Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Part A:       Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2009-2010)
1. Number of requests carried over: 208
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 175
Part B:       New requests received in fiscal year 2010-2011 (Exclude requests included in Part A)
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 351
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the statutory 30-day time limit? 134
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed? 22
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time
limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed?
 
  1-30 days: 13
  31-60 days: 3
  61-90 days: 3
  Over 91 days: 3
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 165
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 within the extended time limit? 67
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2010-2011 after exceeding the extended time limit? 24
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 16
  31-60 days: 3
  61-90 days: 5
  Over 91 days: 0
7. Number of requests received in 2010-2011 that were carried over to 2011-2012? 104
8. As of April 1st, 2011, how many requests which were received in the 2010-2011 reporting period are in a deemed-refusal situation? 49
Part C:       Workload
9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in:  
  2008-2009? 45651
  2009-2010? 65151
  2010-2011? 146885
10. What is the number of consultation requests received  in:  
  2008-2009? 74
  2009-2010? 64
  2010-2011? 77
Part D:       Contributing Factors
11. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPI turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages / resources
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
The most significant issues that affected the CFIA’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner last fiscal year were the large number of files requiring external consultation (with other institutions and with third parties); internal consultations (with OPIs) the number of requests for large volume of records; the complexity of requests; difficulties and/or delays with the retrieval of relevant records and/or turnaround times of OPIs; staff turnover; the backlog of requests; and the investment required in the development of Agency-wide ATIP process improvements
12. Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and, where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

The CFIA is continuing to implement ATIP process improvements, which include a more streamlined approval process, in order to provide greater oversight and accountability. This multi-year endeavor is based on government-wide best practices and takes into account the CFIA’s priorities and environment.

Also, in line with government-wide practices, the ATIP Office does partial releases of records; provides information informally whenever possible; follows up with other government departments on consultation responses in order to expedite the release of information; and uses external experts to address the backlog or requests.

The Agency i s also committed to openness and transparency, and is working on ways of providing the public with information on a more proactive and informal basis through implementation of its transparency initiative.  As part of this initiative, the CFIA is working on posting summaries of completed access to information requests.

Part E:       Completion Time
13. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2010-2011?
188.08
Part F:        Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
14. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2008-2009, 2009-2010 and 2010-2011. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1st-March 31st, include any supplemental reports where available.
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

Partie A :    Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2009-2010)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 208
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 175
Partie B :    Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 351
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 134
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 22
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 13
  31 - 60 jours 3
  61 - 90 jours 3
  Plus de 90 jours 3
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 165
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 durantl’échéance prorogée 67
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées  au cours de l’exercise 2010-2011 après l’expiration de  l’échéance prorogée 24
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 16
  31 - 60 jours 3
  61 - 90 jours 5
  Plus de 90 jours 0
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 qui ont été reportées à 2011-2012? 104
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2010-2011 en présomption de refus au 1er avril 2011? 49
Partie C :   Charge de travail
9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en :  
  2008-2009 45651
  2009-2010 65151
  2010-2011 146885
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en :  
  2008-2009 74
  2009-2010 64
  2010-2011 77
Partie D :   Temps de traitement
11.

Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :

  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents

  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication

  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)

  • Pénurie d’employés / ressources

  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées

  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions

  • Autres

Les principaux problèmes qui ont nui à la capacité de l’ACIA de répondre rapidement aux demandes d’accès à l’information au cours de la dernière année financière sont les suivants : le grand nombre de dossiers exigeant des consultations externes (avec d’autres institutions et des tiers) ou des consultations internes (avec les BPR), le volume de demandes nécessitant de nombreux documents, la complexité des demandes, les difficultés ou les retards en ce qui a trait à la récupération des documents pertinents ou le temps de traitement dans les BPR, le roulement du personnel, l’arriéré de demandes et l’investissement requis pour améliorer le processus d’AIPRP au sein de l’Agence.
12.

Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :

  • Traitement informel des demandes

  • Processus d’approbation simplifié

  • Communication partielle des documents

  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes

  • Autres

Afin d’assurer une meilleure surveillance et une responsabilisation accrue, l’ACIA continue d’apporter des améliorations à son processus d’AIPRP, notamment en adoptant un processus d’approbation simplifié. Cette démarche pluriannuelle s’appuie sur les pratiques exemplaires du gouvernement fédéral et prend en considération les priorités et l’environnement de l’ACIA.

De même, conformément aux pratiques fédérales, le Bureau de l’AIPRP fournit des communications partielles de documents, communique de l’information à titre non officiel lorsque cela est possible, assure un suivi auprès des autres ministères fédéraux relativement aux réponses aux consultations dans le but d’accélérer la communication des renseignements et fait appel à des experts de l’extérieur pour résorber l’arriéré ou répondre aux demandes.

L’Agence souscrit aux principes d’ouverture et de transparence et, par la mise en œuvre d’une initiative de transparence, elle s’efforce de trouver des moyens de fournir au public plus d’information de manière plus proactive et informelle. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, l’ACIA publie des résumés des demandes d’accès à l’information auxquelles elle a répondu.

Partie E :    Temps de traitement
13. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2010-2011?
188.08
Partie F :    Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
14. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2008-2009, 2009-2010 et 2010-2011. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.