cabinet confidences 0 2 0 2 4
Total 2 4 1 7 14

* Resolved complaints are those that the OIC finds to have merit and that the institution resolves to the Commissioner’s satisfaction.

2010–2011 recommendations

Canadian Heritage’s overall performance got better in 2010–2011, but there is still room for improvement. The OIC is issuing four recommendations to prompt the institution in this regard in the coming years.

1. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage reduce its deemed refusal rate to zero.

RESPONSE: Canadian Heritage continues to adhere to the legislation and makes every effort to complete its access to information requests within the statutory time frames. In fiscal year 2010–2011 Canadian Heritage completed all its new requests on time. The Department is committed to completing the outstanding backlog requests.

2. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage review and document the criteria it uses for extensions to ensure that they are reasonable and legitimate.

RESPONSE: The use of time extensions is documented in the Canadian Heritage access to information procedure manual, which is continuously reviewed and updated. Canadian Heritage takes time extensions to process access to information requests only when required and legitimate. As noted in this report, Canadian Heritage has received very few extension complaints and the outcome of complaints for 2009–2010 and 2010–2011 revealed that none of the extension complaints were considered to have merit. 

3. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage continue with its plan to eliminate its backlog of access requests.

RESPONSE: During fiscal year 2010–2011, besides completing all requests that were received within the fiscal year within the time limits, Canadian Heritage has made significant progress in dealing with the backlog, completing 87 of the 137 requests that were carried over into that fiscal year. Work continues on the outstanding files.

4. The Office of the Information Commissioner recommends that Canadian Heritage report on its progress implementing these recommendations in its annual report to Parliament on access to information operations.

RESPONSE: Canadian Heritage continues to fully report on its Access to Information Activities in its annual report to Parliament.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Patrimoine canadien

Patrimoine canadien est responsable des politiques et des programmes nationaux qui font la promotion d'un contenu canadien, qui encouragent la participation à la vie culturelle et communautaire, qui favorisent une citoyenneté active et qui appuient et consolident les liens qui réunissent les Canadiens et les Canadiennes.

Évaluation : D

(F en 2008-2009)

  • Patrimoine canadien a connu un bon rendement à bien des égards en 2010-2011, ayant traité dans les délais toutes les demandes de l'exercice en cours. Cependant, son taux de présomption de refus est demeuré élevé, à 28,7 %. Le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l'information contre Patrimoine canadien a chuté de 44 % par rapport à 2008-2009. L'institution a aussi rationalisé son processus d'examen des demandes d'accès à l'information.
  • Une note d'échec en 2008-2009 a attiré l'attention sur le programme d'accès à l'information à Patrimoine canadien et déclenché des changements. Patrimoine canadien a par la suite doublé son effectif à temps plein et commencé à surveiller de près ses échéances internes.
  • Patrimoine canadien a répondu de façon satisfaisante à chacune des cinq recommandations émises par le Commissariat en 2008-2009. Le Commissariat formule quatre nouvelles recommandations pour inciter l'institution à améliorer encore son rendement dans les années à venir (voir).
En bref
2008-2009 2010-2011
Nombre de demandes reportées de l'exercice financier précédent 93 137
Nombre de nouvelles demandes 294 253
Nombre de demandes traitées 239 296
Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées 31 033 45 547
Taux de présomption de refus 40,8 %* 28,7 %*
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes (en jours) 107 185
Délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues en 2010-2011 s.o. 36
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues 106 110
Pourcentage des avis de prorogation requis envoyés au Commissariat <85 % >85 %
Nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat 25 14
Nombre de plaintes résolues par le Commissariat 14** 2**
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein affectés aux opérations d'accès à l'information, à la fin de l'exercice financier 5,4 10,2
Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Ordonnance de délégation...................................... A répondu aux attentes

Ressources............................................................................. A répondu aux attentes

Arriérés.................................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Formation............................................................................... A répondu aux attentes

Avis de prorogation de délai................................... A répondu aux attentes

Voir les détails dans le texte de la fiche de rendement. Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse initiale de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.

* Pourcentage des demandes reportées et des nouvelles demandes retardées au-delà des délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. (Voir l'annexe B pour la formule utilisée par le Commissariat pour calculer ce taux.)

* * Une plainte est résolue lorsque le Commissariat estime qu'elle est fondée et que l'institution la règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire. Le nombre de plaintes indiqué est le nombre de plaintes réglées en date du mois de novembre 2011. Par conséquent, le chiffre pour 2008-2009 peut différer de celui publié dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009.

Fiche de rendement

Patrimoine canadien a connu un bon rendement à bien des égards en 2010-2011, ayant traité dans les délais toutes les demandes de l'exercice en cours. Cependant, à cause de son arriéré, son taux de présomption de refus est demeuré élevé, à 28,7 %. Le nombre de plaintes déposées au Commissariat à l'information contre Patrimoine canadien a chuté de 44 % par rapport à 2008-2009. L'institution a aussi fait des progrès dans la réduction de son arriéré de demandes de longue date, ce qui a porté son délai moyen de traitement à 185 jours. Cependant, en excluant les dossiers composant l'arriéré, le délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues et traitées en 2010-2011 a été de 36 jours, ce qui est louable. L'institution a aussi dit que la rationalisation du processus d'examen et le suivi des échéances internes se sont, dans les deux cas, révélés être des stratégies efficaces.

Une note d'échec sur la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009 a attiré l'attention de la direction sur les opérations d'accès à l'information et a déclenché des changements. En particulier, Patrimoine canadien a presque doublé son effectif, qui est passé de 5,4 à 10,2 équivalents temps plein. La coordonnatrice de l'accès à l'information a établi le nombre d'employés dont le bureau a besoin en analysant le nombre de demandes reçues et leur complexité ainsi qu'en estimant le nombre réaliste de dossiers que chaque analyste pouvait gérer. Un argumentaire fondé sur cette équation a valu au bureau les ressources nécessaires, ce qui a considérablement accru la capacité de l'institution de se conformer à la législation sur l'accès à l'information. Une augmentation du personnel compétent et d'expérience a aussi permis au service d'intervenir plus proactivement pour demander des clarifications aux demandeurs concernant leurs demandes et de travailler avec les secteurs de programme pour retrouver les documents pertinents.

Par contre, l'équation ne rend pas compte de la politique ni des autres activités auxiliaires d'accès à l'information, comme l'établissement de rapports statistiques, l'élaboration de politiques et la formation, puisque l'objectif premier de Patrimoine canadien est de traiter les demandes. Néanmoins, une ressource à temps plein a réussi à former 549 employés en 2010-2011, soit légèrement plus que 25 % de tout le personnel. Cela comprend la formation régionale ainsi que la formation personnalisée pour des secteurs de programme donnés.

En plus des investissements en ressources humaines, Patrimoine canadien a aussi investi dans la mise à niveau de sa technologie, lui permettant ainsi d'adopter une approche intégrée du traitement des demandes.

Patrimoine canadien a apporté les changements conseillés par le Commissariat à son processus d'examen. Auparavant, le processus comportait des étapes multiples, où une copie du dossier à communiquer était distribuée à tous les cadres supérieurs avant la communication. Maintenant, les secteurs de programme dont les documents font l'objet de la demande ont trois jours avant la communication de l'information pour examiner le dossier. Comme il y a moins de destinataires et que le processus est plus rationalisé, les stades finals du traitement d'un dossier d'accès à l'information ont été simplifiés, et donc accélérés. Ce processus est conforme à l'ordonnance de délégation de Patrimoine canadien.

Pour démontrer son engagement à respecter la loi, Patrimoine canadien a inclus le rendement en matière d'accès à l'information aux ententes sur le rendement des cadres supérieurs. La coordonnatrice de l'accès a dit que les échéances sont désormais mieux respectées dans l'ensemble de l'institution.

Suivi des recommandations de 2008-2009

Le Commissariat a fait cinq recommandations à Patrimoine canadien dans la fiche de rendement de 2008-2009. Les observations qui suivent résument les mesures que l'institution a prises pour y donner suite. (Pour le texte complet des recommandations, ainsi que la réponse de l'institution et le rapport d'octobre 2010 sur les progrès accomplis, voir.)

  1. En rationalisant le processus d'examen, Patrimoine canadien a veillé à ne pas retarder la communication de l'information et à se conformer à l'ordonnance de délégation, selon la recommandation du Commissariat.
  2. Le Commissariat félicite Patrimoine canadien d'avoir affecté les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer son rendement, tel que recommandé. Depuis qu'il a reçu sa fiche de rendement de 2008-2009, Patrimoine canadien a presque doublé son effectif et investi dans une nouvelle technologie pour faciliter le traitement des demandes.
  3. Patrimoine canadien a fait des avancées vers l'élimination de son arriéré de demandes de longue date, mais il pourrait faire davantage.
  4. Patrimoine canadien a développé un plan de formation, suite à la recommandation du Commissariat, et a formé plus de 25 % du personnel dans l'ensemble de l'institution.
  5. Le Commissariat a recommandé que Patrimoine canadien améliore ses procédures pour veiller à envoyer tous les avis requis de prorogation de plus de 30 jours. Patrimoine canadien s'est conformé à la norme de 85 % du Commissariat pour obtenir un rendement acceptable sur ce point en 2010-2011.

Charge de travail liée à l'accès à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre la distribution de la charge de travail de Patrimoine canadien pour les trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. De 2008-2009 à 2010-2011, la charge globale de travail de l'institution est restée essentiellement la même, mais sa composition a changé. Patrimoine canadien a reçu 14 % de moins de nouvelles demandes, mais a reporté 47 % de plus de demandes de l'exercice financier précédent. Le nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées a augmenté de 47 %.

Access to information workload, 2008–2009 to 2010–2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Délai de traitement des nouvelles demandes en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011

Entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011, la proportion de nouvelles demandes d'accès à l'information que Patrimoine canadien a traitées dans les délais (30 jours et prorogés) prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est passée de 75 % (57 retards) à 100 % (pas de retards). Cependant, Patrimoine canadien a pris des prorogations pour une plus grande proportion de ses demandes en 2010-2011 (22 %) qu'en 2008-2009 (4 %).

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Ce graphique montre le nombre et la durée des prorogations de délai que Patrimoine canadien a dit avoir prises en 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. L'institution a fourni ces renseignements dans les avis qu'elle a envoyés au Commissariat à l'information en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Patrimoine canadien a envoyé moins de 85 % des avis requis en 2008-2009, et le Commissariat avait alors recommandé que Patrimoine canadien améliore son rendement sur ce point. En 2010-2011, Patrimoine canadien a envoyé plus de 85 % des avis requis. Le Commissariat note l'accroissement du nombre de prorogations pour plus de 120 jours que Patrimoine canadien a prises en 2010-2011.

Nombre et durée des prorogations de délai prises en 2008-2009 et en 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ces graphiques montrent le nombre et l'issue de deux types de plaintes déposées contre Patrimoine canadien lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009 : plaintes concernant la présomption de refus (demandes d'accès à l'information dont Patrimoine canadien a retardé le traitement au-delà des délais – 30 jours et prorogés – prescrits par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information) et plaintes concernant l'utilisation par Patrimoine canadien des prorogations autorisées par la Loi. Au total, Patrimoine canadien a fait l'objet de 44 % de moins de plaintes en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009, y compris des plaintes pour présomption de refus et pour prorogation de délai.

Nombre et issue des plaintes pour retard de traitement de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Version texte de ce graphique

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat à l'information juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011

Ce tableau présente le nombre et l'issue des plaintes que le Commissariat à l'information a reçues contre Patrimoine canadien lors des trois exercices financiers commençant en 2008-2009. Il y a eu 44 % moins de plaintes contre Patrimoine canadien en 2010-2011 qu'en 2008-2009. La moitié des plaintes reçues en 2010-2011 sont en suspens, tandis que 36 % ont été jugées non fondées ou ont été abandonnées.

Nombre et issue des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l'information de 2008-2009 à 2010-2011
Résolues* Non fondées Abandonnées En suspens TOTAL
2008–2009
Administratives 14 2 5 0 21
Refus 0 1 2 1 4
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 0 0 0 0
Total 14 3 7 1 25
2009-2010
Administratives 6 4 0 0 10
Refus 2 0 3 3 8
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 1 0 0 1
Total 8 5 3 3 19
2010–2011
Administratives 2 1 1 1 5
Refus 0 1 0 4 5
Documents confidentiels du Cabinet 0 2 0 2 4
Total 2 4 1 7 14

* Les plaintes résolues sont celles que le Commissariat juge fondées et que l'institution règle à la satisfaction de la commissaire.

Recommandations de 2010-2011

Le rendement global de Patrimoine canadien s'est amélioré en 2010-2011, mais il y a encore place à l'amélioration. Le Commissariat formule quatre recommandations pour inciter l'institution à faire d'autres améliorations en ce sens dans les années à venir.

1. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Patrimoine canadien ramène son taux de présomption de refus à zéro.

RÉPONSE : Patrimoine canadien continue de se conformer à la Loi et de fournir les efforts nécessaires pour traiter ses demandes d'accès à l'information dans les délais prévus par la Loi. Au cours de l'exercice 2010-2011, Patrimoine canadien a traité toutes ses nouvelles demandes dans les délais prescrits. Le Ministère s'est engagé à éliminer son arriéré.

2. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Patrimoine canadien examine et documente les critères qu'il utilise pour les prorogations de délai, afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient raisonnables et légitimes.

RÉPONSE : L'utilisation des prorogations de délai est documentée dans le manuel des procédures d'accès à l'information de Patrimoine canadien, qui est constamment revu et mis à jour. Patrimoine canadien ne prend des prorogations de délai pour traiter les demandes d'accès à l'information que là où c'est nécessaire et légitime. Tel que noté dans le présent rapport, Patrimoine canadien a reçu très peu de plaintes pour prorogation de délai, et aucune d'entre elles n'a été jugée fondée en 2009-2010 et 2010-2011.

3. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Patrimoine canadien poursuive la mise en œuvre de son plan pour éliminer son arriéré de demandes d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Au cours de l'exercice financier 2010-2011, non seulement a-t-il traité dans les délais toutes les demandes reçues au cours de l'exercice financier, Patrimoine canadien a fait des progrès considérables vers l'élimination de son arriéré, en fermant 87 des 137 dossiers reportés au nouvel exercice. Il continue de travailler aux dossiers encore actifs.

4. Le Commissariat à l'information recommande que Patrimoine canadien fasse rapport des progrès qu'il fait dans la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations dans son rapport annuel au Parlement sur les opérations d'accès à l'information.

RÉPONSE : Patrimoine canadien continue de faire rapport de toutes ses activités en matière d'accès à l'information dans son rapport annuel au Parlement