Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Privy Council Office

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 121
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 46
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 647
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 409
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 0
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 210
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 143
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 1
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 1
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 94
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 0
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 51,419
  2009-2010? 75,182
  2010-2011? 79,980
10. What is the number of consultations requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 403
  2009-2010? 353
  2010-2011? 490
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records

  • Approval process of access requests

  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)

  • Staff shortages / resources

  • Requests filed in bulk

  • Consultations with other institutions

  • Others

 
  • As a central agency, PCO controls records that are often complex and multi-departmental in scope. Considerations of national security, international affairs, federal-provincial relations and the government’s decision-making process also routinely arise in the review of PCO records, and Treasury Board policy requires departments to consult on such exemptions. Consultations are also mandatory for the certification of Cabinet confidences, commonly resident in PCO records. In as much as it drives the necessity for consultations and time extensions, the very nature of the records held by the Privy Council Office affects the perceived timeliness of its response to requests.

  • The OIC itself has rightly identified a key impediment to timeliness: consultations between organizations. The OIC publication Out of Time: Special Report to Parliament 2008–2009 on Systemic Issues Affecting Access to Information in Canada states that “the volume of these mandatory consultations has grown over the years such that it now accounts for a significant part of some institutions’ workloads…As a result, many institutions no longer quickly respond to consultation requests. This in turn affects the speed at which the consulting institution can close the associated access requests and release the information to requesters. The conundrum of the dependency between consulting and consulted organizations was also brought to light, as was the lack of incentive for one party to respond to the other by deadline. This ongoing issue impacts the timely performance of the Privy Council Office.

  • The shortage of qualified personnel in access to information is a recognized issue across government. In this “seller’s market”, departments effectively compete among themselves for a limited pool of experienced ATIP workers. Rising workload, the retirement wave, and the 2006 expansion of institutions subject to the Act have increased this demand for expertise. Despite undertaking 80 staffing actions since 2007, PCO has yet to reach its full complement of 26 access to information FTEs. Skill shortages impact an organization’s ability to respond to requests in a timely manner.

  • During the reporting year, ATI requests to the PCO increased 51%. Consultations sent to the PCO from other government organizations rose almost 40%. The number of full-time equivalents on staff to manage these business streams rose just 10%. Since such substantive fluctuations in workload cannot be fully anticipated, they undermine strategic and HR planning, tax resources, and may affect the ability to respond to requests in a timely manner. 

12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests

  • Streamlined approval process

  • Partial release of records

  • Fast track process for common requests

  • Others

  • In regard to the consultation process, PCO complies with OIC recommendations. The PCO-ATIP staff contact a consulted organization first to mutually determine what length of extension is appropriate, and they follow up as the deadline approaches. As well, all notification letters and final letters of response to an applicant consistently detail their right to complain to the Office of the Information Commissioner.

  • Best practices in reconciling the consultation process with the goal of timeliness are of primary interest to the department. The PCO closely monitors reviews, reports and publications of the Office of the Information Commissioner for recommendations on best practices. In the reporting year, the PCO-ATIP Director undertook informal discussions with the Department of Justice Canada, whose best practices were cited by the OIC in its 2008-2009 Report Card. The PCO-ATIP also met with ATIP representatives from key consulting departments in September 2010 to promote a timely consultation process.

  • As PCO stated to the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in June 2010, “the Privy Council Office does not categorize requests, or label specific files for any kind of special handling. It processes all requests in the same manner.” This process is in full compliance with OIC recommendations.

  • Senior officials of the Privy Council Office are fully engaged in oversight and support to the access to information process. During the reporting year, the Clerk of the Privy Council met with the Information Commissioner of Canada to discuss ATI issues. The Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services, maintains a meaningful dialogue with senior OIC officials to address concerns and promote compliance with the Act.

  • In line with the duty to assist, PCO-ATIP staff serve clients in a prompt and courteous manner. They keep requesters informed of the progress of their requests and engage their views by telephone and by letter.   

  • In spring 2010, the department brought into service a significantly upgraded version of its case management software. Its improved processing, tracking, and statistical functions will positively impact both timely delivery to clients and reporting to stakeholders.

  • The PCO secured additional floor space adjacent to one of two previous access to information worksites in Ottawa, Ontario. Consolidation of all ATI staff in one location has streamlined workflow, promoting a timely response to requesters.

Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
132 days.
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bureau du Conseil privé

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 121
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 46
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 647
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 409
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 0
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 90 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 210
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 143
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 1
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 1
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 90 jours 0
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 94
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 0
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 51,419
  2009-2010 75,182
  2010-2011 79,980
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 403
  2009-2010 353
  2010-2011 490
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

  • En tant qu’organisme central, le BCP détient des documents souvent complexes et qui concernent plusieurs ministères. De plus, des considérations liées à la sécurité nationale, aux affaires internationales, aux relations fédérales-provinciales et au processus décisionnel du gouvernement sont couramment soulevées lors de l’examen des documents du BCP, et la politique du Conseil du Trésor exige que les ministères consultent en cas d’exclusions. Des consultations sont également obligatoires pour la certification des renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet, généralement consignés dans les documents du BCP. Non seulement cela donne lieu à des consultations obligatoires et à des prorogations de délai, mais la nature même des documents détenus par le Bureau du Conseil privé influe sur la rapidité perçue de la réponse qu’il fournit aux demandeurs. 

  • Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a correctement cerné le principal obstacle à la rapidité d’exécution : les consultations entre organisations. La publication du Commissariat, Hors délais – Fiches de rendement 2008–2009 – Problèmes systémiques influant sur l’accès à l’information au Canada, dit : « Le nombre de consultations obligatoires s’est accru au fil des ans, de sorte qu’elles constituent actuellement une part importante de la charge de travail de certaines institutions. […] Par conséquent, bon nombre d’institutions ne répondent plus rapidement aux demandes de consultation. Cela a une incidence sur la rapidité avec laquelle l’institution qui consulte peut fermer les demandes d’accès connexes et communiquer l’information aux demandeurs. » L’énigme de la dépendance entre les organismes qui consultent et ceux consultés a aussi été soulevée, tout comme le manque de mesures incitatives pour qu’une partie réponde à l’autre dans les délais. Ce problème constant nuit au rendement temporel du Bureau du Conseil privé .

  • La pénurie de personnel qualifié dans le domaine de l’AIPRP est un problème reconnu à l’échelle du gouvernement. Dans ce « marché vendeur », les ministères se font concurrence pour un bassin limité de travailleurs. La charge de travail croissante, la vague de départs à la retraite et le plus grand nombre des institutions assujetties à la Loi (depuis 2006) ont accru cette demande d’expertise. Malgré la mise en œuvre de 80 mesures de dotation depuis 2007, le BCP n’a pas encore atteint son plein effectif de 26 ETP en accès à l’information. Les pénuries de personnel influent sur la capacité des organisations à répondre aux demandes rapidement.

Pendant la période de référence, les demandes d’accès à l’information adressées au BCP ont augmenté de 51 p. 100. Les demandes de consultation adressées au BCP par d’autres institutions gouvernementales ont augmenté de près de 40 p. 100. Le nombre d’équivalents temps plein disponibles pour gérer ces champs d’activité a augmenté de seulement 10 p. 100. Comme il est impossible de prévoir totalement ces fluctuations considérables de la charge de travail, celles-ci minent la planification stratégique et des RH et les ressources fiscales, et peuvent nuire à la capacité des institutions de répondre aux demandes en temps opportun. 
12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

  • En ce qui concerne le processus de consultation, le BCP se conforme aux recommandations du Commissariat. Le personnel de l’AIPRP du BCP communique d’abord avec l’organisme consulté afin de déterminer avec lui le délai approprié, puis assure un suivi à mesure que l’échéance approche. Aussi, toutes les lettres d’avis et les lettres définitives de réponse aux demandeurs expliquent invariablement leur droit de porter plainte au Commissariat à l’information. 

  • Les pratiques exemplaires permettant de concilier le processus de consultation avec l’objectif de rapidité sont d’un intérêt prioritaire pour le BCP. Le BCP surveille attentivement les examens, les rapports et les publications du Commissariat à l’information pour y trouver des recommandations en matière de pratiques exemplaires. Au cours de la présente période de référence, le directeur de l’AIPRP du BCP a entamé des discussions informelles avec le ministère de la Justice du Canada, dont les pratiques exemplaires ont été citées par le Commissariat dans sa Fiche de rendement 2008-2009. En septembre 2010, l’équipe de l’AIPRP du BCP a également rencontré les représentants de l’AIPRP des principaux ministères qui consultent le BCP afin de promouvoir un processus de consultation rapide.

  • Comme le BCP l’a indiqué au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique en juin 2010, le « Bureau du Conseil privé ne répartit pas les demandes en catégories et il ne réserve pas de traitement spécial à certains dossiers. Il traite toutes les demandes de la même manière. » Ce processus est tout à fait conforme avec les recommandations du Commissariat.  

  • Les hauts fonctionnaires du Bureau du Conseil privé ont à cœur la surveillance et le soutien du processus d’accès à l’information. Pendant la période de référence, le greffier du Conseil privé a rencontré la commissaire à l’information du Canada pour discuter de questions liées à l’AIPRP. Le sous-ministre adjoint, Services corporatifs, maintient un dialogue significatif avec les hauts fonctionnaires du Commissariat à l’information afin de se pencher sur les préoccupations et de promouvoir la conformité à la Loi.

  • En vertu de l’obligation d’aider, le personnel de l’AIPRP du BCP sert les clients de façon rapide et courtoise. Il tient les demandeurs informés des progrès de leur demande et exprime leur opinion par téléphone et par lettre.

  • Au printemps 2010, le BCP a mis en service une version sensiblement améliorée de son logiciel de gestion des dossiers. Ses fonctions améliorées de traitement, de suivi et de statistique auront un effet positif sur la rapidité de réponse aux clients et sur la présentation de rapports aux intervenants.

  • Le BCP a obtenu des espaces de travail supplémentaires, adjacents à l’un des deux sites d’accès à l’information à Ottawa, Ontario. Le regroupement de tout le personnel de l’AIPRP en un même endroit a rationalisé l’acheminement du travail, ce qui favorise la rapidité de réponse aux demandeurs.

Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
132 Jours
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.