Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Public Safety Canada

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 28
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 6
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 298
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 178
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 1
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 1
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 101
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 55
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 10
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 5
  31-60 days: 3
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 2
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 54
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 2
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 28695
  2009-2010? 24968
  2010-2011? 32616
10. What is the number of consultations requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 198
  2009-2010? 136
  2010-2011? 223
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines) since becoming subject to the Act. These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records

  • Approval process of access requests

  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)

  • Staff shortages / resources

  • Requests filed in bulk

  • Consultations with other institutions

  • Others

1) Increased workload and complexity
  • ATI requests received by the Department have increased by 43% in the last year, from 208 requests received in FY 09/10 to 298 requests in FY 10/11. 

  • The number of pages has also increased over 09/10 by 31%, from 24968 pages in FY 09/10 to 32616 pages in FY10/11.

  • It has become increasingly complex to process the requests given the sensitivity of the information, the need to exercise due diligence in terms of applying exemptions/severances given the potential for harm should sensitive information be mistakenly released, while at the same time balancing the right of access.  Because of the portfolio model, records held by Public Safety Canada (PS) invariably contain information obtained or prepared by agencies within the Public Safety portfolio (RCMP, CBSA, CSIS, CSC, PBC and review agencies), as well as information obtained from other federal institutions and levels of government with shared responsibilities relating to public safety.  Consequently, 112 requests received in FY 10/11 required consultations, consisting of 288 consultations with other government departments, 39 consultations with PCO Counsel, 17 consultations with other governments and nine consultations with third parties.

  • The policy focus of the department’s work and the Deputy Minister’s role as policy advisor to the Minister on all portfolio matters for consideration by Cabinet tends to result in a significant number of records that contain Cabinet confidences.  As stated, 13% of the requests processed in ATI where records were located required consultations with PCO regarding Cabinet confidences. 

2) Consultations
  • 84% of extensions invoked at PS are to accommodate the consultation process.  Analysts identify the organizations that need to be consulted before invoking the extension, and review the length of time taken by each organization to respond to previous consultations when assessing extensions.

  • PS is one of the institutions where consultation regarding the application of s.15(1) is mandatory.  Since FY 09/10, consultations from other departments have increased by 71%, from 136 requests received in FY 09/10 to
    233 requests received in FY 10/11. 

3) OPI turnaround time

Information management challenges can slow down the process of finding and retrieving records.

4) Staffing challenges/Resourcing
Once a position is vacated, it can remain vacant for long periods of time due to the scarcity of experienced personnel in the ATIP community.  This is further complicated by delays in obtaining the high level security clearances required to review departmental records.

5) Consultations with PCO Counsel

In order to confirm exclusions under s.69, departments must consult with PCO Counsel.  The time it takes for PCO Counsel to respond to the department varies tremendously.  In FY 10-11, response times ranged from five to 800 days.  This makes it very difficult to estimate how long of an extension to take.

In addition, PCO Counsel often returns consultations after a lengthy delay to PS citing administrative issues that must be fixed before PCO Counsel will review the records.  This ranges from documents being numbered incorrectly to PCO Counsel not being able to review records on the diskette to descriptions of records lacking sufficient information. 

12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program since becoming subject to the Act and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests

  • Streamlined approval process

  • Partial release of records

  • Fast track process for common requests

  • Others

 

1) Senior Management engagement

The department’s procedures allow 10 days for OPIs to provide responsive records and recommendations to the ATI Unit.  In 2010-2011 all performance management agreements for all executives included a commitment to ATI timeliness.

In January 2011, a Statement of Completeness was implemented, which requires that a senior official (usually DG level) attest to the search being performed and that they concur with the recommendations for exemptions made by program officials.  This has led to a greater awareness by senior officials of the records being provided to ATIP and an improvement in the quality of the search being performed.

Quarterly performance is also now monitored and provided to Senior Management.

2)  Training and awareness

  • In 2010/2011, the ATIP Unit delivered nine ATI awareness sessions.  These sessions were coordinated by the Department’s learning centre, thereby ensuring the widest possible dissemination of the availability of this training within PS. 

  • In 2011/2012, the ATIP Unit intends to deliver training to the areas of the department who process the most requests in order to improve their understanding of the requirements of the legislation as well as the departmental process.  The intent is to improve awareness in order to improve timeliness of responses from the OPIs.  The ATIP Unit will still offer information sessions to the remainder of the department as well.

  • Training materials are available to all employees on our intranet.

  • Training of ATIP personnel remains a priority for the Department in spite of heavy workloads.  All employees participate in the TBS learning events, and some are seeking certification through the University of Alberta’s Information Access and Protection of Privacy program.

3)  Regular Reporting to Executive Committees

Weekly reports are provided to Executive Committee to foster senior management awareness and accountability in the process.

  • Identification of new requests improves compliance within 10-day retrieval;

  • Reporting on the due dates of upcoming releases improves compliance for final sign-off;

  • All new deemed refusals are brought to the attention of the departmental Executive Committee; and

  • DG responsible for ATIP engages ADMs directly and immediately if a file in their responsibility is approaching deemed refusal.

Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
69.71 days.  It should be noted that the average completion time for requests made under the Access to Information Acthas decreased since 2007-2008 when the average was 90 days.  In 2008-2009, the average completion time was 75 days and in 2009-2010, it was 68 days.
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sécurité publique Canada

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 28
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 6
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 298
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 178
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 1
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 1
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 101
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 55
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 10
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 5
  31 - 60 jours 3
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 2
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 54
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 2
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 28,695
  2009-2010 24,968
  2010-2011 32,616
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 198
  2009-2010 136
  2010-2011 223
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

1)  Accroissement de la charge de travail et de la complexité
  • Le nombre de demandes d’accès à l’information qu’a reçues le Ministère a augmenté de 43 p. 100 au cours de la dernière année, passant de 208 en 2009-2010 à 298 en 2010-2011.

  • Le nombre de pages traitées a également augmenté en 2009-2010, de 31 p. 100, passant de 24 968 pages en 2009-2010 à 32 616 pages en 2010-2011.

  • Il devient de plus en plus complexe de traiter les demandes sans porter atteinte au droit à l’accès, étant donné la sensibilité de l’information, le besoin de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable à l’égard des demandes d’exclusion ou de prélèvement et les torts possibles si de l’information sensible était communiquée par mégarde. Les documents détenus par Sécurité publique Canada contiennent invariablement de l’information obtenue d’agences du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique ou préparée par ces agences (GRC, ASFC, SCRS, SCC, CNLC et organismes de révision), ainsi que de l’information obtenue d’autres institutions fédérales et d’autres ordres de gouvernement dans le cadre de responsabilités partagées en matière de sécurité publique. Par conséquent, 112 demandes reçues à l’AF 2010-2011 exigeaient des consultations, dont 288 consultations avec d’autres ministères fédéraux, 39 avec l’avocat du BCP, 17 avec d’autres gouvernements et neuf (9) avec des tiers.

  • Étant donné l’orientation stratégique du travail du Ministère et du rôle de conseiller en politiques que le sous-ministre joue auprès du ministre en ce qui concerne tous les aspects liés au portefeuille que le Cabinet doit examiner, le nombre de documents contenant des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet a tendance à être élevé. Comme mentionné, 13 p. 100 des demandes d’accès traitées, auxquelles des documents ont pu être associés, exigeaient des consultations avec le BCP à l’égard des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet.

2) Consultations
  • Dans 84 p. 100 des cas, les prorogations demandées par SP visaient à s’adapter au processus de consultation. Lorsqu’ils estiment la longueur des prorogations, les analystes identifient les organisations à consulter avant de demander la prorogation, et examinent le temps qu’il a fallu à chaque organisation pour répondre aux consultations antérieures.

  • SP est l’une des institutions où les consultations sur l’application du par. 15(1) sont obligatoires. Depuis l’AF 2009-2010, les demandes de consultation d’autres ministères ont augmenté de 71 p. 100, passant de 136 demandes en 2009-2010 à 233 en 2010 -011. 

3) Délai d’exécution des BPR

Les aléas de la gestion de l’information peuvent ralentir le processus de recherche et de récupération des documents.

4) Problèmes de dotation/ressourcement

Lorsqu’un poste devient vacant, il peut le demeurer longtemps en raison de la rareté du personnel d’expérience au sein de la communauté de l’AIPRP. Cette situation est encore compliquée par les retards dans l’obtention des autorisations de sécurité de haut niveau exigées pour l’examen des documents ministériels.

5) Consultations avec l’avocat du BCP

Pour confirmer les exclusions en vertu de l’article 69, les ministères doivent consulter l’avocat du BCP. Le temps qu’il faut à l’avocat du BCP pour répondre aux ministères varie énormément d’une fois à l’autre. Pendant l’AF 2010-2011, les délais de réponse variaient de cinq (5) à 800 jours. Il est donc très difficile d’estimer la durée de la prorogation qu’il faut demander.

De plus, il arrive souvent que la réponse de l’avocat du BCP parvienne à SP après un long retard, en raison de diverses questions administratives à régler avant que l’avocat de BCP puisse étudier les documents. Ces raisons vont de la mauvaise numérotation des documents à l’incapacité de l’avocat du BCP à examiner les documents sur la disquette, en passant par le manque d’information contenue dans les descriptions des documents.

12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

1) Engagement de la haute direction

La procédure du Ministère accorde 10 jours aux BPR pour fournir les documents pertinents et des recommandations à l’unité de l’AIPRP. En 2010-2011, tous les accords de gestion du rendement des cadres comportaient un engagement à respecter les délais en matière d’accès à l’information.
En janvier 2011, on introduisait l’Attestation de conformité, qui exige qu’un haut fonctionnaire (habituellement un DG) atteste les recherches effectuées et que celles-ci coïncident avec les recommandations en matière d’exceptions formulées par les responsables de programme. Cette mesure a permis de mieux sensibiliser les hauts fonctionnaires sur les documents fournis à l’équipe de l’AIPRP et à améliorer la qualité des recherches effectuées.
De plus, dorénavant, tous les trois mois, le rendement est contrôlé et fait l’objet de rapports à la haute direction.

2)  Formation et sensibilisation

  • En 2010-2011, l’unité de l’AIPRP a offert neuf séances de sensibilisation sur l’accès à l’information. Dorénavant, c’est le centre d’apprentissage du Ministère qui coordonne ces séances, ce qui assure la plus vaste publicité possible sur l’offre de cette formation au sein de l’institution. 

  • En 2011-2012, l’unité de l’AIPRP a l’intention de donner de la formation aux employés des secteurs du Ministère qui traitent le plus de demandes, afin d’améliorer leur connaissance des exigences de la Loi ainsi que du processus ministériel. Le but est d’accroître la sensibilisation afin de réduire le délai de réponse des BPR. L’unité de l’AIPRP continuera tout de même d’offrir des séances d’information au reste du Ministère.

  • Des documents de formation sont à la disposition des employés sur le site intranet.

  • La formation du personnel chargé de l’AIPRP demeure une priorité pour le Ministère en dépit des lourdes charges de travail. Tous les employés de l’Unité de l’AIPRP participent aux activités d’apprentissage du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et certains cherchent à obtenir une attestation par le biais du programme d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels qu’offre l’Université de l’Alberta.

3)  Rapports aux comités de direction

Des rapports hebdomadaires sont présentés au Comité exécutif afin de favoriser la sensibilisation et la responsabilisation des cadres supérieurs dans le processus.

  • Le recensement des nouvelles demandes améliore la conformité au délai de récupération de 10 jours.

  • La présentation de rapports sur les dates d’échéance des communications imminentes améliore la conformité à la règle de l’approbation définitive.

  • Toute nouvelle présomption de refus est portée à l’attention du Comité exécutif du Ministère.

Le DG responsable de l’AIPRP fait directement et immédiatement appel aux SMA si un dossier relevant de leur responsabilité approche de la présomption de refus.
Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
69,71 jours. Il convient de remarquer que le délai moyen de traitement des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a diminué depuis 2007-2008, année où le délai moyen était de 90 jours. En 2008-2009, le délai moyen de traitement était de 75 jours et, en 2009-2010, il était de 68 jours.
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.