Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Natural Resources Canada

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 41
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 24
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 354
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 229
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 20
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 19
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 1
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 105
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 65
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 8
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 3
  31-60 days: 2
  61-90 days: 1
  Over 91 days: 2
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 32
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 0
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 64462*
  2009-2010? 81773
  2010-2011? 73774
10. What is the number of consultations requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 170
  2009-2010? 111
  2010-2011? 147
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines) since becoming subject to the Act. These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages / resources
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others

Launched in September 2010 NRCan’s ‘Re-engineering ATIP’ initiative has significantly improved NRCan’s on-time processing of Access requests (see response to Q.12 below for further information concnering this initiative). For example, as of March 31 no new requests received since the launch had become late, 24 long-standing late requests had been completed, no cases were in ‘deemed refusal’ and the Office of the Information Commissioner had been advised of 100% of extensions greater than 30days taken during 2010/2011.  Although the average processing time per case for the year remains high at 59 days, for new cases received and completed after October, 2010 average completion time was 38 days.

In the coming year, NRCan will focus on reducing its year over year average processing time per case. This may present challenges due to a number of requests for multi-year records and/or large volumes of records.

Software tools available to support ATIP processing and performance monitoring continue to present significant challenges for officers and managers. This results in significant time loss to rework, duplicating and reconciling performance tracking and erodes confidence in the accuracy of software generated reports used throughout the ATIP community.

In addition, although a general improvement in consultation time has been noted, the time required by some institutions to complete consultation requests continues to impact upon NRCan’s processing times and requires careful management of extensions.

12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program since becoming subject to the Act and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests

  • Streamlined approval process

  • Partial release of records

  • Fast track process for common requests

  • Others

In September 2010, following a review of ATIP processes and governance, NRCan’s Deputy Minister-led Departmental Management Committee endorsed a department-wide ‘Re-engineering ATIP at NRCan’ initiative to improve NRCan’s ATIP performance.  As a result, of this on-going initiative:
  • A revised delegation order was approved by the Minister of Natural Resources; under this instrument only the ATIP Coordinator is designated to act for the Minister with regard to exemptions and other ATIP related matters

  • An operational reporting relationship has been established between the Associate Deputy Minister and the Corporate Secretariat, which includes NRCan’s ATIP Coordinator. This reflects Treasury Board’s recommendation that the ATIP Coordinator should, at most, be no more than two levels removed from the deputy head

  • The Deputy Minister and Sector Assistant Deputy Ministers receive a weekly update on Access requests and processing at the Deputy Minister’s weekly ‘Look Ahead’ meeting

  • A department-wide, Director General level ATIP Committee has been created and mandated to provide executive oversight of ATIP processing at NRCan. Chaired by the Corporate Secretary, this committee has been established with the specific objective of improving NRCan’s average completion time for requests and tracks the processing of each Access request on a weekly basis. The committee also considers issues related to departmental ATIP policy and processing procedures, ATIP training and sharing of best practices within NRCan

  • The Deputy Minister identified improving ATIP performance as a corporate priority for 2010/2011, as a result, ATIP performance measures were added to NRCan’s Executive Performance Agreements

  • Access request processing at NRCan was re-engineered to include Sector policy, program, Communications and any necessary Legal Services reviews early in the process rather than at the end of processing requests

  • New processes and tracking tools were created to expedite and improve the processing of Access requests

  • Regular liaison has been established with the Office of the Information Commissioner and senior NRCan officials to advise of the changes being implemented and results achieved

  • When required, the Associate Deputy Minister engaged on specific files to look for opportunities to address lengthy consultations

  • The Corporate Secretary met with the Assistant Deputy Minister and  Management Team of each Sector to update them on the changes being implemented with respect to ATIP and the leadership role that executives will play in improving ATIP processing at NRCan

  • In addition, new equipment has/is being purchased for the ATIP Secretariat and the ATIP office is scheduled for renovation in the coming year to improve work flow, enhance security and improve individual officers work area.

  • With respect to staffing, a Director of ATIP position was created at the executive level and has been filled. In addition a number of staffing actions are underway to reorganize and complete staffing of the unit. In the interim, additional temporary resources will continue to be employed to bolster the Secretariat’s processing and management capacity.

Additional measures are under consideration, for example, the DG ATIP committee has recently approved the posting of summaries of completed ATIP requests of general public interest on the NRCan website. In the coming year the Committee will be asked to consider whether additional categories of information should be posted online regularly.

Per section 11 above, these measures have and continue to improve NRCan’s ATIP performance.

Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
59 days
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ressources naturelles Canada

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 41
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 24
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 354
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 229
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 20
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 19
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 90 jours 1
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 105
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 65
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 8
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 3
  31 - 60 jours 2
  61 - 90 jours 1
  Plus de 90 jours 2
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 32
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 0
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 64,462
  2009-2010 81,773
  2010-2011 73,774
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 170
  2009-2010 111
  2010-2011 147
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

Lancée en septembre 2010, l’initiative de redéfinition de l’AIPRP de RNCan a sensiblement amélioré le temps de traitement des demandes d’accès. (Voir la réponse à la question 12 ci-dessous pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette initiative.) Par exemple, en date du 31 mars, aucune nouvelle demande reçue depuis le lancement de l’initiative n’a été en retard, 24 demandes en retard depuis longtemps ont été réglées, aucun dossier n’a produit de présomption de refus et le Commissariat à l’information a été informé de la totalité des prorogations dépassant 30 jours pour 2010-2011. Quoique le délai moyen de traitement des demandes pour cette année demeure élevé à 59 jours, pour les nouvelles demandes reçues et réglées après octobre, le délai moyen de traitement en 2010 était de 38 jours.

Pendant la prochaine année, RNCan s’efforcera avant tout de réduire son délai moyen de traitement annuel par demande. Cette mission pourrait s’avérer délicate étant donné le nombre de demandes visant à obtenir des documents pluriannuels ou de grands volumes de documents.

Les logiciels existants qui facilitent le traitement et le suivi du rendement relativement à l’AIPRP continuent de présenter des problèmes de taille pour les agents et les gestionnaires. Cela entraîne d’importantes pertes de temps en révision, reproduction et conciliation du suivi du rendement et mine la confiance dans l’exactitude des rapports produits par logiciel employés dans toute la communauté de l’AIPRP.

De plus, quoiqu’on observe une amélioration générale dans le délai de consultation, le temps requis par certaines institutions pour répondre aux demandes de consultation continue d’influer sur le délai de traitement de RNCan et d’exiger une gestion minutieuse des prorogations. 

12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

En septembre 2010, après examen des processus et de la gouvernance de l’AIPRP, le Comité de gestion du Ministère, sous la direction du sous-ministre de RNCan, a approuvé une initiative panministérielle de redéfinition de l’AIPRP destinée à améliorer le rendement de RNCan en matière d’AIPRP. À la suite de cette initiative, les mesures suivantes ont été prises :
  • Une ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs révisée a été approuvée par le ministre des Ressources naturelles. En vertu de cette ordonnance, seul le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP est autorisé à agir au nom du ministre en ce qui concerne les exceptions et les autres questions liées à l’AIPRP.

  • Un mécanisme de rapport hiérarchique opérationnel a été instauré entre le sous-ministre adjoint et le secrétariat ministériel, lequel mécanisme comprend un coordonnateur de l’AIPRP de RNCan. Cette disposition respecte la recommandation du Conseil du Trésor selon laquelle le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP ne se situe pas à plus de deux niveaux du sous-ministre.

  • Le sous-ministre et les sous-ministres associés des secteurs reçoivent un bulletin hebdomadaire sur les demandes d’accès à l’information et leur traitement lors de la réunion prospective que tient le sous-ministre chaque semaine.

  • RNCan a mis sur pied un comité d’AIPRP pour tout le Ministère. Ce comité, au niveau des directeurs généraux, a pour mandat d’assurer la supervision du traitement des demandes d’AIPRP. Ce comité, présidé par le secrétaire du Ministère, a été créé dans le but précis d’améliorer le délai moyen de traitement des demandes à RNCan, et surveille le traitement de chaque demande d’accès une fois par semaine. Le comité se penche également sur les questions liées à la politique ministérielle sur l’AIPRP et à la procédure de traitement, à la formation en matière d’AIPRP et au partage des pratiques exemplaires au sein de RNCan.

  • Le sous-ministre a déterminé que l’amélioration du rendement en matière d’AIPRP constituerait une priorité ministérielle pour 2010-2011. Par conséquent, des mesures du rendement ont été ajoutées aux accords sur le rendement des cadres de RNCan.

  • RNCan a redéfini son processus de traitement des demandes d’accès pour y inclure les examens nécessaires des politiques des secteurs, des programmes, des Communications et des Services juridiques au début du processus plutôt qu’à la fin du traitement des demandes.

  • De nouveaux outils de suivi et processus ont été créés pour accélérer et améliorer le traitement des demandes d’accès.

  • Une liaison assidue a été instaurée avec le Commissariat à l’information et les hauts fonctionnaires de RNCan pour les informer des changements apportés et des résultats obtenus. 

  • Au besoin, le sous-ministre associé travaille sur des dossiers particuliers pour trouver des occasions de régler les consultations qui traînent en longueur.

  • Le Secrétaire du Ministère a rencontré le sous-ministre associé et l’équipe de gestion de chaque secteur pour les tenir à jour sur les changements apportés à l’égard de l’AIPRP et du rôle prépondérant que les cadres jouent dans la promotion de l’amélioration du traitement des demandes d’AIPRP à RNCan.

  • De plus, afin d’améliorer l’acheminement du travail, d’accroître la sécurité et d’améliorer le poste de travail individuel des agents, du nouvel équipement a été acheté ou sera acheté pour le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, et le bureau de l’AIPRP sera rénové au cours de la prochaine année.

  • En ce qui concerne la dotation, un poste de directeur de l’AIPRP a été créé et pourvu. De plus, un certain nombre de mesures de dotation sont en cours afin de réorganiser et de finir de pourvoir l’unité en personnel. Entre-temps, des ressources temporaires supplémentaires continueront d’être employées pour stimuler la capacité de traitement et de gestion du Secrétariat.

D’autres mesures sont envisagées. Par exemple, le comité de l’AIPRP, composé de directeurs généraux, a récemment approuvé la publication de résumés des demandes d’AIPRP réglées et présentant un intérêt pour le public sur le site Web de RNCan. Au cours de la prochaine année, on demandera au comité de déterminer si des catégories supplémentaires d’information devraient être publiées en ligne.  En référence à la section 11 ci-dessus, ces mesures ont permis d’améliorer le rendement en matière d’AIPRP de RNCan et continueront en ce sens.
Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
59 Jours
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.