Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires


Office of the Privacy Commissioner

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2008-2009)

1. Number of requests carried over: 6
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 0

Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2009-2010— Exclude requests included in Part A

3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 52
4.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2009-2010withinthe statutory 30-day time limit? 47
4.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2009-2010 beyond the statutory 30-day time limitwhere no extension was claimed ? 0
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day timelimit did it take to complete the requestwhere no extension was claimed ? 0
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 4
6.A How many were completed during fiscal year 2009-2010withinthe extended time limit? 3
6.B How many were completed during fiscal year 2009-2010 after exceeding the extended time limit? 0
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond? 0
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
7. Number of requests received in 2009-2010 that were carried over to 2010-2011? 1
8. As of April 1 st , 2010, how many requests which were received in 2009-2010 are in a deemed-refusal situation? 0

Part C: Workload

9. What is the number of pages reviewed for requests completed in 2009-2010? 8,175
10. What is the number of consultations requests received in 2009-2010? 2

Part D: Contributing Factors

11.

Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines) since becoming subject to the Act. These may include:

  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
The OPC has no significant issues to report. We have been able to respond in a timely manner to all requests that were received since we have been subject to the ATIA.
12.

Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program since becoming subject to the Act and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:

  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

These are some of the practices or policies developed/undertaken by the OPC in order to ensure timely delivery of the access to information program since becoming subject to the Act:

-Strategic planning and office set-up: Although the OPC was not subject to the ATIA until April 1, 2007, the ATIP Unit was staffed in February 2007 in order to begin the process of setting up the Unit. Given that the OPC was newly subject to ATIP responsibilities, the early focus was on administrative work that needed to be done. One of the first requirements was to ensure that information about the OPC was provided to the Treasury Board Secretariat. In early May 2007 all of the OPC’s Sources of Federal Employee Information – Standard Personal Information Banks (PIBs) and Sources of Federal Government Information – Standard Banks were registered with the Secretariat. The Secretariat was also provided initial information about the OPC to be included in Info Source such as background information, the OPC’s responsibilities, descriptions of and contacts for each OPC Branch, and the location of the OPC reading room. A review of all of the OPC’s record holdings was then undertaken to ensure that all non-standard bank information would be included in the next edition of Info Source.  

-Approval process that delegates all signing authority (except for Subsection 8(2)(m)) to the ATIP Director: Under section 73 of the ATIA the Privacy Commissioner, as the head of the OPC, delegated her authority to the Director General of Corporate Services and to the ATIP Director with respect to the application of the ATIA and its Regulations.  

- Hired experienced staff: 2 FTE’s with extensive experience and knowledge planned created and administered the ATIP Division when the OPC became subject to the Act.  

-Openness and transparency: The OPC has included a section on its website entitled “Access to Information and Privacy” which provides the public with information about the ATIA, including how to request access to information that is under the control of the OPC.  

-Developed a Process and Compliance Manual: This manual describes all of the steps taken by the ATIP Unit in the processing of requests under both the ATIA and the Privacy Act. It provides extensive information on a wide variety of subjects, e.g. responsibilities of employees in their retrieval of the information, the legislative time constraints, exemptions and exclusions, the complaint and investigation process, etc. It also contains the ATIP policy with respect to fees and fee waivers.  

-Policies/Guidelines were developed: The ATIP Director sits on the OPC’s Policy Development Committee and has played a collaborative role in the planning, development and updating of OPC policies, procedures and directives in order to ensure that the ATIA is respected. The following Policies and Guidelines have been developed:

  • Directive / Procedures Concerning Section 67.1 of the Access to Information Act
  • Employee Privacy Policy
  • Privacy Breach Policy
  • Privacy Policy
-Mandatory training for all OPC employees: While preparing formal Access to Information Act training for OPC employees, in the interim, the ATIP Unit prepared a “Preliminary Guideline for Processing Requests Pursuant to the Access to Information Act” which was distributed to each branch head in June 2007 and which was published on the Intranet as a reference guide with respect to employees’ roles and responsibilities in the OPC’s new “Atipable” environment. Four ATIA Awareness Sessions were given to OPC employees in June 2007 followed by two sessions in March 2008. In all some 125 employees received the training—the vast majority of staff. The Privacy Commissioner directed that this training be mandatory for all staff, including those working with the OPC on contract or on a temporary basis. Sessions are given at least once a year in order to ensure that new staff receive the training as well.

Part E: Building Capacity

13.
As a newly-subject institution to the Act, please describe the implementation process and measures to build your institution’s capacity to respond to access to information requests. This may include resource allocation, infrastructure, internal support, and/or foundational work such as policy or planning documents.

Prior to becoming subject to the Act, many discussions/meetings took place regarding setting up the ATIP shop for our office. The OPC is a small Organization and the ATIP Division is small as well. (2 FTE’S) Should the OPC receive many additional requests under the Act, we would certainly add resources.

Based on good strategic planning, excellent internal support and the development of these policies/Directives/Guidelines, awareness sessions, process and compliance manual, approval process and experienced personnel the OPC has been able to provide an excellent service to their requesters.

Part F: Completion Time

14.
What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2009-2010?
20.88 days

Part G: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act

15. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on theAccess to Information(Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for 2007-2008, 2008-2009 and 2009-2010. For institutions on a fiscal year other than April 1 st -March 31 st , include any supplemental reports where available.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2008-2009)

1. Nombre de demandes reportées 6
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 0

Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2009-2010— à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A

3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 52
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2009-2010 durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 47
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2009-2010 au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 0
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée 0
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 4
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2009-2010 durant l’échéance prorogée 3
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées au cours de l’exercise 2009-2010 après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 0
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande 0
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
7. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2009-2010 qui ont été reportées à 2010-2011 1
8. Nombre de demandes reçues en 2009-2010 en présomption de refus au 1 er avril 2010 0

Partie C : Charge de travail

9. Nombre de pages examinées dans le cadre des demandes traitées en 2009-2010 8,175
10. Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues en 2009-2010 2

Partie D : Temps de traitement

11.
Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi) depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi. Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
Le CPVP n’a aucune question importante à signaler. Nous avons été en mesure de répondre dans les délais prévus à toutes les demandes que nous avons reçues depuis l’assujettissement de l’organisme à la LAI. 
12.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution, depuis que votre institution est assujettie à la Loi, pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres

Voici quelques-unes des pratiques ou politiques élaborées par le CPVP pour mettre en œuvre, dans les délais prévus, le programme d’accès à l’information depuis l’assujettissement de l’organisation à la Loi :

- Planification stratégique et mise en place du bureau : Bien que le CPVP n’ait été assujetti à laLAI qu’à partir du 1er avril 2007, nous avons embauché le personnel de la Section de l’AIPRP en février 2007 pour amorcer le processus de mise en place de la Section. Comme les responsabilités en matière d’AIPRP étaient nouvelles pour le CPVP, nous avons d’abord concentré nos efforts sur le travail administratif. L’une des premières exigences consistait à s’assurer que l’information relative au CPVP était communiquée au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Au début de mai 2007, toutes les sources de renseignements du CPVP sur les employés fédéraux (fichiers de renseignements personnels [FRP] ordinaires) et toutes les sources de renseignements fédéraux (fichiers ordinaires) ont été enregistrées auprès du Secrétariat. Nous avons également communiqué au Secrétariat des renseignements initiaux sur le CPVP aux fins d’inclusion dans Info Source (p. ex. renseignements de base, responsabilités du CPVP, description de chaque direction et coordonnées des personnes-ressources de ces directions, emplacement de la salle de lecture). Nous avons passé en revue tous les fonds de renseignements du CPVP pour nous assurer que les renseignements des fichiers non ordinaires soient inclus dans la prochaine édition d’Info Source.

- Processus d’approbation de la délégation de tout pouvoir de signature (exception faite de l’alinéa 8(2)m) à la directrice de la Section de l’AIPRP : Conformément à l’article 73 de la LAI, la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée a délégué ses pouvoirs, à titre de dirigeante du CPVP, au directeur général, Gestion intégrée, et à la directrice de l’AIPRP en ce qui a trait à l’application de la LAI et de son règlement.

- Embauche de personnel d’expérience : 2 ETP ayant une vaste expérience et des connaissances approfondies ont planifié, créé et administré la Division de l’AIPRP quand le CPVP a été assujetti à la Loi.

- Transparence : Le CPVP a ajouté à son site Web une section intitulée « Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels », qui offre au public des renseignements sur la LAI, y compris sur la façon de faire une demande d’accès à des renseignements détenu par le CPVP.    

- Élaboration du Guide de procédures et de conformité : Ce guide décrit toutes les mesures prises par la Section de l’AIPRP pour traiter les demandes en vertu de la LAI et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il fournit des renseignements considérables sur une vaste gamme de sujets, dont les responsabilités des employés quand ils extraient des renseignements, les délais prévus par la loi, les exceptions et exclusions, le processus de traitement des plaintes et d’enquête, etc. On y trouve également la Politique relative aux droits et à la dispense des droits relative à l’AIPRP. 

- Élaboration de politiques et de lignes directrices : La directrice de la Section de l’AIPRP siège au Comité d’élaboration des politiques et a collaboré à la planification, à l’élaboration et à la mise à jour des politiques, des procédures et des directives du CPVP afin d’assurer le respect de la LAI. Les politiques et les lignes directrices suivantes ont été élaborées :

  1. Directive et procédures concernant l’article 67.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
  2. Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels des employés
  3. Politique sur les atteintes à la vie privée
  4. Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels

- Formation obligatoire pour tous les employés du CPVP : Alors qu’elle préparait la formation officielle relative à la LAI pour les employés du CPVP, la Section de l’AIPRP a élaboré un Guide préliminaire pour le traitement des demandes conformément à la LAI, qui a été distribué à chaque chef de direction en juin 2007 et publié sur l’intranet comme guide de référence sur les rôles et responsabilités du personnel dans le nouvel environnement du CPVP « assujetti à l’AIPRP ». Quatre séances de sensibilisation à la LAI ont été offertes au personnel du CPVP en juin 2007, suivies de deux autres en mars 2008. Au total, quelque 125 employés ont reçu la formation, soit la grande majorité de l’effectif. La commissaire à la protection de la vie privée a demandé que cette formation soit obligatoire pour tous, y compris les employés contractuels ou temporaires du CPVP. Ces séances ont lieu au moins une fois par année pour que les nouveaux employés reçoivent aussi la formation.

Partie E : Développement des ressources

13.
À titre d’institution nouvellement assujettie à la Loi, décrivez le processus de mise en œuvre et les mesures visant à établir la capacité de votre institution à répondre aux demandes de communication. Vous pouvez y inclure des renseignements sur l’affectation des ressources, l’infrastructure, le soutien interne et les documents de base comme les documents stratégiques ou de planification.

Avant l’assujettissement de l’organisation à la Loi, de nombreuses discussions et réunions ont eu lieu concernant la mise en place de la Section de l’AIPRP. Le CPVP est un petit organisme tout comme la Division de l’AIPRP (2 ETP). Si nous recevions de nombreuses autres demandes en vertu de la Loi, nous ajouterions certainement des ressources.

Grâce à une bonne planification stratégique, à un excellent soutien interne et à l’élaboration de ces politiques, directives et lignes directrices, aux séances de sensibilisation, au Guide de procédures et de conformité, au processus d’autorisation et à son personnel d’expérience, le CPVP a été capable d’offrir un excellent service aux demandeurs.

Partie F : Temps de traitement

14.
Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2009-2010?
20.88 jours

Partie G : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

15. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour les exercices 2007-2008, 2008-2009 et 2009-2010. Pour les institution ayant un exercise différent de celui du 1 er avril au 31 mars, veuillez inclure tout rapports supplémentaires, si disponibles.