Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 46
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 9
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 492
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 356
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 3
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 2
  31-60 days: 1
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 70
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 64
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 6
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 3
  31-60 days: 2
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 1
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 63
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 1
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 65,898
  2009-2010? 107,039
  2010-2011? 106,518
10. What is the number of consultations requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 127
  2009-2010? 91
  2010-2011? 148
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records

  • Approval process of access requests

  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)

  • Staff shortages / resources

  • Requests filed in bulk

  • Consultations with other institutions

  • Others

The three most significant issues affecting our institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner are requests for large volume of records, requests filed in bulk, and consultations with other institutions.   These factors are, to a great extent, beyond our control as administrators of the Access to Information Act, yet they are key in our ability to ensure the Department meets its statutory timelines.  When possible, the ATIP Office will negotiate with applicants with respect to requests for large volumes of records and bulk requests, will claim the necessary extensions when appropriate, often responds prior to the expiration of the extended time limit, follows up on consultations, and provides interim (partial) responses to requesters.
12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests

  • Streamlined approval process

  • Partial release of records

  • Fast track process for common requests

  • Others

Below is an excerpt from the Department’s 2009-2010 annual report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act.  It summarizes key steps of our process, a process which contributes or our performance with respect to timeliness. 

“Except for specific circumstances in which an extension can be claimed, the Access to Information Act provides 30 calendar days for responding to requests. Given these strict timeframes, and the Department’s commitment to respect the spirit and the letter of the legislation, the following processes and responsibilities are clearly established at HRSDC:

  • Retrieval of Relevant Records and Formulation of Recommendations:  Targeted branches and regions (offices of primary interest) are allotted eight working days to retrieve complete and accurate records in response to requests, and provide them, along with recommendations, to the ATIP Division.

  • Line-by-line Review of the Responsive Records:  The Operations Section of the ATIP Division is provided with eight working days to do a thorough line-by-line review of the records and to invoke the limited and specific exemption and exclusion provisions that are applicable.

  • Seen and Noted Signatures, and copies for information:  If requested, the Executive Head of the targeted branch or region is provided a copy of the release package and is given four working days to provide his or her signature indicating that he or she is aware that the records are being released, (i.e., for seen and noted purposes). At the same time that the records are provided to the office of primary interest, departmental communications officials and employees from the Minister’s Office are also given a copy of the package for information only, when requested. Some files may require the preparation of media lines. The ATIP Division’s involvement in communications activities is limited to informing officials of new requests and upcoming releases, and sharing copies of records. The preparation of communications products is undertaken by communications and branch officials, and does not impact the timely processing of access to information requests.

The three steps described above account for a total of 20 working days, corresponding to the 30 calendar days permitted under the legislation.”The Department also prepares and distributes an ATI Management Report to senior management.  The report indicates the number of working days taken by each office of primary interest in fulfilling its responsibilities in response to access to information requests, as well as the internal objectives for each task.
Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
45.3 calendar days
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC)

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 46
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 9
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 492
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 356
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 3
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 2
  31 - 60 jours 1
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 90 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 70
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 64
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 6
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 3
  31 - 60 jours 2
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 90 jours 1
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 63
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 1
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 65,898
  2009-2010 107,039
  2010-2011 106,518
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 127
  2009-2010 91
  2010-2011 148
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

Les trois grands obstacles qui nuisent à la capacité de notre institution de répondre rapidement aux demandes d’accès à l’information sont les demandes visant à obtenir un grand volume de documents, les demandes soumises en vrac et les consultations avec d’autres institutions. Ces facteurs échappent, dans une large mesure, à notre contrôle en tant qu’administrateurs de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et pourtant ils sont cruciaux si l’on veut s’assurer que le Ministère respecte ses délais réglementaires. Lorsque cela est possible, le bureau de l’AIPRP négocie avec les demandeurs au sujet des demandes visant un grand volume de documents et des demandes en vrac, demande les prorogations nécessaires lorsqu’il y a lieu, répond souvent avant l’échéance du délai prorogé, assure le suivi des consultations et fournit des réponses provisoires (partielles) aux demandeurs. 
12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

Voici un extrait du rapport annuel 2009-2010 du Ministère portant sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il résume les grandes étapes de notre processus, processus qui contribue à notre rendement en matière de rapidité de l’information. 

« Sauf pour les circonstances précises dans lesquelles une prorogation peut être obtenue, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information prescrit 30 jours pour le traitement des demandes. Grâce à ces délais rigides, et à l’engagement qu’a pris le Ministère de respecter l’esprit et la lettre de la Loi, les procédures et responsabilités suivantes sont clairement établies à RHDCC :

  • Obtention des documents pertinents et formulation des recommandations : Les directions générales et les régions visées par la demande (bureaux de première responsabilité) ont huit jours ouvrables pour recueillir les documents complets et précis qui répondent à la demande, et les fournir, avec les recommandations, à la Division de l’AIPRP;

  • Révision ligne par ligne des documents pertinents : La Section des opérations de la Division de l’AIPRP a huit jours ouvrables pour faire une révision approfondie ligne par ligne des documents et invoquer les exceptions et les exclusions limitées et précises applicables;

  • Signatures aux fins de prise de connaissance, et copies aux fins d’information : Sur demande, le cadre supérieur de la direction générale ou la région visée par la demande obtient une copie des documents qui seront communiqués et dispose de quatre jours ouvrables pour apposer sa signature de manière à autoriser la divulgation des documents (c’est-à-dire à des fins de prise de connaissance). En même temps que les documents sont fournis au bureau de première responsabilité, une copie des documents est fournie aux agents de communications au sein du Ministère et aux employés du cabinet de la ministre, sur demande. Certains dossiers nécessitent parfois la préparation d’infocapsules. La participation de la Division de l’AIPRP aux activités liées aux communications est limitée aux avis de nouvelles demandes ainsi qu’à ceux qui seront communiqués bientôt, et au partage des documents qui seront communiqués. La préparation des produits aux fins de communications est assurée par les agents de communications et les agents responsables dans les directions générales, et elle n’a aucune incidence sur le traitement opportun des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Les trois étapes susmentionnées comptent pour un total de 20 jours ouvrables, ce qui correspond aux 30 jours civils permis par la Loi. » De plus, le Ministère prépare et distribue un rapport de gestion de l’accès à l’information à la haute direction. Ce rapport indique le nombre de jours ouvrables qu’a pris chaque bureau de première responsabilité pour remplir ses responsabilités à l’égard des demandes d’accès à l’information, ainsi que pour atteindre les objectifs internes de chaque tâche. 
Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
45.3 Jours
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.