Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada Revenue Agency

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 1043
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 446
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 2589
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 799
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 176
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 95
  31-60 days: 24
  61-90 days: 17
  Over 91 days: 40
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 1414
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 564
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 224
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 95
  31-60 days: 47
  61-90 days: 29
  Over 91 days: 53
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 826
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 372
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 575, 231
  2009-2010? 1, 094, 375
  2010-2011? 1, 116, 015
10. What is the number of consultations requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 125
  2009-2010? 83
  2010-2011? 116
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records

  • Approval process of access requests

  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)

  • Staff shortages / resources

  • Requests filed in bulk

  • Consultations with other institutions

  • Others

  The following are some of the most significant issues that affected CRA’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner: Requests for large volume of records
The CRA processes a large volume of access requests through its ATIP Directorate. Indeed, the CRA processed the second largest volume of access requests among government institutions in 2009-2010 (statistics are available from TBS). CRA has experienced rapid increases in the volume of pages to be reviewed. Annual page volumes related to both access and privacy requests have increased from 300,000 pages in 1999 to 685,000 pages in 2005-2006 to more than 1,800,000 pages in 2010-2011.

Overall increase in number of requests
In 2010-2011 CRA received almost 800 more access requests than in the previous 2009-2010 fiscal year. This represents a 44% increase to our access workload over the previous year. Similarly CRA received over 500 additional privacy requests than in the previous fiscal year, causing additional strain on limited resources. The ATIP Directorate experienced a 34% increase in our overall workload.  

Requests filed in bulk
Out of the 2589 Access to Information requests received during the fiscal year 2010-2011, 795 were received from 2 requesters. This accounted for 31% of our access workload as well as 77% of all our complaints during 2010-2011.

Approval process of access requests
The approval process has experienced bottle-neck effects at the managerial and assistant director levels of approval. Inefficiencies experienced in the intake process also created additional delays.

Records received from OPIs
OPIs, in an effort to comply with ATI timeframes, often provided documents that were out of scope or duplicate. This resulted in the ATIP directorate processing more pages than necessary and frequently slowed down the processing of files.

Staff shortages / resources
A fully compliant access to information program hinges on having a sufficient number of qualified employees to do the work on time and efficiently. Unfortunately, ATIP professionals are in high demand across government, so recruitment and retention of qualified staff remains a challenge for the CRA. Available staff is less experienced and, therefore, requires more training, mentoring, and quality control than in the past.

Refocused priorities 
Faced with increased workloads and limited resources, the ATIP Directorate has focused most of its resources on processing new requests and on reducing its backlog inventory. In spite of these measures, however, the backlog continues to grow. This workload generated more complaints, investigations, audits and scrutiny, diverting already inadequate resources from processing current requests and meeting other ATIP requirements. These combined pressures made it difficult to focus resources on improvement measures to make operations more efficient and effective.

We processed more backlog files in 2010-2011 than in previous years in an effort to eliminate the backlog inventory.  This has significantly affected our statistics, including the average processing time of requests. The average completion time of all files completed in 2010-2011 was 146 days. However, the average completion time of files that were received and completed in 2010-2011 was 56 days. This discrepancy is indicative of CRA’s commitment and effort to eliminate its backlog inventory—a fact that significantly impacted our average completion times in 2010-2011. Moreover, these files are generally more complex which in turn take longer, and require more resources, to process. This has adversely affected our ability to process new requests.

12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

  A mitigation study proposed by the ATIP Directorate outlined a four pronged approach to addressing ATIP’s challenges. It includes specific actions in staffing and backlog; training; awareness and communications; and mitigation through efficiencies. In 2010-2011, staffing focused on staffing a backlog unit, bolstering capacity in the processing units, and building capacity for training, awareness and privacy governance.

The following are some of the practices CRA has undertaken to improve the timely delivery of our access to information program:

Promotion of informal treatment of requests
To improve the efficiency of its operations, the ATIP Directorate began monitoring the CRA’s formal requests to identify opportunities for increasing informal methods of access. We solicited the input of all the members of our Agency Management Committee towards developing a plan to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of our processes. We have further strengthened our partnerships within the Agency by continuing to work with stakeholders to enhance existing policies and processes for routinely providing access on an informal basis.

Expanded outreach training
A comprehensive training strategy was completed in 2010-2011. Audience-specific products were introduced to reinforce roles and responsibilities as they relate to the ATIA. The ATIP Directorate greatly expanded training among CRA staff on the ATIP function. One of the goals of the training sessions was to educate the CRA staff on the intent of the Access to Information Act and their roles and responsibilities in regards to providing access to government records informally. The training sessions also stressed the importance of providing relevant records to ATIP in a timely fashion and with comprehensive recommendations, which serve to expedite our processing times and ensure that the legislation is applied appropriately.   

Improved public awareness
A communications strategy was completed in 2010-2011. One of ATIP’s priorities was to ensure that the public is aware of how to access information and all the channels available to them. The ATIP Directorate reviewed its existing Internet presence and determined where change was required. The Directorate revamped this page and now:

  • Provides the public with general information about formal ATIA request processes;
  • Highlights how to request information formally and informally; and,
  • Includes useful links.

This increased visibility should help requesters provide CRA with the necessary information to help CRA process their requests as efficiently as possible.

New internal websites were also created to raise awareness of and reinforce the roles, responsibilities and accountabilities within CRA.

Amending internal forms
We implemented a revised internal tasking form in October 2010 to improve the search and locate process by providing record holders with easier to understand instructions. The form was revisited in January 2011 to further improve it by addressing all issues that stakeholders have encountered and will continue to evolve in order to meet our stakeholders’ needs.

Staffing

We bolstered capacity in our processing units by staffing 13 full time positions in our satellite offices. Our staffing plan determined that the demand for ATIP professionals is less in the regions than in the national capital region (headquarters) and that the retention of such professionals is much higher in the regional offices. In addition, the vast technical expertise of regional employees provided a wealth of experience to staff from.

Additional resources to an Intake/Triage Unit

An intake unit was established in 2009. The intake unit is the first point at which requests are received before distribution to processing units for complete analysis and processing. The unit is comprised of personnel who are responsible for undertaking all registration of requests, clarifications and acknowledgements of requests. They ensure that before a request is forwarded to a processing unit, that the request be complete, clear and ready to process. A senior analyst was added to the unit in 2010 to expedite the registration of files. Roles and responsibilities were redefined in the intake unit to ensure that files were processed more efficiently.

Streamlined approval process

The CRA designation order has been revised for ATIA to expand the authorities assigned to Access to Information and Privacy Directorate managers. This was done to streamline final approval processes for formal requests under the ATIA. This meant that the managers were able to sign-off on most files without a need for review at the Assistant Director levels. This significantly reduced the bottle-neck effect at the senior management levels.  In order to reduce the “bottle neck” effect of a large inventory of files ready to be reviewed at the management level, new technical reviewer positions were introduced in the directorate’s processing units. These reviewers were able to analyze and review the files that have been completed by junior and senior analysts. By completing this first level review and addressing any possible issues and risks to the files (e.g. ensuring that extensions are properly documented) at the ATIP reviewer level, the time that would be taken by management to complete a final review and sign off process has been greatly reduced.

Revised priorities to address backlog files

The ATIP Directorate has developed a comprehensive redress plan to eliminate the backlog inventory by March 2012. A new unit dedicated to processing the backlog and complaints was created in July 2010. A workload disposal plan and a business case to secure resources to support elimination of the backlog were approved by senior management in September 2010. The ATIP Directorate closely monitored results against set targets developed within a workload elimination plan. The resources received through the mitigation study have greatly improved performance. The 2010-2011 backlog reduction target (for both access and privacy files) was exceeded by over 30%. Our total carry forward inventory was down by 183 requests from April 2010. For the first time since 2006-2007, the number of requests completed exceeded the number of requests received within a fiscal year.  

Documentation of system processes

The CRA has developed and fully implemented a new electronic redaction system for processing ATIP files electronically. In addition to the sustainable development benefits, the system enhances the processing of ATIP requests by incorporating more efficient and time saving processes within it. The ATIP Directorate also completed an analysis to evaluate potential workload management IT solutions. This will ultimately result in modifications to the ATIP Directorate’s existing solution. The long-term goal is to have a sustainable solution that allows ATIP to maximize its workload efficiencies and allow improved statistical analysis through improved reporting capabilities. A solution is slated to be in place by 2012. The ATIP Directorate mapped existing processes in order to identify and maximize efficiencies. The intake and search and locate phases of request production have been mapped, and processes are being revised to eliminate inefficiencies. The remaining three phases of production (analysis, record and preparation, and approval) will be reviewed and revised next year. Optimal processes are being documented in manuals and will be utilized in training. These foundation pieces will allow for a comprehensive training strategy that will provide new employees with better tools and to promote better consistency across the ATIP Directorate. Moreover, it will support executive decision-making and allow the ATIP Directorate to identify process solutions aimed at improving the CRA’s ability to effectively process ATIA requests.

Improved internal reporting

ATIP introduced dashboard reporting.  A dashboard is a comprehensive monthly reporting tool that provides ATIP senior management with a snapshot of the overall status of the ATIP Directorate’s processing of requests. It allows management to have a better understanding of the challenges and issues facing the Directorate in order to make more informed executive decisions.

Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
146  Days
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.
  The TBS/SCT 350-62 for 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 as well as CRA’s statistics from our case management system used to respond to the questionnaire are enclosed under separate attachments.
Please note that our 2010-2011 statistical report has not been completed yet. As soon as the report is completed and sent to TBS for tabling in Parliament, we will send a copy for your records.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC)

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 1043
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 446
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2589
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 799
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 176
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 95
  31 - 60 jours 24
  61 - 90 jours 17
  Plus de 90 jours 40
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 1414
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 564
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 224
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 95
  31 - 60 jours 47
  61 - 90 jours 29
  Plus de 90 jours 53
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 826
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 372
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 575,231
  2009-2010 1,094,375
  2010-2011 1,116,015
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 125
  2009-2010 83
  2010-2011 116
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

Les principaux problèmes qui ont nui à la capacité de l’ARC de répondre rapidement aux demandes d’accès à l’information sont les suivants :

Demandes en vue d’obtenir un nombre élevé de documents

L’ARC traite un grand volume de demandes d’accès par l’entremise de sa Direction de l’AIPRP. En effet, en 2009-2010, le nombre de demandes traitées par l’ARC occupait le deuxième rang d’importance, en ce qui a trait au volume (statistiques obtenues auprès du SCT). L’ARC a constaté de rapides augmentations dans le volume de pages qu’elle a dû examiner. Le volume de pages annuel lié aux demandes d’accès et de protection des renseignements personnels est passé de 300 000 pages en 1999 à 685 000 pages en 2005-2006, et à plus de 1 800 000 pages en 2010-2011.

Augmentation globale du nombre de demandes

En 2010-2011, l’ARC a reçu près de 800 demandes d’accès supplémentaires par rapport à l’année financière précédente. Cela représente une hausse de 44 p. 100 de la charge de travail lié à l’accès à l’information. De manière semblable, l’ARC a reçu plus de 500 demandes de protection des renseignements personnels supplémentaires par rapport à l’année financière précédente, ce qui a occasionné une pression accrue sur les ressources limitées. La Direction de l’AIPRP a observé une augmentation de 34 p. 100 de sa charge de travail globale. 

Demandes soumises en vrac

Sur les 2589 demandes d’accès à l’information reçues au cours de l’année financière 2010-2011, 795 ont été émises par deux demandeurs. Ces demandes représentaient 31 p. 100 de la charge de travail en matière d’accès, de même que 77 p. 100 du total des plaintes reçues en 2010-2011. 

Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

Le processus d’approbation a eu un effet d’étranglement au niveau d’approbation de la direction et de l’adjoint au directeur. Le manque d’efficacité du processus de réception a également occasionné des retards supplémentaires.

Documents reçus des BPR

En tâchant de respecter les délais du processus d’accès à l’information, les BPR ont souvent remis des documents hors de propos ou en double, ce qui a obligé la Direction de l’AIPRP à traiter plus de pages que nécessaire et a fréquemment ralenti le traitement des dossiers.

Pénuries de personnel/ressources

Un programme d’accès à l’information entièrement conforme exige un nombre suffisant d’employés compétents pour faire le travail à temps et de manière efficace. Malheureusement, les experts de l’AIPRP sont très demandés au sein du gouvernement fédéral, et le recrutement et la conservation de personnel qualifié demeure un obstacle pour l’ARC. Le personnel disponible est peu expérimenté et, en conséquence, exige plus de formation, de mentorat et de contrôle de la qualité que par le passé.

Priorités redéfinies 

Étant donné sa charge de travail accrue et ses ressources limitées, la Direction de l’AIPRP a commis la plupart de ses ressources au traitement des nouvelles demandes et à la réduction de l’arriéré. Malgré ces mesures, l’arriéré continue de croître. Cela a entraîné des plaintes, enquêtes, vérifications et examens supplémentaires dont les ressources déjà insuffisantes ont dû s’occuper, au lieu de traiter les demandes actuelles et de répondre aux autres exigences en matière d’AIPRP. À cause de ces pressions combinées, il s’est avéré difficile d’affecter les ressources à l’amélioration du processus en vue de rendre les opérations plus efficientes et efficaces. Dans le but d’éliminer son arriéré de demandes, l’ARC a traité un plus grand nombre de dossiers en retard en 2010-2011 qu’au cours des années précédentes. Cet effort a eu un effet considérable sur les statistiques, y compris sur le délai moyen de traitement des demandes. Le délai moyen de traitement pour l’ensemble des dossiers réglés en 2010-2011 était de 146 jours. Toutefois, le délai moyen de traitement des demandes reçues et réglées en 2010-2011 était de 56 jours. Cet écart est révélateur de la détermination de l’ARC à éliminer son arriéré de demandes, effort qui a sensiblement modifié son délai de traitement moyen en 2010-2011. De plus, ces dossiers sont généralement plus complexes, et exigent donc plus de temps et plus de ressources. En conséquence, la capacité de l’ARC à traiter les nouvelles demandes s’en est trouvée amoindrie.

12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

La Direction de l’AIPRP a effectué une étude d’atténuation, où elle proposait une formule à quatre facettes pour surmonter ses difficultés en matière d’AIPRP. Cette formule comprend des mesures particulières en matière de : dotation et élimination de l’arriéré; formation; sensibilisation et communications; atténuation au moyen d’économies. En 2010-2011, les mesures de dotation visaient tout particulièrement la création d’une unité de traitement de l’arriéré, le renforcement des capacités des unités de traitement et le développement d’une capacité liée à la formation, la sensibilisation et la gouvernance en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Voici quelques-unes de pratiques que l’ARC a adoptées pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de son programme d’accès à l’information :

Promotion du traitement informel des demandes

Afin d’améliorer l’efficience de ses opérations, la Direction de l’AIPRP a commencé à contrôler les demandes officielles reçues par l’ARC dans le but de cerner les occasions où elle pourrait recourir à des méthodes informelles de traitement des demandes d’accès. La Direction a demandé aux membres du Comité de gestion de l’Agence leurs suggestions afin de mettre sur pied un plan destiné à améliorer l’efficacité et l’efficience de ses processus. En poursuivant son travail avec les intervenants, elle a renforcé ses partenariats au sein de l’Agence afin d’améliorer les politiques et les processus en place et d’assurer couramment un accès à l’information de manière informelle.

Formation d’approche à un plus grand nombre

En 2010-2011, une stratégie complète de formation a été mise sur pied. On y a intégré des produits adaptés au public afin de renforcer les rôles et les responsabilités liés à l’AIPRP. La Direction de l’AIPRP a offert de la formation en matière d’AIPRP à un nombre considérablement plus vaste d’employés. L’un des buts de ces séances de formation consistait à renseigner les employés de l’ARC sur l’objectif de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et sur leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités respectifs dans la prestation d’un accès informel aux documents fédéraux. Les séances de formation insistaient aussi sur l’importance de fournir rapidement les documents pertinents pour l’AIPRP, accompagnés de recommandations complètes, et ce, afin d’accélérer les délais de traitement et de veiller à ce que la Loi soit exécutée comme il se doit. 

Sensibilisation accrue du public

Une stratégie de communication a été élaborée en 2010-2011. L’une des priorités en matière d’AIPRP consistait à s’assurer que le public sait comment accéder à l’information et connaît tous les moyens mis à sa disposition. La Direction de l’AIPRP a étudié sa présence sur Internet à l’heure actuelle, et a cerné les endroits où des changements s’imposaient. La Direction a réorganisé la page Web. Dorénavant, cette page :

  • fournit au public des renseignements généraux sur les processus officiels de demande d’AIPRP;
  • indique clairement comment demander de l’information par les voies officielles et informelles;
  • comporte des liens utiles.

Cette visibilité accrue devrait contribuer à ce que les demandeurs fournissent l’information nécessaire qui aidera l’ARC à traiter leurs demandes aussi efficacement que possible.
De nouveaux sites Web ont également été créés afin d’informer davantage le public et de renforcer les rôles, les responsabilités et l’obligation de rendre des comptes au sein de l’ARC.

Modification des formulaires internes

En octobre 2010, l’ARC a commencé à utiliser une version révisée de son formulaire interne d’attribution des tâches, et ce, afin d’améliorer son processus de recherche et de localisation en fournissant aux détenteurs de documents des directives plus faciles à comprendre. En janvier 2011, l’Agence a remanié ce formulaire afin de l’améliorer davantage en abordant toutes les questions soulevées par les intervenants. Ce formulaire continuera d’évoluer en fonction des besoins des intervenants.

Dotation
L’ARC a renforcé la capacité de ses unités de traitement en pourvoyant 13 postes à plein temps dans ses bureaux satellites. Le plan de dotation de l’Agence a permis de déterminer que la demande d’experts en AIPRP est moindre dans les régions que dans la région de la capitale nationale (administration centrale) et que le taux de conservation de ces experts est bien plus élevé dans les bureaux régionaux. De plus, la vaste expertise technique des employés régionaux a fourni une abondante expérience où puiser pour pourvoir ces postes. 

Ressources supplémentaires pour une unité de réception/triage

Une unité de réception a été mise sur pied en 2009. L’unité de réception est le premier organe à recevoir les demandes avant de les distribuer aux unités de traitement, qui les analysent et en assurent le traitement. L’unité de réception se compose d’employés responsables de l’enregistrement des demandes, des clarifications et des accusés de réception des demandes. Ils s’assurent que les demandes sont complètes, claires et prêtes à être traitées avant d’être acheminées aux unités de traitement. En 2010, un analyste principal s’est joint à l’unité afin d’accélérer l’enregistrement des dossiers. Pour que les dossiers soient traités plus efficacement, les rôles et les responsabilités ont été redéfinis au sein de l’unité de réception.

Processus d’approbation simplifié

L’arrêté sur la délégation des pouvoirs relatifs à l’AIPRP concernant l’ARC a été révisé. En conséquence, les pouvoirs conférés aux gestionnaires de la Direction de l’AIPRP ont été élargis afin de simplifier les processus d’approbation finale des demandes officielles en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cela veut dire que les gestionnaires peuvent maintenant approuver la plupart des dossiers sans avoir besoin de les soumettre à un directeur adjoint. Cette mesure réduit considérablement l’effet d’étranglement au niveau de la haute direction. Afin de réduire cet effet d’étranglement produit par un grand volume de dossiers prêts à être révisés par les gestionnaires, de nouveaux postes d’examinateurs techniques ont été créés au sein des unités de traitement de la Direction. Ces examinateurs sont en mesure d’analyser et d’examiner les dossiers traités par les analystes subalternes et principaux. Grâce à cet examen de premier niveau et à l’analyse des problèmes et des risques possibles (p. ex. s’assurer que les prorogations sont convenablement documentées) par les examinateurs de l’AIPRP, le temps que la direction aurait normalement consacré à l’examen final et au processus d’approbation se trouve grandement réduit.

Priorités redéfinies pour résorber l’arriéré de dossiers

La Direction de l’IPRP a élaboré un plan de règlement complet pour éliminer les arriérés de demandes d’ici mars 2012. Une nouvelle unité consacrée au traitement de l’arriéré et des plaintes a été créée en juillet 2010. En septembre 2010, la haute direction a approuvé un plan de déploiement de la charge de travail et une analyse de rentabilisation visant à affecter les ressources requises pour éliminer l’arriéré de demandes. La Direction de l’AIPRP a assuré un suivi étroit des résultats d’après les objectifs établis dans le plan de déploiement de la charge de travail. Les ressources reçues par le truchement de l’étude d’atténuation ont sensiblement amélioré le rendement. L’objectif de réduction de l’arriéré de 2010-2011 (pour les demandes d’accès et de protection des renseignements personnels) a été dépassé de plus de 30 p. 100. Le volume total de demandes reportées comptait 183 demandes de moins qu’en avril 2010. Pour la première fois depuis 2006-2007, le nombre de demandes traitées dépassait le nombre de demandes reçues au cours d’une année financière.

Documentation des processus système

L’ARC a développé et fini de mettre en œuvre un nouveau système d’édition électronique pour le traitement des demandes d’AIPRP. En plus des avantages qu’il présente sur le plan du développement durable, ce système améliore le traitement des demandes d’AIPRP en intégrant des processus plus efficients et qui permettent de gagner du temps. La Direction de l’AIPRP a également mené une analyse pour évaluer les solutions possibles de la TI en matière de gestion de la charge de travail. En définitive, cette analyse entraînera des modifications de la solution actuellement employée par la Direction de l’AIPRP. Le but à long terme est une solution durable qui permettra au personnel de l’AIPRP de maximiser son efficacité dans le traitement des demandes et d’améliorer l’analyse statistique grâce à des capacités de production de rapports améliorées. Une solution a été proposée et devrait être prête à l’emploi en 2012. La Direction de l’AIPRP a inventorié ses processus en place afin de cerner les possibilités de maximiser son efficacité. Les phases de réception et recherche et de repérage de la production des demandes ont été schématisées, et les processus sont en cours de révision pour éliminer les inefficacités. Les trois phases de production restantes (analyse, documentation et préparation, approbation) seront revues d’ici avril 2011. Les meilleurs processus seront consignés dans les manuels et seront enseignés lors des formations. Ces pierres d’assise permettront de mettre en œuvre une stratégie de formation complète qui fournira aux nouveaux employés de meilleurs outils et favorisera l’uniformité au sein de la Direction de l’AIPRP. En outre, la formation facilitera la prise de décisions par les cadres et permettra à la Direction de trouver des solutions en matière de processus afin d’améliorer la capacité de l’ARC de traiter les demandes d’AIPRP.

Production de rapports internes améliorée

L’AIPRP a introduit la notion de production de rapports sous forme de tableaux de bord. Un tableau de bord est un rapport mensuel complet qui fournit aux cadres supérieurs de l’AIPRP un aperçu de l’état global des activités de traitement des demandes à la Direction de l’AIPRP. Il permet aux gestionnaires de mieux comprendre les obstacles et les difficultés auxquels la Direction est confrontée afin de prendre des décisions de haut niveau plus éclairées.

Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
146 jours
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.
 

Le formulaire 350-62 du SCT pour 2008-2009 et 2009-2010, ainsi que les statistiques de l’ARC provenant du système de gestion des dossiers qui ont été employés pour répondre au questionnaire sont présentés dans des pièces jointes distinctes.

Veuillez prendre note que le rapport statistique de 2010-2011 n’a pas encore été rédigé. Dès que le rapport sera terminé et aura été envoyé au SCT aux fins de présentation au Parlement, l’ARC en enverra une copie pour vos dossiers.