Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Message from the Commissioner

The Commissioner - Suzanne LegaultThere has long been an expression in the access to information world— paraphrased from our legal colleagues: access delayed is access denied.

As significant delays continued to plague the federal access to information system in recent years, I decided it was time to determine what were the root causes of those delays and offer, in a series of reports, recommendations for improvement to reduce Canadians’ wait times for responses to their requests.

Over three years, we looked in detail at the performance of more than 30 institutions in terms of the timeliness of their responses to access to information requests. This report, the last of three, contains the results of a re-assessment for 2010–2011 of 18 institutions that performed below average or worse in 2008–2009.

Overall, there are signs of improvement: 13 institutions improved their performance, while two remained at the same level and three fell to a lower grade. Using various indicators, we found that institutions are providing more timely responses to requesters. Our recommendation to 12 institutions to eliminate their backlog of long-standing requests has meant that many requesters have finally received a response after waiting for some time. Institutional leaders are providing resources for the access function and working to establish a climate of compliance.

Clearly, a number of institutions have made real efforts to enhance their service. Yet the system is still fragile. Recently announced budget cuts could have a detrimental impact on the fledgling improvements we have seen. There is also evidence of practices institutions are following that do not follow the letter or the spirit of the Access to Information Act.

With these concerns in mind, we have recommended to each of the 18 institutions that they report on their progress implementing our latest recommendations in their annual report to Parliament on access to information operations. Parliament can play a crucial oversight role for the access to information system, particularly as the government considers new ways to share information with the public.

My office will also monitor those reports, as well as the expanded access statistics the Treasury Board Secretariat began collecting this year. We will use this information, as well as our own complaints data, to conduct any necessary systemic investigations and determine which institutions will be the subject of future report cards. However, we are otherwise suspending the report card process until at least 2014 and instead dedicating all our investigative resources to pursuing individual complaints, in order to maximize disclosure of information.

Nearly 30 years ago, the Access to Information Act—the original open government instrument—was enshrined into law. As Canada enters into its fourth decade under its aegis, it is time to recommit to it.

Message de la commissaire

La Commissaire - Suzanne Legault

En transposant au monde de l'accès à l'information une expression de longue date chérie par nos collègues juristes, on pourrait dire qu'un accès retardé est un accès refusé.

Constatant les retards significatifs qui, depuis quelques années, continuent d'affliger le système fédéral d'accès à l'information, j'ai décidé que le temps était venu d'établir quelles en étaient les causes profondes et de produire une série de rapports pour recommander des améliorations propres à réduire les délais d'attente de réponse aux demandes d'information des Canadiens.

Sur une période de trois ans, nous avons examiné de près le rendement de plus de 30 institutions sous l'angle de leurs délais de réponse aux demandes d'accès à l'information. Le présent rapport, le dernier d'une série de trois, renferme les résultats d'une réévaluation pour 2010-2011 des 18 institutions qui, en 2008-2009, avaient obtenu un rendement inférieur à la moyenne ou pire.

Dans l'ensemble, nous constatons des signes d'amélioration : 13 institutions ont amélioré leur rendement, tandis que deux sont demeurées au même niveau et trois ont reculé. Divers indicateurs nous ont permis de constater que les institutions répondent plus rapidement aux demandeurs. La recommandation que nous avions faite à 12 institutions d'éliminer leur arriéré de demandes de longue date a fait en sorte que de nombreux demandeurs ont enfin reçu une réponse après un certain laps de temps. Les responsables des institutions dégagent des ressources pour la fonction d'accès et travaillent à créer un climat de conformité.

Plusieurs institutions ont manifestement fait des efforts pour améliorer leur service. Et pourtant le système demeure fragile. Les compressions budgétaires qui viennent d'être annoncées pourraient avoir un effet néfaste sur les récentes améliorations que nous avons pu constatées. Nous avons aussi observé des pratiques institutionnelles qui ne respectent ni la lettre ni l'esprit de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Ces préoccupations nous ont amenés à recommander à chacune des 18 institutions de rapporter les progrès qu'elle fait par rapport à la mise en œuvre de nos dernières recommandations dans leur rapport annuel au Parlement sur leurs opérations d'accès à l'information. Le Parlement peut jouer un rôle crucial de surveillance du système d'accès à l'information, particulièrement lorsque le gouvernement envisage de nouvelles façons de partager l'information avec le public.

Le Commissariat fera également un suivi de ces rapports, et s'intéressera aux statistiques plus détaillées sur l'accès à l'information que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a commencé à recueillir cette année. Nous utiliserons cette information, de même que nos propres données sur les plaintes, pour mener les enquêtes systémiques nécessaires et décider quelles institutions feront l'objet de nos futures fiches de rendement. Néanmoins, nous suspendons le processus des fiches de rendement, au moins, jusqu'en 2014, pour ainsi consacrer toutes nos ressources d'enquête à l'examen des plaintes individuelles, afin de maximiser la divulgation de renseignements.

Il y a près de 30 ans, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information– précurseur des instruments de transparence gouvernementale– a été enchâssée dans nos lois. Comme le Canada entre maintenant dans sa quatrième décennie sous l'égide de cette loi, le temps est venu de renouveler notre engagement vis-à-vis de celle-ci.